Getting Back in Shape!, Supports and advice welcomed :)

TSzoraya
post Jul 11 2010, 12:26 AM, updated 14y ago

155 posts

Following Jamie Eason's Livefit programme from Bodybuilding now. www.bodybuilding.com/livefit

If you're lazy to click and read, the summary is... it's broken into three phases.

Phase 1 is muscle building without any cardio coupled with clean-eating plan;
Phase 2 introduces cardio and limits starchy carb intake to earlier of the day;
Phase 3 is HIIT and carb-cycling.

Each Phase is four weeks and in total the whole program is 12-weeks.

Gonna be cooking my own food, bringing packed meals to college, and also be doing free-weights in the gym sweat.gif Wish me luck! I'm aiming to go during non-peak hours so I won't feel shy with all the dudes in the gym.

Food: Six meals spaced every three hours.

Supplements I'll be taking: Daily multivits, EFA, BCAA pre-workout, Calcium pill post-workout, Whey Protein (if mealtime don't happen within 30 minutes post-workout)

WISH ME LUCK! And let me know if anybody else is doing this too? So we can support each other.

This post has been edited by zoraya: Sep 14 2011, 12:06 AM
TSzoraya
post Jul 11 2010, 01:45 PM

155 posts

Majinity Hey, yeah I do everything at home. My sister paid for me to join a gym for about three months earlier this year. Didn't really work! I started not exercising regularly because of the amount of time it takes for me to get there (packing stuff, finding proper gym clothes, drive) and the amount of time spent there (exercise, sauna, shower, drive back); takes about 2-3hours. NO TIME became an excuse. Exercising at home is easy, just switch my laptop on and open the video and I can exercise with whatever clothes I have on already. 45mins - 90mins.

cheezzzz Hm, how heavy is heavy? Would two big bottles of water do it? Since I'm doing all this at home. tongue.gif
Will read through the ketogenic diet later today. I think I've tried the Atkins diet before, didn't really suit me. I can cut back on carbs but I can't cut it off completely!!

Thanks for the response guys smile.gif really appreciate it!
TSzoraya
post Jul 11 2010, 07:20 PM

155 posts

Yeah, the gym is essential for weightlifting. I need to work on my triceps, flabby arms sad.gif

Regarding everyday diet, I don't really follow a specific diet as for now.

For today, I had microwaved egg and toasted bread with one plate of veges with as little mayo as possible (around 12pm. Woke up late)

Aerobics exercise.

Around 2.30 felt hungry, so munched on some boiled baby carrots and a small banana with peanut butter and half a dragonfruit.

Around 5.30, went out dinner with family. Four people shared beef ginger koay teow, grilled chicken and fried rice. I was still full from just now so I ate slowly to let other people eat more tongue.gif I think I took two spoons of rice only.

Now, 7plus, felt a bit hungry again, so finishing the other half of the dragonfruit.

Haven't read up on the keto diet yet.

This post has been edited by zoraya: Jul 11 2010, 07:27 PM
TSzoraya
post Jul 12 2010, 11:11 PM

155 posts

I've definitely been paying attention now.

Managed to resist nasi lemak and lontong temptation for breakfast, resisted ice cream for tea-time... and even when my friend ajak me to lepak around 10, I just ordered ais kosong.

No time to exercise today but went for karaoke and I danced a lot, bolehlah. HEHE.
TSzoraya
post Jul 13 2010, 01:24 PM

155 posts

Thank you very much for your input!

Will look at changing my workout schedule soon.. but as for now rasa geram la! Cause all the exercises I'm doing, there's probably about 15-20% of the portion that I can't do quite well yet. I feel like I wanna conquer them fully before moving on. Definitely adding the three days cardio as soon as I wake up though wink.gif

As for nutrition, I've been increasing my fruit and vegetable intake, but limiting carbs to only before lunch is gonna be a challenge for me. Gonna start slowly!

Oh, stepped on a scale this morning. Lost about 1kg. Not much, but I'm happy smile.gif
TSzoraya
post Jul 14 2010, 12:33 PM

155 posts

I read somewhere that we should eat every 3 hours that we are awake and the food is based on the activity that we are doing. (fitnessmalaysiablog or something)

So, so far, as soon as I wake up, I eat two gardenia wholemeal bread with sardine/egg and lots of vegetables (salad and tomatoes). 30mins after that I have my exercise for the day.

Three hours later, I snack on a fruit.

Three hours later, I have my pre-dinner. (Usually whatever my mom cooks with as much vegetables as possible)

Three hours later, an even lighter dinner with vegetables as well.

If I don't feel like having dinner, I eat another slice of wholemeal bread with something and vegetables.

And lately, I get sudden craving for something sweet, so I usually take a tsp of peanut butter (is that okay?)

Only four meals cause I keep waking up late.

And I can't eat cucumber anymore! Yesterday my mom cooked mihun goreng and since it's not very healthy I had a slice of timun with every bite of the mihun. Haven't had cucumber for awhile but force myself to eat it because I'm gonna eat mihun.

Gassy and got diarrhea.

