Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

Roz
post Sep 17 2010, 07:02 AM

316 posts

Hey everyone. Dunno if this is the right thread. Anyway, Im planning to buy a small tank+filter from a small stall called 2littlefishes in Sunway. Anyone have heard about this brand? They sell small tanks and have their own filters and lamps. Just wanna know if their filter is reliable. Im not planning to start a planted aquarium. Just want to keep a small gold fish in my hostel smile.gif
Roz
post Sep 17 2010, 11:59 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Sep 17 2010, 11:45 AM)
Gold fish dun stay small
After doing some reading yea.. maybe I should just keep a Betta. So have you heard about that brand?
Roz
post Sep 19 2010, 02:51 PM

316 posts

Hello guys! Remember I asked about 2littlefishes aquarium the other day? Ok the next day I decided to buy a tank from Pet Safari at Ikano. And I decided to try guppies. Bought two males and two females blush.gif

The 35x21x23 (so..8 gallons?) comes with Aqua Zonic 11w lamp that is said to provide 8hours of sunlight.. And Classica hang on filter. 4.5w, max out put 400-550 l/h (what's this ah?).

And the guy at that place recommended me to buy bio rings (which he pronounced as bio ling making me a bit confused blush.gif ).

And then I took some water plants from my mother's tank (full of guppies but no filter or lamp!) which I don't even know its name. The plant has many roots on its body, so I cut it into pieces and tanam the roots into the sand in my tank.

At last the tank looks like this:

Okay so I have a few question for u guys!

1) How do I clean the tank? Just take out 3/4 of the water and wipe-wipe and wash out using the water from the aquarium? How often do I have to clean?

2) How do I clean the filter and how often? The guy at the shop told me to wash using water from the aquarium also. He said no need to clean thoroughly but just rinse gently. True?

3) There are things in the filter called bio-foam and carbon cartridge with wool that according to that guy need to be replaced every 3 months. Where can I get these things?

4) Is it okay if every time I see the fish poops I quickly scoop the poopies out? Or that will disrupt their natural environment or something?

5) Do we have to clean the sand thoroughly once in a while?

6) Oh does anyone know the name of that plant?

So urm.. for now thats all I guess. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Roz: Sep 19 2010, 03:03 PM
Roz
post Sep 19 2010, 05:27 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ Sep 19 2010, 04:39 PM)
To roz, u made the same mistake as mine when I first started the planted aquarium project.. Both the aquazonic light and the classica hang on back filter are the crappiest equipment they were selling.. The filter can overflow and leaks due to the cover being so close to the rim of the filter body.. Change the gravel to ADA soil and better quality hang on back filter.. U don't need bio ring for hob filter
Alamak really? Let me try first for few months... Urm what filter would you suggest? And the price?
Roz
post Sep 20 2010, 11:42 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Sep 19 2010, 03:03 PM)
1)  water change 1/3 of the water weekly can adi... wipe wipe the glass if u see got green green algae sticking to it...

2)  yes, rinse the filter element in aquarium water can adi... i mean not rinse in ur aquarium laa... when u do water change, the water that u removed can use to rinse ur filter... no need clean filter so often... once a month or less also can...

3)  bio ring promotes bacteria growth in ur filter... ada also can, takda also can... without it, bacteria growth will be slower lo...

4)  no need to scoop laa... guppy poop vr small only... after ur tank has matured (after a month plus), the bacteria will turn poop into nutrient for the plants... but u are using normal holland sand only, no nutrient in the soil... if u want ur plants to survive also abit hard... unless if hardy plant mayb can la...

5)  no idea... photo so small....
Oh thanks a lot for the reply. Really appreciate it biggrin.gif
QUOTE(nismo87 @ Sep 19 2010, 06:37 PM)
Does anyone know where to get aqua moss?

Added on September 19, 2010, 6:41 pm

How much is your set up?
Urm I bought the tank set (+ filter and lamp) for RM88. Then plus sand, anti chlorine, bio ring, fish scoop, fishes, food about RM140?

QUOTE(imr4n @ Sep 19 2010, 07:00 PM)
what's ur budget? if ur thinking long term, invest in a canister filter.. if u want to try2 first and upgrade later.. any china brand hang on back is fine (except classica).. to me, i'd prefer one with a built in surface skimmer.. example is sun-sun brand http://www.sunsun-china.com/en/Product/Pro...nfo.aspx?ID=426

next, invest on ADA soil and a fan.. those two really makes a big different to ur low budget tank

later get a CO2 tank and better lighting

after that u'll realise ur hooked to this hobby and will spend spend spend for other accessories hehe

the filter is about rm25, u can get it at 88 pets mart at pandan indah or sunway
Hey thanks for the info! For something as important as filter I think Im willing to buy anything under 50? Thanks for the suggestion ya!
Roz
post Oct 5 2010, 05:26 PM

316 posts

My aquarium is now being invaded by micro tiny snails cry.gif
I think its because of those cheap wild plants that I used. What do I do now?
My tank currently only have one male and female guppy.

0.0357sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:26 PM