Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Pos Malaysia Domestic Parcel's Tariff Increased!, No more cheap normal post... :(

Musafir_86
post Jul 13 2010, 10:32 AM, updated 16y ago

541 posts

Hello all,

-I just realized about it today & want to inform all fellow forum members here on Lowyat.net (sorry if it's already posted):

The charge/tariff for Pos Malaysia Domestic Parcel (normal post) have been increased!!!:

Detailed rate for parcel: http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?c=%2Fv1...&submit1=Submit

Announcement of the new tariff: http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?c=/v1/t...f/newtariff.htm

-Before, we could post a 5Kg parcel for just RM6.50, now for RM7.00 we could only post maximum 2Kg ones only. sad.gif
And, if before this every 1Kg increase we would be charged RM1.00 only, now it's RM1.50... cry.gif

-Furthermore, there is NO MORE time frame given for estimated delivery time (normally 3-5 days for Peninsular) : doh.gif
Before: http://web.archive.org/web/20080728063021/...aryDelivery.htm
Now: http://www.pos.com.my/v1/tariff/OrdinaryDelivery.htm

-So, if for parcel under 0.75Kg/750gm, it's better to use PosLaju as it would cost RM6-7 only. sweat.gif Any comment(s) from you guys?

ADDENDUM: It looks we could still post items "Small Packet" with tracking/tracing service for RM4 (below 1Kg) or RM5.50 (between 1Kg up until 2Kg). Please refer to their new tariff table (link as above), section "Small Packet" - ask Pos Malaysia for an accurate definition rolleyes.gif.

Regards,
-Musafir_86.

This post has been edited by Musafir_86: Sep 28 2010, 08:53 PM
sjn hassan
post Jul 13 2010, 10:40 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

it's started since 1st July

for small goods we can use the normal registered letter (forget what name but they said use the stamp one). it's still track able
Musafir_86
post Jul 13 2010, 03:34 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jul 13 2010, 10:40 AM)
it's started since 1st July

for small goods we can use the normal registered letter (forget what name but they said use the stamp one). it's still track able
-Yes, but Pos Daftar also increase too (refer to the bottom of the page). sad.gif
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 13 2010, 03:53 PM

122 posts

oh no...bad news...is the rm7 for below two kgs included for the fees?
electronicfly
post Jul 13 2010, 04:23 PM

100 posts

not only parcels. The price increase is for anything that uses stamps as well. for cheaper stuff (e.g. letters) I was told that there's practically a 100% increase.
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 13 2010, 04:30 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Jul 13 2010, 04:23 PM)
not only parcels. The price increase is for anything that uses stamps as well. for cheaper stuff (e.g. letters) I was told that there's practically a 100% increase.
hopefully poslaju won't take the same leap...if not...*sigh* more expensive to sell and buy stuff online
AskarPerang
post Jul 13 2010, 04:43 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Jul 13 2010, 04:23 PM)
Yeah, you are right. There is a double price increase in the rates. mad.gif
Now, to post out hari raya cards, you have to put 60 cents stamp instead of 30 cents stamp last time. vmad.gif

I think it's all because on their reported losses.
Nuclear_Crap
post Jul 13 2010, 05:12 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 13 2010, 04:43 PM)
Yeah, you are right. There is a double price increase in the rates.  mad.gif
Now, to post out hari raya cards, you have to put 60 cents stamp instead of 30 cents stamp last time.  vmad.gif

I think it's all because on their reported losses.
Off course thumbup.gif

camrycilver
post Jul 13 2010, 05:51 PM

'Sheet' Happens. Just Take It Easy. Relax la.. (`_´)v
1,234 posts

QUOTE(Sargeant Pepper @ Jul 13 2010, 04:30 PM)
hopefully poslaju won't take the same leap...if not...*sigh* more expensive to sell and buy stuff online
if poslaju increase price... confirm 100% no more 'free postage' deal... doh.gif
electronicfly
post Jul 13 2010, 05:54 PM

100 posts

Probably also because there are plans for Pos Malaysia to be totally privatized soon. I won't mind paying extra, but the stuff better not go missing lo. I've already had 1 parcel and 1 card from overseas go missing, and who knows how many more local mail >:(

Pos Laju costs shouldn't go up in the mean time, since they had already raised the prices fairly recently.

