Does anybody know where to get this in Malaysia - http://pinpointmounts.com/am40.html

This post has been edited by echoesian: Jul 24 2010, 11:14 PM
How to mount a heavy bookshelf speaker on wall, For Surround Speakers
Jul 24 2010, 08:52 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,294 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Can you guys share your experience what is the best way to mount a heavy bookshelf speaker on wall for surround? This Image B5 bookshelf is weighing 11.3lbs.
Does anybody know where to get this in Malaysia - http://pinpointmounts.com/am40.html ![]() This post has been edited by echoesian: Jul 24 2010, 11:14 PM |
Jul 24 2010, 09:09 PM
1,314 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
bipole/dipole the way to go for wall mounts!
Jul 24 2010, 09:31 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darul Aman |
Jul 24 2010, 10:09 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 24 2010, 08:52 PM) Can you guys share your experience what is the best way to mount a heavy bookshelf speaker on wall for surround? This Image B5 bookshelf is weighing 11.3lbs. U just have to buy a wall mount that is rated to take that weight. Then make sure you mount it with sufficient screws to the wall. |
Jul 24 2010, 10:13 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak. |
I am using Avaino 2 and consider heavy & quite a depth. I use tall speaker stand to support them.
Jul 24 2010, 10:42 PM
Jul 24 2010, 10:55 PM
Jul 24 2010, 10:59 PM
Jul 24 2010, 11:25 PM
U bought your Image B5 from A&L right? Didn't you ask them about wall mounts?
I bought my wall mounts from A&L and they look very similar to that AM40 you posted. Paid RM180 for a pair. It's quite good, can swivel and tilt. |
Jul 24 2010, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 24 2010, 11:25 PM) U bought your Image B5 from A&L right? Didn't you ask them about wall mounts? Can share some photos? the bracket that support at the bottom wor.... They said tak ada wor have to find from Jln Pasar wor...I bought my wall mounts from A&L and they look very similar to that AM40 you posted. Paid RM180 for a pair. It's quite good, can swivel and tilt. So, you use this bracket to mount your B5? |
Jul 24 2010, 11:49 PM
150 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 25 2010, 12:25 AM) U bought your Image B5 from A&L right? Didn't you ask them about wall mounts? Which A&L you got yours? At time different salesman & branch tend to be given different answer. I bought my wall mounts from A&L and they look very similar to that AM40 you posted. Paid RM180 for a pair. It's quite good, can swivel and tilt. |
Jul 24 2010, 11:58 PM
A&L Sg. Wang
Jul 25 2010, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 24 2010, 08:52 PM) i suppose we have to drill the underside to attach this kind of mounting right?not gonna do that to my speakers. damn sayang since it only have mounting holes at the back. |
Jul 25 2010, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 25 2010, 12:54 AM) i suppose we have to drill the underside to attach this kind of mounting right? Not really sure leh... it doesn't have any mounting holes on the back as well... not gonna do that to my speakers. damn sayang since it only have mounting holes at the back. Bro.. u mentioned u put some book to angle it down .. but I really can't imagine ler.. can show some photos? |
Jul 25 2010, 07:41 AM
Ok, here's a pic of my wall mount and the box it came in:
![]() ![]() Bought from Yap at A&L Amcorp. There's no need to drill any holes in the speaker (that's why I bought it). Speaker is held by the two arms (which have got foam pads so the speaker isn't scratched), which you can tighten to grip the speaker. |
Jul 25 2010, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 25 2010, 07:41 AM) Ok, here's a pic of my wall mount and the box it came in: ![]() ![]() Bought from Yap at A&L Amcorp. There's no need to drill any holes in the speaker (that's why I bought it). Speaker is held by the two arms (which have got foam pads so the speaker isn't scratched), which you can tighten to grip the speaker. It's very nice look! Bro, what speaker is that and what is the weight? Is that really secure enough without screw on the speaker? How much is that? |
Jul 25 2010, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 25 2010, 12:10 PM) It's very nice look! Bro, what speaker is that and what is the weight? Is that really secure enough without screw on the speaker? How much is that? It's the PSB B15, 12 lbs. Yes, the wall mount is holding the speaker securely enough. I believe I mentioned the price earlier, RM180. |
Jul 26 2010, 10:30 PM
1,293 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Ladang |
wat's the weight it supported ?
Jul 26 2010, 10:32 PM
Aug 14 2010, 06:49 PM
Unfortunately, they do not carry this model anymore, the dealer went to buy from jalan pasar a front/back clip instead of left/right but it's not strong enough, worry it might drop.
So, now they suggested to drill holes on the back of the speaker to mount it, will this affect the sound quality of the speaker? |
Aug 14 2010, 07:44 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 14 2010, 06:49 PM) Unfortunately, they do not carry this model anymore, the dealer went to buy from jalan pasar a front/back clip instead of left/right but it's not strong enough, worry it might drop. As long as there is no 'additional' hole for the sound to leak out, it should be good enoughSo, now they suggested to drill holes on the back of the speaker to mount it, will this affect the sound quality of the speaker? |
Aug 15 2010, 12:11 AM
Hai.... a bit sayang leh...baru baru tiba tiba kena drill holes...
