-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V8, Leaves You Speechless

StarGhazzer
post Jul 17 2010, 12:01 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(bmkia @ Jul 16 2010, 10:21 AM)
Guys,

For your info, this month's Autocar mag got shootout between City vs Forte 1.6 SX. Based on the review, our Forte loss a bit to City. (IMHO, i feel the review biased as safety not really a criteria there, they dint mention ESP nor TC. )

Can someone scan the review from Autoblog? Want to see how local reviewers rate the Forte... stupid Australian motorcar magazines are useless... keep on harping about crazy 6L V8 Commodores/Falcons. doh.gif

In real life settings, all these 0-100 times or top speed are unimportant as most people are not buying a car for racing. What's more important is comfort, handling, interior space, safety, built quality, and of course value for money; although the final point may be very subjective.

Civics may be recognised as the benchmark for C-segment cars by many (quite debatable esp by Mazda 3 owners), but honestly speaking for the price of a 2.0L Civic here in Aust I'd rather spend it on a 118TSI Golf. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(redrum77 @ Jul 16 2010, 11:45 PM)
2.0 as well, my last re-fill at 410km DTE already showing '---' . 50 highway / 50 city. Just wondering when you turn off your engine do you hear any sounds like metal expanding / contracting?
Very ganas driving eh? Mine for the past two weeks was 9.6L/100km with 100% urban (plus some speeding tongue.gif), best ever since I went back to city driving as previously it was around 11L/100km.

Still miss my highway driving days where I travelled nearly 80km daily... 6-7L/100km every week. thumbup.gif

Tyre kena bua today onto kerb... cry.gif small piece of rubber chipped off but luckily no puncture... maybe should swap it with the spare.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jul 17 2010, 12:07 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jul 22 2010, 05:37 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 22 2010, 01:29 PM)
actually u can...they have several forte install with koup bumper..nicely fit..rajin2 jenguk thread SG... thumbup.gif
Honestly speaking the Koup bumper looks too fierce for the sedan. I prefer the original sedan version which looks more sleek, although if I were driving the Koup I would want the ganas look.

Tail lamps... don't even bother... it's totally different; in fact the Koup and sedan only shares the bonnet and the other parts are pretty much different.

QUOTE(izputra @ Jul 22 2010, 02:21 PM)
That's normal..even for the 2.0. I've asked the same question before  wink.gif perhaps it's designed that way to avoid children from play2 that button (becoz got attracted by the button's light at night time driving)
I'll say it's more of a cost saving measure, which like the absence of the auto-up window function, should not be excluded.
But since I'm always in the driver seat, I couldn't care less. tongue.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jul 22 2010, 07:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Jul 22 2010, 05:50 PM)
Erm..i got an info, Koup might probably will not ever being brought in by Nazakia..because of it s low marketability..

2 doors, 2.4 L, > rm100k price tag..it is sport car for few people oni..not common/people car..not so profitable for Naza..Naza ni mmg cekik darah if talking bout profit..

haih..seems that we need to source our parts from SG wink.gif
The 2.4L Koup (and Forte sedan) is for the North American market.

If Naza decides to bring in the Koup it's likely to be the 1.6 and 2.0.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 25 2010, 06:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jul 25 2010, 01:03 PM)
and i think MFC might do something with the design of the logo...
coz the new Sportage shares same design of grill as Forte

All new generation Kias will have the Schreyer grill... so no need to change MFC's logo loh...

Anyway, for those "racist" people tongue.gif I never liked huge wings but this looks brilliant

More: http://www.forteforums.com/forums/members/...ds-my-koup.html
StarGhazzer
post Jul 25 2010, 08:33 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Jul 25 2010, 06:48 PM)
star can u form up MFC - OZ group>?
Love to, if we have enough Malaysians here in Melbourne who own Fortes biggrin.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jul 29 2010, 06:59 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://www.caradvice.com.au/76268/2010-kia...imited-edition/
Damn... leather seats and sun roof... plus subtle body kit too... wub.gif

Not too fond of the rear spoiler, nor the asking 28KAUD price; although a bit of haggling should be able to shave 1K off.

And it seems that we'll get the hatch by October.... 6 speed box... T_T for Cera.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jul 29 2010, 07:01 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jul 30 2010, 09:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Jul 30 2010, 07:47 AM)
I went to your given link & i noticed that the start stop button is still missing for Forte ozy specs right? but anyhow, the sunroof already tempting...
Nope, still no push-start button but I am content with the normal key.

Drove alongside a white Koup today... blonde chick driver, at least it looked like one but night time too dark to be sure... Such a sexy butt... I mean the Koup. tongue.gif

Anyway I realised that Cera's FC for the past couple of weeks have been around 9L/100km (mainly city driving) despite me being more aggressive on the pedal, eg shifting from 2nd to 3rd at 60-80kmh... Maybe it's because I reach the cruising speed of 80-90kmh earlier and hence can roll at lower rpms for longer times; or maybe our Fortes just like to be driven hard.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 1 2010, 10:23 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wind01 @ Aug 1 2010, 10:16 AM)
Gentle reminder

To activate the panic function on the remote...press & hold the panic button (just as u do it for the bonnet).

