5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 11:03 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 1 2010, 10:00 AM)
Some dd-wrt guru currently are working on nvram command lines to make Broadcom chipset port-based vlans to work:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php...er=asc&start=30
they even confirmed some dd-wrt routers already and the list seem to be growing:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Route...7t_support_VLAN

Has anyone tried and confirmed whether it works to tag both internet & iptv? hmm.gif
Unfortunately ,I don't have anyone of these routers..... sad.gif
I got WRT54G which support VLAN on dd-wrt firmware according to your 2nd link. But i not sure how to configure it make it work with unifi smile.gif
Will to try it out if got any guideline cos i have to idea how to do at all laugh.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 11:09 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(sam_x @ Sep 1 2010, 11:04 AM)
running everything with original hardware plus a notebook cooler fan supporting modem & router...

Surfing speed good, IPTV good, download speed good @500kbps/torrents, phone good...
Add cooler fan. Hmmm .. good idea. Since the BTU & router quite heat after hours. laugh.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 11:31 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 1 2010, 11:19 AM)
I'm also newbie to this kind of command lines, I read & follow these:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

So basically you need to telnet into the router and make sure you capture the following original values before starting anything:
nvram show | grep vlan.ports
nvram show | grep port.vlans
nvram show | grep vlan.hwname

You may have to figure out the port number assignment as different routers has different numbers assignment.

Good luck, really hope to hear some positive news!  nod.gif
Alright man will try this out tonight if i am free. meanwhile, rizvanrp had u try this ?? u should be more easy to figure it out if this really working for us to replace the router with IPTV working as well. brows.gif

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 1 2010, 11:40 AM
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 12:19 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Sep 1 2010, 12:00 PM)
yes... will be charged after september 30th. RM300
As what i understand from the Unifi Customer Service. As long as you make the call to unifi center and they will keep ur name under dont know wat list so they will call u for installation once ur area is cover and the fees will be waive as well. Probably, u can double check with them since many places has not cover yet.
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 12:38 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(carte82 @ Sep 1 2010, 12:23 PM)

TM now giving out ZTE BTU instead of HuaWei. According to them ZTE more stable.
Yah mine one also ZTE. BTU live time warranty so they fast fast change better one. But Router only 1 year ..so they never care mad.gif mad.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 01:49 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 1 2010, 01:19 PM)
Actually Riz mentioned he did try to work with pr0 not long ago but somehow the pppoe still won't work ....

I've been monitoring the 2 links recently, it seem like there has been lots of activities & confirmation going on between the dd-wrt guru.
But those posting by the guru there is really too heavy & technical for me .... sweat.gif
If I'm not mistaken, it seem like currently dd-wrt on:

Broadcom base - some routers seem can do port-based vlan and also seem to able to move 1 lan port onto wan port as confirmed by the links, but it seem like can only create vlan number not more than 15 (for 100mb) or 16 (for gigabytes)

Ralink & Atheros base - can create vlan?.500 and connect pppoe nicely as confirmed & posted by Riz, but it seem like even use nvram to create additional vlanX and move lan port to wan, it still ignore and still stick to the default vlan? only.

Honestly, I'm not sure how we could do it, it would be perfect if we can somehow create another vlan?.600 and/or do something with the BTU to "move & tag" those iptv traffic onto those Ralink/Atheros router, it would be another biggest milestone to achieve I guess!  thumbup.gif

Hope our sifu Riz can help us R&D kuat-kuat!  notworthy.gif
If Riz can't do it i dont think i can la hahaha. anyway will try it out.

Guess maybe we can plan an outing group together to r&d together =P

Btw, would like to check. other then MikroTik RB250GS. any other switch we can try ?? which can get in malaysia. thanks

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 1 2010, 02:00 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 02:24 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Sep 1 2010, 02:18 PM)
I just bought TP-Link TL-WR1043ND and flash with dd-wrt look like more stable can get speed 20MB++ before this using D-Link 615 speed around 17MB.

Just make TP Link as a bridge. Will try doing vlan.

