:O2 XDA II MINI Club:, ~discuss & share your experience here~

Pennywise
post Apr 25 2005, 11:48 PM

5,796 posts

First of all, I wasnt even sure if I wanted to put this under the 'PDAs & Mobile Computing' section or the 'Handphones & Communications'. What the heck. Anyway, this is my own private O2 Mini topic. Why this topic? Cause I am planning to buy it! That's why.

As some of you guys have seen, I've posted various topics about buying a PocketPC, also about Windows Mobile 2005. I was in the last few pages of the 'Official Nokia 6680 Thread' too. Its so obvious that I'm dying to change a mobilephone and also get a PocketPC.

I've finalize my thought that WM2005 isnt worth the wait, especially when all of us know that Microsoft products will be buggy and then I need to wait some extra time for them to iron out the bugs. By the time when WM2005 is stably rolled-out, I think I'll be waiting for WM2007.

Anyway, I am using a SE-T610 now. I'm fed up with the phone. I was looking at Nokia 7270, then Nokia 6260, then Nokia 8230i, then finally today Nokia 6680. I spoke to some friends who are phone enthusiast and everyone advised against the 3G phone. I like Nokia cause the SMS function is U-N-R-I-V-A-L-E-D!

Anyway, those 'few' enthusiast of my friends said they all wanted a O2 Mini. I was curious and at the same time, made some research. I found out that I can have both the PocketPC+Phone at the price of one. Both sole functional Phone or PocketPC dont come cheap these days, so I get a 2-in-1. [apologise to whoever suggested me O2 Mini long ago - SORRY BOSS!]

I have some questions regarding O2 Mini.

1. It is running on Intel PXA 272 Processor @ 416Mhz CPU processing speed. 416Mhz is probably nothing compared to Dell Axim X50 520Mhz PocketPC and even slower compared to Dell Axim X50v 624Mhz PocketPC. I know you can play games on PocketPC these days but with a processing speed slower than the rest, how many of you play games on your O2 Mini and what games are supported?

2. I heard about this Martin Field screen protector for RM50. Where can I buy them?

3. Because I'm going to spend ~RM2600 for the O2 Mini, I might as well get the original car charger to avoid blaming myself if something goes wrong with the imitation ones. What brands and how much is an orignal O2 Mini car-charger?

4. How much is a O2 Mini original cradle? Cradle can also be used to recharge depleted batteries, correct?

5. I read through so many threads in Lowyat.net forum and I saw somewhere, someone posted something about RM8/month for 1Mb GPRS. Where do I sign up for it? If we apply GPRS, we can online anytime and anywhere, is it? Sorry, I'm such a noob. Also, means I dont have to be on hotspot areas, yes? RM8/mth for 1MB GPRS means 1MB line or 1MB download?

6. Bluetooth headset, what's a good brand? I know Logitech are popular for these sort of things but they are quite pricey. How come most of you uses Motorola headset? Those HBH-SerialCode, etc... Why Motorola?

7. I dont know if my information is correct but 64Mb is built-in memory, are they ROM? Then we can have either a WiFi+256Mb or a 512Mb or even a 1Gb SD-Card for external storage correct?

8. If we have a spare battery, we take the empty battery out of the O2 Mini and changed it with a fully-charged one. That battery change process, will it cause all the data to be lost?

9. I read from some sites that O2 Mini text input are not perfect. [I'm assuming we write normally instead of writing Graffiti like Palm-tops] and there are slight lags. Is this true? Any way of improving this?

10. I saw reviews wrote 'No hard key to turn off phone connectivity'. What does it mean?

11. This advertisement at: http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/DetailSa...oductID=1625077 says that it can increase O2 Mini performance by a 150%, possible?