To de-activate, press & hold again.

If the above don't happen...only SC can help u.
You can also unlock-lock the car to deactivate the panic mode... at least mine does.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 2 2010, 09:13 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Since we're being poisoned with Koup...

Why didn't I buy Cera's hot little sister instead...

JPJ sure come cari pasal with you... sweat.gif

StarGhazzer
post Aug 4 2010, 04:07 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Aug 3 2010, 11:50 AM)
tat's length... if width of the car... hard to tell... never sat inside altis before.

but i think stargazzer mentioned before... it'd be better if the back seat cushion of forte is longer, means more support for the thigh.
It's a subjective matter. For me I would have preferred an additional 2cm length to the rear bench but for people shorter than 175cm it should be adequate. But seriously, I'm always in the driver seat so it doesn't bother me. tongue.gif

As a comparison to the Latio, the Forte is wide enough to fit 3 adults in the rear without feeling uncomfortable whereas the Latio would.

Having said that, the legroom for the Latio beats every other C segment (let alone B). In the Forte, my knees are almost touching the rear of the front seats whereas in the Latio I have much more space (at least 5cm) when the front seat is at distance suited for my preferred driving position.

To be fair, the Corolla is a pretty decent car despite all the flak that people love to give it. It's just how expensive Japanese cars are in Malaysia that makes it a poor deal compared to Korean makes. My friend drives a base model Corolla Hatch (Auris) and it's even more quiet than Forte... Spec wise Cera wins hands down although the Corolla comes with bluetooth integration for mobile phones, but I'd take the USB port thank you very much.

QUOTE(Iceman7 @ Aug 3 2010, 10:26 PM)
hello fortezen...just want to share..
this is what happen to me today...

i just wonder...how far we can go if the empty fuel symbol already blinking eventhough the distance to empty indicator stated 60+km left at that time...

..im believe on the indicator..but suddently indicator ..straight away turn to empty fuel..(i think not less that 50km left at that time).

should i trust the indicator or not?can someone advice..
Don't gamble on it. When the warning lamp lights up you'll have approximately 50km available. My threshold for topping up is 80-100km remaining.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 4 2010, 04:14 AM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 5 2010, 05:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Aug 5 2010, 11:03 AM)
how i wish this is our forte...  tongue.gif

taken from KM fb.. sos

VG Concept... the concept car which eventually ended up as the Cadenza.

Note that both the Forte Koup, Venga, and the Cadenza ended up looking almost identical to their original concept designs in terms of exterior design.
Funny that the Optima didn't have one.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 9 2010, 05:54 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Aug 9 2010, 04:05 PM)
How much you need to earn to own a Forte if no other commitments? laugh.gif
Depends on how much downpayment you can fork out, how much are you willing to pay every month, how long is your car loan.

Never say "no other commitments"... even though you may not have a family to support at this stage, you're better off putting money aside for future purposes eg buying property/getting married/raising kids/emergencies.

QUOTE(prominen @ Aug 9 2010, 04:49 PM)
my salary is below 2K...use my gov sector sister as gurantor and easily my loan approved...I just choose EX instead of SX due to financial problem for the downpayment...monthly installment is RM841 for me...

BTW, I also don't have any commitment right now... tongue.gif
Not that it is any of my concern, but generally speaking it's not advisable to spend a huge chunk of one's salary on a car as cars are, unfortunately, assets that depreciate the very moment it rolls out of the showroom. In your case loan + fuel is already >50% of your salary... and that's not including things like maintenance and insurance etc.

Save for a rainy day, mate.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 11 2010, 06:38 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Aug 11 2010, 09:19 AM)
i feel my FC was kinda high...400KM for exactly 46L-46L tank...
Shell RON95@1.6SX

is there any other way can hv better FC??? i was aiming for 430-450km in 100% city drive...

i think the problem is....throttle response?? it is real weak for low end torque....worse than my moded SEG..4AFE with full exhaust mod only, at least result much better than my current Forte..not to say, PS more smooth and lighter as well...
11.5L/100km... that's not particularly ideal but for 100% city driving it should be just around 10.5-11 (for 2.0). However the 1.6 may struggle a bit more as it's lugging a heavy C-segment car designed for 2.0 engines. In addition, it might be because you're flooring the accelerator too often that contributes towards poor FC?

For better acceleration, try the following:
1. Use shift-tronic and upshift at higher rpms. Eg 2nd to 3rd at 50kmh, 3rd to 4th at 60-70kmh. The auto mode is pretty laidback and tuned for good FC. Having said that, if you floor the pedal in full auto mode, it can shift aggressively at higher rpms too.

2. For even faster acceleration, make full use of the 2nd gear. Keep it in 2nd gear and rev all the way up 4K rpm... You should be reaching 80-90kmh at those revs. To keep accelerating, shift to 3rd at around 90-100kmh and keep on going; the moment you shift to 4th it'll drop down to cruising mode at ~2K rpm.

