-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V8, Leaves You Speechless

ggeatweb
post Jul 18 2010, 09:05 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(orang2 @ Jul 18 2010, 01:22 AM)
So 1.6EX gets worst FC as expected? Why ah?
No i am not hard footer...  Any other possible explanation?
orang2
Mineral oil will give worse FC. For me, synthetic improved it by 1-2L/km.

But your numbers are pretty similar to mine (but mine SX la...)....
ggeatweb
post Jul 21 2010, 03:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Jul 21 2010, 10:32 AM)
wow... looks nice... damn expensive too... include shipping USD300!

but i like this:
Motor Inside and Heating Available.
I thought our stock mirrors are already heated one?
ggeatweb
post Sep 3 2010, 10:40 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Adin @ Sep 3 2010, 10:01 AM)
Maybe you can check myforteclub/garage sales. I think someone is selling it...

Added on September 3, 2010, 10:03 am
Nice , man, this is the same they called Magnetis? the price for sure will be on par with Sonata/Camry/Accord.
I think this is the K5.
ggeatweb
post Sep 20 2010, 08:25 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(behkokhong @ Sep 19 2010, 01:36 AM)
anybody experienced with 15 inch or 16 inch rim in SX model? how it's feel? is it very quiet and comfort? and how about the handling? still thinking whether wanna change or not. down-size the rim worry might reduce level of handling and outlook. hmm.gif
QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Sep 19 2010, 07:20 PM)
using smaller rims will sure reduce handling but pros includes better comfort & tire noise. u can't have both ler...  whistling.gif
Yeah, in theory that is true, but what about the opinion of people who experienced it? I heard somewhere some people didn't notice significant difference between ori EX tyres (15") and SX (17"). I think that's the question BKH wanna ask...KFC did you get use the 15" for long or did you change the rims immediately biggrin.gif

BTW, "Outlook" does NOT mean "外表". Check the dictionary tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Sep 20 2010, 08:27 AM
ggeatweb
post Sep 20 2010, 04:34 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(vaio pavilion @ Sep 20 2010, 01:05 PM)
Bro KFC, recommend some ways to gain more power and place to do it please..
really feel so so underpower. by the way, ways that will not increase fc la..
my fc used at MLK vr sux. 11.5L/100km... after i monitored for 7months@!!! no matter wat brand petrol that i use
Thanks KFC..btw, would 15" cause significant changes to the total wheel diameter to cause speedometer changes?

Bro, what do you mean by underpowered? Is it because it doesn't pick up well in general, or is it because the gear response is bad?

If it's the latter, did you adjust the throttle cable? A few people have mentioned that here. My car became a lot more responsive after that. But....since it became more responsive my right foot became more itchy and I drove more aggressively (more FC) tongue.gif

Another thing is for my car BHP seems to have better fuel econ...

Added on September 20, 2010, 4:40 pmReverse Sensor....

Hi folks, I found the reverse sensor for the Forte to be very impractical for me. When it hits the minimum distance, ("beeeeeeeep") the distance is 40cm!!!!!!! (that was written in the manual and I confirmed it by checking) That's more than a foot away! As reference, for the Wira the minimum distance is 10cm.

In Penang, how am I supposed to do parallel parking? I ended up asking someone to go outside to look for me, or I myself had to go out and see....or have to take risk and "agak" (then why the hell should I use the reverse sensor? mad.gif). The car butt is big (but it's ok to look at, since it's my wife brows.gif ), but blocks out a lot....

Is there any way to tune the distance? Otherwise looks like have to spend $$$$$$$$ on reverse camera...

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Sep 20 2010, 04:40 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 4 2010, 03:44 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Oct 4 2010, 09:40 AM)

FC report: Shell Ron95 full tank (46L) left Juru Toll @ 12am reached Sunway Toll 3.30am @ 100kmh above. (ahem) Not even 1/2 tank used. Means if I drove slowly I can reach Tuas Toll in 1 tank. For those say Korean car makan minyak pls eat xxxx....
Oh yeah, I drove from Johor (Batu Pahat) to Penang (Island) last week, starting the journey with full tank. I drove on a trunk road for ~1hr before reaching highway (at Pagoh). I also made a detour to KL Auto and also experienced a little bit of slow traffic. The rest of the journey was smooth on PLUS highway.

