131 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

neato4u
post Oct 29 2010, 11:49 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

guys (and gals if any), which android phone should i get if i am looking for excellent battery life?

sorry if its already been discussed on the thread, but it's a bit slow for me to go through all as im on 'edge'.

appreciate your help. thx
o.d
post Oct 30 2010, 07:26 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(langsk @ Oct 20 2010, 09:06 PM)
Just join the club yesterday... Currently using se xperia x8. The spec is very good but the only down site is no multitouch screen, but  considering the price -- rm725...  it very value..
Hey langsk,

What about the camera? Is it really bad like some people say. Can you share some sample photos?

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Oct 24 2010, 12:30 PM)
For RM1000 below, my suggestion SE x8 > Galaxy 5 > x10 mini
Thanks! can you please tell me why would you say that the x10 mini is above all?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
To android pros,

I would like to own an android but of course the high end ones is too expensive for me. I am just starting out to try smartphone (and very keen towards android) so I dont want to spend too much and later I didn't really use all the function. tongue.gif

But I like to take photos so I am looking for a good camera as well although from lots of reviews I read, not much good camera with android and I saw some of my friend's photos from his HTC.

Sony usually have a good camera, even at lower MP because of its sensor, but I am also being influenced of the complaints by MANY android users that the 1.6 Donut is really a drawback. hahaha! tongue.gif

I also want to use skype on the phone. I have a friend in Mexico who call me on his HTC HD2 on skype to my computer, so I want to be able to call him too when I'm not on my laptop. I don't play much game on phones but simple ones maybe so maybe I don't need the good specs for playing games. My friend also uses the ereader to read story books on the phone and I'd like that too so I guess maybe the resolution is also a part for me to consider? (I read reviews about bad reso on wildfire due to the cheap price). I may also need to read some .pdf or .doc documents while waiting or in LRT.

Am I asking too much for a small budget?

I haven't seen much review on Malaysian made CSL Spice Mi300 that cost RM899 in one of the android seller here. Anyone have a say for this phone? Review at mobile88 sounds decent though and at another site also commented a decent phone.

My initial budget is under RM1000 but I may also consider to up my budget to RM1500, any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by o.d: Oct 30 2010, 08:04 AM
Narako
post Oct 30 2010, 10:08 AM

what?
705 posts

well the sony x10 2.1 update is being released soon..but it wont get froyo 2.2 but the camera is good
zeroty
post Oct 30 2010, 11:25 AM

95 posts

HTC wildfire or xperia x10? any comments?
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 11:55 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(zeroty @ Oct 30 2010, 12:25 PM)
Look at ur budget go for xt720 la bro..no regret tongue.gif
The best go run some test b4 buy..hehe..dont ezy trus the seller..their only to make sale mehhh..
lost123
post Oct 30 2010, 12:10 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(zeroty @ Oct 30 2010, 11:25 AM)
Both have its pros and cons..

for the wildfire
pros- cheap, compact, and uses sense UI, android 2.1 (i tink)
cons- poor screen resolution, and because of this, some apps might not be compatible

for the x10
pros- nice big screen, higher resolution, more apps should be supported as compared to wildfire, good camera (i would say the best camera of all currently available android fones)
cons- more expensive, android 1.6 only at the moment, timescape can be a little sluggish

so its up to u.. why dont u also check out the HTC legend. slightly faster processor as compared to the wildfire, also uses sense UI, better screen resolution, most apps supported, android 2.1 (sadly no 2.2 yet for this fone), and not very expensive (but more expensive than the wildfire tho)

you can also check out the motorola xt720, which is also a good fone, but if u plan on rooting and flashing to custom roms, if im not mistaken this fone does not allow that.. and the RAM on this fone is a little on the low side, but besides that, it is a good fone..

another fone would be the motorola milestone, good fone, but might as well wait for the milestone 2..

if ur budget can go higher, u can also check out the desire and the Samsung galaxy S..

overall, i would say tat if between wildfire and x10, i would personally go for the x10 coz i prefer larger screens, but do also take note of the HTC Legend
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 12:21 PM

1,966 posts

Ur wrong dude!...xt can be root also meh.,for the memory can do app2sd ezily maaa...my apps on my phone currently 100 above but still have 145 abv on board...heheh..also we can use any mod rom theme for interface...the only thing cannot flash mod rom,.thats all...

