5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

radver
post Oct 22 2010, 09:40 PM

18 posts

Hey Guys, I need some help icon_question.gif .Its about my eheim 2213, I got it a few months ago and it was working fine for the first month, priming was ok, there was no noise at all.

The problem started when I did my first cleaning, since then I keep getting trapped air inside the filter. Even after priming it properly, shaking it side by side until there is no air at all. But after a few days, there will be trapped air again, as I can hear the sound of air being chopped by the impeller and there would be air coming out of the outlet after I on and off it a few times to clear the air.

Its been going on for a few months now, after every few days there would be trapped air again. And I would have to on and off it again to clear the air trapped. I don't know where the air is coming from, if its from the bad primming, it should clear itself after so long right??? There is no leaks, I check everytime I have to get the air out... The CO2 diffuser is place on the other side of the tank away from the inlet

I cleaned it again yesterday to examine the pump, the impeller seems to be fine, I can't see any damage.

Any one of you experienced this before??? Need help icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
radver
post Oct 22 2010, 10:22 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Oct 22 2010, 10:14 PM)
hav u use surface skimmer?
Yes... I've also checked and adjusted the surface skimmer. I've put it on the most minimum suction so that its only enough for water to go in from the top. I stop adjusting once water starts to pour in from the top, so air don't come in from from the splashing inside the skimmer.

But problem still there, any suggestions... Help please... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
radver
post Oct 22 2010, 11:23 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Oct 22 2010, 10:57 PM)
have you modified the bottom inlet ? like wrapped with cotton.
Got... I wrapped mosquito net on the bottom, to prevent shrimps from being sucked in. But the holes in mosquito net are quite big, cause I still get shrimplets in my filter...
radver
post Oct 24 2010, 07:24 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Oct 24 2010, 03:31 PM)
sometime can cause by not enough water for the bottom inlet and surface skimmer, due to the modification.

just like ur canister filter intake is 200L/H , but your modified surface skimmer + bottom inlet only able to give out 190L/H. then air will trapped in from Surface skimmer. it was happened to me before.
I had that problem when I first installed it. I wrapped a sponge around the inlet and the surface skimmer have so much force it would suck itself into the inlet and made the skimmer useless. It stopped after I changed the sponge to mosquito netting instead.

But still I think its still a possibility icon_rolleyes.gif , I'll change it to a breeding net instead this weekend and see how it goes. Thanks for sharing...

But are there still any other possibility??? I want to try all at once and solve it immediately... sad.gif

Initially it was so quiet I need to put my ear against it to hear it. Now all I need to do is squad down next to it and I'll hear it already sad.gif , not just the humming sound but a bit rattling also. And intermittent air lock somemore... cry.gif

Added on October 24, 2010, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 24 2010, 04:55 PM)
dude u used my userbar? lol that userbar is a pic of my old tank
Haha... tongue.gif biggrin.gif

Maybe it is, I just googled for a planted tank userbar and this came out... rclxms.gif
How do you make these kind of userbar anyway??? (out of topic) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Oct 24 2010, 07:26 PM
radver
post Oct 24 2010, 10:01 PM

18 posts

Cool... Thanks rclxms.gif
radver
post Oct 27 2010, 10:20 PM

18 posts

Aquascaping world has just restarted their AquaScaping World Magazine which will now be published every bi-monthly, the November and December issue is already out and its free!!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Disclaimer bruce.gif , I do not work for and I'm not getting anything from promoting this. tongue.gif

Here's the link if your interested...

http://www.aquascapingworld.com/magazine/
radver
post Nov 5 2010, 02:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(aBc!! @ Nov 5 2010, 01:33 AM)
@maxtrix ,
Just tie them up with any rock you can find.
Oya do you guys know what plant on my tank , the tallest wan at the back. Man it grow realy fast.

Its water sprite... a.k.a Ceratopteris thalictroides

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/myplants...lictroides.html

Here is some description... wave.gif

And actually you don't trim them to propagate them IME, little plantlets will actually grow from the main plant. Just watch for branching with roots and you'll find them. Pluck them off and replant them, I gave away a few bunch just yesterday...

This post has been edited by radver: Nov 5 2010, 02:42 PM
radver
post Nov 6 2010, 06:35 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Nov 6 2010, 03:40 PM)
take that thing out! the thing growing in ur riccia.. one day it will outgrow everything and it will be worst than algae.
Wooo..... shocking.gif Whats with the big reaction??? Can explain more??? hmm.gif

I had riccia last time, I put it in a breeding container that floats in the tank, but didn't really put it in my scape cause the pointy thing grew more than the light green ones... So I threw it all away... blush.gif
radver
post Nov 7 2010, 10:30 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Nov 7 2010, 02:27 AM)
im serious.. it will grow EVERYWHERE!! IN BETWEEN UR MOSSES / STEMPLANTS / EVERYWHERE and its almost imposible to take out.. first now it looks fine and ur curiosity will wana keep it first..