For now, Reg. Post not worth using d for heavy/large items, since you can pay the same price and get Pos Laju.
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 14 2010, 09:18 AM

122 posts

So how the sellers gonna cope with this? What about buyers that paid postage much earlier, but the item not posted yet...do they need to top up or what? gosh...troublesome.
electronicfly
post Jul 14 2010, 01:59 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Sargeant Pepper @ Jul 14 2010, 09:18 AM)
So how the sellers gonna cope with this? What about buyers that paid postage much earlier, but the item not posted yet...do they need to top up or what? gosh...troublesome.
I guess it would depend on the seller, but IMO the seller should pay for the additional cost themselves, or allow for a refund since the deal was made with XX for cost, not XXXX. If they want to raise the price for postage, they should do so for those new deals instead.

Anyone know the rates for normal post + registered post? Is the RM1.70 for registered post sticker/form thing still RM1.70?
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 14 2010, 02:06 PM

122 posts

My head pening already try to understand the rates...the new rates (in the table) doesn't includes fees right? the fees for e-parcel and register post how much ah?
nutzaboutnuts
post Jul 14 2010, 06:12 PM

We are paying premium price for goods and services that are of sub-standard quality often. Private and public sectors!Subsidising the rich, paying handsomely for other people's mistakes?

Talking about postal services, sometimes is not our PM that loses our stuff it could be the other country's postal too. But I do wish that insurance can be offered so it will protect all parties but maybe the risk here is high so not profit making for insurance cos.

Maybe resort back to sending aerogrammes and postcard which are the cheapest options for sending snail mail greetings? Work around the system if you cannot fight it. Maybe they'll figure out such an increase affects their biz. more? Good for environment to just do it electronically or via sms also cheaper!
Musafir_86
post Jul 14 2010, 06:38 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Jul 14 2010, 01:59 PM)
I guess it would depend on the seller, but IMO the seller should pay for the additional cost themselves, or allow for a refund since the deal was made with XX for cost, not XXXX. If they want to raise the price for postage, they should do so for those new deals instead.

Anyone know the rates for normal post + registered post? Is the RM1.70 for registered post sticker/form thing still RM1.70?
-As I said before in post #3, it also increase already - now minimum RM2.20 already (for <20gm). Please refer to the bottom of this page: http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?c=/v1/t...f/newtariff.htm.

QUOTE(Sargeant Pepper @ Jul 14 2010, 02:06 PM)
My head pening already try to understand the rates...the new rates (in the table) doesn't includes fees right? the fees for e-parcel and register post how much ah?
-The table in the first post indeed is the total fee(s) that would be charged per parcel - only if the same 'continent' (e.g. WM to WM, EM to EM; if cross the sea, need top-up RM1.50 per-Kilogram).

-BTW, the "e-Parcel" is the same as Domestic Parcel; it's just being used when tracing/tracking in Pos website. smile.gif

Regards.

This post has been edited by Musafir_86: Jul 14 2010, 06:39 PM
yeohkc
post Jul 15 2010, 03:05 PM

557 posts

anyway can i know how long does it take to send parcel from sabah to johor? thanks
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 15 2010, 05:27 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jul 14 2010, 06:38 PM)
-As I said before in post #3, it also increase already - now minimum RM2.20 already (for <20gm). Please refer to the bottom of this page: http://www.pos.com.my/V1/main2.asp?c=/v1/t...f/newtariff.htm.
-The table in the first post indeed is the total fee(s) that would be charged per parcel - only if the same 'continent' (e.g. WM to WM, EM to EM; if cross the sea, need top-up RM1.50 per-Kilogram).

-BTW, the "e-Parcel" is the same as Domestic Parcel; it's just being used when tracing/tracking in Pos website. smile.gif
Regards.
Thanks biggrin.gif good explanation thumbup.gif
Musafir_86
post Jul 15 2010, 07:20 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jul 15 2010, 03:05 PM)
anyway can i know how long does it take to send parcel from sabah to johor? thanks
-Hmm, before this it's 7 working days (refer here: http://web.archive.org/web/20080728063021/...aryDelivery.htm ), but now they're not guaranteeing any time frame anymore (refer here: http://www.pos.com.my/v1/tariff/OrdinaryDelivery.htm ). sweat.gif

-But, it should be better la as they're charging us more, isn't? rolleyes.gif

Regards.
yeohkc
post Jul 15 2010, 07:30 PM

557 posts

yea u got the point.. anyway thanks ya!
Musafir_86
post Sep 28 2010, 08:54 PM

541 posts

-Some amendment on my part: it looks we could still post items "Small Packet" with tracking/tracing service for RM4 (below 1Kg) or RM5.50 (between 1Kg up until 2Kg). Please refer to their new tariff table (link as above), section "Small Packet" - ask Pos Malaysia for an accurate definition rolleyes.gif.

-First post has been updated too. smile.gif

Regards.

0.0228sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:50 PM