Added on October 30, 2010, 12:24 pmDont give wrong statement abt my xt...hehe..u must own n test this beast b4 do comment abt xt...haha

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Oct 30 2010, 12:24 PM
NightBloody
post Oct 30 2010, 12:25 PM

Hi all, i desperately need advice on which phone i should buy.

1. Brand. - Any
2. Budget. - Below RM1.6k
3. Specs. - Used as mini computer to online watch flv video, able to read pdf, doc, docs, etc... , play game including FB game, social networking, good camera at least 5MP, optional for video/audio/photo editing.
4. Type/Size. (Candybar, Clamshell etc...) - No Idea

I'm new to smart phone. And i cant live without internet~ Please recommend me a suitable smart phone icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 12:32 PM

1,966 posts

American brand vs taiwan brand...for the lasting hardware who gonna win??..

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Oct 30 2010, 12:33 PM
zeroty
post Oct 30 2010, 01:38 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 30 2010, 11:55 AM)
Look at ur budget go for xt720 la bro..no regret  tongue.gif
How much for xt720 for AP set?

QUOTE(lost123 @ Oct 30 2010, 12:10 PM)

for the wildfire
cons- poor screen resolution, and because of this, some apps might not be compatible

for the x10
pros- nice big screen, higher resolution, more apps should be supported as compared to wildfire, good camera (i would say the best camera of all currently available android fones)
cons- more expensive, android 1.6 only at the moment, timescape can be a little sluggish

so its up to u.. why dont u also check out the HTC legend. slightly faster processor as compared to the wildfire, also uses sense UI, better screen resolution, most apps supported, android 2.1 (sadly no 2.2 yet for this fone), and not very expensive (but more expensive than the wildfire tho)

you can also check out the motorola xt720, which is also a good fone, but if u plan on rooting and flashing to custom roms, if im not mistaken this fone does not allow that.. and the RAM on this fone is a little on the low side, but besides that, it is a good fone..

another fone would be the motorola milestone, good fone, but might as well wait for the milestone 2..

if ur budget can go higher, u can also check out the desire and the Samsung galaxy S..

overall, i would say tat if between wildfire and x10, i would personally go for the x10 coz i prefer larger screens, but do also take note of the HTC Legend
HTC Legend cheapest is around 1400? How is that compared to Aria in terms of features and price?
x10 upgrade to 2.1 is coming. I think x10 is great except that it lacks of multi touch.

SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 02:04 PM

1,966 posts

can ask gajah white for the xt ap set price....myb around 1500..
lost123
post Oct 30 2010, 04:39 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 30 2010, 12:21 PM)
Ur wrong dude!...xt can be root also meh.,for the memory can do app2sd ezily maaa...my apps on my phone currently 100 above but still have 145 abv on board...heheh..also we can use any mod rom theme for interface...the only thing cannot flash mod rom,.thats all...

Added on October 30, 2010, 12:24 pmDont give wrong statement abt my xt...hehe..u must own n test this beast b4 do comment abt xt...haha
Sorry not too sure abt the rooting part.. But i didnt mean internal memory.. I meant ram.. As in ram on xt is a little on the low side.. 256mb of ram is pretty low if u compare with other fones.. And ram does make a difference.. And i did say xt is a good fone as according to reviews. but juz meant tat xt ram was low..
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 05:20 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Oct 30 2010, 05:39 PM)
Sorry not too sure abt the rooting part.. But i didnt mean internal memory.. I meant ram.. As in ram on xt is a little on the low side.. 256mb of ram is pretty low if u compare with other fones.. And ram does make a difference.. And i did say xt is a good fone as according to reviews. but juz meant tat xt ram was low..
At this point, there's no reason to worry - at all. 256MB is way more than enough space for apps. 90% of them are well under a MB each. Apps that use databases or large data files usually put them on the SD card anyway, it's only the executable that needs to be on the phone flash. Do u know what i means dude?.. biggrin.gif
I've got a hundred above programs on my xt on a 1gb partition and it still has 900mb free.. biggrin.gif

The Xt720 has 256MB of RAM and a 512MB ROM (that's not really Read Only Memory)
The Android operating system lives on the 512MB of ROM, what's left (the other 256 number bandied about) is for applications.

