Routers [WTS] Debricking & Router Mod Services, JTAG Cable, firmware flash and other custom services

goolias
post Jul 25 2010, 09:12 PM

321 posts

HI,

Interested on this.
Please let me know the price include shipment to JB.
Do you do serial console for Dlink DNS323?
goolias
post Jul 26 2010, 09:05 PM

321 posts

HI,

which level shifter you use, can I request MAXIM 3232 or anything else compatible ( must be able to convert 5V to 3.3V), i need to use it on Dlink 2640T serial console. I tried with FTDI chip but it doesn't work.
I need the adapter to be something like this with pin header so that I can change the cable to match the pin-out of different devices next time.
Therefore I would need the cable to be detacheable rather than soldered in, u get what I mean?
Quote me al-together with DNS323 console cable, female port our so that my connection like this: DNS323 serial-female 9pin-male 9pin cable-female 9 pin PC.
Pleas let me know the price first, if too high cost I might sacrifice the DNS323 cable as it is only fit in DNS323

goolias
post Jul 27 2010, 01:08 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Alpha Wolf @ Jul 27 2010, 07:50 AM)
Hi goolias,

There is a cheaper alternative using transistors for a level shifter but the transfer rate is lower and it support less devices. For your application since you want to maximize compatibility with other devices for reuse, I shall use a MAX232 (my version is compatible with 3.3V).

You can use this Max232 level shifter for both your D-Link 2640T and DNS323, so you only need one serial console. For this serial console, I will use a pin header for connection to TTL devices and a Female RS232 9pin serial connector to connect to a PC's serial port, like what you requested.

What type of pin header do you want? Will a 4-pin in-a-row (3.3V TX RX GND) header do?

Do you need a cable to connect the serial console's 4-pin header to your DNS323 board?

Price quote:
JTAG Cable = 25
Serial Console (universal, supports 3v-5v TTL devices) = 58
Discount for both = -5
If you need the 4-pin-header-to-DNS323-board connector = +6
Yup, I need the 4 pin header to DNS323 board header and 4-pin in-a-row (3.3V TX RX GND) header. I am not familiar with TTL spec, will 3.3V TX RX GND enuf? Can the serial console price be lower? Are u using PCB for the serial console? any sample pics of the serial console cable you can provide?
warranty?

goolias
post Jul 27 2010, 03:41 PM

321 posts

Thks for the TTL spec confirmation.
Would you be able to FOC me a null modem cable
(1.5Meter at least, both male end if the serial console 9 pin is female, becos PC 9 pin port is a female port) for connecting the serial console to PC? I will confirm rite away.

don't worry my DNS323 is rev.B.

BTW to kakarocht: Alpha wolf JTAG cable is able to work with WRT54G, but you might want to tell him the hardware revision of your router. IINM, JATG pin is a industry standard should be standard in all devices.

goolias
post Jul 27 2010, 10:29 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(ajepyatt @ Jul 27 2010, 10:08 PM)
can teach me how to de-brick using this jtag bro
IINM search for hairy madden (spelling mihgt be worng) tool, try wrt54g debrick, you should be able to get a lot of it.
It is a comamnd line tool. One thing about JATG, it's slow, damn slow, be sure to have patience.
goolias
post Jul 27 2010, 10:52 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Alpha Wolf @ Jul 27 2010, 05:43 PM)
Hi goolias,

Firstly, let's get the male/female naming convention correct. I think you have mixed them up. When looking at serial sockets, we look at the smaller individual 9-pins for male/female identification. Please look at my Post #3 as I've already linked pictures for the serial sockets.

Since you will also need a serial cable for connecting the serial console to the PC, how about I directly wire the cable to the serial console and with a FEMALE serial socket (serial socket on PC is MALE)? Cable will be 1.5 meter. Price stays the same.

On a side note: For best performance, it's a general practice to keep the cables as sort as possible to avoid any interference. However, this is not critical, 1.5 meter is still fine. Just thought you might want to know.

Btw, thanks for answering my question for kakarocht.  smile.gif
Hi bro, this JTAG cable works fine for Linksys WRT54G, like goolias mentioned, it's a standard. However, you might want to double check to see if you have a JTAG header on your board so that you can connect this cable. Although, to my knowledge all versions of WRT54G come with a JTAG header. If it doesn't you'll have to solder one on.
Hi there,

I dun quite get what you mean. But anyway, as long the serial console is like the one as my attached image should be OK, and the cable should be free to detach and able to connect to PC 9 pin serial port, as for female or male I'll leave to you to decide as long I can use it in typical PC desktop.

goolias
post Jul 27 2010, 11:34 PM

321 posts

so what should I do now?
goolias
post Jul 28 2010, 12:01 AM

321 posts

The fixed part to PC, what cable you use, ribbon? Is the connection/soldering reliable, becos it tends to get twisting and bending as my PC is not on the desk furthermore the 9pin serial port is at the back of PC. As the cable is 1.5M length, the cable is definitely be rolled when not in use. I dun felt comfortable that the soldering can last.
I still prefer a soldered 9 pin female socket, or unless it is a pin header type.
BTW, the 4 pin TTL to the devices, prefer the cable to be loose i.e. 4 cables are standalone by itself rather than fixed as the serial port layout of the modem/router tend to be varied by brands even versions. see my attachment

This post has been edited by goolias: Jul 28 2010, 12:10 AM
goolias
post Jul 28 2010, 10:02 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Alpha Wolf @ Jul 28 2010, 12:14 AM)
Sorry for the poor illustration of the 1.5 meter cable. No, it's not a ribbon cable. I'll be using a shielded cable to protect against signal noise. The soldered points will be reinforced with hot glue and part of the cable bind down to the PBC board. Don't worry about flimsy connection as I emphasize quality. Is this ok or would you still prefer otherwise?

Added on July 28, 2010, 12:24 am

So what do you want at the device end of those 4 TTL cables? Just bare wires? Single pin header connectors may not be compatible with your D-Link 4-pin socket.

OK, I accept the hot glue way then, although it's kinda uncommon becos I only see that in xbox 360 dvdrom pcb where Microsoft do it to prevent ppl from hacking.
Bare wires at devices end, I still want pin header on the pcb so that bare wires can be detacheable.
Let me know the total cost as of latest revision.

This post has been edited by goolias: Jul 28 2010, 10:13 AM
goolias
post Jul 28 2010, 01:29 PM

321 posts

U seems to know alot in serial console and JTAG stuff huh?
R u a frequent hardware firmware hacker, do you undertake any services on
firmware hacking on game console or network devices, or willing to share with me?
PM me payment detail.

goolias
post Jul 28 2010, 04:31 PM

321 posts

payment down via M2U,pls check ur MBB acct
goolias
post Jul 28 2010, 08:42 PM

321 posts

This is just to confirm that the serial port in my DNS323 is the little white color socket ( like fan header on typical VGA card fan) in the pic below:

0.0312sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:39 AM