HTC Desire HD - officially launched in Asia Pac, The Ace has arrived. Soon to Malaysia

michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 05:11 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Oct 2 2010, 04:26 PM)
i am worry about the battery life sweat.gif
Yea that is my concern too all droid did not give u good battery life except SE x10 more than 8 hours talktime on spec (3G)... My wildfire barely last 8 hours of abuse...
That makes me consider iphone4 also if I buy a new phone, as per feedback from my colleague (sales) it still able to last him 2 days without charging n much better than 3gs...
Hopefully they give us better battery life on higher end device... for me short battery life device defeat the purpose to have a smartphone on the go...

Copied from a comparison review...

Talk and standby times
The HTC Desire HD boasts talk time up to 320 mins and standby up to 490 hours.
The iPhone has a talk time up to 420 mins and standby up to 300 hours.
The Samsung Galaxy S has a talk time up to 390 mins and standby up to 576 hours.
All these times are for 3G.

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 2 2010, 05:29 PM
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 10:22 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 05:34 PM)
Big screen = more battery drain. Need more battery life, go for that 3.5inch iPhone4..
don tell me that... coz they can always put in more mAH battery... duh... y X10 is having more talktime that others, much more leh...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 10:44 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yea i knows that... but if the battery life does not support the phone for 1 day of abuse, then it defeated the wireless access on the go purpose...
can't u understand that if you runs around outside a lot u can't afford to charge ur phone... so it is a limitation...

there will be pros and cons, but if iphone4 or others new WM7 device able to give me better battery life than android i would like to try them out...
as i need the connectivity from 7am till 8pm... where a lot of android device not able to do it at the moment without larger capacity battery...

that is a lot of ppl's concern without ur knowledge... coz they don want to charge their phone twice a day or suddenly the battery left only 30% around 2pm only...

no point to argue with u, but think when u expect it serve what you need but it always let u down coz it will not last the duration u need it to go thru...

cheers...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 10:57 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

hopefully it will but on the spec it is nothing better... even SGS is better than it... sadly... plan to get desire Z if year end bonus is nice but still open to survey which phones give me better battery life and serve my needs...

BTW ask ur fren to use ur wildfire for 1 day then he/she will know x10 is better... coz from the spec it already been written, wildfire around 6 hours talktime but x10 about 8 hours... much difference...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:03 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

nah... desire hd talktime is around there also 6 hours... so bad decision...
i saw the comparison at techradar or something like that... more simple and non bias... it mention desire HD talk time is the worst among the trio head to head (Galaxy S, Desire HD and Iphone4)

BTW y u need bigger screen and feel a bulge in ur pocket when u need more battery life to support the device... don really understand, is just to show ppl that u have bigger screen... so is just a choice between what you need most... prioritize ur needs then you might be able to get a device more closer to your requirement...

cheers...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:08 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

u really trust that... haha 8 hours... u barely can reach 4 hours tongue.gif my usage... within 8 hours i can blank ur battery, trust me. :wink:
further more 2G talktime is lesser than 3G??? what a good stats... if not mistaken ori spec is around 6 hours talktime for 3G network too...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:10 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 11:07 PM)
some people have access to charge their phone on the go so they dont care about charging multiple times.. for those who cant do that, they should go for the one which provides longer talktime and sacrifice on the screensize..
i'm charging my phone if it is lower than 60% during my lunch time (if possible) but the battery will still not last up to 8pm with my abuse on the phone... if not i will off to GSM network only, if the battery go down to 30% then i off my data connection cry.gif no emails and updates...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:12 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 2 2010, 11:09 PM)
seriously now only i know you guys DO look on the talktime in specs...
i would never trust the specs because you are the 1 who using it...

im using SGS and got no problem for 2 days usage(call,sms,frequent sync from social networking apps, wifi always on,etc)..

