U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

raimy_m9
post Nov 18 2010, 12:24 PM

174 posts

have a question, for old user, have u ever been capped? ive been using it for almost 2 years , and only once got capped earlier this year...im staying in wangsa maju btw. my average was like 12gb permonth..sometimes below 5gb, sometimes more than 30gb...theres this one month, almost 60gb....
raimy_m9
post Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 18 2010, 02:15 PM)
thanks man. SS15 is very near to ss19 already but still I dnt feel save. think i better buy their prepaid sim first.
their UB68 MiFi plan is very tempting.
another question, do u know if i can use the Mifi with other telco's sim?

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:21 pm
even 10GB is well over maxis who is soooooo efficient to throttle your speed to 0.000000000000001kb after 3GB
maxis system check twice a day and once or maybe a few times in a week( if im not mistaken la..) bzos they got many users also...

ps: i used to work as a csp for hotlink and broadband..headache.. vmad.gif .always problem...thats a standard for them to wait a few days if some place got problem( because when u call, they ask u to do this and that...and call again..at night cannot open case, ask u to call tomorrow morning.etc.)....then they take action after lots of complaint after so much hassle for u calling them to create a case....then i'll be like weeks to rectify...then they ask for rating... 1 to 5... shakehead.gif

sometimes, you dont have to call just wait.....(if they notice their system got problems la...then they will rectify and mention the problems..)

but for mac users, its a priviledge...coz maybe they will send a technical to your place.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Nov 18 2010, 02:36 PM
raimy_m9
post Nov 18 2010, 02:40 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM)
donno when but it should be by end 2010 (guess how long this gonna be? biggrin.gif)

http://www.u.com.my/media-room/press-relea...oadband-network

read 3rd paragraph, last sentence.

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:30 pm
wow, that means it's not real-time or a daily throttling review smile.gif

good for those who downloads 24/7  doh.gif
i think if their system as big as klcc and powerful like supercomputer..then they will implement real time monitoring.in miliseconds....even real time packet scanning.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 18 2010, 02:39 PM)
twice a day huh, no wonder la. tak bagi chance langsung!
coz they make even more money...u top up bandwidth.sometimes a few time a month...futhurmore...maxis dont restrict on speed...but on bandwidth...

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Nov 18 2010, 02:43 PM
raimy_m9
post Nov 23 2010, 11:24 PM

174 posts

mine still ok considering did not yet pass 10gb..when downloading still can go around 300KBPS++..streaming video content from youtube and other streaming site lingers around 1-2mbps...been using this for 2 years already...torrent also work well can get more than 1mbps if someone seeding you with high speed.

ps: download less does not mean i support pirates...lol...

raimy_m9
post Nov 26 2010, 11:40 PM

174 posts

this is my speedtest....location...wangsa maju 7th floor. been using this for two years at the same location/the same bed and on the same place.

those two above tested with opera 10.6 while these two below using ie9 beta..dont mind the ping though...but ie9 feels somewhat faster than my opera and firefox.

when tested, im using e1762 modem.on my new hp probook laptop..RSSI between -65dbm - -73dbm...and i noticed this number have slightly improved, a few months ago around -80dbm to -95dbm...
but of course la..this is just a speedtest...when dl can go around 250-330KBps...on other laptop...even though can achieve around the same figure, the response feels a bit slower..i think it's time to format it because of all junks installed....

ps: when tested at my work place in the strand kota damansara, speedtest can go around 2.5-2.8mbps..and the dl seems stable at around350-400KBps, which means i will always dl when im in office coz its faster.

dont feel any changes here because of these YES thing..maybe they're doing upgrades...or because their tower down, u got connected to other tower which is far.....this happened to me once..earlier this year..suddenly got only 2bars.and the internet became slow...called the cs..they said dont know...created a case..then they called back and told me that one of their tower down..only just a few hours down..
raimy_m9
post Jan 14 2011, 08:06 AM

174 posts

so guys..what about cap right now? for postpaid...is it same speed at 128kbps? after how much will get capped?
raimy_m9
post Jan 14 2011, 06:04 PM

174 posts

because mine already passed 10gb last night...and speed still ok..btw few month lately i havent even reach 1gb....and i have been using this acc for two year already.
raimy_m9
post Jan 16 2011, 09:14 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(hermes15184 @ Jan 16 2011, 03:59 PM)
yeay! now i'm really like happy with u bcoz even after using more than 7 gb of data, i'm still able to get full speed!! wohooo! now i stream like nobody's business
me already passed 15gb...still full speed. but im not gonna dl again becoz i gotta do project that requires remote connection...if they cap me then i'm doom...my sap gui will crawl.. anyway...this week tm will come and install unifi at my place.. drool.gif thinking of terminating this account after unifi installation...

ps: 2 years back i subscribed to this package (u68) surf with u without modem and i wanna know if this acc can be tied with voice? it would be a waste if i terminate this acc..
raimy_m9
post Jan 18 2011, 07:59 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 18 2011, 01:19 AM)
Where you stay?

Also, 5GB is good quota for me. Any ideas any Malaysian wireless broadband provider provide more quota than UM for cheaper price?
i bet there isn't such provider.

raimy_m9
post Jan 21 2011, 08:59 AM

174 posts

they cappped me after 15gb...now downloading at 19kB/sec. one movie for around 10 hours or so..this kinda speed made me think about those days when our option was only torrent when u download a movie that took a few days to finish.(download and forget)...

ps: but this kind of problem will be solved tomorrow because tm will come for unifi installation...i hope everything going smooth...now back to work...it's almost 9.
raimy_m9
post Feb 1 2011, 04:33 PM

174 posts

can i terminate my u68 postpaid by calling to their cs? actually i never call them since two years of usage with them..and for those past years...i really never had problem with them except when i surf at 3 or 4 am..which they usually do some maintenance i think..
raimy_m9
post Feb 2 2011, 08:55 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Feb 1 2011, 04:59 PM)
cannot just call to terminate. all telco also like that. you have to go there and sign a form and pay outstanding amount...
maxis can...i used to work in maxis as hotlink and broadband csp..that's why i ask..because i subscribe sim only...

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Feb 2 2011, 09:00 AM
raimy_m9
post Feb 11 2011, 08:58 AM

174 posts

hi, can i ask umobile to suspend my u68 acc? if can, how long?...im going out of town more than a month...i've been busy, never had a chance to call them...

0.0433sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:31 AM