125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

> Puchong Thread V6, One Stop Centre Group

yeo2007
post Sep 19 2010, 04:12 PM

120 posts

PUCHONG: Everybody knows Puchong but not everybody wants to go there. Yes, if you are staying there, then you have no choice.
In recent years, Puchong has become a landmark for mushrooming housing estates.

At last count, there were 30 Puchong townships under the Subang Jaya Municipal Council and 16 more under the Sepang Municipal Council.

But we are not here to talk about the townships; the focus is on the Bandar Puteri wet market which has become a bit of an institution to the surrounding areas.

The market comes alive at 7am because that's when the early birds do their marketing.

According to these diligent individuals, that is the time when the best and freshest stuff are up for sale.

What makes this wet market special is that it also encompasses a food court that boasts of several dozen stalls that sell a wide range of local hawker food.

Don't ask what I was doing there at 9am several mornings in a row sometime ago. Suffice to say, I experienced a revelation that brought a big smile to my face.

Back about 20 years ago, a motorcyclist (me) riding through the so-called town only encountered kilometres and kilometres of half-completed residential estates and disused mining pools.

Reversed 40 years into the pages of local history, Puchong was once an unimpressive rubber estate and tin mining town. There was one two-lane road that didn't look like it welcomed strangers.

That was in the past.

The Bandar Puteri market is proof that Puchong is a fast-growing township in Selangor that has come of age.

I stand to be judged that this wet market is an example for other new townships to follow. At 9am, when other lazy bones have yet to wake up, the hawkers are preparing their stalls for the inflow of customers who normally eat before they do their morning rounds.

One stall that stands out like a beacon from the others is the one that sells fried beehoon, fried mee, fried rice and other vegetarian dishes.

For just about RM3, you can fill your plate with a variety of vegetarian dishes that go well with the beehoon.

If you are not a vegan, you are welcome to sample items from the other stalls that have outstanding names like Hopo Lui Cha, Sarawak Handmade Mee, Hakka Dai Bu Mee, Mini Wok, Fish Farm Thai Restaurant, Fried Prawn Wantan, Claypot Chicken Rice/Herbal Soup and Veko Specially Ca Kut. The last name stumped me.

But that only adds flavour to the entire building that houses stalls, restaurants and other make-shift hawker stalls.

There's even a sizeable pasar raya that calls itself Puchong Herbs & Food Trading. The shop faces the chicken, fish and vegetable stalls.

The name of the Bandar Puteri Market food square is called Nice To Eat Food Centre 928. The numerals are supposedly lucky numbers that will do any number-worshipper proud.

Frankly, this modern wet market is quite well organised. It is relatively clean. It doesn't smell that much and it has clusters of stalls hawking their wares in all the appropriate corners.

The butcher shops are housed in a secluded spot in the building as tangible proof that the architects of this structure have been sensitive to the feelings of all communities.

A short distance from the market is the low lying mountain that surrounds part of this residential estate. With a population in excess of 335,000 (2008 statistics), the Bandar Puteri wet market won't be short of customers anytime soon.

This is the first private wet market complex in Puchong. There are 240 parking bays around the entire building. A 24-hour security system makes sure that early morning and late night customers feel safe shopping in the RM6.5 million complex.

The market is open from 7am to 10.30pm. It was officially opened in August 2007. There are 49 stalls selling "wet" items, 22 selling dry produce and 24 shoplots.

Puchong's hungry residents will be glad to know that there are more than 50 stalls in the food court. Residents from Petaling Jaya and Kuala Lumpur who frequent the wet market can easily return home via Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong which is just around the corner from the wet market complex.

Puchong's total area is about 51.7 sq km. In two years' time the Starline of the LRT will zip through the area, bringing all the townships closer to other areas in the Klang Valley.

http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/18puchong/Article/
TSstimix
post Sep 20 2010, 09:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mr Chicken's pak cham kai for sure outar wan biggrin.gif But their other dishes such as "Chai Bouy" & etc actually taste good & reasonable although the portion is small.

I will go back Mr Chicken for other dishes but not the chicken biggrin.gif

BTW, there is a new restaurant opened in Tanming Boulevard, Tmn Meranti Jaya here:
N2 58.770 E101 36.555 (Same row as Meranti Jaya - Petronas station & Hero sup-ermarket)

Superb & nice food but the pricing is on high side - Fully aircon & luxury setting.... rclxms.gif Dinner for 3 = RM45 -

Restaurant....XXX Cuisine (Forgotten the 1st part of the name liao blush.gif )
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 17 2010, 11:39 PM)
Try Mr Chicken the other day.
The taste no way near Kong Sai and New Restaurant (Gasing) near Maybank Puteri.