Peak torque for the 2.0 Theta II is at 4200rpm so keep your revs up, but the engine noise can be pretty deafening at those revs.

3. Buy a new car with larger displacement engines... something like a 530i tongue.gif

QUOTE(Chyan @ Aug 11 2010, 12:52 PM)
Thanks for high-through-the-roof answer mate. I know better now. biggrin.gif
Through the roof? Nah...

It's just worth remembering not to spend excessively on a car. I could have gone for a Golf MKVI with an additional 10K AUD but that would mean much longer repayments, not forgetting higher servicing charges and parts.

QUOTE(behkokhong @ Aug 11 2010, 04:43 PM)
brosssSSS,  when turn on high bass or running on uneven road surface , did any1 hear the rattling sound from the driver door side ? Any1 solved this issue? really annoying when driving...really need dear fortezen brothers help.. cry.gif
Turn off the power bass boost. The door panels are a bit thin and tend to rattle whenever a bass-heavy song is being played.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 11 2010, 06:39 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 24 2010, 09:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(arfaie @ Aug 22 2010, 05:41 PM)
Front lip looks absolutely awesome, but rear lip looks meh. The fact that you have to turn the exhaust downwards makes it even more meh.
I like the black rear diffuser more.

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Aug 24 2010, 07:23 PM)
best offer from my SA.. half tank fuel. cry.gif  rclxms.gif
Kiamsiap SA... don't buy from him/her whistling.gif
Give full tank mah... It'll only cost them RM50 more from their commission.

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Aug 24 2010, 07:25 PM)
FYI, info from Arul, The new limited edition 2.0 Unit from Singapore has extra Sunroof and Foldable mirror at 96k.

BUT.. Theres a BUT!

There are no Motor Driven Power Steering.
MDPS is taken out.
Another weird offer... it's like special offer wantanmee with extra wantan, but hawker decide to take away the charsiew instead...
wtfman.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 24 2010, 09:24 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 25 2010, 06:34 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Aug 25 2010, 03:57 PM)
LOL! i like the wantan theory! miss wantan mou??
very much.... no good wantan mee in melbourne T_T

StarGhazzer
post Aug 29 2010, 03:12 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(tantw @ Aug 29 2010, 02:54 PM)
Around 2.7k rpm. 110km/h is 2.9krpm.
For 2.0,

2.3K for 100kmh;

2.4-2.5K for 110kmh

laugh.gif tongue.gif

Engine noise at those speeds are virtually inaudible, although wind/road noise can be a bit loud but not any worse than other rivals.

StarGhazzer
post Aug 29 2010, 09:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(pg.kia @ Aug 29 2010, 06:40 PM)
Hi! I'm new here, from Pg but station temporary in JB. Soon to be owner of purplish blue Forte 2.0 (Sgp. edition). Just have a quick check on it today and well, it comes with sunroof, std BK and tint although the last 2 items are yet to install. The rest are all the same like the std version.
For that add, items, I've to fork out another 7k! How guys, do you think it worth to that amount of RM?
?? What is purplish blue? New colour?

I've a feeling you're referring to light graphite which has a bluish hue under sunlight.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2010, 04:41 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Aug 30 2010, 04:28 AM)
The SG Version DO NOT have MDPS. Already comfirmed with Arul on this.
doh.gif

Wantan mee with extra wantan but no char siew... dry.gif

QUOTE(pg.kia @ Aug 30 2010, 01:25 AM)
Don't knowlah what is the std name for that colour but it is different from  the 5 std colours of local version.
I still think it's light graphite.

Available colours of Kia Forte worldwide:
White
Ebony Black
Racing Red (Koup)
Lime (Koup)
Orange
Santorini Blue
Cherry Red
Bright Silver
Titanium Silver
Metal Bronze
Light Graphite
Spicy Red

StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2010, 07:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(pg.kia @ Aug 30 2010, 08:18 AM)
Yes, that's the colour but are u sure it's called light graphite? Graphite to me is something dark grey in colour. Santorini blue maybe?

Btw, can u all the 2.0 sx owners here live without the char siew...err , I mean the MDPS?
Yes that is Light Graphite.
It was the colour that I wanted to buy but 1)not available during the time when I bought the car 2)it really does seem a bit girly.

Santorini blue is bright blue.

And oh yeah I left one another colour for the Forte... Champagne Gold.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 30 2010, 12:35 PM)
update on fc after another 5 full tanks.....

2.0l

100% city drive

8.5l/100km, down from 9.5l/100km for the 1st 5 refuels......

appears engine loosening out.....
8.5 in full city driving? You really drive like ahpek laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 30 2010, 07:21 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 31 2010, 04:24 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 30 2010, 10:06 PM)
and don't charge at the red light, like some people like to do......
As guilty as charged. blush.gif tongue.gif

Happy Merdeka everyone.... got Forte convoy?

0.0641sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:58 PM