Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

cradle0fFilth
post Nov 10 2010, 12:19 AM

666 posts

Hi.
never a smart phone user. so, might as well giving it a try now ey..

I ve been reading since page 15, and also did some research (abit) on the other smart phones, which i basically come down to these 2: HTC desire and SGS. But there is still a few things that perhaps all sifus here can help out

can any 1 share with me:

1. in terms of sound quality, which is the best? i put this as my priority as i do travel alot, and music is a must for me =D (for some weird reasons, i m not fond of the 'i' brand. besides, i m kinda guy who love to carry as little as possible - means if best, i would not want to have another stand-alone mp3 player). most of you seems to comment on mostly other criteria but not this 1.

2. GPS - ok, i never use any gps in my life before.. thus my noob question as the following: Which of the above can get free updated maps like forever (shit. feel like gona kena flame)

3. .. which also bring me up to question 3 - battery life. according to wat i had read, SGS has a better battery life compare to Desire?

4. which of their camera is better in your opinion. but this is not my priority. as long as it can take a decent pic, i m satisfied

5. both able to run the upcoming android 3.0? i read about the pre-requirement on the later android software. any 1 can confirm?

what say you..

besides music, my daily task includes:
- email (able to sync with microsoft outlook? possible?)
- web browsing - reading articles / news / ebooks / social networking stuff like fb, msn, whatapps..
- gaming (not much) / browser flash games
- pdf, microsoft words, excel (possible?)

Thanks ey!
cheers
cradle0fFilth
post Nov 10 2010, 11:36 PM

666 posts

@Phan, @Lost & @Xproc.

thanks mate!
looks like i might jus get an samsung.

HTC desire HD still long time more right before it arrive in malaysia right?

cradle0fFilth
post Nov 11 2010, 05:05 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Nov 11 2010, 02:07 AM)
how long is "long"? It'll arrive by this year at least.

both Desire and SGS are great phones anyway, if possible try them out yourself before getting one.
u got a point.
my w850i jus kantoi. under desperate measures, my 'how long' is within this 1 or 2 weeks, as i got no phone to use at the moment. lol!

thx ey.
cradle0fFilth
post Nov 14 2010, 12:52 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Nov 14 2010, 09:32 AM)
any idea when froyo will reach for samsung galaxy 5 ....
went to ask the mexis ppl at GO Mobile Expo yesterday, it seems they dunno when. oh well, they dunno anything at all as well. i plan to buy the samsung galaxy S, but i m still unsure should i buy it only after they update to 2.2, or i get it now and update myself using those custom ROM or something. judging from all the thread i have read, i have no idea wat are they talking about and worry i might screw up the phone.. lol!
cradle0fFilth
post Nov 14 2010, 08:38 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(o.d @ Nov 14 2010, 05:28 PM)
u went to the mobile expo, any sightings of the black Phantom Legend as this one?

http://www.androidguys.com/2010/10/06/new-...-legend-desire/
drool.gif
sorry mate. din c any. i went to ask about htc desire, but the htc booth did not put it on display. when i asked y, 1 of the sales person told me the phone got prob, cuz overheating or somethin.

Added on November 14, 2010, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(lost123 @ Nov 14 2010, 04:51 PM)
If u mean his choices of fones dont have video calling then yes, ur right. But Galaxy S has video calling using its front facing camera.

Added on November 14, 2010, 4:58 pm
Galaxy S froyo for our region is supposed to be out within now and 30th Nov. But i flashed to a custom ROM and i love it! really improves the experience of the fone..

and its not hard, if u follow the instructions to the T, then u shudnt have any problems, but if u dont want to mess around with that, then u can wait for the offical froyo.. but i decided to go ahead and flash to custom rom..

juz make sure that if u get the fone, check whether u can enter into recovery mode by pressing the volume up + Home + Power button. hold all buttons until the screen starts, if u have recovery enabled, then u will be able to see a different screen after the boot up screen. This is pretty important if u wanna flash to custom roms, coz some galaxy S fones have their recovery disabled.
thx for your advice bro.

This post has been edited by cradle0fFilth: Nov 14 2010, 08:40 PM
cradle0fFilth
post Nov 18 2010, 12:41 AM

666 posts

huhu! got my sgs!

0.0416sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:33 AM