Their half chicken is much smaller than Kong Sai.

Half Chicken RM24, Yau mak (RM8) lotus soup (RM4.50) 4 x rice + 1 mineral water (big) total RM40
This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 20 2010, 09:38 AM
CyberianHusky
post Sep 20 2010, 04:24 PM

263 posts

tried Yap Chuan Dry Bak Kut Teh last night.

Personally, i still prefer Dry Bak Kut Teh at Ah Foong @ Sunway. damn.. makes me mouth watering even now.

PangurBan
post Sep 20 2010, 06:06 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 20 2010, 09:37 AM)
Mr Chicken's pak cham kai for sure outar wan  biggrin.gif  But their other dishes such as "Chai Bouy" & etc actually taste good & reasonable although the portion is small.

I will go back Mr Chicken for other dishes but not the chicken  biggrin.gif

BTW, there is a new restaurant opened in Tanming Boulevard, Tmn Meranti Jaya here:
N2 58.770 E101 36.555  (Same row as Meranti Jaya - Petronas station & Hero sup-ermarket)

Superb & nice food but the pricing is on high side - Fully aircon & luxury setting....  rclxms.gif Dinner for 3 = RM45 -

Restaurant....XXX Cuisine (Forgotten the 1st part of the name liao  blush.gif )
Wah!! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif XXX means Porno Cuisine ah?
TSstimix
post Sep 21 2010, 10:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..no-lah..anyway i remembered the name liao..Classic Cuisine...Very tasty to me..but price on the high side
Galen Marek
post Sep 21 2010, 10:44 AM

20 posts

another morning at puchong

TSstimix
post Sep 24 2010, 09:23 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Morning Puchong..

Wondering whether Asiacafe puchong start operating again? Last weekend, I wanna eat there but now the dateline of 15/9/10m, blanco-ed liao...hmnnn still dunno why TNB so mean to them..
pgsiemkia
post Sep 24 2010, 09:44 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(jojo88 @ Sep 14 2010, 10:50 AM)
Specialist Clinic in private hospital is not opened on sundays and nite hours
That is why this paed clinic ( klinik Dr Chan ) is always full
Must make app prior seeing him ( phone registration and still need hours )
sigh....
Yeah, Child Clinic at Sunway med opens on sat only and until 5pm on every other day of the week. Why can't they take turns to come on a sunday and not come on either Mon or Tues? Most working parents are working on weekdays only..

Not many are qualified child specialists in Bolehland, although seem to be a lot of Bumi doctor graduates lately, with more coming out later this year..most who studied or managed to to get scholarship overseas end up staying there except for Russia and India grads smile.gif

pgsiemkia
post Sep 24 2010, 09:46 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(PangurBan @ Sep 11 2010, 05:28 PM)
If the specialist does not diagnose anything acute that needs drastic action, and the problem is something chronic like 'wind', or constipation or a sluggish GI tract, I have a couple of very effective herbal formulas.
Care to share? My stomach has been bloated for a few days already.. cry.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2010, 01:48 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 24 2010, 09:46 AM)
Care to share? My stomach has been bloated for a few days already.. cry.gif
Click on this word Helicobacter Pylori. It may or may not be the cause in your case.
PangurBan
post Sep 24 2010, 02:13 PM

584 posts

Heliobacter pylori cause stomach ulcer lah. This wan velly dangerous. There are lots of causes of bloating, but I think the chief culprit is eating and drinking the wrong things, esp things like milk, coffee, and things that give off gas like beans. Eating things in the wrong combination can also cause bloating.
nouruddines
post Sep 24 2010, 02:25 PM

236 posts

i just realised that carrefour in under development at puchong utama..