When I reached Penang the trip meter read 650km, and I had another 1/8 tank left! The "distance to empty" was at "120km", so I think probably with full tank the car will last >770km on highway...

The average fuel consumption was at "6.5L/100km".

I used BHP RON95. I don't know why this fuel is so smooth and good! Right now with Vpower97 the pickup is lousy!

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 4 2010, 03:59 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 6 2010, 10:33 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Oct 6 2010, 03:58 PM)
Eh size 16" tyre profile 55? Ours is 215/45/17. So expect it to be more expensive! Probably by RM50-80.
I noticed that 16" and 17" prices don't differ by much. Probably RM20-RM40? Also depends on brands....and shop shakehead.gif

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Oct 6 2010, 04:35 PM)
if for EX..195/65/15
good, less noisy tyre..

brapa ye..anyone surveyed?
For price list, this is the best I've found so far. Quite comprehensive and frequently updated: http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?sh...ic=86484&st=980

I noticed that 15" tyres are mostly around RM150-RM250 region....In fact, for Michelin PS3 (195/55/R15), it only costs RM260 cool2.gif. Too bad our's more than 3% smaller in radius/diameter for our Forte, and there's no 65 or 60 profile for that tyre cry.gif

By comparison, the 16" or 17" PS3 costs around RM450-RM480 rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 6 2010, 11:13 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 6 2010, 10:51 PM

15 posts

(Edited to starve someone....)

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 6 2010, 11:09 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 6 2010, 11:07 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Adin @ Oct 6 2010, 11:00 PM)
Bro, no more CM98...no more......and no more. Looks like you trying to lure him out again!!! We soon will move to V9 because of him/her....
Oops... doh.gif

I promise to do car talk from now....

I removed my post. Can you remove it from your comments as well? smile.gif

Probably I'll just PM my rant... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 6 2010, 11:11 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 6 2010, 11:25 PM

15 posts

Hi folks, do you know the trade in price for our stock tyres (17" Kumho)?

I had mine going for around 17,000km. One tyre shop quoted me RM200 for all four tyres...

Is it so little?

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 6 2010, 11:26 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 8 2010, 10:00 PM

15 posts

Some 3M poison.... blush.gif

Sorry about the bad Nokia camera phone quality...

ggeatweb
post Oct 18 2010, 06:44 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 18 2010, 04:31 PM)
Based on my test drive last Sat, i would expect the FC of the Forte 1.6L in town driving to be high. The pickup is very sluggish and i dread to see how much fuel it would consume in a month.
I also experienced very bad sluggishness and thought it was something to do with the ECU (the car didn't like to downshift). I took it to the service center and got the throttle cable tightened up and suddenly the sluggishness was gone (at least most of it). The tighter cable sort of made the car more responsive.

The interesting thing was that my FC went from ~8L/100km to ~10L/100km for normal driving after the so-called "tuning". I suspect that my right foot became "itchy" after the car became more responsive blush.gif

It won't be as lively as a lightweight Vios but it would not be that kind of feeling like it "can't move" at all, especially small hills, etc (assuming that's what you meant as "sluggish").
ggeatweb
post Oct 18 2010, 11:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(fourteh @ Oct 18 2010, 10:23 PM)

Added on October 18, 2010, 9:21 pm

bro fourteh (or avanteh), already make your choice?
Hi bro Adin, think think think, I think still will go with 1.6SX Clear White. Now only want to think whether want to downsize to 16" or not????  rclxub.gif    biggrin.gif
You won't regret your choice rclxms.gif ....

As for tyres...I personally think you should try out the 17" before you decide whether to change. Got to admit that the handling "turning feel" was so much different....now I know why people like to choose low profile tyres cool2.gif

Anyway, after ~8 months I got too annoyed by the harshness and noise so I changed to 16". I traded in for second hand 16" rims (some scratches but not dented) and added in RM1.5k.

Difference between the two....215/45/R17 and 205/55/R16. It's about 1% larger in diameter...

