Renovations Lighting, You Light Up My Life

vetkin_gray
post Feb 2 2012, 06:16 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(Kingkong1ea @ Feb 2 2012, 04:41 PM)
You must have bought the Chinese brand la.... I bought the Chinese brand and it burnt like in one month.... summore I have high ceiling, damn ma fan have to change all the time...

Finally decided to pay a little more and bought better ones from this site...

http://vertsolcon.com/

Been a year.... so far so good.....
How much you guys buy the led light? Im gonna buy some for my living room oso. 6 pieces, rm20 per piece for 3W. I asked and salesgirl said its chinese brand oso with 6 months warranty.. i'm afraid its the same thing leh.
vetkin_gray
post Feb 17 2012, 08:55 AM

766 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Feb 17 2012, 08:47 AM)
whoa u guys willing to spend triple than average bulb for led. your electricity bills come down a lot? just want to clarify this.
In long term, yes. Its not just the electricity cost. Led generate very little heat and are not glaring to the eyes.
vetkin_gray
post Feb 17 2012, 10:55 AM

766 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 17 2012, 09:52 AM)
Lifespan on LED specification is on LAB and test environment. In real life is much shorter.

Added on February 17, 2012, 9:53 am

LED generate very little heat, but is just on the source. Need to consider the Driver, try touch the driver and feel the heat. 

LED can blind you, is more glaring than CFL.

Added on February 17, 2012, 9:56 am

I will use LED for specific application, but not going to replace entire house lighting. It still won't replace all the CFL application. Downlight LED still long way to go, and the brightness produce are not matchable to CFL. If we compare same brightness of LED and CFL, we have to pay a lot more.
Thanks for correcting. But still feel that led not that eye straining compared to the regular 4/6" downlight. This probably because of lower watt than CFL so less bright.

This post has been edited by vetkin_gray: Feb 17 2012, 11:14 AM
vetkin_gray
post Feb 17 2012, 10:51 PM

766 posts

Downlights are just too common nowadays. I think they're gonna be out of fashion soon due to overuse. sad.gif
vetkin_gray
post Feb 19 2012, 04:09 PM

766 posts

Am using china led 3w. 8 pieces to be exact. Just installed. I will give my feedback after using them a while.
vetkin_gray
post Feb 25 2012, 12:26 AM

766 posts

Definitely go green. Think energy saving, no fancy chandeliers that uses cfl. Downlights and ambient lighting are quite expensive since u need to put a lot plus plaster ceiling cost but they look really nice and zero maintenance. Dont put downlights everywhere, mix and match with other types.

Living room can either put energy savings chandelier, downlight or even track lighting. Dining room put pendant lighting but if ceiling low use ceiling mounted lights instead. Kitchen more suitable use downlights. Toilet use wall mounted lights at both sides of a mirror.

This post has been edited by vetkin_gray: Feb 25 2012, 12:34 AM
vetkin_gray
post Mar 19 2012, 10:41 PM

766 posts

where to buy this kind of arc floor lamp? found only one at ikea but not very nice.

vetkin_gray
post Mar 19 2012, 10:58 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(Kingsman @ Mar 19 2012, 10:49 PM)
2 switches for 16 downlights, 1 for even 1 for odd number. I was advised to install 16, distance between downlights is around 4-5 feet..Maybe the wiring man want to earn my money..sigh, I should have done research before the wiring..now If I insists to install just 8, then 1 switch will turn on all 8 downlights.
16 downlights are overkill.

One light point is about rm50. You just spent about rm 750 on light points alone. I shouldn't say too much since my living room alone 15*15 has 10 points. sweat.gif But am using LED 3W. Normal downlights are really bright though so you shouldnt installed so many.

You try asking if 4 light points can share one current, sort of like an extension.. maybe will be cheaper.

For 16 downlights, I suggest you get 8 switches.. 1 switch for 2 downlights. Save your electricity bill. Sometimes you don't want too bright also. That's me la.

This post has been edited by vetkin_gray: Mar 19 2012, 11:03 PM
vetkin_gray
post Mar 19 2012, 11:28 PM

766 posts

If still possible to change, get T5 ambient lighting. They're much better in terms of cost saving and light distribution. Only requires one or two light point to brighten the whole room. (think 2 light point versus 16 light points $$$$)
vetkin_gray
post Mar 20 2012, 10:30 AM

766 posts

I think its relevant to point out that one light point is usually around rm50-55
vetkin_gray
post Mar 26 2012, 12:07 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 26 2012, 11:58 AM)
guys, which florescent tube (which T) to use for those plaster ceiling L boxes? T8 is the most common but will it be too bright?
T5
vetkin_gray
post Mar 26 2012, 12:13 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 26 2012, 12:09 PM)
Thanks for your answer. What lengths do they come in?
I guess T5 much more convenient ho cause no need for ballast and can daisy chain together?
Yes, male to female connection. They come in 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 feet

This post has been edited by vetkin_gray: Mar 26 2012, 12:14 PM
vetkin_gray
post Nov 5 2013, 12:59 PM

766 posts

do you know where i can buy lava lamp?

0.0229sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:24 AM