apalah.!.im slowpoke blush.gif
pgsiemkia
post Sep 24 2010, 02:37 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(PangurBan @ Sep 24 2010, 02:13 PM)
Heliobacter pylori cause stomach ulcer lah.  This wan velly dangerous.  There are lots of causes of bloating, but I think the chief culprit is eating and drinking the wrong things, esp things like milk, coffee, and things that give off gas like beans.  Eating things in the wrong combination can also cause bloating.
Aiyo, not bacteria, checked before, just lots of gas due to irregular eating eating time..need to clear my 'tong' properly once a while.
PangurBan
post Sep 24 2010, 02:47 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 24 2010, 02:37 PM)
Aiyo, not bacteria, checked before, just lots of gas due to irregular eating eating time..need to clear my 'tong' properly once a while.
Gas hor, a couple of thigns you can do. One is take charcoal tablets to absorb the gas. then you can try the herbal formula. I PM you later.
goodiefish
post Sep 25 2010, 01:57 AM

114 posts

What is the name of the half shop besides Courts Mammoth selling kongpia in Puchong Jaya? Is it open daily and weekends?
PangurBan
post Sep 25 2010, 08:56 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(goodiefish @ Sep 25 2010, 01:57 AM)
What is the name of the half shop besides Courts Mammoth selling kongpia in Puchong Jaya? Is it open daily and weekends?
Got meh? The only kongpia place I know is in Pusat Bandar. No need to go so far. The stall at Kei Wei opens every day I think, afternoons till early evening. Very good.
goodiefish
post Sep 25 2010, 02:10 PM

114 posts

Sent: Friday, May 14, 2010 12:45 PM
To: customercarepuchong@columbiaasia.com
Subject: Maternity care

Dear Customer Care division,

I was interested to know about your maternity care until i read the comments below that made me think twice. Hope you can improve your service in that area.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1211623/+1740

Dissapointed Puchongites

Dear Customer,

Greetings from Columbia Asia Hospital Puchong,

We refer to your email dated 14th May 2010 and immediately instigated a preliminary investigation in response
to the comments and feedback posted on the net.

Columbia Asia is a community based hospital that caters the needs of the community who lives around Puchong
vicinity. As such, we appreciate and welcome feedback that is provided to us and we are committed to improve
our hospitality and medical services while increasing efforts to provide value to our patients for complete customer
satisfaction.

It is very regretting to read such unfavorable comments about us on the internet. But customers are entitled to their
own opinion and we respect that very much. It is our best intention to comfort you with the truth, and with that in view
we would like to invite you and your husband to come over for a hospital visit and I will be very glad to personally take
you for a tour of our facility so you could experience our meaningful 21st Century Healthcare practice.

We thank you again for sharing with us your concern which I am sure is done on good faith for the benefit of our community
and the Management of Columbia Asia. You are more than welcome contact me on my personal mobile number <removed>
should you require further clarification or assistance from Columbia Asia Puchong.

Thank You,

Hospitably Yours
Vinotheran
Customer Care Manager
Columbia Asia Hospital Puchong

This post has been edited by goodiefish: Sep 25 2010, 02:58 PM
goodiefish
post Sep 25 2010, 02:53 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(PangurBan @ Sep 25 2010, 08:56 AM)
Got meh?  The only kongpia place I know is in Pusat Bandar.  No need to go so far.  The stall at Kei Wei opens every day I think, afternoons till early evening.  Very good.
I think it was discussed in V5. Someone said the owner very lcly, reluctant to sell in small quantity laugh.gif Anyway i donno there's a shop in pusat bandar, better la. Is it sibu or sitiawan kongpia? where's is Kei Wei again? blush.gif
billlee
post Sep 25 2010, 04:08 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2010, 09:23 AM)
Morning Puchong..

Wondering whether Asiacafe puchong start operating again? Last weekend, I wanna eat there but now the dateline of 15/9/10m, blanco-ed liao...hmnnn still dunno why TNB so mean to them..
From their advert. in Media Focus, re-opening is on 10/10/10.
PangurBan
post Sep 25 2010, 05:31 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(goodiefish @ Sep 25 2010, 02:53 PM)
I think it was discussed in V5.  Someone said the owner very lcly, reluctant to sell in small quantity  laugh.gif  Anyway i donno there's a shop in pusat bandar, better la.  Is it sibu or sitiawan kongpia? where's is Kei Wei again?   blush.gif
Oh, I think that one is Tong Kee. I don't think they sell kongpia at all. There's some funny scone like thing that they only sell by the half dozen. Kei Wei is here: N3 01.997 E101 37.056 The sitau is from Air Tawar. The sitaupo is from Tengsua.

Kei Wei - Google Maps

This post has been edited by PangurBan: Sep 25 2010, 05:32 PM

125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0199sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:25 AM