TL-WR1043ND spec -> http://www.tp-link.com/products/productDet...del=TL-WR1043ND
Price: RM185

[attachmentid=1758576]

TQ
So currently u can't access to IPTV right ??
I can get 20MB on D-Link 615. Dl speed average 2.3mb. Plan to get linksys E series if the Vlan tag is working. ..
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 02:49 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 1 2010, 02:24 PM)
So currently u can't access to IPTV right ??
I can get 20MB on D-Link 615. Dl speed average 2.3mb. Plan to get linksys E series if the Vlan tag is working. ..
Alright mean ur current setup is BTU --- Dl-615----TP link. ?? still looking for the setup completely remove away dl-615.
Sadly can't get the microtek switch now.
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 10:32 PM

1,260 posts

bro... VIP20. more worse

D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2010, 11:54 PM

1,260 posts

Damansara Area. Using LAN. WIFI speed drop 50%
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 09:57 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 2 2010, 09:39 AM)
anyone know the RM200 installation fee after SEP30 is decided by the installation date or signup date?

another question, vip5/10 the basic channels have how many? do it have channels 12x, 14x, 15x?
I dont have astro. At first IPTV is quite important to me. but after installed. my IPTV box just switch on 1 time for testing only. cos using PPS now. drool.gif

Riz & Klseet, mind to share ur router setting with me. Which can replace the dir 615 without IPTV. Seems like i will stick with that 1st b4 got any better solutions. dir 615 really not stable.
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 01:49 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 2 2010, 01:32 PM)
If you have a Ralink or Atheros router on dd-wrt, you may follow Riz's setup as follow link connect vlan?.500 with PPPoE directly to the BTU [without IPTV]:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry35316475

However, for Broadcom dd-wrt, can create vlan?.500, but the "WAN Port Assignment" will be re-set back to default after router re-boot, so it's unable to connect internet using vlan?.500:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry35585572

From that 2 links I posted earlier, you can see those dd-wrt gurus are really working on something to make those Broadcom base to work, hopefully some positive news can be release soon ...... nod.gif
I'm already "1/2 life" on dd-wrt, OpenWRT is even more technical I think .....  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
Beside, I also don't have those routers as listed there to test .....
Can anyone confirm if there is any OpenWRT base working on UniFi both internet & IPTV?  hmm.gif
Thanks bro. keep reading since this morning. Phiew ~ will try ur guide later back hope. see got luck my router will stick with vlan1.500 after reboot tongue.gif dreaming... icon_rolleyes.gif

Ops.. i only got broadcom. seems like so far that's no way for me to get rid of this dlr-615. cry.gif cry.gif

Btw, the dd-wrt firmware we just need mini version will do right ?? no need to get standard version right ?? thanks

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 2 2010, 02:07 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 04:17 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 2 2010, 04:14 PM)
unfortunately no  sweat.gif , looks like I need another homeplug :3
Get the 110EW with N-wifi. the wifi work good in a small area like bed room. smile.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 07:13 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 13 2010, 07:03 PM)
Been using for 1 week now, online gaming, BT, internet & IPTV all so far so good, the DIR-615 working as VLAN also seem to be ok.
Except for the STB LED display which didn't display correctly, called them on Friday night and was immediately replaced with a new unit the next day morning 10am, customer care even called twice to confirm it's ok, honestly I'm quite impressed with UniFi service, hope TM continue to uphold such a rapid support  rclxms.gif

Also been trying to replace the DIR-615 with other router, unfortunately still not working, here's my testing scenario:

Equipment: ASUS RT-N12 [Broadcom base]

Test 1 - Stock standard firmware 1.0.0.6 [come with it]
PPPoE cannot connect at all, it said something like no response.

Test 2 - download from ASUS and update firmware to 1.0.0.7 [beta]
Still the same problem, PPPoE cannot connect....

Test 3 - flashed with dd-wrt BrainSlayer R14815 16Jul10 firmware, setup as follows:
[attachmentid=1724462]
[attachmentid=1724464]
[attachmentid=1724466]
[attachmentid=1724467]
Still, PPPoE cannot connect at all .... cry.gif
HI Klseet, i flash my WRT54GL with dd-wrt firmware. Manage to tag Vlan1.500. the tag remain even i reboot the router or completely shutdown and ON again. But i failed to dial PPPoE.

