Renovations Lighting, You Light Up My Life

alesi616
post Dec 6 2010, 05:03 PM

810 posts

hi sifu-sifus,

would like to seek oppinion from u guys, currently i am headache on my living room/dining room light, i dont plan to put flat plaster ceiling as budget constraint, also not planning to put the L-box to hide the T5 light due to budget (although it looks awesome!).

So what kind of choices I have now? Is it only those normal wall-light or ceiling light? I am thinking of using all energy saving bulb for my house, but i wondering how many (let's say example 18W per bulb) to put in order to give sufficient light.

What is the affordable way to put lighting to my living/dining room and at the same time still giving some modern feel?

thanks first :-)
alesi616
post Dec 6 2010, 09:57 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Dec 6 2010, 05:16 PM)
put LED light? what u all think?  brows.gif
budget bro, put LED light definately will burst my wallet...haha >_<

Added on December 6, 2010, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 6 2010, 06:25 PM)
milo tin downlight?
errm.....milo time downlight looks a bit weird to me.....so dint consider that...

Added on December 6, 2010, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(nick210214 @ Dec 6 2010, 06:07 PM)
There are heaps of nice ceiling mounted-type of lighting nowadays. Just a matter of searching.

Puchong, Sunway Damansara, SS2, Sungei Besi. start your search there.
any of the sifus from Penang? I lived in PG and KL/selangor area are way too far for me >_<"

This post has been edited by alesi616: Dec 6 2010, 09:59 PM
alesi616
post Dec 7 2010, 11:16 AM

810 posts

Thanks SnoWFish, harrychoo & dopp!

Ya I went to Metrolux sometime ago, the salesman there quite ok, KA lighting is it same company with Metrolux? Saw in HomeDEC they are together.... that time I not sure how is their pricing because they are the first shop i survey for lights.

Will take time to check out Inap and Light Studio, probably not going to Puchong coz it way too far >_<
alesi616
post Dec 13 2010, 10:13 AM

810 posts

anyone of you using WiseLite bulb? are they malaysian company? how is the energu saving bulb quality? in fact they are giving only 3 mths warranty compare to GE's 1 year.....
alesi616
post Dec 17 2010, 03:45 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Dec 17 2010, 11:30 AM)
like this i guess......
They call that 'milo-tin' downlights??
alesi616
post Mar 23 2011, 10:49 PM

810 posts

is it Chuan Seng? same row with Light Studio. 1 shoplot
alesi616
post Apr 25 2011, 01:12 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Apr 24 2011, 11:09 PM)
Has anyone managed to find Cool White CFLs of the "screw-in type"? More specifically, E27 840. Colour temperature is at 4000K, in between Warm White (2700K/827) and Cool Daylight (6500K/865). So far, only managed to find 840 in the form of PL-C bulbs.

Feedback appreciated smile.gif
any difference between cool white and cool daylight? normally what are used in the house? (assuming one don't like the yellowish warm white...)
alesi616
post May 1 2011, 09:24 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(vyzc @ Apr 25 2011, 11:59 PM)
Yup there is a difference. Simply put, Cool Daylight is "white with a very slight tinge of blue", like what you see from typical fluorescent tube lamps.

Cool White is "white with a very slight tinge of yellow". Like the lamps installed in IKEA and its parking lot. Gives you a cozy feeling, pleasant to your eyes and is suitable for reading. Hence, it is my preference.
i see, so is there any cool-white for T5/T8 tubes?

my living room are with downlights and light-cove, normally ppl will put cool-daylight for downlight, and warm-white for T5/T8 tubes (in the light cove). I wonder is any ppl put cool-white in the light cove (if there is cool white T5 tubes) ?
alesi616
post Jul 30 2011, 11:58 PM

810 posts

any sifus here using a China brand energy saving bulb named 亚明 (YaMing)?? They are the first company in China produce bulb in 1923.

The shop ppl keep on hard-sell this brand for the downlight. They did mention Osram recently have quality issue on the energy saving bulb.

For all my downlights, I am still thinking using PLC-E (screw type bulb with build-in electronic ballast) or PLC (pin type with external ballast). How is the electric consumption, and reliability??

0.0420sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:26 AM