Aug 15 2010, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 14 2010, 06:49 PM) Unfortunately, they do not carry this model anymore, the dealer went to buy from jalan pasar a front/back clip instead of left/right but it's not strong enough, worry it might drop. Actually a front/back clip should work ok.So, now they suggested to drill holes on the back of the speaker to mount it, will this affect the sound quality of the speaker? Even if you drill holes at the back of the speaker, are you sure it will hold? Because those holes have no special threads, so I don't know how well the screws can hold on to the speaker back. Also if you drill next time the resale value might be affected. |
Aug 15 2010, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2010, 12:33 AM) Actually a front/back clip should work ok. Yes it is actually can hold it but not strong enough because of the speaker shape, it's curve at the front and not flat so the metal is only clipping on some portion of the front speaker only. Furthermore, I notice that there is a small dent on the back speaker liao because of the screw that tightening it. Even if you drill holes at the back of the speaker, are you sure it will hold? Because those holes have no special threads, so I don't know how well the screws can hold on to the speaker back. Also if you drill next time the resale value might be affected. Is there any celotape that is strong enough to stick it to the metal? |
Aug 15 2010, 12:25 PM
Don't know about the cellotape.
Since you prefer the left/right type (like mine), maybe you have to hunt around more. Or import in from overseas. |
Aug 15 2010, 01:09 PM
1,308 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penang & Ipoh |
3M double sided tape. Don't know when you tear it off, will it tear of the veneer too?
Aug 15 2010, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2010, 12:25 PM) Don't know about the cellotape. just wonder, since yours is left/right clip type, how do you ensure that the speaker wont slip down since there is no back and front metal to support it?Since you prefer the left/right type (like mine), maybe you have to hunt around more. Or import in from overseas. |
Aug 16 2010, 01:28 AM
116 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: PJ & Shah Alam, Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Malaysia |
Aug 16 2010, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 15 2010, 08:31 PM) just wonder, since yours is left/right clip type, how do you ensure that the speaker wont slip down since there is no back and front metal to support it? It's just held by friction. I tighten the clips adequately and it's been fine.The nice thing is that it comes with foam pads (to prevent scratches) which also help to improve the friction. |
Aug 16 2010, 11:47 AM
Aug 16 2010, 06:55 PM
10,479 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Aug 16 2010, 07:03 PM
Thanks for the close up pics. I assume you have to drill the speaker bottom to attach the plate to it?
Aug 16 2010, 07:13 PM
the bracket is designed for you to screw the speaker from bottom, thus attaching the bracket's plate to the speaker.
the lever can be adjusted to tilt the speaker up or down, while the plate mention just now allows you to toe the speaker in or out. i'm not sure how heavy can it hold. |
Aug 16 2010, 07:30 PM
Can it swivel left/right or not?
Aug 16 2010, 07:50 PM
2 movements allowed
Aug 16 2010, 08:01 PM
Aug 16 2010, 08:04 PM
1,207 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
and it cost 50 bucks per pair
Aug 16 2010, 08:37 PM
Aug 16 2010, 10:43 PM
Aug 16 2010, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 16 2010, 08:13 PM) the bracket is designed for you to screw the speaker from bottom, thus attaching the bracket's plate to the speaker. I think it also allow to screw the speaker from behind coz i have a pair similar one but with additional metal wire to hold the speaker & bracket juz in case never screw properly or the screw get lose.... |
Aug 19 2010, 01:03 PM
as per requested via pm, here is the pic.
do notice the metal wire (from wall bracket to surround speaker bracket). This post has been edited by Able.O.S: Aug 19 2010, 01:05 PM Attached image(s) |
Aug 19 2010, 11:05 PM
129 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Nilai-KLIA |
I have a very old JBL 2600 which is abt 12 lbs. (5.4 kgs). Can this bracket hold it. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Aug 19 2010, 11:07 PM
117 posts Joined: May 2008 |
can.....sure no problem..
provided ur speaker material can sustain the heavy load between the screw connection ...otherwise.. |
Aug 19 2010, 11:18 PM
129 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Nilai-KLIA |
QUOTE(smsseah5 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:07 PM) can.....sure no problem.. Thanks for the reply.provided ur speaker material can sustain the heavy load between the screw connection ...otherwise.. Dunno if the speaker material can hold or not coz i bought it in the late 80's. Otherwise,will consider those wooden shelf. |
Aug 20 2010, 08:53 PM
i think what he mean is ur speaker weight, will it break at the screwing point....
Aug 20 2010, 09:48 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Talking abt heavy bookself speakers on straight shelfs...
Back to my old hat stories... One of my late boss (Japanese) has an incredible low and loud voice, he sang a few Enka songs until one of a BMB speaker fell from the shelf!! We were all shocked!! Lesson is, when putting speakers on shelf, make sure there are rubber feet at the bottom. |
| Change to: | 0.0290sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:24 PM |