people need bigger screen because they find it useful for them..thats it..if u dun like then don bother to think about it...
hmm maybe u can let me try to abuse ur phone and see... i don think it will last more than 12 hours...
my average call time per day is about 1~2 hours, might be more (about 30 calls per day)... and data connection on all the time and sync my emails hourly...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:14 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 11:12 PM)
the stats on the manual does not potray actual use.. there are many factors to be added in.. and one can kill a 1500 in just 3hours too.. im learning today that android is not for the people who care critically about batterylife, they should go for iOS or symbian instead
symbian does not do any better... the older system can make it 1.5 days for me... but i have not tried blackberry, but heard it still can last 1 day or heavy abuse... but sadly android cannot, i love to get desire z but the battery life hold me off at the moment... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:16 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Oct 2 2010, 11:13 PM)
seriously, i think battery usage is really depend how much u use..
if really a heavy user, probably, might need 2 phone or 1 spare battery..
i think for years... battery life is like this.. limited usage.
maybe u can really give a iphone 4 a try..^^ afterall, is rated as the best efficient battery consumption ^^
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 11:13 PM)
seriously dude, u should go get an iPhone 4.. android does not suit u i guess..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
haha... both of u tell me that... but i prefer android... so i need to wait and see how...
as i said at last i still need to see how lo... prioritize the things that i require...
but don wanna suck into apple fanboyish trend...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:18 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 2 2010, 11:14 PM)
rated by steve job or fanboys? Haha
ur words is like ur are a fanboy too... sweat.gif

it is base on feedbacks... iphone4 that my colleague uses can last 2 days and he is also doing sales and application same as me... we travel around a lot and makes quite a numbers of calls per day...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:21 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... tried lower the brightness, switch to GSM only for whole day... disable gmail sync... best rate is 12 hours of my usage rate... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:22 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 2 2010, 11:17 PM)
so the term of "abuse" is like playing games,youtube,music,etc for non-stop??
if yes,then tell me which phone can last more than 12 hours...
my call not really that long but i am frequent in sms..gmail sync every seconds,wifi always on or 3G always on if no wifi available,etc...
jsut now my gf use only 8% of battery to watch youtube and some apps around 1 hour
if you wanna play games then i prefer buy psp lo... stupid ppl buy phones for gaming and entertainment only tongue.gif

i need my phone for work... emails, calls, sms is the most of it... and of course some web surfing also...

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 11:21 PM)
what phone is that btw? X10?
wildfire... slower processor, smaller screen and lower reso some more... 1300mAH battery, only 100mAH difference from Desire, also won help...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 2 2010, 11:24 PM
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:33 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

but i hate blackberry... cos lack of support apps...

really i really found ppl that buy iphone4 for gaming only... sweat.gif and i find it stupid... as u can buy psp which is cheaper and much more varities to choose from...
if you wanna play games just to fill up ur time for a while we can't say anything about that... and i did that sometime when i wait for my customer but mostly surfing online or emails...

ya i couldn't control it... so is just my single cents point of view and thats it...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:36 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Oct 2 2010, 11:31 PM)
seems like he dosent do media and games.. yes, blackberry suits the purpose.. blackberry is the best for formal communication and workstuffs i guess.. android is more to "everything" oriented.. its google vision to be open and also be versatile in what the phone can do.. If one does not need such function, why would go for it..
well i play a lil bit of gaming but can't enjoy it most of the time... coz i have a console at home...
i like android coz it is open source and it is versatile... but the battery life is bad thats is... really HTC should put some effort on that...

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 2 2010, 11:33 PM)
mind to tell me which aspect iphone 4 won over galaxy s??

and i would go for DHD if i have "chance"
well it sounds like hostile question... every phone has it pros and cons... DHD is not perfect and it might not able to beat iphone4 or SGS in some aspect also...