Google wants to eventually allow installation of Apps to SD cards, but doesn't currently allow it due to multiple reasons. This most recent thread in the Google Android groups has discussions on where things stand now and how to possibly develop the ability meeting the needs/desires of Google.
http://groups.google.com/group...ead/bf0709c157451cd9

thumbup.gif

can see HERE nfs shift running smoothly on my xt on the big screen ... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Oct 30 2010, 05:42 PM
neato4u
post Oct 30 2010, 05:52 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hmmm... seemed that my question about 'which android phone with excellent battery' has been drowned... or not?
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 06:00 PM

1,966 posts

u can buy how many battery stock u want with android..but not for fruitty phone....hehehe...if u want the long lasting u can off the background data..just use minimal usage..but for what buy android phone then dont use the capabilities...

Added on October 30, 2010, 6:03 pmwat i want with my devices is 24 / 7 online mehhh....so that means i need car charger n plug charger with me all the time...heheh...so far not big problem for me....

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Oct 30 2010, 06:03 PM
o.d
post Oct 30 2010, 08:10 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Oct 30 2010, 10:08 AM)
well the sony x10 2.1 update is being released soon..but it wont get froyo 2.2 but the camera is good
but x10 is off my budget. what about x10mini camera?
neato4u
post Oct 30 2010, 08:33 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

khalpowers, well thanks for replying but that wasn't the answer i got in mind. However, based on my average use, I just can't detach myself from charging the phone as soon as I see a power socket nearby.

But this non-stop-charging is driving me nuts. I mean, I used to be always on data with my previous Windows Mobile phone, but it's not as bad as the Android. Am I hoping too much or is the Android phone is far below par for it's 'normal' usage?

Thinking of buying a mugen 3500mah or at least a 2000mah battery, however the cons is the bulky butt size of the battery cover.
FallenOut
post Oct 30 2010, 09:01 PM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 30 2010, 11:55 AM)
Look at ur budget go for xt720 la bro..no regret  tongue.gif
The best go run some test b4 buy..hehe..dont ezy trus the seller..their only to make sale mehhh..
yea
dun trust the seller
bt then
dun trust wat u hear from other forumers as well

come on bro
ppl r askin for opinions on those 2 phones
u wanna advertise ur xt720
do it after u explain those 2 phones
dun just cancel out other phones
n just say ur xt720 is the cream of the corp
since u r sayin ur xt720 is so pro
btr u dun change to any other phone
n use it till the day u leave gaia
cuz if u change to other phone
in the near future
wont it means u hav regretted buyin ur xt720

QUOTE(lost123 @ Oct 30 2010, 12:10 PM)

for the wildfire

for the x10

now
tis is the best answer to the question being asked
answerin both phones pro n con n then only talk bout other phone
in tis case
being ur treasured phone
SUSkhalpowers
post Oct 30 2010, 09:21 PM

1,966 posts

just to share my xt mehh bcoz not many knows abt this beast..many peoples know android is htc n samsung..their dont know wat is droid.......nevermind la bro!!..i only posting at my xt there..huhu.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

but what i know is x10 is really poor performance...pity on u buy nice camera phone but dont hav multitouch...still donut..but i heard eclair be landed soon..yaaaaaa!!!...sorry bro..no heart feeling...hehe..last word ...adioss!!

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Oct 30 2010, 09:37 PM
lost123
post Oct 30 2010, 11:55 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Oct 30 2010, 05:52 PM)
hmmm... seemed that my question about 'which android phone with excellent battery' has been drowned... or not?
what do u consider excellent battery? 2 days with moderate to heavy use with data on?

coz for wat i noe, all these touch screen fones have horrible battery life.. if u want better battery life, u wud haf to get the 3rd party battery which makes ur fone look funny at the back..

i havent yet heard of any android fone that has excellent or even good battery life..

Desire has kinda crappy battery life, Samsung galaxy S (the fones im using) has a slightly better battery life than the desire, but nonetheless its not what i consider good battery life.. it can last me till the end of the day with data on edge, setting brightness down, moderate gaming, moderate browsing, moderate to heavy calls, moderate smsing, etc... but seems like some ppl using the galaxy S managed to get much better battery life than i do.. dunno why, but for me its not a problem because i charge my fone everyday before i go to sleep.. and no issues going thru the day..

cant really comment on other fones coz ive never used them before, but ive read and watched many reviews of other android fones, and from what i can tell, none have good battery life, at least not yet..

so the only thing u can do is to either charge every night, or get a huge 3rd party battery.

131 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:13 PM