:O2 XDA II MINI Club:, ~discuss & share your experience here~
qwerty84
Aug 9 2006, 08:57 PM
Hi guys, i need some help. I downloaded the 1.12rom update from earlier in the forum, but somehow can't install for me. it says something like "the rom is not suitable for my O2 region" not too sure what that means. anyone else know whats up? any input would be great. if anyone else has the same problem? thanks
qwerty84
Aug 9 2006, 10:12 PM
QUOTE did u download from the link from xda-developer ... because they have alot of ROM mainly for europe one ie: 1.12.XXX WWE
is urs MA_O2AW_11200_920_11200_Ship.zip ?
I downloaded from the forum. theres a link a few pages earlier. Yes mine is the MA_O2AW_11200_920_11200_Ship.zip. does not work somehow. i registered mine on see02 and according to their support the latest rom is only the 1.11. thanks
qwerty84
Aug 11 2006, 01:42 AM
Hey, thanks guys who've tried to help me with the rom update. i tried it again today (with the same file i downloaded) and it works. dunno why. haha oh well just be happy i guess. now have to go load my backups and stuff. Heh. avantgarde, you see my mini already then cannot stand right? straightaway go and buy?
I LOVE MY O2 MINI!!!
This post has been edited by qwerty84: Aug 11 2006, 01:44 AM
qwerty84
Aug 11 2006, 03:37 AM
Hard reset is a must la. if you are using 1.11 maybe no need to upgrade? my fingers were itchy, nothing to do so just did it. You can always wait till you have more time on your hands. haha.
qwerty84
Aug 11 2006, 07:10 PM
Hi everybody, I'm new and i've learned alot. just got my O2 and i've done a lot to it already , reg edit etc... but i want to know how to use another sound for my alarms/sms? i've tried to transfer .wav files to my mini, but they don't seem to play. Any one have any ideas? or any nice .wav files to share? thanks
qwerty84
Aug 11 2006, 10:37 PM
yup i did copy them to the /windows folder. I can select them for the alarm, but when i tried to play them to listen to, there was no sound. Possibly because its a different format? i dunno... This post has been edited by qwerty84: Aug 11 2006, 10:38 PM
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 03:21 AM
hey, anyone have a program to cut mp3s shorter? cos i have an mp3 to wave converter shareware, but after conversion the files are so big. thanks
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 11:08 AM
er actually what i meant was that i wanted a program to cut short the mp3s on my pc so that when i convert it'll be shorter/ or that i could edit my wav files smaller.
UPDATE: i realised that though i could not test play the .wav file at the notifications area, i just tried to use it as an alarm tone anyway and the sound does play, just that somehow it doesn't work in the preview tones.
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 01:16 PM
Hi guys, i searched the net and i found a nice program if any of you ppl are interested. its freeware and it can help you crop/edit/mix your mp3s and also convert them to .wav files. i've tried it already and its quite easy to learn how. link is at http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Multime...X_Download.htmlalso i've managed to crop the intro to meant to live by switchfoot. file is a little big at 800+k let me know if you want it. i can also make it better/poorer quality for you if you want. thanks
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 06:17 PM
Hi guys, sorry to go a little off topic here, but i've been having a few problems after i installed the new 1.12 rom.
1) my mini occasionally soft resets itself naturally, seldom occurs but still a little worrying. is there anything i can do to rectify this problem?
2) this second problem is a little hard to explain, its with my sms... usually we're allowed 160 characters per sms.. but when i enter words like "youll" and "thats" and they auto go to "you'll" and "that's", i end up getting only 70 words per sms. if i ignore and still send the msg, i end up sending 2 msgs.. 1 with my message and another blank one. this only happens when i let the program auto change my words and insert the apostrophe. Hope i explained it sufficiently. anyone know what i'm talking about and how to solve it? thanks
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(qwerty84 @ Aug 12 2006, 06:17 PM) 2) this second problem is a little hard to explain, its with my sms... usually we're allowed 160 characters per sms.. but when i enter words like "youll" and "thats" and they auto go to "you'll" and "that's", i end up getting only 70 words per sms. if i ignore and still send the msg, i end up sending 2 msgs.. 1 with my message and another blank one. this only happens when i let the program auto change my words and insert the apostrophe. Hope i explained it sufficiently. anyone know what i'm talking about and how to solve it? thanks i've done some research and i think this is a software problem by microsoft. can anyone just try and see? just type something like "youll" and allow the software to automatic change it to "you'll" and see if your characters drops to 70? thanks
qwerty84
Aug 12 2006, 10:14 PM
oh well, its not really that big a problem yet as it doesn't happen everyday (the auto soft-resets) Just happens occasionally. So far might just be isolated incidents. I'll see if it becomes a problem (very lazy to re-install all my programs again) thanks all for your advice
qwerty84
Aug 16 2006, 02:01 AM
Well, thats just sales isn't it? though of course it does not apply to all sales men, generally they'll always push their newer products or the products they have to sell off. I don't agree with such tactics as i feel they should always present their customers with the right information and views, and having said that i've met my fair share of both the bad and the good. regardless, its always important to do your own research i guess. oh and i realised i have not introduced myself. I'm new and I'm really glad to have found this place, you ppl have been a great help, Thanks. btw my name is adrian and I go to the same uni as avantgarde.
qwerty84
Aug 16 2006, 11:07 AM
Yup, thats right, I'm from imu as well. Again, glad to be here, can't tell you how much i really do appreciate all the assistance. And I found 2 interesting things to note. There was a tweak available for being able to use your mp3's as ringtones even while they are in the Storage card, this tweak and more can be found here. http://forum.mypdacafe.com/viewtopic.php?t...5ab474e0e29c532I've already tried the tweak and it did work for me while i was using the 1.11rom, however after updating to the 1.12 rom I've found that the tweak no longer works and instead does mess up your ability to use any mp3's as ringtone despite copying the file to your \windows\Rings\ folder. I guess with the new rom, not all the old tweaks work anymore. A note to all : please back up your rom before you edit anything. secondly, if anyof you are interested in reseting your incoming/outgoing calls in device information, it can be done, and its found here, you just have to adjust your clock while you are either receiving/dailing a call. http://forum.xda-developers.com/viewtopic.php?t=54698Sorry for the long post  if any of you have any questions please don't hesitate to pm/email me.
qwerty84
Aug 22 2006, 04:53 PM
you can direct all insults at me but leave Liverpool out of it.  Liverpool, the most successful team in the english premier league.
qwerty84
Aug 24 2006, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(sauying @ Aug 24 2006, 02:20 PM) guys, long time no c liao !! i managed to get the O2mini Crystal Casing with cheap price !! normal - RM10 i can get it for RM7 wan to bulk or not ?? (sorry for no WTS because asking only) hey, if you can maybe post some pics of the crystal casing? may be interested. thanks.
qwerty84
Aug 26 2006, 02:13 PM
I'm interested in the crystal casing, I already pm'ed you, let me know the details. thanks
qwerty84
Aug 30 2006, 03:25 PM
LYN O2 mini users 1) ychwang 2) digilife 3) menmissed 4) No1n$anE 5) porkchop 6) sauying 7) cruzzmz 8) avantgarde84!!! 9) qwerty84