How to mount a heavy bookshelf speaker on wall, For Surround Speakers

azbro
post Aug 14 2010, 07:44 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 14 2010, 06:49 PM)
Unfortunately, they do not carry this model anymore, the dealer went to buy from jalan pasar a front/back clip instead of left/right but it's not strong enough, worry it might drop.

So, now they suggested to drill holes on the back of the speaker to mount it, will this affect the sound quality of the speaker?
As long as there is no 'additional' hole for the sound to leak out, it should be good enough
TSechoesian
post Aug 15 2010, 12:11 AM

3,294 posts

Hai.... a bit sayang leh...baru baru tiba tiba kena drill holes...
jchong
post Aug 15 2010, 12:33 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 14 2010, 06:49 PM)
Unfortunately, they do not carry this model anymore, the dealer went to buy from jalan pasar a front/back clip instead of left/right but it's not strong enough, worry it might drop.

So, now they suggested to drill holes on the back of the speaker to mount it, will this affect the sound quality of the speaker?
Actually a front/back clip should work ok.

Even if you drill holes at the back of the speaker, are you sure it will hold? Because those holes have no special threads, so I don't know how well the screws can hold on to the speaker back.

Also if you drill next time the resale value might be affected.
TSechoesian
post Aug 15 2010, 11:21 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2010, 12:33 AM)
Actually a front/back clip should work ok.

Even if you drill holes at the back of the speaker, are you sure it will hold? Because those holes have no special threads, so I don't know how well the screws can hold on to the speaker back.

Also if you drill next time the resale value might be affected.
Yes it is actually can hold it but not strong enough because of the speaker shape, it's curve at the front and not flat so the metal is only clipping on some portion of the front speaker only. Furthermore, I notice that there is a small dent on the back speaker liao because of the screw that tightening it.

Is there any celotape that is strong enough to stick it to the metal?
jchong
post Aug 15 2010, 12:25 PM

5,989 posts

Don't know about the cellotape.

Since you prefer the left/right type (like mine), maybe you have to hunt around more. Or import in from overseas.
pierreye
post Aug 15 2010, 01:09 PM

1,308 posts

3M double sided tape. Don't know when you tear it off, will it tear of the veneer too?
TSechoesian
post Aug 15 2010, 08:31 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2010, 12:25 PM)
Don't know about the cellotape.

Since you prefer the left/right type (like mine), maybe you have to hunt around more. Or import in from overseas.
just wonder, since yours is left/right clip type, how do you ensure that the speaker wont slip down since there is no back and front metal to support it?
streetkid
post Aug 16 2010, 01:28 AM

116 posts

Do Like Mine.. Heavy Bookshelf Speaker, but it can support.. smile.gif

Been using for almost 4 month.. No problem.. smile.gif

jchong
post Aug 16 2010, 08:47 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 15 2010, 08:31 PM)
just wonder, since yours is left/right clip type, how do you ensure that the speaker wont slip down since there is no back and front metal to support it?
It's just held by friction. I tighten the clips adequately and it's been fine.

The nice thing is that it comes with foam pads (to prevent scratches) which also help to improve the friction.
TSechoesian
post Aug 16 2010, 11:47 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(streetkid @ Aug 16 2010, 01:28 AM)
Do Like Mine.. Heavy Bookshelf Speaker, but it can support.. smile.gif

Been using for almost 4 month.. No problem.. smile.gif

Can't see clearly leh... how does it look like?
Skylinestar
post Aug 16 2010, 06:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 16 2010, 11:47 AM)
Can't see clearly leh... how does it look like?
i have the exact same brackets. till today, it's still kept in the box, untouched.
jchong
post Aug 16 2010, 07:03 PM

5,989 posts

Thanks for the close up pics. I assume you have to drill the speaker bottom to attach the plate to it?
Skylinestar
post Aug 16 2010, 07:13 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

the bracket is designed for you to screw the speaker from bottom, thus attaching the bracket's plate to the speaker.

the lever can be adjusted to tilt the speaker up or down, while the plate mention just now allows you to toe the speaker in or out.

i'm not sure how heavy can it hold.
TSechoesian
post Aug 16 2010, 07:30 PM

3,294 posts

Can it swivel left/right or not?
Skylinestar
post Aug 16 2010, 07:50 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

2 movements allowed

TSechoesian
post Aug 16 2010, 08:01 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 16 2010, 07:50 PM)
2 movements allowed
Yeah I know, one is up and down and the other is rotate but not left/right ...
starship1
post Aug 16 2010, 08:04 PM

1,207 posts

and it cost 50 bucks per pair
jchong
post Aug 16 2010, 08:37 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 16 2010, 08:01 PM)
Yeah I know, one is up and down and the other is rotate but not left/right ...
Wouldn't the rotate be quite similar to left/right?
TSechoesian
post Aug 16 2010, 10:43 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 16 2010, 08:37 PM)
Wouldn't the rotate be quite similar to left/right?
Yeah it is, it was my mistake earlier..
Able.O.S
post Aug 16 2010, 10:50 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 16 2010, 08:13 PM)
the bracket is designed for you to screw the speaker from bottom, thus attaching the bracket's plate to the speaker.

I think it also allow to screw the speaker from behind coz i have a pair similar one but with additional metal wire to hold the speaker & bracket juz in case never screw properly or the screw get lose.... sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0213sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:21 AM