Photography Street Photography, Ethics and technique

deodorant
post Sep 18 2010, 09:06 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

question to you guys ... in situations where you "might not" be allowed to take photographs ...

example let's say you're at a flea/street market and there's a display of goods that is nice and you want to shoot, but possibly the shop owner won't want/allow you to shoot ...

what do you do? do you ask first shoot later or just whack shoot first worry whether he will say 'oi no photographs' later?
deodorant
post Sep 22 2010, 03:43 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(masahito @ Sep 21 2010, 12:49 AM)
don't shoot. respect the rule. pendidikan moral.

what i mean is, if you don't know for sure whether you can or cannot shoot. there are obviously areas where you know for a fact you can just shoot, and areas where you know for a fact that you either (i) can't shoot or (ii) need to ask permission first. but what about the grey in-between areas? do you err on the safe side and ask first shoot later (and risk missing the shot) or just shoot first, get the shot, and worry about being beaten up later?
deodorant
post Oct 20 2010, 12:13 PM

5,691 posts

Question for you street guys. You just walk everywhere with your cam hanging on your neck? And then when you see something just shoot first and worry later whether your subject will be annoyed/pissed or not?

Don't feel like a bit awkward/out of place/as if everyone looks at you when you have a camera?
deodorant
post Jan 12 2011, 01:01 AM

5,691 posts

lol what are you doing in the red light district lah? street photo with happy ending? biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Jan 12 2011, 03:10 PM

5,691 posts

man those ladyboys got nicer figure than majority of girls i know ... lols.
deodorant
post Jan 23 2011, 06:11 PM

5,691 posts

unless you have that hand-strap thing, wouldn't holding it be MORE tiring than putting over neck? o_o
deodorant
post Jan 29 2011, 07:59 PM

5,691 posts

The ultimate in 'street' shooting?

http://totallycoolpix.com/2011/01/the-egypt-protests/
deodorant
post Mar 17 2011, 05:04 PM

5,691 posts

Hmm do these 'work' as street?

deodorant
post Mar 25 2011, 02:57 PM

5,691 posts

@kytz walau you practicing paparazzi style stalker power up ah? lol!
deodorant
post Mar 30 2011, 02:33 PM

5,691 posts

@codebreaker I like "Chicago" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

But to be honest, I don't feel like any of the photos have the street "feel." They're not bad photos, just that (to me) not really suitable for this thread.
deodorant
post Apr 13 2011, 11:45 AM

5,691 posts

Any of you follow Canon Malaysia on FB? Their April theme for 'pic of the day' contest is "street photography," but more than half of the shots don't fit the theme doh.gif
deodorant
post Apr 13 2011, 04:04 PM

5,691 posts

@bagata well the t&c doesn't mention that it must be canon user only: http://www.eosworld.com.my/Web/Webpage/Can...ld/239_171_177/

but every single pic i've seen so far was shot by an EOS.

anyway you guys judge for yourself lah: http://www.eosworld.com.my/Web/WebPhotoGal...hy/265_171_202/ ... "street photography" is a "photo of a street?!?" doh.gif
deodorant
post May 17 2011, 05:20 PM

5,691 posts

Trying my newbie hand at street, do any of these qualify as street photos?

Clothes, Anybody? by shuigao25, on Flickr

Litterbugs Beware by shuigao25, on Flickr

Why so worried? by shuigao25, on Flickr
deodorant
post May 21 2011, 10:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 21 2011, 02:07 PM)
Yes, great street photographers have great shoes. There’s a lot of aimless walking involved, and that occasional grab-your-camera-and-run from confrontations with unfriendly subjects.

The other day i was with kytz and geekster doing some petaling st/temple street. geekster walk everywhere say 'very near very near' ... for me it was like OMG SO FAR ... what to do lah after started working, drive everywhere haha.

0.0412sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:30 PM