Any working setup ??

thanks sad.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 09:41 PM

1,260 posts

klseet,

hehe.. dont care la. just wan to try out and get solution asap so can pack that 615. =P

1.Model : WRT54GL v1.1
2. Build 14896
3. If i am not mistakan Vlan1 is for my router WAN port right ?? sorry really confuse on this.

this is my vlan detail :

root@WRT54GL:~# nvram show | grep vlan.ports
vlan0ports=3 2 1 0 5*
vlan1ports=4 5
size: 22801 bytes (9967 left)

root@WRT54GL:~# nvram show | grep port.vlans
port5vlans=0 1 16
port3vlans=0
port1vlans=0
port4vlans=0
port2vlans=0
port0vlans=1

root@WRT54GL:~# nvram show | grep vlan.hwname
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan0hwname=et0
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2010, 09:58 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 2 2010, 09:52 PM)
Without tagging, can you connect pppoe through DIR-615 as bridge mode?
Hmm.. let me try and update u tomorrow k. smile.gif headache..

EDITED : Ops sorry forgot to tell u. At 1st mine one also lost the tagging after reboot. So i try to "tick" the tagged check box at VLAN tab. After i done the tagging setting at Network tab.

sequence as : tag Vlan1.500. (Apply setting) then go to network tab tick the tagged check box ( apply setting )

reboot 2 times the tag still there.

Just to share. Using homplug with extension cord.

Homeplug network light on "Orange" but seems like no speed or quality affect.

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 2 2010, 10:05 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2010, 10:41 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 3 2010, 09:36 AM)
Hi D3vilsim, I have no problem with UNIFI, but as my post earlier, can you explain why the packet loss test failed to carry out?

Both my home plug are on superb (green) mode smile.gif
Hi, I am not pro in networking. But packet lost can be many reason start from cabling Lan & phone & wifi. U shall try ping in LAN.
Mine also facing packet lost sometimes ..

As for the router... i don't even think is stable even on LAN. mad.gif

Hope can get solutions fast to completely replace the router. pack it and keep in store room. icon_rolleyes.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2010, 11:52 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(avex|mode @ Sep 3 2010, 11:12 AM)
So,

In term of downloading,

VIP5 = 500KB/s
VIP10 = 1000KB/s
VIP20 = 2000KB/s

Is this right? cause I haven't been able to reach more than 1000KB/s for VIP10.
Mine average is 2300KB/s download speed. Using LAN.

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Sep 3 2010, 11:19 AM)
we are using a similar one in office, it dies out every few hours be it LAN or wireless.... all of us got fed up and its not being used at all now
that's due to the router issues. that's why lan and wifi down together & need a minute to reconnect again. Temp solutions is reboot the router. Or u might consider to bridge the router as Riz guide on the 1st page.

Added on September 3, 2010, 11:53 am
QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 3 2010, 11:35 AM)
The router(DIR-615) is working fine, I haven't done VLAN bridge over my 2nd router yet as per Riz's guide, just leave the DIR-615 for few days/weeks and see.

My earlier question was why the packet loss test was not performed, any sifu can get in me an answer?

Appreciate your help smile.gif
The causes of packet loss include inadequate signal strength at the destination, natural or human-made interference, excessive system noise, hardware failure, software corruption or overburdened network nodes. Often more than one of these factors is involved.

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 3 2010, 11:45 AM)
may i know the 4meg package downstream data rate is how many?
Unifi got no 4Mb wor blush.gif

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 3 2010, 11:53 AM
D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2010, 12:09 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Sep 3 2010, 12:01 PM)
i thought we cant bridge the router anymore, since it was locked out?

im about to install unifi tmr... im quite concern with the stupid dlink router....

from my readings throughout the forum post and Riz's guide... this is what i have understand so far:
1. the dlink vlan tagging thing doesnt work anymore due to the tm super admin account password being changed?
2. if i want to use my own router, i must purchase the MikroTik RB250GS to get it work with my router?

are the above the current situation now?

if so, where can i purchase this mikrotik?

thank you guys.... (and im very excited with the unifi installation tmr =D !!! )
Welcome to the most high end router problem unifi victim family =p

1. i not sure about this. i just about to use it later tonight.
2. YES. But Klseet few of them manage to get the router work without RB250GS. However, the iptv will not work. I still working on this.

Bulk order list is on going at the 1st page but still no person in charge to purchase and bring it in to malaysia.

hope above info help
D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2010, 01:26 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 3 2010, 12:12 PM)
opps..sorry..
but what's your speed?
got 5, 10, 20mb biggrin.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top