These Michelin tyres are awesome...highly recommendeed thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 18 2010, 11:54 PM
ggeatweb
post Oct 19 2010, 09:24 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(fourteh @ Oct 19 2010, 08:36 AM)
I am waiting for number plate which will come out in May next year. So by that time, hopefully they will have the face-lifted Forte with 6-speed gearbox but I dun like the face-lifted gear shifter with the leather boot... I prefer the current shifter which looks great & easy to use. If you have tried the chunky unit in the Altis, you will know what I am talking about.  biggrin.gif

Do you find the back seat bench a bit short for thigh support? Is it uncomfortable for long-distance travelling?

Added on October 19, 2010, 8:45 am

The stock 17" does look great on the car but was thinking to get more comfort & acceleration through 16" rims, not to mention slightly cheaper tyres.  biggrin.gif  Either:

1. Use the stock rims & tyres until they wear off and then change to 16"
2. Straight away change to 16" after collecting the car when the trade-in price is the highest.

What did you get for the spare wheel when you traded in your 17" rims? Thanks!
Wah, still so long to go.....

As for the back seat I felt ok sitting there but most of the time I'm the driver tongue.gif. I feel that the middle seating area is a little uncomfortable. I recall that Starghazzer had a comment on the rear seat being too short as well. But I have no complaints about the legroom.

Decision wise fort the wheels, it's quite hard to make sweat.gif . I think more importantly is to honestly ask yourself what is the most important aspect for you.

Originally I was thinking I could stick with the 17" but going on trips to Ipoh and Cameron, as well as Jalan Pudu, it felt like a BMX bike on a rocky road and the trimmings sounded like they all wanted to come out... rclxub.gif. That's when I decided to get the 16".

Oh for the spare wheel I just kept the stock one smile.gif ...I know that it would look weird if I had to replace a punctured tyre, I'd have to drive (shy shy) blush.gif to the nearest tyre shop to repair the damaged tyre and quickly switch back.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 19 2010, 09:25 AM
ggeatweb
post Oct 19 2010, 01:53 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Oct 19 2010, 12:54 PM)
If you were to compare the quality of songs between mp3 and the FM receiver, generally your mp3 sampling rate is 128kbps and above. for FM it's 96kbps. Hence the difference on sound quality.
What? I thought FM is just an analog demodulator, so the sampling quality should be exactly like how the radio station broadcasts. If there is some kind of digital sampling involved, I referred to this site http://www.cs.cf.ac.uk/Dave/Multimedia/node150.html and it quoted FM at 88.2kBps = 705.7kbps (1 byte = 8 bits).

My understanding of why FM loses out is not really on the sampling rate but the distortion through the medium (air) as well as the quality of the receiver circuit.

So to get better FM quality, get a better antenna and a better ICE unit :-)

Ok, out of topic (my education background is on telecomms so can't help it tongue.gif)
ggeatweb
post Oct 20 2010, 11:38 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(behkokhong @ Oct 20 2010, 07:59 PM)
Hi ggeatweb, handling feel alot different? but is it still can be confident taking corner during high spd? how about noise? alot different as well? is it very quiet now? Can you tell me what is the price that you get for trade-in? Thanks tongue.gif
Hmm....for the handling, initially I felt that the "turning feel" of the 17" were better but after the tyres started to wear in, the new tyres felt similar. The steering felt a little bit heavier so I suppose I would probably add another 2psi to the pressure. One of the reasons I chose the PS3 was that I was hoping it to help compensate for the loss of handling due to having a higher profile. For corners there was a lot of grip so definitely have confidence in taking them rclxms.gif . The braking performance was a lot better too, which I think improves my confidence in driving it. It hasn't rained a lot recently so I didn't get to test it in the wet, but reviews say it's very good. Also, the ride improved a lot as many of the bumps were not felt so easily.

Noise-wise it's pretty quiet but I suspect it will start to become noisier as these are not "comfort" tyres. But compared to the stock Kumho (somewhere stated it's pronounced as "Koo-Mow" and not "Kam Ho" cool2.gif ) it's a lot quieter.

As for the trade in they took in my rims+tyres at around RM1k (millage ~17k km) in Penang. Probably Klang would have better price. smile.gif

Added on October 20, 2010, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Oct 20 2010, 05:22 PM)
penis forgets it's fore skin

OMG. Most geng reply blush.gif

This post has been edited by ggeatweb: Oct 20 2010, 11:59 PM

0.0607sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:21 AM