Also, could anyone suggest a substitute to mayo? Besides olive oil.
TSzoraya
post Jul 14 2010, 01:34 PM

155 posts

Usually lepas exercise just drink lots of water je.

Today special though, I had chicken breast with boiled vegetables and one small boiled potato about 30mins after workout.

Darn, I don't think my peanut butter is without sugar.
TSzoraya
post Apr 10 2011, 12:24 PM

155 posts

I'm back! Exercising at home just wasn't working for me. I stopped posting here because er, I stopped exercising.

I bought a milkadeal voucher for one month membership at Fitness First. Been going 5 times for the past week and decided I would like to continue the membership biggrin.gif For this first month, I'm going with a friend so it's nice to have her motivating me to go to gym and us being competitive on the treadmill. But just in case she decides not to continue, hopefully this thread will keep me motivated.

So far, I've been doing minimum 20 mins on the treadmill. Gonna up that to 30 mins this week.

I've been using the gym machines inconsistently and also the group exercise classes... probably will try and follow the below schedule:

Monday - Rest
Tuesday - Easy Step and Gentle Flow class + Stomach
Wednesday - Treadmill + Bodybalance class + Arms
Thursday - Treadmill + Legs
Friday - Dynamic Flow class + Treadmill + Stomach
Saturday - Body Balance + Treadmill + Arms
Sunday - Treadmill + Legs

The stomach, arms and legs refer to using the machine at the gym.

Stomach - 5 reps of 10
Arms - 5 reps of 5 (Weight 10)
Thighs - 2 reps of 15 (Weight 25)

My starting weight was 74.7kgs and height is actually 156cm.
Lost 1 kg during the first week.

My target weight is 48 kgs and hope to reach it by November.

I'll report whether I've kept to the schedule, and also a daily food diary biggrin.gif And gonna increase difficulty/time of exercises as well. Been using the sauna for 15mins after every exercise too, does that help?
TSzoraya
post Apr 11 2011, 08:32 PM

155 posts

Breakfast - Nestle Fitnesse with Low Fat Milk
Lunch - Vegetables with two small pieces of potato (I usually eat the vege with chicken tapi dah habis)
Snack - Bread with Tuna and Capsicum
Dinner - One senduk of rice and sayur masak lemak with ulam.
Supper - Grapes and two pieces of microwaved nugget. One yummy ferrero rocher.

Ngahahaha. Had to eat choco, tgh pms. Hopefully feel better after exercise tomorrow. I noticed that I feel less sore the next day if I end the workout with a sauna session.

I'm not the type who can keep to a food schedule lah. I'd feel depressed and end up eating more... so I'm trying to incorporate more vegetables and eating more times but smaller portions.

Added on April 12, 2011, 8:41 pmWhich scale is more reliable?

The digital one I have at home purchased from a store, or the black scale at the gym where you have to move the thingee until it's balanced?

Cause I tried both and they're off by 2 kgs. INI PENTING! I need to know whether I should feel happy or not. hahaha.

This post has been edited by zoraya: Apr 12 2011, 08:41 PM
TSzoraya
post Apr 22 2011, 02:15 PM

155 posts

Checked and the scale is not so reliable. Went on the scale at the gym that calculates your body fat.. and I lost about 0.6 kgs only... but the good news is I lost 5% body fat!! in 20 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

happy! biggrin.gif
TSzoraya
post Apr 29 2011, 03:20 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(na21m @ Apr 27 2011, 01:19 PM)
you might wanna try pilates, check out my thread.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry41890768

Thanks. There's a pilates class in my gym though. Will try that class one day biggrin.gif

Added on May 2, 2011, 10:07 pmHaven't posted cause I've been busy with exams and after that going out with friends. Been hitting the gym consistently (bawak notes and study while doing cardio - semangat!!) flex.gif I swear I'm addicted to going to gym (or the endorphins from the exercise?) cause I feel sad if I don't go one day, even if it's the rest day.

I'm gonna be writing a lot.. cause I feel kinda nice writing here even if no one reads also takpe kot. But if you do read, support and advices are welcomed thumbup.gif

Goal

Cardio

Strength

Flexibility

Gonna go to at least two flexibility class a week. Body Balance and Gentle Flow.

Food

Been eating more vegetables, raw or steamed. Wanna learn to cook more healthy food this holiday.. tapi haven't started yet.

I'm eating pre and post-workout meals. After gym sure hungry gilaaaaaaaaaaaaa, usually I eat one WM bread with some protein and lots and lots of veges.

Lifestyle

Gonna sleep before 12 and wake up 6.45 everyday.

Wish me luck. Hopefully this time next year I've reached my goal biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zoraya: May 2 2011, 10:07 PM
TSzoraya
post Jun 1 2011, 09:47 PM

155 posts

That's nice to hear smile.gif I find it quite relaxing also lah.. some quiet time doing absolutely nothing.

Added on June 5, 2011, 12:50 amLost about 5kgs so far and everyone's been noticing and saying that I look slimmer.

