lilredridinghood's log, Cutting Phase, hopefully can sustain

TSlilredridinghood
post Aug 5 2010, 02:06 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

4th Aug 2010

Currently using a different method to workout to preserve my energy for the entire workout

Bicep workout day

Dumbbell alternate curls

35lbs x 6 x 4 sets (2-3 minutes rest in between)

Dumbbell Hammer curls

32.5lbs x 6 x 3 sets (2-3 minutes rest in between)

EZ bar curls

70lbs x 6 x 3 sets (2 1/2 minutes rest in between)

Preacher Curls(Machine)

60lbs x 6
70lbs x 6
80lbs x 6
90lbs x 4
(3 minutes rest in between)

Diet:

8.45am 2 caps lipo 6 black

9.15am Half cup oats + Half scoop Syntha 6 with small portion of HL Milk

12.30pm Rice + Veges + Hard boiled + Curry Chicken without skin and Kopi O without sugar

2.30pm HIIT on threadmill

4.30pm 1 sausage bun and 1 coffee bun(1 hour after HIIT)

6.30pm half scoop syntha 6

8.45pm Black pepper chicken with rice + fried egg and Kopi O without sugar

9.55pm Gym (Lasted for approximately 50 minutes)

11.15pm 2 half boiled eggs with ice water

12.30am 1 scoop Syntha 6 shake

TSlilredridinghood
post Aug 6 2010, 11:24 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

5th of Aug 2010

To Date: Lost about 1.5kgs with 0.2kgs muscle mass lost, but then again, I was using the Tanita Indicator, accuracy level.... tongue.gif

Note: I weigh my own the day before and I was 80.3kgs with 2 times read so I can assume that it's the water weight.

Legs workout day

Warm up with Treadmill for 10 minutes

Rest for 5 minutes before starting

Squats on Smith Machine

100kgs x 6
90kgs x 6
90kgs x 6
90kgs x 6

Rest 2 1/2-3 minutes in between

Leg Extension

95 x 6
100 x 6
100 x 6

Rest 2 1/2 minutes in between

Leg Curls

61kgs x 6
61kgs x 6
54kgs x 6

Rest 2 1/2 minutes in between

Bicycle Cardio for 22 minutes with medium intensity.

Abs(Body weight crunch)
120 reps in total

*could have been better, but I was knackered.

Notice the drop on the weights of the squats, I prefer to think it's not the lost of muscle mass but rather the fact that I did HIIT the day before.

Diet:

7.45am 2 x lipo 6 black

8.15am Half scoop Syntha 6 with Oat plus HL milk

11.30am 4 half boiled eggs plus coffee o without sugar

1.30pm 2 x lipo 6 black

2.15pm half bowl rice plus hard boiled egg, marinated chicken without skin and choy sam (A little too much gravy but tried to take as little as possible)

5.45pm 1 scoop Syntha 6 protein shake

8.30pm *pre workout* Kenny Rogers, 1/4 original chicken, salad with dressing, mash potatoes, garlic potatoes plus 1 cup of fruit salad. (Tried to separate the dressing and the gravies from the chicken and the potatoes and only half a cup of fruits taken to reduce the glucose intake), drinks: Sky Juice

9.30pm work out

12.30am 2 scoop of Syntha 6 before bed time.

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Aug 26 2010, 10:41 AM
TSlilredridinghood
post Aug 26 2010, 10:42 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

been too busy, too busy to even jot down my journal, but lately, training hasn't stopped, in fact increased.

Carbs and calorie intake decreased, not drastically but carbs will only be taken 1 hour before HIIT or free weights.

Feeling a little lethargic lately, could it be due to the fact that I'm overworking myself?

Cardio after 6 hours of sleep, prior to cardio, I took 1 cap of Lipo 6 Black, waited for half an hour before going on a steady pace cardio, treadmill, elliptical or bicycle for 20-30 minutes, depending on the weather and how much energy I have left. I'm not a firm believer of the 65% MHR thingy but tried to maintain above it in the morning as well as after my weight sessions.

20-30 minutes of cardio after my free weight trainings and always feel extremely hungry after that. Often cure me hunger with 1 scoop of Syntha 6.

Weight training intensity increased. Maintained at 5-6 reps on certain exercises and occasional 10-12 reps on others. Rest depends, it varies depending on how long do I need to catch my breath back, BUT I always try to finish my weights in less than 40 minutes and some personal trainers actually told me that I am over training.

