Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone

Daniel89
post Jul 26 2010, 10:57 PM

1,451 posts

[quote=ShrugsLova,Jul 26 2010, 06:29 PM]
I think the price will still drop if Nokia releases their Meego.
When Nokia really abandon maemo and go full strength for Meego, what will you forumers do? hmm.gif

1) Abandon maemo too and go for Meego/Winmo7/Androids?

OR

2) Stick with maemo with outdated software/firmware?

OR

3) Flash and install available compatible platform?
Despite knowing, Nokia will abandon maemo, I still purchase a N900 this week.
Is it a suicidal purchase? sad.gif

I will choose 3 if this N900 really 100% capable to flash and install other compatible platform laugh.gif
cloud8318
post Jul 26 2010, 10:58 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 26 2010, 10:48 PM)
internet connection very good, speed test give me 1.2mbps with 34ms ping
no idea~
if no solution....only option......format? hmm.gif
chicaman
post Jul 26 2010, 11:10 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

I just configured my uni wireless today, very lazy to go configure again and wait

dang dono whats wrong with my gmail account also, can receive but cannot send out!
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 26 2010, 11:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 26 2010, 11:10 PM)
I just configured my uni wireless today, very lazy to go configure again and wait

dang dono whats wrong with my gmail account also, can receive but cannot send out!
Could it be your uni wireless blocking certain access?
Gouki
post Jul 26 2010, 11:16 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

http://www.gsmarena.com/german_stiftung_wa...r-news-1837.php

tongue.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jul 26 2010, 11:22 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 26 2010, 11:13 PM)
Could it be your uni wireless blocking certain access?
Universities use different type of encryption compared to normal WEP/WPA encryption.
Sometimes you need to install 3rd party authentication software to access WiFi.
But with Maemo5 you should be able to authenticate your username/password with some tinkering.
chicaman
post Jul 26 2010, 11:31 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

nop, i am at home now, using home connection

now i cant send email out, but can receive, i cant send out/share out through facebook or pixelpipe ~

what i mean is, if i format, i have to go reconfigure my uni wifi if i wana use wifi in uni, quite troublesome cause the feller there dont know how to use N900 and i have to teach him how to configure today -.-

Added on July 26, 2010, 11:35 pmsuspect outgoing connection got problem!!!!

This post has been edited by chicaman: Jul 26 2010, 11:35 PM
arcalius_7
post Jul 27 2010, 12:10 AM

158 posts

chicaman, try check with ur smtp setting. i think smtp@outgoing oso needs authentication.
chicaman
post Jul 27 2010, 12:22 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

I use default settings for gmail which we can get automatically from n900 and self configured settings, both also can receive but cannot send out

I also cant share my pics via facebook and pixelpipe.

i suspect is something wrong with outgoing connection!
r2zt
post Jul 27 2010, 12:25 AM

107 posts

have u tried diff wifi connections to check your outgoing connection?
ShrugsLova
post Jul 27 2010, 12:37 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

DARN!!! I kena FFK by the seller even before the COD. Darn! Having N900 dream just put to waste now!

But still I'm planning to get a new one; most probably an AP set. (thanks to aspire and you guys' poison).

Then again, there's another offer for Motorola Milestone; it's Android. (Sorry to put other brand phone in this topic, but I have to :| )

Any suggestion over here, Milestone or N900? (I can predict most of you will ask me to get N900) ;D
chicaman
post Jul 27 2010, 12:45 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

No other connection here, gonna try it tomorrow i guess! Even restore factoring settings cant help!

Tml have to reconfigure uni wifi since restore factoring settings wiped all my wifi connections!
Gouki
post Jul 27 2010, 01:12 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

eh~ guys~ is Sun Global batteries reliable? Claimed to be made in Japan~ too cheap to be true at 1800mah samore~ hmm.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1300986

1 year warranty too~ tongue.gif

wat do you guys think? plan to buy two for heavy usage~ laugh.gif
Andy214
post Jul 27 2010, 01:17 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 26 2010, 11:16 PM)
LoL! Anyway, it's just plain stupid for Apple to deny and "get away" with all the cheap tricks, moreover signal calculation, etc. blaming the software, etc. If there is problem with iOS4, then any models using the iOS4 (e.g. 3GS, 3G) will suffer the same problems already.

Oh, now I wonder, why Apple don't use their own 2G, 3G and 3GS for their grip test instead of using others?
gavinchong
post Jul 27 2010, 02:03 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(stephen7177 @ Jul 24 2010, 01:37 AM)
can anyone tell me how to enable video calling on N900? thanks in advance.
Hi there! Theres a user posted this question but seems there are no answers around.
One of my friend using Celcom where she is saying that 3G Video Calls are not supported.

Therefore, could anyone help me clarify on 3G Video calls??
Are they not supported by the network or the phone itself doesnt support 3G Video calls?
Thank You!
JT_woody
post Jul 27 2010, 02:58 AM

84 posts

Let me try to answer your question. The answer is "Not Yet" =)

So it's a "NO" for now as the firmware doesn't support it as of yet.
gavinchong
post Jul 27 2010, 03:31 AM

65 posts

So it makes no much difference than an iPhone on its video calls...
Front camera available = useless
and weird why do world users not complaining this issue and pressure them to develop firmwares to support video calls...
JT_woody
post Jul 27 2010, 03:53 AM

84 posts

If you ask me, I would say, video call is not important for me, hardware is there, maybe there's 3rd party software for it, as I know so far, we could use it for MSN video chat, but, I haven't utilize it, like I said, it's not important for me. maybe others might be able to confirm if you could uses the 3rd party software. =)

peace!
acat
post Jul 27 2010, 04:55 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 26 2010, 10:34 PM)
1. V.keyboard: i take the phone to the seller....after half hour trying setting and everything he know....he starting pull his hair  laugh.gif
note: reflash follow "aspire2oo6" guide, but problem remain
2. Bluetooth: can't send TO and receive FROM my PC.....each and everytime when i send or receive file from PC, have to use N95 as middle man. Example: from PC>N95>N900.... from N900>N95>PC.......don't know why can send direct PC>N900 or N900>PC
3. memory card: can't read read external memory card data....the seller tried 3 memory card from his own phone ...all fail....pulling his hair again laugh.gif

looking forward to new firmware
who are ur seller?i have to send my phone for warranty too.
jananan
post Jul 27 2010, 06:37 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Jul 27 2010, 12:37 AM)
DARN!!! I kena FFK by the seller even before the COD. Darn! Having N900 dream just put to waste now!

But still I'm planning to get a new one; most probably an AP set. (thanks to aspire and you guys' poison).

Then again, there's another offer for Motorola Milestone; it's Android. (Sorry to put other brand phone in this topic, but I have to :| )

Any suggestion over here, Milestone or N900? (I can predict most of you will ask me to get N900) ;D
Droid X looks sweet IMHO...

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:44 AM