AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V23, It has come!Bulldozer heat is around us.

cstkl1
post Sep 23 2010, 11:06 AM

6,799 posts

curious.

amd looks interesting atm.
hmm which mobo has the most dram options.
and skew options for cpu,ioh and dram if possible.
and good voltage regulators

thinking of building one.

Added on September 23, 2010, 11:07 ambtw for u guys who dont know chipsets

that 6-9- etc or or 7-9-7 etc are all PSC's

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 23 2010, 11:07 AM
cstkl1
post Sep 23 2010, 12:54 PM

6,799 posts

psc's now rocks

it sacrifices a bit of latency due to higher tRCD's
but higher bandwidth. it also doesnt suffer the latency to ioh restriction that the hypers do.

also for budget users
the dom gt's 2k C8 sticks the CMT psc rev 7.1A are same as the gskill pi 7-9-7-24's
and this should be the same as flare.

the only diff with the flare and the pi 7-9-7-24 is pi has the intel xmp and flare has that amd black thingy.

so far the 6-9-6 2k sticks works only with 980x and i5s dueto the issue with tRL and tWL of the lower uncore.
meaning less strain on the IMC dude to the 1.5x uncore. but this is counterproductive as its no gain.

on the evey classy hmm the CL6's are a issue as the default tRL and tCL is suppose to be 5 and 6 but the mobo presets
is at 6,7... so a adjustment is needed. this where the asus is at 7,8.

with ure AMD u will face the same issue's as 920's etc as ure nb speed goes up..
also PSC until now i havent seen one die even on xtreme ln2.

hmm asus always likes to put rubbish bios options that has no benefit. the only board i ever thought was great by them seriously
was the rampage extreme. One thing i do like about them and lately gaygay on bios they included all the dqvref etc setting for each dimm/rank/channel which u need to adjust for high ram speed Full dimm populated.. meaning 12gb on x58 and 8gb for amd/i5.

and no i dont really have time to like sit around and overclock publicly lol as i normally spend a lot of time checking
cpu,mobo and dram characteristics before i clock. bantai aint me.

so some of u should get the gskill Pi 2k CL7's

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 23 2010, 01:03 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 23 2010, 01:26 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 23 2010, 01:09 PM)
all d read/write thingy too deep for me, will only understand if i do benchies like u guys...  rclxub.gif
can u conclude whether d ram is runnin on psc with these setting sir?

1. 1333 @ 6-6-6 w/ 1.42v
2. 1600 @ 6-8-6 w/ 1.515v
3. 196x @ 7-9-7 w/ ~1.65v

my fren has a pair of gskill eco 1333, but i'm not so sure whether it's psc or bbse. my bet is on d former but d bigger brother (eco 1600) are runnin on bbse chips i reckon. pls enlighten me if u dun mind.  notworthy.gif
eco afaik are elpida bbse's

the pi's are all high bin psc's...

this is the norm for psc's

ure
1600 6-8-6-20 , 1866 7-9-7-24 and 2000 8-9-8-24 will be the same vdimm
the 2000 7-9-7-24 is around 0.08v -0.01v difference to the 2000 8-9-8-24's

PSC's cannot do tRCD =CL. ...
hmm the bbse's tRCD's are about the same as PSC's but higher vdimm

ures seriously look like a bbse o me.

Added on September 23, 2010, 1:34 pmbtw i forgot theres one more stick u guys should definatley try
and its really not expensive

Mach Extreme 2300 8-11-8-28's..

this should be some awesome PSC sticks here. and should be either the same as the 2k 7-9-7-24's or a inbetween the 2k 6-9-6-24's or maybe even the same as the 2k CL6 sticks.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 23 2010, 01:34 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 23 2010, 09:04 PM

6,799 posts

ok for p55 rated rams

say if its a 2133 CL9... it will be equal to a 2000 CL9 on x58

i havent clocked amd yet but is intel p55 rated rams = same voltage on AMD??

cstkl1
post Sep 24 2010, 11:26 AM

6,799 posts

no that doesnt make sense on the ram voltage rating u mentioned amd vs p55

do u know how they test ram stick voltage

it aint on a mobo. its on a ram tester card.
cstkl1
post Sep 24 2010, 11:59 AM

6,799 posts

binning is just to classify prodcut range

thats all.

imc etc doesnt play as a factor

but again i have no experience on amd for a very long time.

just shopping around now for one rig.
planning to get a 1095+Crosshair extreme
rams i have plenty

and need a mobo block and cpu block.
mobo block to make sure flux on ioh/ich etc and regulators on it doesnt impede any ram clocking..

cstkl1
post Sep 24 2010, 12:24 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Sep 24 2010, 12:09 PM)
Third that!!  thumbup.gif
hmm before i press report
ure sig is one line above 15. tongue.gif

reading the manual on crosshair extreme..
from the bios pic .. its a digital pwm like rampage iii extreme and has extreme ov option so u can change the pwm speeds and disable any ocp's on dram etc.

again. hope to get this up and running after seeing a few ppl doing 2100-2200 already on this board.

Added on September 24, 2010, 12:27 pmppl if ure serious about getting good bin PSC's at cheapo price

Mach Extreme lol 2300 CL8-11-8-28.. its around rm 6xx.. or gskill Pi's area also a safe bet but problem is

PSC range on gskill is kindda big
with 1600- to 2000's and then with flare

so when they do binning they will do a lot of selection binning etc. so tough luck to be lucky.

thats why the dom gt 2k c8 CMT rev 7.1A sticks some get lucky.. but then again for the price u pay..eh is it really luck

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 24 2010, 12:28 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 24 2010, 01:06 PM

6,799 posts

formula is analogue. anytime u see u can change pwm speed etc means digital.

geil evo.. distro is in singapore and is priced ridiculously
i had a geil stick ddr2 last time that was rated at 1250 CL4 lol..
price paid was rm2100..worked only for 2 weeks before i did C/N instead of rma.

again psc 2k CL6.. dont be so consumed by it so much.
its the same as gskill pi 2k C6

if u really serious about top line c6
get the triple kit c6 that was made for x58

i am ordering some pi now on waiting for the 2k c6 triple kit from gskill direct
so if u guys want i can ask the pricing
shipping from taiwan aint that expensive.

let me give u some experience on dram rating

2200 C8 elpida hyper dual kit same vdimm as the 2000 8-8-8-24 triple kits
2250 C8 elpida hypers dual kit aka GTX2 is about the same as the 2000 7-7-7-20 triple kits

so that 2k C6 PSC for triple kit .. is the best bin kit and should be same as the 2533 CL9 GTX4
while the 2k C7 PSC triple kit should be just the same as the 2400 C9 kit
so ddr3 dual 2k C6 kit looking at the availabilty and how easy to get them since i have been waiting for the triple kit for already 3 weeks from gskill
should be same as the 2k C7 triple kit
so far on binning difference has always been for ddr3 is the tRAS.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 24 2010, 01:13 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 24 2010, 01:18 PM

6,799 posts

eh u guys seriously think i buy from distro??

eh u can buy direct from manufactorer.

singapore is only cheap for two things
PSU and casing

0.0440sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:45 PM