[WTA] What can I get from OC'ing my pc?

TSCrimson_SoulZ
post Jul 10 2010, 05:58 PM, updated 16y ago

332 posts

I've seen people overclocking their computers to the limits. I am wondering why?. is there any sort of improvement when a person overclocks his pc? I want to know what is the advantage of overclocking and the disadvantage/warnings I can get if I overclock my pc.

here is my specs. is it possible to overclock it? and I am not wasting additional money to get extra cooling though..

Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Hard Drive: 499 GB Total
Video Card: ASUS EAH5670 Series
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster B2030
Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Speakers/Headphones: Logitech R-20
Keyboard: Cheap Logitech keyboard
Mouse: Razer Salmosa
Mouse Surface: Razer Goliathus
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Motherboard: ASUS P5P43TD PRO
azilazwa
post Jul 10 2010, 06:05 PM

838 posts

some people OC just for fun. they want to test their skills, setup, luck & etc. some people OC to get the maximum performance of their PC. laugh.gif
ReaperOfSoul
post Jul 10 2010, 06:12 PM

648 posts

1) Satisfaction when you see what your processors can achieve
2) Beating the performance of processors that are more expensive
3) Experience
4) To squeeze out every single drop of juice from your processor
5) Boasting rights laugh.gif
Terence573
post Jul 10 2010, 06:14 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

u can overclock but you may reach the limit of the hardware when it comes to heat due to not so good cooling(stock cooling).
monsh
post Jul 10 2010, 06:45 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

like ReaperOfSoul said .

well for some of us, we just wanna test how far is the capability of the system .
TSCrimson_SoulZ
post Jul 10 2010, 07:15 PM

332 posts

well is it safe to overclock without using any extra fans? (stock cooling only)
azilazwa
post Jul 10 2010, 07:23 PM

838 posts

it is safe as long as u didnt increase vcore too much. too much vcore will cause more heat on the proc. correct me if i'm wrong, i'm also newbie in OC.
monsh
post Jul 10 2010, 07:46 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

basically its like that .
stock cooling is not recommended to be used for OCing .
get the CM Hyper 212+ for only RM90 at some seller here and it worth the try .
and its good for OCing as well ^^,

best bang for bucks after market cooler
saturn85
post Jul 10 2010, 08:32 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(Crimson_SoulZ @ Jul 10 2010, 05:58 PM)
I've seen people overclocking their computers to the limits. I am wondering why?. is there any sort of improvement when a person overclocks his pc? I want to know what is the advantage of overclocking and the disadvantage/warnings I can get if I overclock my pc.

here is my specs. is it possible to overclock it? and I am not wasting additional money to get extra cooling though..
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Hard Drive: 499 GB Total
Video Card: ASUS EAH5670 Series
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster B2030
Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Speakers/Headphones: Logitech R-20
Keyboard: Cheap Logitech keyboard
Mouse: Razer Salmosa
Mouse Surface: Razer Goliathus
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Motherboard: ASUS P5P43TD PRO
some people overclock his pc just because of want to see a higher 3dmark score or other benchmark score, syok sendiri. biggrin.gif
monsh
post Jul 10 2010, 08:38 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

yeap for the sake of numbers ^^,
mochachoke
post Jul 11 2010, 02:17 AM

PGB GPS
766 posts

Im Overclock my PC for high performance..... From 3.1Ghz to 7.1Ghz but need serious cooling stock.... but my netbook i downclock from 1.66Ghz to 1 Ghz for battery and cooling purpose... tongue.gif
nooboy
post Jul 11 2010, 02:26 AM

499 posts

7.1ghz ?? wow...
saturn85
post Jul 11 2010, 03:04 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Jul 11 2010, 02:17 AM)
Im Overclock my PC for high performance..... From 3.1Ghz to 7.1Ghz but need serious cooling stock.... but my netbook i downclock from 1.66Ghz to 1 Ghz for battery and cooling purpose... tongue.gif
you are a professional overclocker? shocking.gif
TSCrimson_SoulZ
post Jul 11 2010, 06:23 AM

332 posts

hmm. if I am going to get additional cooling stock, should I buy it when pc fair is here? and how much an extra cooling will cost from pc fair?
Cruxs
post Jul 11 2010, 06:25 AM

826 posts

Get more heat...
sup3rfly
post Jul 11 2010, 08:57 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jul 10 2010, 08:32 PM)
some people overclock his pc just because of want to see a higher 3dmark score or other benchmark score, syok sendiri.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(monsh @ Jul 10 2010, 08:38 PM)
yeap for the sake of numbers ^^,
well its called pushing the limit... not just the scores, this is malaysian mindset hence its so hard to make the community grow, u see indonesia... there is competition each and every weekend...

seriously i dont like to run stability test for long hrs, its also another syok sendiri after you found your rig passed 24 hrs of stability test @ certain clock speed should i say? lol
nooboy
post Jul 11 2010, 08:57 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(Crimson_SoulZ @ Jul 11 2010, 06:23 AM)
hmm. if I am going to get additional cooling stock, should I buy it when pc fair is here? and how much an extra cooling will cost from pc fair?
after market cooling in pc fair? dont think so they do promo for this item lor
mochachoke
post Jul 11 2010, 11:34 AM

PGB GPS
766 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jul 11 2010, 03:04 AM)
you are a professional overclocker?  shocking.gif
not really.... study and knowing it limits will do.... biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post Jul 11 2010, 11:46 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 11 2010, 08:57 AM)
well its called pushing the limit... not just the scores, this is malaysian mindset hence its so hard to make the community grow, u see indonesia... there is competition each and every weekend...

seriously i dont like to run stability test for long hrs, its also another syok sendiri after you found your rig passed 24 hrs of stability test @ certain clock speed should i say? lol
Agree on this laugh.gif
OC is fun and give extra performance,to those who is wonder why to oc,just go and try and you will know why tongue.gif
saturn85
post Jul 11 2010, 11:49 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Jul 11 2010, 11:34 AM)
not really.... study and knowing it limits will do.... biggrin.gif
7.1ghz, sure is using liquid nitrogen to do it, but in malaysia, didn't see any place can get this type of setup and tools. hmm.gif

0.0237sec    1.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:26 PM