Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

unknown warrior
post Nov 20 2010, 11:25 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Need some advise.

Feel like buying Java Moss.

It will die if I use Aquarium salt right?
unknown warrior
post Nov 22 2010, 09:11 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

My little Aquarium and my Fries Tank

Oppps,
Fries Tank, not counted, LOL, plastic plants.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 22 2010, 09:22 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 23 2010, 08:10 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Any plant can survive without Co2 tank?
unknown warrior
post Nov 23 2010, 09:00 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Nov 23 2010, 08:45 PM)
java ferns, alot of ferns, mosses, cant rmmber more
thanks.

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 23 2010, 08:56 PM)
my plants survive without co2 tank.. hehe.. ur fish produce co2 by breathing, and they take oxygen produced by plants .. so its just a matter of balancing the amount of fish vs the amount of plants if u dun hav co2 tank  icon_rolleyes.gif  of course u need to have light
Every Aquarium shop I go to ask me to buy a Co2 Tanks system or threaten my plants my die.

lulz.

Talking about light, you mean sun light or florescent light?

Newbie here. Still learning.

unknown warrior
post Nov 26 2010, 07:30 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

I'm going to AquaFair too.

haha.

Hope got some Gifts.

Planning to buy 2ft Aquarium.
unknown warrior
post Nov 29 2010, 12:56 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Anyone use microworm too feed your fries?
How do you feed it? Scrap the wall with toothpick n dip it in water?
unknown warrior
post Dec 8 2010, 08:52 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Pls recommend which shop sell T5 light set cheap.

Jalan Pasar?

Most shop selling RM200 for High Out put. (~39w x 2)

The Low Out put (~14W x 2) selling for RM140-150.

Even the low out put can emit 10000K should be good enough already right?

I'm still shopping around.

Thinking of DIY from electric shop also but I don't think they sell side holder for the florescent and casing problem. Don't know what to use to create casing.
unknown warrior
post Dec 9 2010, 12:03 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 8 2010, 11:45 PM)
14 000 K bulbs. generally blue.
My marine tank's favourite spectrum.

Not suitable for planted tank as our plants will not benefit alot from this spectrum. Optimum for plants is

6000 K  - 10 000 K. ADA tubes being specially made at 8000K.

==

So unless you want to see a lot of healthy algae growing in your planted tank, Don't use anything more than 10 000K .

Drew
That means Low Out Put T5 can already?
unknown warrior
post Dec 9 2010, 12:09 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Dec 9 2010, 12:08 AM)
low output? do you mean by low wattage?
chuppy
so how about price for MH bulb? if ADA i think i cant afford maybe  tongue.gif
Yup T5 there's low out out and high out put and very high out put (VHO).

unknown warrior
post Dec 9 2010, 01:31 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:09 AM)
Note that K stands for KELVIN RATINGS. or COLOUR TEMPERATURE of the tube.. not wattage or 'output'

===

paku, look for things like osram. those might work. (not yellow, 'white')
Also, ADA ones are the best ones around.. MH that is. RM 3xx. Bite the bullet!
So Question is, if T5 with low wattage say only 2 x 14w but able to emit 10000K spectrum is more than sufficient for plant photosynthesis, right?

because the shop keep insisting me to get high output somewhere after 2 x 39W.

I felt it's not necessary because IMO more watt uses more electricity besides my tank is not that deep.

unknown warrior
post Dec 9 2010, 11:59 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 9 2010, 02:01 AM)
How big is your tank?
Most of my 2feeters run on total 72w of light. so tell me if I'm crazy.

My main 2feeter runs on 110W.

=====

Lighting your aquarium won't burn a hole in your pocket la. Not like it's gonna be on 24 hours a day.

, So my conclusion.

NO 2 x 14w 10 000k T5NO is NOT MORE THAN SUFFICIENT FOR PLANT PHOTOSYNTHESIS.

Unless you're lighting a less than 1foot nano tank , then it is lol.
What you need to tell us,

How big is your tank
What you intend to plant.

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:02 amIf it's just moss and crypts, then it's fine I suppose. your tank will look sad and dark though. but that's just my opinion
Mine's 2 1/2 Feet Tank.

Actually my LFS says normal florescent light can already, plant won't die one.

I manage to DIY my own Light for under RM50.

Bought a

1) T5 24W 6400K Light Spectrum with modified power cable plug in direct no need ballast.
2) Aluminum Reflector.
3) 2 x florescent small light holder to attach to reflector.
4) 2 x Plastic Holder to hold the light.
5) PVC Casing to strengthen the reflector back bone.

