Humanities The Hierachy of Race?, No racism intended.

hazairi
post Aug 17 2010, 05:28 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Aug 16 2010, 08:46 PM)
This I agree.

However:
How about:

C) We are so inferior therefore we should work hard to improve ourselves.

Wouldn't that thinking be better? Imagine if a person, say a typical, uneducated Mat Rempit finally decided to be humble and start learning from educated people. If he keeps thinking that he is never inferior in intelligence, how can he ever hope to improve himself?

Same thing goes for an ENTIRE RACE.
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 16 2010, 09:49 PM)
Deadlocks,

The QUESTION here is do the person BELIEVES that their inferiority is

A) Cultural

Aka, something that they can learn and overcome.

B) Genetic

Aka, they are borned with this and they could NEVER COMPETE successfully with people with SUPERIOR GENE.

Now, there are people DO NOT BELIEVE in meritocracy to begin with.  You are either born into RULING ELITE or MARRIED into RULING ELITE family or you are DOOM for life.

Dreamer
Here's an example of 'might be genetic factor':

The FIFA world cup. No matter how hard and advance the technology from Asia, no Asian teams can win the cup so far.
Genetic is really one of the big factor. It's not that they can't win it. It's just that they have to work harder than the whites.

Another example; why do most fast sprinters are blacks? wink.gif
hazairi
post Aug 17 2010, 06:13 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 17 2010, 06:08 PM)
Its the same factor, size and endurance, some of them dominated certain sports events but not Asian. In Heidi Earth quake, many of them can survive even more than week.
Exactly. Like what i was trying to say, apart from cultural influence, genes are also a big factor for a superiority of the species..
hazairi
post Aug 18 2010, 08:59 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 17 2010, 07:36 PM)
hazairi,

The QUESTION is

Is the MIND more important or the BODY??

Culture DRIVE the MOTIVATION aka the MIND.

Gene is ONLY the body.

If a person is NOT MOTIVATED to improve and utilizes their TALENT, superior body does not help.

On the other hand, even a person with INFERIOR BODY can improve and become something with MOTIVATION.

MIND over MATTER.

Dreamer
Can't deny that the mind is more important. But 'the body' also played a big roll.

Whites can become good sprinters than blacks BUT they have to work super-hard for that compared to the naturally muscled bodied of the blacks.

A mind of a miracle can produce wonders, but in terms of probability, how many miracles can the under-dogs achieve? smile.gif
hazairi
post Aug 19 2010, 04:45 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 17 2010, 06:13 PM)
Exactly. Like what i was trying to say, apart from cultural influence, genes are also a big factor for a superiority of the species..
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2010, 06:59 PM)
hazairi,

Looking at Chinese in Malaysia, how many miracles have you find??  Plenty...

No, it has nothing to do with gene.

Dreamer
Like i said before, gene is one of the factor.. Others would be the culture and etc..

About the Chinese, IMO, they have been successful since long time ago.
The cultural influence have made them very hardworking. It's not a suprise to see them successful in many other countries.

0.0184sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:55 AM