Diet has changed, but can't change totally, white rice portion has been reduced by at least a quarter before work out, by half if I'm only having lunch. Breakfast consist of the largest amount of carbs with a variety of HL Milk, Cereal, Captain Oat, protein powder. Can't really keep myself awake if I don't take carbs during breakfast, and believe me, I've tried.

Coffee intake remains, water intake increased. Been taking oven grilled chicken fillets without salts or pepper, vegetables and some occasional fried eggs or omelet.

Still keeping myself free from sugar, even 100 plus, even though I understand my needs for extra sodium during work out.

I have calculated that I have consumed less than 2000cal yesterday, in fact might be less than 1800cal and I'm training hard for at least 5-6 days a week. Even on non training days I maintain my morning 20-30 minute cardio.

So any advice or am I overtraining?

pizzaboy
post Aug 28 2010, 10:54 AM

9,495 posts

I know you like things backed up with evidence but as I'm just too lazy to google some of the links up, here's a few things you can put in mind.

A paleo'ish lifestyle diet has repeatedly, repeatedly in our gym and in many other people proven to be a great way to trim the fat off, and feel healthier in general. It's proven that the first meal, should be one full of meat and vegetables, as the first 55-60GMS of protein in the day, is used to flush out the toxins out of our bodies. It's thus said that the tonnes of eggs for breakfast thing, isn't really all that evil! And that's actually good in practicing that.

Now the point is, in a paleo'ish lifestyle diet (note, LIFESTYLE), it isn't about the cals and grams of whatnots, because ;

1. It's completely impractical
2. It's mostly used amongst figure competitors and bodybuilders who need to lose an amount of fat but preserve muscle (which explains SSC or slow-state cardio)
3. You can NEVER get an accurate calc of cals unless you cook yourself. Even that, it's not too accurate sometimes. For example, prawns, fish, are often soaked in STP (sodium tripolyphostate) to maintain it's weight and water. However, STP will cause the weight of the seafood to decrease when the water evaporates because it's just a water retention chemical.

What you may think is 2000 cals may actually be 2300? 1700 cals? U can't actually tell (Though I must admit the discrepancies cannot be that large)

For myself, on a Paleo diet (Couple with an insane metabolism and having a long athletic background), I cut my bodyfat from 13% to 11.2% (5 point caliper calc...no access to the 12 point one) in merely 10 days. MY friends call it "faileo" because I still eat rice sometimes, but the idea is to reduce the consumption of processed food (preferably to 0%) and increase all sorts of fruits, meat, veggies that are naturally produced.

Works awesome. Try it.
TSlilredridinghood
post Aug 28 2010, 01:59 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 28 2010, 10:54 AM)
I know you like things backed up with evidence but as I'm just too lazy to google some of the links up, here's a few things you can put in mind.

A paleo'ish lifestyle diet has repeatedly, repeatedly in our gym and in many other people proven to be a great way to trim the fat off, and feel healthier in general. It's proven that the first meal, should be one full of meat and vegetables, as the first 55-60GMS of protein in the day, is used to flush out the toxins out of our bodies. It's thus said that the tonnes of eggs for breakfast thing, isn't really all that evil! And that's actually good in practicing that.

Now the point is, in a paleo'ish lifestyle diet (note, LIFESTYLE), it isn't about the cals and grams of whatnots, because ;

1. It's completely impractical
2. It's mostly used amongst figure competitors and bodybuilders who need to lose an amount of fat but preserve muscle (which explains SSC or slow-state cardio)
3. You can NEVER get an accurate calc of cals unless you cook yourself. Even that, it's not too accurate sometimes. For example, prawns, fish, are often soaked in STP (sodium tripolyphostate) to maintain it's weight and water. However, STP will cause the weight of the seafood to decrease when the water evaporates because it's just a water retention chemical. 

What you may think is 2000 cals may actually be 2300? 1700 cals? U can't actually tell (Though I must admit the discrepancies cannot be that large)

For myself, on a Paleo diet (Couple with an insane metabolism and having a long athletic background), I cut my bodyfat from 13% to 11.2% (5 point caliper calc...no access to the 12 point one) in merely 10 days. MY friends call it "faileo" because I still eat rice sometimes, but the idea is to reduce the consumption of processed food (preferably to 0%) and increase all sorts of fruits, meat, veggies that are naturally produced.