Walaueh Damn bloody bright.

unknown warrior
post Dec 10 2010, 09:29 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 10 2010, 08:44 AM)
how much is the 24w light ? got pic how it looks like ?
btw, u quit trolling /k and play with tanks now ?  tongue.gif
lul, less trolling, getting older, ya.

dunno why so crazy about Aquarium now.
maybe I just like to see fish giving baby fries.

Had almost 40 Guppy fries.

Any below is the shot

Edit:

The Light alone is only RM16.

Sure Beats buying whole set from LFS which will cost anything RM140-200++

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Dec 10 2010, 09:39 AM
unknown warrior
post Dec 10 2010, 11:08 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 10 2010, 10:48 AM)
oh this type..
i also use this one for my new tank.
but juz 2ft so just got 14watt

ur tank is 4ft ?
Nope, 2 1/2 Feet.

Almost wanted to buy another 21W Today making it a total of 42W but nah, what for?

Don't intend to grow High Requirement Plants.

Anyway Today went to 88Pets @ SunwayMas and bought 3 Red Shrimps and Landscape scrapper.

Still hunting for Java Moss, I only have spiky moss.
unknown warrior
post Dec 11 2010, 08:12 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Dec 11 2010, 08:26 AM)
Can i know where is jalan pasar?
It's near where the famous electronic shops are.

If you notice near the Traffic Light at the 4 way Junction, there's a small Chinese Temple.

Alive Fish Shop is Across the road from the Temple and Beside the Temple, there's Road side Fish Sellers.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Dec 11 2010, 08:19 PM
unknown warrior
post Dec 12 2010, 03:08 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(maxtrix @ Dec 12 2010, 01:48 AM)
want to ask all sifu, I want to put Eheim 2215 as the filter of my 2x1x1 tank.

Shall I cover the inlet with mosquito nest to prevent my cherry shrimp from sucking into the filter?

I notice the outlet has a tube with many hole and a L tube. which one shall I put as the outlet? The hole tube is quite long, If I put it vertical, part of the tube will be expose in air? or put it horizontally?
I'm not a sifu but I do know it's better to wrap up your inlet filter inside the tank with Sponge otherwise babies will get suck in.
unknown warrior
post Dec 12 2010, 10:01 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

LOL

Went to East Aquarium in Ikea/Ikano

I just bought

1) Java Moss
2) Christmas Moss (It's gonna be Christmas anyway)
3) Little Grass (like the ones in post #2284)
4) Stem type Plant (dunno what plant)
5) 2 Guppies (1 Yellow & 1 Metallic)

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Dec 12 2010, 10:06 PM
unknown warrior
post Dec 13 2010, 10:38 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

What's the difference between the real Co2 Tank vs the Co2 Tablets/Chemical/etc?

Effect not the same?
unknown warrior
post Dec 17 2010, 08:37 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

I just want to testify, the Tablet CO2 actually works.

My Spiky moss originally was kinda of brownish, after using it for 1 weeks plus, it become fresh green.

unknown warrior
post Dec 19 2010, 11:20 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:55 AM)
In longterm, pressurized co2 still cheaper than co2 tablet.
Sure or not?

I bought CO2 Tablets near my LFS.

RM15 for 48 tablets, that's 48 days.

Gas refill cheapest cost RM20 for small tank.

1 Tank probably last3-4 weeks depending on how you turn it on.
unknown warrior
post Dec 20 2010, 12:22 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(William7 @ Dec 19 2010, 11:22 PM)
1 tank last me 5 months. its with a self timer which swithc on for 12 hours a day.

the first refill was may 25th and the second refill was on 11th december =)

thats a long time
QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 19 2010, 11:25 PM)
The bigger the tank, the cheaper it is as refill cost is very close.

my 6L tank refill cost is just rm 3x . Already running for 17 months for 3 2feet tanks @ 2bps. still strong wahahaha. (backup 2L handy) Main tank running on 4L

Drew

Added on December 19, 2010, 11:28 pmso yea, judging from that, if I were to put in 476 tablets.. ouch. But when fongzai said cheaper in the long run, I doubt he means only monetary costs..
Imagine, just fit a solenoid and you dont really have to care about your c02 dosage anymore. time comes, click, c02 comes, c02 offs = saves c02

and IMHO, (very personal view so dont tank this personal)
I cannot grow HC and Lim Vietnam.. or the rarities like eurios and rotala goais (or at least I dont think I can) with DIY c02 let alone tablets.

Well, every man for himself, What works for me might not work for you and vice versa.

So every opinion here is very subjective lol.

Drew
What about Co2 System setup cost?

0.0233sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:29 AM