Last month, I managed 3.7km in 10 mins with exercise bike. This month it has increased to 4.2km in 10 minutes. smile.gif

This post has been edited by zoraya: Jun 5 2011, 12:50 AM
TSzoraya
post Jul 15 2011, 03:04 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jun 19 2011, 07:47 PM)
congrate.... very determination.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the advice. smile.gif will definitely read more about what food to eat and to avoid during this study break period. I can't garden... it's all concrete within my house compound (my mom cannot tahan neighbour's cat keep pooping). but lucky for me i'm loving exercises.

DATO CHIKA - Wow. You must be an awesome human being living an awesome and fulfilling life that you don't have to anonymously put down people on the internet. whistling.gif
TSzoraya
post Jul 15 2011, 06:42 PM

155 posts

Thanks bata! I used to be scared of doing weights (typical girl thinking I would bulk up like those bodybuilders lol)

I'm doing weight training three times a week at the gym. I was 52kgs at my lightest.. now I'm at 72kgs.. but I think I look better and more toned than when I was lighter. Less flabby.

TSzoraya
post Jul 24 2011, 05:18 PM

155 posts

My BMI has decreased a bit so I'm in the overweight category (but really at the borderline laa.. i think I'm at 29 and obese is 30 and above). Aiming to reach normal bmi by the end of this year smile.gif another 10kgs to go.

I think I'm hourglass-shaped.. but I have super flabby arms sad.gif

Thanks for the exercise link! Do you have a thread of your own? We should keep checking up on each other for motivation and support.

What are you doing in terms of nutrition? I think I'm gonna start counting calories and cooking my own meal soon.

Added on July 24, 2011, 5:22 pmOooh I just saw ur attachment. Got bench press! I feel intimidated to go to the free weights area at the gym.

This post has been edited by zoraya: Jul 24 2011, 05:22 PM
TSzoraya
post Jul 26 2011, 11:58 PM

155 posts

Yay you're doing awesome!! Oh btw, I think I read somewhere that it' not good to exercise for too long (one hour should be enough) and you don't have rest day! Gotta have at least once a week so your body can recover. Just sharing what I know. I think I'm reading about weight loss tips everyday cause I'm on study leave right now.

I just started reading bodybuilding.com recently. I think I'm gonna follow this plan: http://www.bodybuilding.com/guides/female-...-fat-loss/intro

Check it out.

I think I'm gonna order whey protein as well. Before this always thought it was for bodybuilders only tongue.gif

For bulan puasa, I'm gonna follow this meal plan (from old threads): http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...180&hl=ramadhan

I plan to be 69kgs or below by Raya!
TSzoraya
post Aug 4 2011, 04:20 PM

155 posts

Nice! I'm 70.2 today. Think I can def reach and surpass my goal of being 69 by Raya. smile.gif

I haven't started fasting yet.. and protein powder just arrived. flex.gif Let's do this amor!

Added on August 4, 2011, 5:58 pmbtw do you take pictures of yourself? I took one a couple of months ago.. and I compare with now.. can see the difference!! Puas hati. hoho. Maybe when I rajin, I'll upload it here.

This post has been edited by zoraya: Aug 4 2011, 05:58 PM
TSzoraya
post Aug 16 2011, 12:21 AM

155 posts

Thanks for the input drfaizal smile.gif

Hmm, actually I haven't been exercising straight for a year. When I started this thread I was exercising at home for a month or so then I stopped. Only about three months ago I joined a gym and started exercising 5-6 times a week.

Found an old journal so I compared measurements. Lost two inches only from my waistline, but my problem area is thighs and arm. Lost 5 inches from each thigh and two inches from each arm. flex.gif

I know I shouldn't but I check my weight almost daily cause there's an electronic scale at home.. but if there's weight gain I just avoid deep fried food and less rice.

and statikinetic, I can't believe I forgot to thank you for the compliment. Really made my day! Tried stupid ways of loosing weight before (eating once a day only etc).. think it's time I do it right.
TSzoraya
post Aug 16 2011, 01:45 PM

155 posts

That website is awesome (and free)! Gonna start using it after bulan puasa. thumbup.gif

I've read in a motivation section for weight loss is that "you're a role model to people around you". I've managed to get one of my sisters to join gym, and a few friends started exercising regularly as well.
TSzoraya
post Aug 21 2011, 08:35 PM

155 posts

Hmm.. maybe a little less numbers and information. Keep things simple.

I'm assuming your audience are people who generally don't exercise or lead a healthy lifestyle.. so all these fact and figures may be a bit intimidating. I know when I first started I was a bit overwhelmed with calorie counting, pre & post workout nutrition, types of exercises, different routines, etc. When I first started I used to turn off my laptop in frustration and think I'm gonna be fat foreeevvaar. You should include in your presentation that they don't have to change in one day but should take baby steps.

Oh and include before and after pics.. I find those very motivational (if they can do it, why can't i?)

Oh and I'm gonna be doing Jamie Eason's LiveFit training programme starting on second week of September. http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/jamie-easo...it-trainer.html - those who have looked at it and wanna comment or give some input, please do. smile.gif

She's so hot. roar.

0.0253sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:27 PM