QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jul 20 2010, 12:36 PM)
You forgot the "Best Regards" at the end Downloaded but have not tried yet, you can play alone or must be online coop?
Like if you play alone, others are play by bots? Or just on your own?
Steam Alien Swarm - Steam, Inbefore Inception Mod
Jul 20 2010, 01:04 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
Jul 20 2010, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(Sewerspeakers @ Jul 20 2010, 01:13 PM) Bots are only available on Offline Practice. Zzzz ok, nevermindFor online play, you need human players, and you cannot start an online game alone. You need at least 2 players to start, and one of them has to be Tech Specialist. Will give it a try just to see I guess |
Jul 20 2010, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 20 2010, 01:33 PM) Not really and lag with Malaysia or rest is a bit high to make it enjoyable for both sides.I usually multi tasks a lot when in front of my computer so I can have a game running, pause it, go read some stuff, do a bit of work (I work from home), go back to game etc. Playing Wow for 3 years also make me now enjoy to play solo and be able to pause/stop whenever I want. See how, I will try it out since it's free and it seems interesting |
Jul 20 2010, 03:50 PM
I actually gave it a try now online, no lag, no idea with which countries I was playing with (I saw some guys from Japan I think).
Seems the netcode is good. The game is quite fun and requires some good teamplay (which in public game is hard to find...) Can imagine to be very fun if played with good people! |
Jul 20 2010, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jul 20 2010, 05:12 PM) Meh, I was the tech just now, level 2.I did alright, it's not that hard to understand really. When need to hack the doors, the mini game surprised me since I only played 2-3 times on offline before and not as the tech, so didnt know there was that. But hey, I have been playing the "move the pipes so the water flow" stuff on Atari about 15 or 20 years ago and then on quite a fews games inbetween, not like they invented that stuff I kinda enjoy tech or medic overall. Public games are nice and all, but you do have the whole thing of people only want to play shooties, run first without giving you time to weld doors, put down ammo boxes and co. Like I join one game just now, I see one officer, one heavy.... ok, I will play tech (not like can start without a tech...) See 4th coming in.... he also takes heavy.... /facepalm Medic really make a huge difference in the game survival, at least from the few games I saw so far. This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jul 20 2010, 05:32 PM |
Jul 20 2010, 05:43 PM
Jul 20 2010, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jul 20 2010, 08:06 PM) Just finished a PUG campaign just now and... I have not played the original so I cannot really compare (personally it reminded me a little of Space Hulk which gave me a warm fuzzy feeling).hmmm Its not really very much like the Alien Swarm I remember... I mean, sure its very much a remake since almost all the missions are the same as the original (Yes, it even had that lame slowmo on the giant lift)... But its also a very much forgiving game. The swarm aren't as deadly (Previously if you were infested, you were pretty much dead unless you had a REALLY high level medic, coz he was the only one that could cure it). Friendly fire is too forgiving. The swarm in general is too slow (Making the autogun's autoaim helpful but not a necessity like before). Your marines are ridiculously hardy and I'm quite saddened that the persistent HP across missions didn't get carried over (Basically if your marines got injured in a mission, they'd be a bit crappy for the next until they recover). Its quite bright (Yes, this is very petty, but considering how the flashlight was an equippable item, you'll understand why I felt it lost something by not having it) Overall it feels very much like an overhead version of L4D2 with aliens... That's not a bad thing... Just that I was hoping it would've been harder as it kinda loses that "Aliens" feel when it no longer does. Now I finished the game on Normal and it did get pretty dicey a few times, but on the original, I couldn't even finish on Easy. I'll still be playing it (Lots of items to use which is great) but I'm still sad that this "remake" (I wouldn't be so mad if it was a straight sequel) isn't as faithful as I remember. Now, here's to hoping they port the much harder Alien Swarm expansion (Whose name I can't remember at all now) and include a hardcore mode or something. But yar, the difficulty on normal isnt that bad, the parasites are still quite annoying. Most of the times people die if the medic is new or really bad. They go running in front of everyone, or opposite lags totally behind I did end up in some Hard games which were quite a bit tougher (but it was when I was lile level 2-3 so it was part noobiness, part difficulty I guess). I would say give a try to harder campaign and maybe wait for some mods, since the SDK is out means we could expect some mods right? Maybe some people will make a "Alien Swarm reloaded" kind of mods that will bring back more of the original feel for you |
Jul 20 2010, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(-Torrz @ Jul 20 2010, 11:37 PM) there's bad lag even if it's hosted dedi. Yes, I do think the parasites kills a little bit too fast but well, that's kind of the only things that kill people usually, at least a bit of a challenge win two co-op missions in a row to unlock TF2 parasite hat. Speaking of infected parasites, they. are. annoying. no medic/no electric armor = bb I could see the other bugs have increase damage while parasite lower a bit or something |
Jul 21 2010, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 21 2010, 11:43 AM) Can imagine a range hero (drow ranger) running away while keep shooting at the melee hero (treant). For story I would say to play offline mode and check the PDA stuff spread around the levels (in MP nobody wants to wait for checking them ^^)Anyone have any idea of a good place that we can read up on the game (items, classes, story, etc)? Do not think the story is that advanced though, just the basis "aliens invasion" kind of stuff. Lots of stuff quite heavily reminded me of Aliens movie (especially 2nd) but that's definitely intentional Even the scanner sound is the same |
Jul 21 2010, 04:11 PM
Yar, levels do go up quite fast, I am like level 21 and if you do not do too badly you can gain about 1 level per map, goes quite fast
Jul 22 2010, 10:27 AM
In my opinion it's also to push more people to install Steam also, to play with their buddies.
Once you already have steam installed on your box for one game, you will be much more willing to buy stuff from it afterwards. The Space Marine stuff do look cool, I was sure such mods would be done quickly, I did get quite a feeling of Space Hulk yars. Mods gonna be awesome |
Jul 24 2010, 11:52 AM
Looks like they nerfed Tesla cannon....
Was by far the most useful weapon though so I kinda understand. Alien Swarm The Vindicator’s grenade explosion effect should no longer crash users running a GTX260 graphics card. Fixed a bug where marines would continue to be buffed by the Damage Amp if they were standing in it when it expired. Fixed ammo usage on the Tesla Cannon to properly decrease 4 times a second instead of 2 (doubled clip size to account for this). Rebalanced Tesla Cannon’s damage to encourage it to be used more as a support weapon. Tesla Cannon will now use ammo slowly even when it isn’t damaging something. Fixed Unicode text chat This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jul 24 2010, 11:54 AM |
Jul 26 2010, 09:31 AM
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:14 AM |