12. Before buying, I should check for dead-pixels, I've also read about that hissing sound, and that memory storage cause all information loss. Windows hang is pretty common. I've read about weak bluetooth signals and cant hear anything from receiving calls. Any other advise or things I should look out for before purchasing an O2 Mini?
Pennywise
post Apr 25 2005, 11:59 PM

5,796 posts

So this is the correct section?

sonyclie77 and 8431,
If you're reading this topic, kindly reply to me and share with me your thoughts and avises. Thank you.
Pennywise
post Apr 28 2005, 10:28 AM

5,796 posts

Maybe we should have this topic stickied. I know I'll probably abuse this thread anyway cause no one was really answering to mine.

I got my O2 XDA Mini for RM2500 two days ago, original set. I know the cost of O2 XDA Mini in most places is RM2400 - RM2450, I still hutang the shop, havent pay wan. Heh! I love it. So far, I've only used the phone function. Still trying to find some free time to sit down and key in all my notes and appointment times.

I dont have much questions left, except for one... How do you scroll down if your message consist of 4 - 5 sms long?
Pennywise
post Apr 28 2005, 02:23 PM

5,796 posts

cskean,
There were know freebies. Being able to hutang is because I'm privileged at that store. The shop is in Klang and its known as KTS [Klang Telecommunication Service or something like that].

Yea, I have friends who are dying for it too. They hate me now cause they've been wanting it and I just bought it after a day I set eyes on it. I'm bringing it to gym to borrow my friend later. He want to look see and also want me to buy for him.

Can hutang is because my office and family all buy from this shop. I dont know them personally but my cousin does. We've bought at least over a 100x mobile phones from them so they trust us.

What symbol are you talking about?

About call waiting and switching between incoming calls, that's a function of Maxis. If your sim card can, then your O2 Mini can. Yes, just press the 'Call' button to switch calls like normal mobile phones.
Pennywise
post Apr 29 2005, 12:48 AM

5,796 posts

cskean,
Looks like your Logitech Bluetooth Headset and your O2 Mini dont go too well, considering sonyclie77's headset and O2 Mini is tuned at all times until he switches off the Bluetooth on either side.

sonyclie77,
Two questions please:
1. What Bluetooth Headset are you using and how much?
2. Where can I find some silicone case? I see the price in KL pretty expensive compared to the price on the net.

Ophelia,
The shop is in Klang town... called the KTS. I dont think you can 'hutang' them though k? I could cause they know my family personally and we've been buying phones from them since ages ago. Not sure if you could get it for RM2500 without mentioning my cousin's big name though.

To answer your questions. You dont need to be IT savvy to use an O2 Mini. You should understand INSTALL and REMOVE programs though. And if you know how to use Microsoft Outlook with e-mails, contacts, notes and appointment, you should have no problem handling the O2 Mini.

It is indeed a good way for you to organize your life, keep your data, appointment date, contacts information and etc in it. I just bought it for 3 days and I'm quite used to writting an SMS already. I went to gym today and while I was doing my cardio [cycling], my girlfriend sms-ed me and I replied... Phewwwitt... I knew it was all cool because both my left and right side girls were looking at me scribbling! Awesome feel!

Getting 3 units together is a lot. You could ask the shop for some discount though. It depends what shop. I hope you have a handphone or PDA shop that either your friends or you used to go/know for quite well. I'm sure you'll be able to bargain off probably another RM20/30 for each unit. It's still money!

WiFi feature, if activated [provided you have a WiFi account with TMNET], yes, you will be able to access e-mail, MSN and the internet in places like Starbucks / Coffee Bean. For your information, if you're already a Streamyx user, activating a WiFi account is only an additional RM10.

3G phones are coming out. I dont know how it will compare to O2. If you run on WiFi, O2 is cheaper. If you run on GPRS, I'm not sure cause I dont know the charges for GPRS nor 3G but I'll assume 3G is more expensive - as usual, the newer the technology, it will always cost more.
Pennywise
post Apr 29 2005, 12:49 AM

5,796 posts

ah_keh,
Where did you bought your silicone casing and how much?
Pennywise
post Apr 29 2005, 01:01 AM

5,796 posts

ah_keh is a her... I see... Ok, I've just asked her on the other topic. I'll wait for her replies. Going to Lowyat tomorrow, will probably drop by Digital Gadgets to check things out.

