Splicing and Connecting Wires for Speaker

TSGfreak
post Jul 22 2010, 03:45 PM, updated 16y ago

65 posts

Hi I've posted an earlier thread on this (under Phillips HT Speakers), but need smoe advice.
I've bought the wire extension from phillips as well but however I noticed that the new wires is fatter then the OEM wire for the speaker. Say I splice the OEM thin wires and connect it to the new 'fat' wires I've bought to get the wire longer, will there b any issues or loss of signal etc?
Appreciate that any sifu can help on the wire structures....

melvinkandasamy
post Jul 22 2010, 06:37 PM

I dont think they're gonna cause any loss of signal. However, the philips OEM wires usually tend to be of the lowest quality. I definitely think u would find a definite improvement in quality if u change the entire length of the OEM wire to a newer cable instead of just using extensions
Learjet35
post Jul 22 2010, 07:23 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

This is not fibre optic since it will lost refraction due to splicing.Just connect it properly and tighten it.good luck.. smile.gif
TSGfreak
post Jul 28 2010, 08:20 AM

65 posts

Okay folks thanks much for the comfort....will proceed with the DIY.....cheerios

0.0156sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:42 AM