Sep 5 2011, 02:33 PM
1,921 posts Joined: May 2006 |
hi guys...first time posting in this thread...
![]() |
Sep 5 2011, 03:04 PM
Sep 5 2011, 03:36 PM
Sep 5 2011, 04:00 PM
Sep 6 2011, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 5 2011, 11:10 PM) hidden830726, I agree. Why is everyone saying "good" for pictures here that are obviously not street photography? act i crouched dy...but the surface is abit steep one...and tht lady keep on ignore my staring...so i have to shoot fast loh...this is the best i can get from that moment...On the other hand, there are TOO many shots that are shot at an angle, when they should be shot from directly in front. In fact, I would prefer that neo_lam crouched slightly and aimed the camera level, so that the Starbucks wall is aligned to the right edge of the picture. and i think that in street photog we have to break many rules which cannot have too many angles... QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 5 2011, 09:14 PM) Good message, but composition? from what i imagine to what u said the image will become not clear enough to express the story...coz u notice that the luxury wall is popping out...if i shoot from left that it cant create any leading lines also...Maybe shot from left to have the foreground the auntie with the baby in bad living condition and the background as the Starbucks logo as well as the more luxury wall? Also by shooting that way, it will form a leading line, from bad living condition to luxury wall? Just food for thoughts. Just my 2 cents. No hard feelings Always see this forum ppl all say good good good and never critic, not a good culture to improve and this will make the flag disappeared...and from my eyes the flag is very clear sign to tell everyone in this country got such ironic scenes occurred.... and by shooting in front the contra of the story will be larger and stronger....anyway thanks for the comments.... QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 5 2011, 11:47 PM) I like the composition actually.. The flag says 2020... Starbucks says expensive coffee.. Wealth..Moving on.... Then theres the vertical line border between the two and the women represents those left behind. Thats what it says to me la. you are seeing what i wanna tell the audience..thanks for the compliment...Anyway.. As long as dont just shoot homies, tourists, people's back and childrens can di. This post has been edited by neo_lam: Sep 6 2011, 02:39 AM |
Sep 6 2011, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 6 2011, 08:21 AM) hmm, its a good message, no doubt about that, you are right that this kind of discussion are very good....Shooting from left will have the Blue color water pipe as leading line leading the audience to the subject which is the Auntie with baby. Im not saying this is the best way or only way, its just, one of the way to shoot it. In an ideal situation, is to take shot in multiple point of view, its possible to do this in this case study because the subject is sitting there and non moving, if u walk from left, to right, saw the subject, straight a pic 45 degree from left side of the pic, one portrait and one landscape shot to see how it goes. Center one more shot then 45 degree right to left one more shot. No matter which direction one walk towards this subject multiple pov can be achieved. Dont even need to take the full flag as a partial of it will be able to illustrate it as Malaysia flag, same goes with SB logo. When in practical, agreed that things happen so fast, and many other factors involved. Fine if only center shot taken. Maybe this shot in B&W will amplify the message more. For creativity, make it a bit more dark left side and more Bright right side to illustrate the contrast. If got time go try out and show us Cheers. To be frank, dont u ppl feel this kind of discussion more beneficial / fun? instead of just pic spam and no comment? Lets critic every damm picture. for the pic i cant shot many times coz i am using film camera...i just wanna have one best image that seen by me...b/w will make the story and subjects very stands out and i would love to try it , ytd just wanna share out to see any criticise so no time to fine edit it...sometimes original color will be punchier than edited one... |
Sep 10 2011, 02:07 AM
Sep 12 2011, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(ujoewong @ Sep 10 2011, 01:02 PM) Yeah, an M8. I'm using a Voigtlander 28mm f/2. nice one...go get a film Leica soon to unleash all ur lenses...So, it's 37mm after the crop factor. Still saving for a decent Leica Lens for now. Like a 28mm Elmarit or 35mm Summicron. Cheers ! QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 12 2011, 03:24 PM) hidden830726: Er... I have to admit, I am quite underwhelmed by your signboard shot. The overdone HDR treatment is amateurish. Also, the thing on the bottom-right is distracting, and there is nothing to give it a sense of scale. As far as I know, based on the title, there is no proof in the picture that it is "Big". If there is no title, I don't get the point of the picture, either. nice one bro...very clear leading line...Also I feel ujoewong isn't close enough in #3. Nothing special in any of the shots. Though #1 could be shot vertically to show the flow of people in the staircase, in the gap on the bench. Alright enough talk here's a picture: ![]() QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 10 2011, 08:15 AM) worthless photo. you know what is the "worthless" means in the other way round thanks bro...tot u wanna hentam me when i see ur "worthless" pop up..strong contrast between poverty and rich ( starbucks considered premium right ? ) +1 for you |
Sep 13 2011, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 13 2011, 04:07 PM) zicron.. now im really contemplating... am i suppose to bring all my lenses for a holiday???? i am talking about effective focal length which i think 2 lens is enough which is 35mm and 50mm....i always tot the 25mm is more of a lnadscape lens unless you want some UWA shots lah... |
Sep 14 2011, 01:04 PM
Sep 14 2011, 03:24 PM
Sep 14 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(yuhi @ Sep 14 2011, 03:25 PM) rx330 & everybody else: Check out the blog of this guy, he is a great street photographer currently on a 80 week trip around the world. He's written on how he prepared for his trip, his gears and a blog post for each of his destination and the photographers he met over there. nice one...thanks for sharing....A good read, check it out! http://www.yanidel.net/ |
Sep 20 2011, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 18 2011, 01:00 PM) simply inspired... |
| Change to: | 0.0561sec