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:37 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 2 2010, 11:36 PM)
no doubt most of the iphone users buy it just for the games but u have to know the games/apps in app store is the selling point for iphone...

seriously if iphone don't have games,it won't be successful as now
yes that is true...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 2 2010, 11:37 PM
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:42 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

screen size vs battery life i choose the later one... battery life all the way...
michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:49 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

everynite is ok but now the problem i face is not even 12 hours i got the prompt to plug in my charger... 15%~20% left...

michael9413
post Oct 2 2010, 11:54 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

wildfire... used ATM already last time... no use so deleted it... i think the culprit is the 3G network... but with my usage, my old Z770 (1yo+) also cannot last more than 2 days with only GSM only... so maybe my heavy usage contributes to enhance to android weakness on battery life
michael9413
post Oct 3 2010, 12:01 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

wink.gif

discussing at there already... just looking around for my next possible android...

and i had uninstall the ATM already about 2 weeks ago...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 3 2010, 12:01 AM
michael9413
post Oct 3 2010, 07:01 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(hopeless1 @ Oct 3 2010, 03:40 AM)
Hi michael....dunno will this be much help to u anot....i have htc HD2 and tend to change to DHD when its launched...however i have ported my HD2 to android version and found out that the battery life is significantly better than win mob (totally trash).

TO BE HONEST....I doubt the screen size for DHD will do any better on battery life even with better processor...i own a iphone 4 as well at the moment.

From my usage...my HD2 and Iphone 4 used to surf the net and sms....HD2 will have around 3hours of unplug time from the charger. Iphone 4 (well have to admit steve jobs did a great job) able to clock up to 5hours while surfing the net plus sms....

As for calls...i talked on the HD2 from 7.45am till 8.45am the battery will be drained from 100% to 85% using android platform (it's worst for win mob)
Iphone 4 for one hour of call time will need 10%....so u can do the math for comparison....

Things get ugly when u turn up wireless tethering for HTC....it wont last u till for 2hour if i did not remembered wrongly since u mention u nit connection from 8am to 7pm....but as for me i use to charge it to my work laptop while turning on wireless tethering....

Iphone on the other hand...i dun believe is a fair comparison on the internet tethering as HTC can support more than 1pc at a time for the connection while Iphone only can support 1 device.

well...i strongly believe the huge screen play a big part and i dun think DHD can fulfill your requirement....

i am a HTC fan and thinks Iphone4 is just over rated due to the apps...just my two cents...hope it helps....
to be honest yes the battery of iphone 4 is just marvelous and our droids sucks... that make me wondering if i wanna upgrade my phone during Jan what should i go, battery or freedom... hard to choose... without good battery all the connectivity on the go dies off, without freedom u get jailed and of course i'll miss those widgets...
WM7 is coming out already so WM6 can't be the comparison for iphone and droid...
and lastly, it is not over rated but ppl is overly hype on it... and to be honest IOS is much more user frenly than androids... my manager said he uses few days to get use to his Tytn II WM device but iphone is like 3 hours thing... he still have both on his hands and he might be getting SGS or even new Desire HD/Z in near future...

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 3 2010, 06:34 AM)
its hard to compare battery life especially with iphone..

when u slide to unlock then the next thing u will see is apps..they got no widgets,etc..
but try enable the push for few apps then u will notice how crazy the battery draining...
well that is yes and no... the battery draining is not severe as there is some real life experience that told us it is better than android and wm too...especially iphone4... so just take it... for me fair comparison just stand high and see properly, do not get blind by it's hype or fanboyish review...
but there isn't anything that you can do now as most of the review is bias towards 1 side... wanna have fair comparison then lets see the facts and data that the review team provides us... at the moment i can see tech radar listed out all the major comparison of the 3 kings now SGS, Desire HD and Iphone 4...

and the most important thing is battery life, i don't mind if i charge it daily but iphone is the best u can get now compare with the other 2...

Talk and standby times by Tech Radar

The HTC Desire HD boasts talk time up to 320 mins and standby up to 490 hours.
The iPhone has a talk time up to 420 mins and standby up to 300 hours.
The Samsung Galaxy S has a talk time up to 390 mins and standby up to 576 hours.

All these times are for 3G.

0.0464sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:43 PM