Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

the_catacombs
post Jul 19 2010, 05:35 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Adremier @ Jul 19 2010, 03:50 PM)
any advice on how to stick the scrambled marimo ball and driftwood together?
use benang... same way how u tie moss to driftwood..
the_catacombs
post Aug 7 2010, 01:22 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Aug 7 2010, 12:03 AM)
for those who dono how to use eheim filter

http://hada.pixnet.net/blog/post/26942285
like that how to learn about EHIEM filter??.... mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 7 2010, 05:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Aug 7 2010, 04:13 PM)
zzz now i manage to stabilize my water ph ady, here comes the snail  mad.gif  vmad.gif

Spotted 2 snails, dam small n tiny, can't manage to pick it out from my tank. The shape spiral one, is it harmful?
use a tweezers pick them up one by one... or suck them out when u do WC...
the_catacombs
post Aug 16 2010, 12:39 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Aug 15 2010, 06:29 PM)
picture of my diy project...
lousy phone camera... tongue.gif

nice nice... got swirl some more... fuhyoo...
the_catacombs
post Aug 23 2010, 03:46 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

my previous setup...

lately the HG carpet starts to get botak d... HG uprooting itself... got minor algae attack as well... so i decided to rescape it... lower the substrate abit so the plants can grow more... 1ft height tank really too shallow to create nice scape....

i removed almost half of the substrate without disturbing it much... added a few pallets of iron bottom and multi bottom coz didnt do the base fert when i first started the tank... this is what i came up with...

background, tonina... middle, riccia... front, UG... relocated my canister filter intake pipe as well.. looks more organized now...

lomo shot of the middle rock...

lighting 55w... not really sufficient for UG i think... plans to upgrade another 55w... see budget how....
pressurized co2 tank... bps unsure coz didnt have bubble counter... pakai hentam only... lolz..
canister filter JET-3388...
fert using seachem trace element only... halfcap per week... ok ahh??...
the_catacombs
post Aug 23 2010, 12:06 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Aug 23 2010, 06:12 AM)
i suggest you remove the SAE first.. UG didnt have 'proper' root as other plant (HC,HG, etc), it can easily uproot especially when you newly planted it.

btw where do you get the UG? hehee..
ohh.. okok... so far no uprooted UG... if its getting serious i will remove the SAE... i bought it in melaka nature aquatic studio... rm8 per small pot... most expensive plant i ever bought.. lolz... bought 2 only... planted it evenly across the foreground... hopefully can grow...

QUOTE(Monsterjin @ Aug 23 2010, 07:27 AM)
I rcmd your filter inflow and outflow to be located as, in flow on left, out flow on right (the head tilt 45% to the left) or vice versa, inflow and outflow having put close together is disadvantagous for the over all water flow
if tilt the head 45deg forward abit, the co2 diffused wont be able to circulate around the tank well wor... currently the aeration seems fine as i can see the diffused co2 bubble distributed evenly around the tank... unsure.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 24 2010, 02:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Aug 23 2010, 12:32 PM)
owh.. i think i get cheaper than that.. rm15 for 4x5inch.. heheee...
sad.gif sad.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 29 2010, 10:26 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Aug 29 2010, 09:08 PM)
o_O zzz dunno how to plant, i just let it float first  hmm.gif

btw was shopping for co2 tank, seems like the smaller the tank is, the more expensive it is eh  hmm.gif  saw one really small aluminium tank rm470+ at midvalley.
aluminum tank is far more expensive compare to steel tank..
the_catacombs
post Sep 1 2010, 11:57 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Sep 1 2010, 11:00 PM)
aiks  laugh.gif  sry noob here. i using manual regulator, the needle pointing 1050 psi should be ok hor. 1L cylinder.
overfilled... laugh.gif laugh.gif coz normally a full tank is about 1000psi
the_catacombs
post Sep 10 2010, 02:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Sep 10 2010, 11:54 AM)
SAE still got. I got a bunch of them in my tank. No display fish. Only SAE, Oto and Yamato shrimp. Even their waste is in green because i havent feed them anything at all and dont intend to.  wink.gif
dont need to feed SAE laa... if they learn to take fish food, they will not take in algae... so, better remain their diet on algae only...

Added on September 10, 2010, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(William7 @ Sep 8 2010, 03:17 PM)
yeah the water should turn a little yellowish at first but later on it will be crystal clear..
hmm i think i wanna sell my CRS shrimplets anyone interested ehhe
i'm interested... how much??..

