U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

soundguy
post Feb 14 2011, 11:25 AM

270 posts

hmm... was cracking my head to find a decent mobile BB...may give this a try.

I had :

Celcom - total crap

Digi - actually quite OK but i needed 2 accts, one for wifey... they dun allow that!!!

YES - good speed but crappy cust service. also, no detailed accounting..so u juz hv to take their word for it! Tried 3 months, i am migrating to U-mobile later today.. biggrin.gif
soundguy
post Feb 14 2011, 04:47 PM

270 posts

well..what do you know.... went to PJ Digital Mall in Section 14 juz now. Guess what? No U-Mobile agent there!!! Can you believe it? All others (Maxis/Celcom/DiGi/P1/YES/UniFi) all have presence there!!!

What is going on U-Mobile? tongue.gif
soundguy
post Feb 14 2011, 05:31 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Feb 14 2011, 05:21 PM)
Even in Sunway Pyramid, the station always have extra station for agents. Looks like they are keen in keeping overhead costs low.  hmm.gif
when u need them...they all seem to hide under the woodwork... tongue.gif anyway, going to Pyramid now to subscribe and get my MiFi package. BTW, read in the T&C abt the MiFi prepaid, there is a cap of RM176....wonder what is this as there is no explanation in the Plans ? rclxub.gif
soundguy
post Feb 16 2011, 10:39 AM

270 posts

Ok... subscribed to U-Mobile on Tues at Pyramid. Registration was fast and a breeze. Guy was pretty helpful too. However, when i asked about the RM176 thingy, he also had no idea, so i juz left it as that....just in case any thinks i am cuckoo... see Item 5. tongue.gif

Postpaid-U68 Terms and Conditions

Back to the experience... I did the set-up at home (Kota Kemuning) which was quite ok. Speed was not good, but i never intended it to be used at home anyways. Signal was Zero bar in my house, but still can connect to internet albeit a little slow.

So, today, first thing in the morning, arrived at office, straight away turn on the MiFi, plug to comp (via wire) and check speed. To my dismay, this is what i got, 375kpbs ... sad.gif

Never mind, i then tried to connect wirelessly, had problem with the settings... called Cust Service, was told i have to be back to my home PC to check? i am surprised as i have me MiFi with me...so why need to be back home? I also asked abt the slow speed, also same answer... have to check home pc juz in case other ppl 'steal' my line... i told him the pc is OFF at home...and the MiFi with SIM is with me..how is these ppl able to hog my line? rclxub.gif

Anyway, he was pretty patient... so i did not wanna question him more..

To be continued tonite after i try to set it up at home.

Added on February 16, 2011, 10:54 am
QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Feb 15 2011, 09:31 PM)
Hi...just wondering...
I am currently subscribing to UMobile's UB68's plan using the USB modem. I wanted to get a MiFi. Is it possible to use my current plan to use the MiFi or do I have to subscribe to a new plan? Can I buy the MiFi separately from UMobile?
Yes u can, u need to terminate ur existing UB line and get a new one. Or u can juz buy a Huawei E585 in your wish list to use with ur existing UB sim. Don't know if u can buy the MiFi from UMobile separately though...

P/S I may have the U Mobile MiFi for sale if the speed stays at 300k+ in my office!!! mad.gif vmad.gif
rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by soundguy: Feb 16 2011, 10:54 AM

soundguy
post Feb 16 2011, 11:46 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Feb 16 2011, 11:02 AM)
Thanks! But the umobile mifi is made from huawei also right? What model do they use?
U Mobile E583X is actually the earlier model of E585, i hv checked the internet and the spec is EXACTLY the same, only facelift. Color is silver as opposed to E585's black. I had E585 too, difference is that the package of E585 came with travel charger while U Mobile E583X do not hv any charger. U can only charge through PC USB port. E585 is also microUSB connector while E583x is miniUSB.

Cheers!
soundguy
post Apr 4 2011, 12:55 PM

270 posts

Anyone having difficulty with U-Mobile today? No Network since 10am. Section 14 PJ

Added on April 4, 2011, 1:46 pmback to normal smile.gif

This post has been edited by soundguy: Apr 4 2011, 01:46 PM
soundguy
post Apr 22 2011, 03:49 PM

270 posts

these few days, many dropped lines (No Network) near Section 14 Digital Mall, especially when raining like now.. very weird as i thought the signal wouldn't be affected by rain..lol

0.0464sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:06 PM