Bluetooth headset really so expensive... Is there any particular reasons why you pick Motorola bluetooth headsets?
Pennywise
post Apr 29 2005, 01:02 AM

5,796 posts

Okies... thanks!
Pennywise
post Apr 29 2005, 10:50 PM

5,796 posts

cskean,
I went to Lowyat today. I sat and spoke to Scooticus of C-Zone. He's using a Dell x50v now. I asked him about screen protectors, he's not on Martin Field. Then we talked about some software, which he recommended SPB something. Finally, I asked him for some help with Bluetooth Headset and he recommended Logitech. Wanted to buy them but got no stock so didnt get any in the end.

I went to Digital Gadgets and Digital Stuff [for those who dunno, they are branches of each other. Same company]. Jabra BT800 is RM390. Logitech BT Headset dunno what model is RM290. But each pricetag is labeled as RM100 more expensive.

sonyclie77,
Congratulations on becoming a moderators. =) Bought my silicone case from ah_keh already...

Ophelia,
RM2688 is the retail price in most places. At some places, you can bargain till RM2600. I dont know anyone else who can get it for RM2500. I have a friend who claims that he can get it for RM2200 but this sort of things, if the price falls below 'moderate' retail price, sometimes you have this paranoia feeling that it might be a waterset or a second-hand set. So, since a heavy investment, I make sure my money is worth it even if its a few hundred bucks different. Rather than you save RM300 only to find out later that your's is a waterset and when spoil, you will probably strangle yourself.

If you can install/remove softwares and MS Outlook is something you deal with at work. I'm sure you will have no problems with O2 Mini. I just bought it like 4 - 5 days ago because my life was becoming a mess. Everything my boss tell me, I forget, my timetables, dates and appointment got mix up. I forgot ppl's fax number and etc. I needed a PocketPC and I was fed up with my Sony Ericsson T-610. So I decided to kill two birds with one stone - a PDA Phone, an O2 Mini!

If you dont have a particular shop you purchase your phone products... Maybe you could ask around for some help. I'm sure you have friends who visit mobile phone shops regularly or some other 'jalans' right? Possibly?

I'm using my home Streamyx account to access WiFi connections in hotspots area. I used it for my laptop but now my O2 Mini. My home is the RM88 package. I sign up for hotspot WiFi connection for an additional RM10. So my bill comes at RM98 per month.

3G are coming up, the network speed is faster and for RM120/month you have unlimited access or some around that price. 3G is new. If you're into 3G, faster download speed, you could get a 3G Phone. If you need a PocketPC, you could get just a PocketPC only. If you want a combo, then this is your choice. What phone are you using now? Is your mobilephone rather new? If it is, just get the Dell x50v at www.dell.com.my. If you're fed up with your phone and you wanted a PDA to manage your life better, Mini O2.

I dont know if this is true but so far, I dunno any PocketPC with 3G network. I've only known Smartphones running 3G technology. Why bother with the high-speed? Its not like you're gonna download a movie into your phone right? So actually whether its 3G or GPRS, not much affect for me. As for the cost, my company pays my bill so that's not an issue for me, thus I dont know the charges.

ah_keh,
Thanks for the silicone casing... Its real nice. Oh and my friends are interested in you. Lolx...
Pennywise
post Apr 30 2005, 11:29 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 30 2005, 12:49 PM)
Pennywise:
If you wanted to buy the Logitech Freedom(new model, black colour), RM 290 is a bit expensive, I bought at RM 270, LYP.
Your friend so notty ar, so easily attracted by a gal. Umm, ah_keh 'sui' one ar? tongue.gif
Sui or not, you have to go buy from her a silicone case to find out lor... Hahaha... good way to get business!

I'll probably use Logitech BT headset also since now you said no problem jor... Thanks!
Pennywise
post May 1 2005, 11:11 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ May 1 2005, 10:47 AM)
no one answered my queries...anyone?
do u guys off ur mini or u guys just leave it on like a normal mobile?
its a mobile pc after all  do we need to off it to let it rest or something  hahaha sorry for the noob question
I leave my Mini to turn off the PDA function on its own. I dont hit the 'Power' switch so much, scared I spoil it.
Pennywise
post May 1 2005, 11:13 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 30 2005, 02:55 PM)
Save my trip to PDA Expert as everything was once again in order after a soft reset.