Works awesome. Try it.
pizzaboy, it is definitely better if there are facts to back things up, but then again, I'm satisfied if it sounds sensible. I may not be as well informed as some here but I am not entirely ignorant as I constantly exchange POV with a personal trainer in my gym who used to compete, thus my harsh tone in my earlier posts.

Yeah, my diet is similar to yours, but with no carbs, Atkins Diet. Did feel a little lethargic at first but after doubling up the portion of my meat intake made me a happier man while training. Although I still feel hungry all the time while doing cardio after my free weights lifting session.

I'm going to take this as a reference, but do you go 80% carb just to rekick your metabolism again? As in to fill your body up with glycogen?
pizzaboy
post Aug 28 2010, 03:04 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 28 2010, 01:59 PM)
pizzaboy, it is definitely better if there are facts to back things up, but then again, I'm satisfied if it sounds sensible. I may not be as well informed as some here but I am not entirely ignorant as I constantly exchange POV with a personal trainer in my gym who used to compete, thus my harsh tone in my earlier posts.

Yeah, my diet is similar to yours, but with no carbs, Atkins Diet. Did feel a little lethargic at first but after doubling up the portion of my meat intake made me a happier man while training. Although I still feel hungry all the time while doing cardio after my free weights lifting session.

I'm going to take this as a reference, but do you go 80% carb just to rekick your metabolism again? As in to fill your body up with glycogen?
Well I've always been an athlete all my life, before moving to be a personal trainer...so diet was never an issue to me. I alway ate whatever I could to recover in time and train for the next session, and this was my main concern. Thus to be honest, filling with glycogen is something I do all the time. But for people which concerns lie on their physical appearance, I think filling with glycogen after ur body has tapped the fat stores, is rather...silly?
TSlilredridinghood
post Aug 28 2010, 04:25 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 28 2010, 03:04 PM)
Well I've always been an athlete all my life, before moving to be a personal trainer...so diet was never an issue to me. I alway ate whatever I could to recover in time and train for the next session, and this was my main concern. Thus to be honest, filling with glycogen is something I do all the time. But for people which concerns lie on their physical appearance, I think filling with glycogen after ur body has tapped the fat stores, is rather...silly?
plenty of theories on the internet mate, I have seen too many but can only experiment one at a time, hence now Atkins theory, not that calorie watching wasn't working for me, just that I need a more effective way to burn only fats not muscle mass. Anyhow, thanks for everything bro
pizzaboy
post Aug 29 2010, 10:04 AM

9,495 posts

Oh then not paleo...paleo's less tolerant to what you can eat.
I think there are many ways to the end of the result, but what you choose, probably doesn't matter as much as how consistent you are to them. I read the theory of glycogen fills, increases the metabolism and tells your body it's safe and has ample amount of energy and thus can continue to tap into the fat stores instead of going for the muscle, which is complelty diff from the paleo theory.

BUt hey, as long as they work man. I ain't tried them all, but I've tried them on my clients and as I track their progress, the clients on Paleo seem to do the best BUT the breakdown rate is higher than those on carb cycling.
TSlilredridinghood
post Sep 8 2010, 12:52 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 29 2010, 10:04 AM)
Oh then not paleo...paleo's less tolerant to what you can eat.
I think there are many ways to the end of the result, but what you choose, probably doesn't matter as much as how consistent you are to them. I read the theory of glycogen fills, increases the metabolism and tells your body it's safe and has ample amount of energy and thus can continue to tap into the fat stores instead of going for the muscle, which is complelty diff from the paleo theory.

BUt hey, as long as they work man. I ain't tried them all, but I've tried them on my clients and as I track their progress, the clients on Paleo seem to do the best BUT the breakdown rate is higher than those on carb cycling.
Thanks mate, so far have shredded about 8kgs and according to a body composition indicator, a drop of 7% of fats was achieved and that's with the help of fat burners, dropped about 1-1.5kgs per week since I started with the low carb diet. So far, have yet to fill my body up with carbs, but will do so when I visit the land of carb heaven this weekend, there goes my diet, gotta increase my cardio workout then since I'm not going to work on weights

Added on October 9, 2010, 10:15 amCarb refilling day, damn syok!

Body fat percentage lowered down to 16/17%, according to the body composition analyzer. Though unreliable, cannot find caliper what to do. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Oct 9 2010, 10:15 AM

0.0159sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:20 PM