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Sep 10 2010, 02:34 PM
the_catacombs
post Sep 10 2010, 07:17 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 10 2010, 04:39 PM)
Hi, can anyone explain what is the function of the pastic tube in the top filter? Thanks
diffuse oxygen into the water
the_catacombs
post Sep 11 2010, 04:09 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Sep 11 2010, 03:40 PM)
waa.. then mine is PREMIUM OTO... i bought mine for rm6.50... :/
zebra oto?
the_catacombs
post Sep 12 2010, 12:22 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Sep 12 2010, 12:11 AM)
haha.. just normal oto, zebra oto will be few times of this price...  sad.gif
normal oto rm6.50/pc vr expensive wor... my place selling rm2.80/pc only... kekekee...
the_catacombs
post Sep 12 2010, 05:59 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(William7 @ Sep 12 2010, 01:06 AM)
huh zebra otto got such thing wan ka...

can show pix? i am interested in those le..
the_catacombs
post Sep 12 2010, 12:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Sep 12 2010, 11:13 AM)
haha.. ya lor.. they claimed that the batch is not the normal oto, they r from different location n color also different. but i see nothing different.. lol... maybe i become their water fish d...

rm2.80? where is it?
melaka
the_catacombs
post Sep 14 2010, 02:06 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Sep 13 2010, 11:28 PM)
What is the flow rate?
KW clearance area or inside the shop?
flow rate means how many liters of water it can pump at a given period of time... the higher the value, the more suitable it is for larger tank....
most canister filter can adjust flow rate... but u dont want it to restrict the flow rate so much as pressure built up inside can cause leak at the o-ring seal....

hence, choose the correct flow rate canister filter to suit the size of ur tank so it can create sufficient aeration and filtration....
the_catacombs
post Sep 16 2010, 11:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(radver @ Sep 16 2010, 10:57 PM)
I rather not use anything plants from the wild, cause they always got snails on them... grumble.gif  Bad experience...
u can quarantine them for few days before introducing into ur tank
the_catacombs
post Sep 17 2010, 06:26 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Ranchu7 @ Sep 17 2010, 04:03 PM)
And this is my tank now...time change everything  smile.gif  Its time for trimming...too messy tongue.gif

not bad in fact, for a "messy" start up... laugh.gif laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Sep 18 2010, 02:47 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Sep 17 2010, 11:24 PM)
Indeed nice =), do we need to change the soil after a long run?
most ADA soil can last for 2 years plus... if u wanna push the limit, ur plants will get less healthy lo...
most people will top up with new soil when the rescape... if the substrate is too high, can scoop some of the old soil out and top up with new one... not necessary to change everything as u will eliminate the bacteria colony inside....

watch out for unstable water parameters after topping up with new soil... i wiped out all my RCS when i did last time... doh.gif

QUOTE(maxtrix @ Sep 18 2010, 01:02 AM)
Hi, I just bought a 2.5kg CO2 system from Mudah. Including regulator, valve and bubble counter.

But I found the pressure shown in the regulator is not consistent, sometimes 1100psi, sometime drop to 500psi.

And I tried to set the bubble to 1bps, but after a while the bubble stop and the water in bubble counter back flow. How do you guys adjust the regulator to fix the bubble to 1bps?

This is the first time I use CO2 tank. I connect the regulator to the CO2 tank, then connect to check valve, then bubble counter then diffuser. Is it correct?
make sure no leaks...
make sure the solenoid is working well... and not ticking (means on/off periodically according to its mood)....
the_catacombs
post Sep 19 2010, 03:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Roz @ Sep 19 2010, 02:51 PM)

Okay so I have a few question for u guys!

1) How do I clean the tank? Just take out 3/4 of the water and wipe-wipe and wash out using the water from the aquarium? How often do I have to clean?

2) How do I clean the filter and how often? The guy at the shop told me to wash using water from the aquarium also. He said no need to clean thoroughly but just rinse gently. True?

3) There are things in the filter called bio-foam and carbon cartridge with wool that according to that guy need to be replaced every 3 months. Where can I get these things?

4) Is it okay if every time I see the fish poops I quickly scoop the poopies out? Or that will disrupt their natural environment or something?

5) Oh does anyone know the name of that plant?

So urm.. for now thats all I guess.    smile.gif
1) water change 1/3 of the water weekly can adi... wipe wipe the glass if u see got green green algae sticking to it...

2) yes, rinse the filter element in aquarium water can adi... i mean not rinse in ur aquarium laa... when u do water change, the water that u removed can use to rinse ur filter... no need clean filter so often... once a month or less also can...

3) bio ring promotes bacteria growth in ur filter... ada also can, takda also can... without it, bacteria growth will be slower lo...

4) no need to scoop laa... guppy poop vr small only... after ur tank has matured (after a month plus), the bacteria will turn poop into nutrient for the plants... but u are using normal holland sand only, no nutrient in the soil... if u want ur plants to survive also abit hard... unless if hardy plant mayb can la...

5) no idea... photo so small....

0.0443sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:11 AM