How come when I remove the battery cover, the mini will go off? <-- Is this another way of soft reset? Then, what the use of this red rubber thingy which is next to the battery?

Please enlighten me, guys....
As far as I know, soft reset = poke that little hole at the bottom. The red rubber thingy is to 'lock' the battery in position. Like secure it ketat so it wont move or whatever.
Pennywise
post May 2 2005, 01:39 AM

5,796 posts

ah_keh,
Dont send cskean any picts... Ask him buy silicone case la if he wants to know so badly. See, this is a good marketing strategy right?!
Pennywise
post May 2 2005, 06:05 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(zahead @ May 2 2005, 11:13 AM)
Guys... I have been using mini O2 for a month now but lately I became frustrated with it due to its OS stability problem! At one time it self-resetted.. Hard reset I mean... Luckily I backed up all my data a week ago.. but when I restored it, I lost all my latest SMS messages.. Sometimes, messaging application stop responding when you need it the most.. and at times, there are missing contacts and when you try to update with your MS Outlook or restore the original list, the problem persists... Any advice on what to do... before I decide to get rid of the unit and have a bad impression on the product?
It seems like you've already had your mind set on getting rid of your O2 Mini, there's nothing more to be done. I dont know about the many other users out there but your's is probably one of those unlucky units. I dont think I've heard anyone else with that trouble.

So far, I've been with my unit for a week, no auto-reset nor hang. Messaging application stop responding is also not a common problem I've heard from other users. Synchronizing with the Microsoft Outlook is important and should be done constantly if you're a heavy user.

O2 Mini may not be perfect but I believe its the best PocketPC + Phone out there. If you're getting rid of your O2 Mini, then go get yourself a phone and a PocketPC separately. I can assure you any other PocketPC will have this hang problem and probably that self-reset one too.
Pennywise
post May 2 2005, 07:38 PM

5,796 posts

Malfunctioning of buttons? Nope... are you sure its not the settings? Like START --> Setting --> Advanced --> Button Lock
Pennywise
post May 4 2005, 12:27 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ May 3 2005, 12:39 PM)
Pennywise: Wah seh, need to be so realistic huh? No business no friend? tongue.gif Btw, have you got yourselve a bluetooth earpiece?
Hey, not being realistic la. Just help ah_keh promoting her silicone casing sales cause she helped answer my topic previously ma.

I havent get my bluetooth earpiece. Probably get the Logitech one some time this weekend when I get down to Lowyat to buy my Martin Fields screen protector cause my Crystal view sorta torn.

Wanted Jabra BT800 but then it has display. I dont even understand why ppl make BT headset with display. Not like our eyes can look at our ears.

Pennywise
post May 4 2005, 09:17 PM

5,796 posts

My first O2 Mini problem starts today because I installed the SPB Plus 2.5. I guess its not compliant with O2 Mini because after I installed this, all the SMS I sent out becomes multiple copies. My girlfriend complains that I am sending her multiple copies of the same message or else I wouldnt even know about it.

Anyway, what's a good dictionary? Lexisgoo 2.0 right? But I want a freeware... anyone can help me with this dictionary?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: May 4 2005, 11:45 PM
Pennywise
post May 4 2005, 11:46 PM

5,796 posts

How do you reinstall your OS in case you delete the wrong folder and it crashes on you?!
Pennywise
post May 5 2005, 12:38 PM

5,796 posts

Dunno why mine dont go too well with SPB Plus 2.5. I'll try again tonight. After I installed, all the SMS I sent was sent multiple times... Waste of my 5cents/SMS ohhh...
Pennywise
post May 5 2005, 03:35 PM

5,796 posts

Caller Group there got templates which display the caller picture ones, right? Where can I get more templates?

0.0202sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:09 PM