Renovations Lighting, You Light Up My Life

Jase
post Jun 5 2017, 10:27 PM

100 posts

Are wide angled GU10 LED bulbs available locally? I am planning track lights for living /dining rooms. Have just started searching online but can't seem to find any. Need 60 degree or above.
Jase
post Feb 26 2018, 10:39 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 25 2018, 09:10 AM)
For me even 36° is too wide. Prefer narrower beam for more shadowy effect. The wider the beam, the more even the lighting. Pools of light is much more pleasant

Anyway I found 180° - https://www.lazada.com.my/550lm-6w-85-265v-...0180225012716:s
I managed to get 60° phillips masterLED dimmable from UK.
Jase
post Jul 27 2018, 01:32 PM

100 posts

I want install timer for my car porch lights. Was told by electrician can't do as the light switch has no neutral wire so can't use the usual Hager 711 timers. He suggest to use sensor instead....once it gets dark lights on. I prefer timer instead or sensor.

What other choices do I have for such situation?
Jase
post Aug 24 2018, 03:33 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 24 2018, 12:08 AM)
im in the same situation also,
saw some sifu here mention about the sonoff wireless switch and im curently studying how to use it
this wireless switch has timer also and can control on off using app.
sonoff wireless switch

Sifu, want to ask the correct way to install this switch, the switch should be installed between the wall switch and the lights i assume?
so where is the ideal place to install the Sonoff switch? inside plaster ceiling? or beside DB box ?
I actually went the sonoff route....bought one locally (slightly expensive than ordering from China but I wanted it fast). Luckily my car porch lights' housing has enough space to contain the sonoff basic. Working fine now. Fairly easy to install and the app is easy enough to use. At least for me.
Jase
post Aug 25 2018, 04:16 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 24 2018, 11:19 PM)
nice.. glad that it worked.
means by using Sonoff, you can actually turn on the car porch lights before you reach home ?
and the correct way is to contain the sonoff switch close to the lights?
Yes, I setup a schedule for on/off or I can manually toggle even before reaching home. Where you install it depends....it needs Neutral wire. it is just the size of an LED driver and so happens my lights has space to contain it.

0.0410sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:45 AM