Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

the_catacombs
post Dec 9 2010, 12:37 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Oct 30 2010, 04:23 PM)
people are selling riccia.. get riccia wood from lfs.. rm10 for a few pieces.. im sureur tank would need just one pack.. tie it to the riccia wood and place it on the ground let it grow like a carpet
Or tie them to stainless steel mesh n place them on the ground covering most foreground. When it grows bushy, trim them. Later on it will develop into a pearling carpet.
unknown warrior
post Dec 9 2010, 01:31 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:09 AM)
Note that K stands for KELVIN RATINGS. or COLOUR TEMPERATURE of the tube.. not wattage or 'output'

===

paku, look for things like osram. those might work. (not yellow, 'white')
Also, ADA ones are the best ones around.. MH that is. RM 3xx. Bite the bullet!
So Question is, if T5 with low wattage say only 2 x 14w but able to emit 10000K spectrum is more than sufficient for plant photosynthesis, right?

because the shop keep insisting me to get high output somewhere after 2 x 39W.

I felt it's not necessary because IMO more watt uses more electricity besides my tank is not that deep.

chuppy2
post Dec 9 2010, 02:01 AM

152 posts

How big is your tank?

Most of my 2feeters run on total 72w of light. so tell me if I'm crazy.

My main 2feeter runs on 110W.

=====

Lighting your aquarium won't burn a hole in your pocket la. Not like it's gonna be on 24 hours a day.

, So my conclusion.

NO 2 x 14w 10 000k T5NO is NOT MORE THAN SUFFICIENT FOR PLANT PHOTOSYNTHESIS.

Unless you're lighting a less than 1foot nano tank , then it is lol.

What you need to tell us,

How big is your tank
What you intend to plant.

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:02 amIf it's just moss and crypts, then it's fine I suppose. your tank will look sad and dark though. but that's just my opinion

This post has been edited by chuppy2: Dec 9 2010, 02:02 AM
rasinblood
post Dec 9 2010, 02:32 AM

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:09 AM)
Note that K stands for KELVIN RATINGS. or COLOUR TEMPERATURE of the tube.. not wattage or 'output'

===

paku, look for things like osram. those might work. (not yellow, 'white')
Also, ADA ones are the best ones around.. MH that is. RM 3xx. Bite the bullet!
I am using 12k T5 tube. is doing fine i have 4 tube in 1 tank, my plant growing fine, it cost Rm25 - Rm23 per tube. i think mine is 23w. not sure forgot de. If Rm300 can get a set with the casing liaw -.- and T5 is much less heat then other tube, my next project is change off my this T5 Tubes into LED with timer, i still trying to get the LED from china which is 10k-12k but i think be fine which i read those other forum..

this LED with Progressive timer/dimmer can do Morning light, afternoon which is much more brighter then evening dawn then slowly dim it out.... so you set 4 different time on your tank..

Actually the Kelvin Ratings means the Spectrum of th light, Like we do sains class we play with the Prisma, and see the Spectrum? that is why the Kelvin Rating come in to see how many Spectrum, too high is bad the avarage needed for Planted tank is 7,500-12,000 max.

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:43 amDawn time in my Aquarium.. Fire Red cherry Shrimps.

This post has been edited by rasinblood: Dec 9 2010, 02:47 AM

boygenetic
post Dec 9 2010, 08:06 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(rasinblood @ Dec 8 2010, 05:58 PM)
Bro better say out ma so we all noe which shop n guy.. i also wanna go there n tell him i sell him back the Moss 1KG Rm500 see he wan or not ^^ cheaper i help him import from taiwan  biggrin.gif
u know he actually said that if he can sell him cheaper, he'll take it.
not sure how true is that lah.

mayb i look like a freakin noob, hes like trying to show off his inventories.
but seriously, his aqua tanks quite pretty leh.

mayb, one of you guys can go visit and look like a noob. tell him that you want to do an aquaplant tank. tell him its your first time.
act like u know nothing and see what he says.

but mayb lah, this moss is worth that much loh. i really dunno.

do PM if want to know which seller. laugh.gif

my problem now is get moss also susah, actually not susah lah just my lfs damn expensive. i working in PJ, got one lfs in Seapark, dun have moss.
extremely sien. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by boygenetic: Dec 9 2010, 08:09 AM
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 09:11 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 9 2010, 02:01 AM)
How big is your tank?
Most of my 2feeters run on total 72w of light. so tell me if I'm crazy.

My main 2feeter runs on 110W.

=====

Lighting your aquarium won't burn a hole in your pocket la. Not like it's gonna be on 24 hours a day.