YOU WILL REGRET!!!

cant rmmber the name but its carnivorous. eats organism by catching them with the tiny leaves u see on it.. itll it shrimplets if ur not careful lol
Carniverous??? shocking.gif Thank god I threw it away icon_rolleyes.gif ... Or else it would be bye bye shrimplets... cry.gif

And when should we go and refill our Co2 tank??? At how many psi??? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
radver
post Nov 8 2010, 10:47 AM

18 posts

http://www.wcf.com/co2iron/faq.html

But I read from here that the Co2 tank should be refilled once the regulator gauge shows 500 psi or less. Cause if you don't refill it, the regulator will fail and it'll dump the rest of the Co2 in the tank into your aquarium. And I don't think anyone wants that much of Co2 in their aquarium in such short time as it'll increase the pH and kill all the fauna.

But its just what its stated in the website and a few others, I hope someone here can share their experience or preference on their Co2 refills??? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
radver
post Nov 8 2010, 09:53 PM

18 posts

@Vampyr3, You got yourself a pair of Sterbai cories. I got a pair, and from the pictures, IMO is just nothing. I don't think its itch, but just to be on the safe side the quarantine would be good. But one advice, don't put salt in their water, it'll kill them, you might read from somewhere that salt would be a good treatment for itch but please, it don't include cories... nod.gif

@cwl_ykh, as the saying goes, big fish eat small fish. Fish will eat anything that can fit in their mouth, and shrimps will be especially vulnerable when they mold. I loss all 30 of my RCS to my one dozen harlequins in one month's time. But it differs between tanks, some say no problem, some say all eaten. Its up to you to see if you want to try... tongue.gif
radver
post Nov 21 2010, 09:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 21 2010, 06:23 PM)
anyone using seachem flourish comprehensive plant supplement ? the colour is brown and bad smell ? i just opened this brand new seachem and found that is Brown in colour not green colour as other fertilizer. wondering is it rosak.
Its like that one, not spoiled or anything, a few complaint of the same thing in Planted Aquarium V4 before...
radver
post Nov 22 2010, 05:23 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Nov 22 2010, 11:06 AM)

Added on November 22, 2010, 2:18 pmppl always tell me...
sharing is caring....
Bloody high grade wei... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
radver
post Nov 23 2010, 10:42 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Nov 23 2010, 06:53 PM)
Could anyone recommend me a "not too expensive" liquid fertilizer for my plants? Preferably under RM 30 per bottle ; ) [budget very limited]
I'm using JBL Ferrotabs RM30... My plants growing on black gravel only, no soil... tongue.gif

radver
post Nov 23 2010, 10:43 PM

18 posts

But mostly stem plants la...
radver
post Nov 23 2010, 11:01 PM

18 posts

That was 3 months ago...

Now it looks like this, just bushier... tongue.gif
Before I trimmed

After I trimmed... blush.gif
Don't know I did it right or not??? icon_question.gif
Also added java moss lawn...

Any comments??? Advice??? icon_question.gif
radver
post Nov 23 2010, 11:51 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Nov 23 2010, 11:31 PM)
@radver
Your tank look nice ; )
Thanks... wub.gif
radver
post Nov 24 2010, 01:13 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(aBc!! @ Nov 24 2010, 12:18 AM)
@radver ,
Awesome man.
Thanks... biggrin.gif wub.gif

QUOTE(michanz @ Nov 24 2010, 12:34 AM)
i have no idea bro

@radver. very healthy looking plants. i can see ur going for low maitenance plants. and that lawn looks neat. cant wait to see it grow out.
Still studying, thats why low maintenance plants... I had some trouble trying to make the lawn stay there, had to sprinkle some gravel on it to make it sink... blush.gif
I'm still having trouble trying to make the spiky moss stick on to the driftwood, cause the driftwood actually curves into itself, sort of concave like that. So I don't think its really sticking to the driftwood, just being held there by the fishing line I used.

Using a net won't do any good cause of the concave surface... sad.gif

Anyone got any experience??? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
radver
post Nov 25 2010, 07:16 PM

18 posts

I'm going to aquafair this Saturday... If all goes well la...
radver
post Nov 27 2010, 12:14 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Nov 26 2010, 09:02 PM)
Anybody can confirm whether it is water sprite?

icon_question.gif
Yes, this is water sprite. Just give it some time to adapt to your tank.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0408sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:45 PM