, So my conclusion.

NO 2 x 14w 10 000k T5NO is NOT MORE THAN SUFFICIENT FOR PLANT PHOTOSYNTHESIS.

Unless you're lighting a less than 1foot nano tank , then it is lol.
What you need to tell us,

How big is your tank
What you intend to plant.

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:02 amIf it's just moss and crypts, then it's fine I suppose. your tank will look sad and dark though. but that's just my opinion
wah.. ur 2ft light adi more than my 3ft sweat.gif

i am using 4x18watt phillips 6500k lighting only

QUOTE(boygenetic @ Dec 9 2010, 08:06 AM)
u know he actually said that if he can sell him cheaper, he'll take it.
not sure how true is that lah.

mayb i look like a freakin noob, hes like trying to show off his inventories.
but seriously, his aqua tanks quite pretty leh.

mayb, one of you guys can go visit and look like a noob. tell him that you want to do an aquaplant tank. tell him its your first time.
act like u know nothing and see what he says.

but mayb lah, this moss is worth that much loh. i really dunno.

do PM if want to know which seller.  laugh.gif
my problem now is get moss also susah, actually not susah lah just my lfs damn expensive. i working in PJ, got one lfs in Seapark, dun have moss.
extremely sien. sweat.gif
PJ area got quite a few shop selling plants.

pet family
88 near aman suria
there is one lfs near taman bahagia lrt also got sell plants, not as much variety but quite cheap also.
Oxburg
post Dec 9 2010, 09:18 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:11 AM)

i am using 4x18watt phillips 6500k lighting only
PJ area got quite a few shop selling plants.
is it your philips is T5 2ft tube? BTW all i found is T5 2ft only come with 14W.
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 09:21 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

yup its 2ft tube, but its stated 18w on the box and on the tube itself.
boygenetic
post Dec 9 2010, 09:31 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:11 AM)

pet family
88 near aman suria
there is one lfs near taman bahagia lrt also got sell plants, not as much variety but quite cheap also.
thank you so much for info, have to have commitment to visit more lfs.
after work have to rush home because scared of traffic.

hai, realized aquaplanting not easy
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

the sweifix (typo) lfs is just like a stone throw away from taman bahagia lrt.

from taman bahagia lrt, if u walk for around 10-15mins u can reach pets family as well but their price slightly expensive for fish, not really sure about plants thou.
Oxburg
post Dec 9 2010, 09:41 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:21 AM)
yup its 2ft tube, but its stated 18w on the box and on the tube itself.
oic.How much you bought for the tube?
boygenetic
post Dec 9 2010, 09:43 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM)

from taman bahagia lrt, if u walk for around 10-15mins u can reach pets family as well but their price slightly expensive for fish, not really sure about plants thou.
appreciated, will check it out. thank you so much.
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 09:43 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

3.50 per tube
at first wana buy the extra bright one but tat one cost 6 bucks so maybe next upgrade baru use tat.

just started my tank almost pokai for this month adi lolz..
zackertashia
post Dec 9 2010, 10:04 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:40 AM)
it's SIEWEX. shop owner also frenly, only lacking varieties but price wise quite cheap biggrin.gif
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 10:30 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(zackertashia @ Dec 9 2010, 10:04 AM)
it's SIEWEX. shop owner also frenly, only lacking varieties but price wise quite cheap biggrin.gif
yeah icon_rolleyes.gif

i normally juz go to pet family but that day just decide to walk in and have a look.
come out with 4 plants after tat laugh.gif
rasinblood
post Dec 9 2010, 10:32 AM

Unique Plant look for me.. wakakaka
Oxburg
post Dec 9 2010, 10:39 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Dec 9 2010, 09:43 AM)
3.50 per tube
at first wana buy the extra bright one but tat one cost 6 bucks so maybe next upgrade baru use tat.

just started my tank almost pokai for this month adi lolz..
good price.how bout whole casing?
where you buy? smile.gif
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 10:43 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

the casing is my aquarium cover
i modded the 4 lights on it, diy the reflector then add in transparent arcyllic to cover it.
broken_string
post Dec 9 2010, 10:46 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(rasinblood @ Dec 9 2010, 10:32 AM)
Unique Plant look for me.. wakakaka
wat unique plants u have ?
do u have any plants that is best grown immersed but with flowing water around its roots ?

u see my pic, any plants suitable to plant on my driftwood ?

michanz
post Dec 9 2010, 12:33 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

@chuppy my 2footer now is on 140watts heheheheheh 55+55+15+15

128 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled