15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V23, It has come!Bulldozer heat is around us.

cloudwan
post Sep 30 2010, 04:21 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Sep 30 2010, 03:48 PM)
yup. i dun use GC, use onboard graphic~ sweat.gif

nvm la, oredi buy what. biggrin.gif  goldfries oso use jetway brand what~ tongue.gif
Why u buy ur auntie a 955BE also i don't understand, better buy her a Athlon II X4 635 + Hyper TX3 like that lor doh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Sep 30 2010, 11:07 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 30 2010, 10:27 PM)
i was amazed when i tried this... nowhere near 1hour stable yet, will try my best to make it atleast 1hour stable...  nod.gif

[attachmentid=1809618]
Oooo nice clock there bro, i'll cross my fingers for ur 1hour prime95 stability test smile.gif
Those Gskill ECO are really naise drool.gif drool.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 1 2010, 02:26 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Oct 1 2010, 02:07 AM)
Tweak hard dude as u have a good nice setup...smile.gif

You can get tons of tweak from unker and kunta... smile.gif

Btw what ram u using now?
He's using trident as in his rig hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 4 2010, 11:50 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 4 2010, 10:36 AM)
u wanna see d ram catches fire ah sir?  sweat.gif  laugh.gif

mite try that as well so that they can turn itto a pair of flare...  icon_idea.gif
meh, trcd @ 10 is lame... but even i put 2.0v wont help @ 2.1k, so it's pointless askin for impossible thing bein possible...  tongue.gif

flare, ahsos & deneb/1090t on d way bro?  drool.gif  brows.gif
Bro u retired tapi still so rajin meh sweat.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 5 2010, 10:38 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 5 2010, 08:07 AM)
ermm... 890gxe is a matx board, i'm pretty sure it packs a punch in oc just like others, but usin matx board as main rig is abit... ermm... i dunno how to explain...  tongue.gif
Hahahaha imagine using m-atx mobo in big badass case like HAF-X laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 5 2010, 07:49 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(suhuann @ Oct 5 2010, 02:48 PM)
Hi friends,

Want some advise on overclocking my AMD processor.

I am having some fun on my AMD sempron 140 unlock to 2 cores.

My specs :-
MSI 785GTM-E45
AMD Sempron 140 (Unlock to AMD Athlon II X2 4400e @ 1.380 vcore stock)
Corsair Dominator 2x1GB 1066MHz

My problem : Can't get past 4GHz to boot into Windows XP.

What I did so far :-
1.) Test my processor's maximum CPU FSB frequency. Found out 412 is the limit.

2.) Tried overclocking with highest multiplier 13.5 @ FSB 297 ~4GHz. Can POST successfully but do not want to boot into Windows. Anything lower than 4GHz can go into Windows. After that tried upping vcore step by step (almost reach 1.5), still do not boot into Windows XP. CPU-NB and HTT at the same frequency not more than 1800.

3) Lower the multiplier, increase the FSB. Once it hits 4GHz, can POST successfully but cannot boot into Windows XP. CPU-NB and HTT at the same frequency not more than 1800.

4.) Tried going over 4GHz (like ~4.1GHz, ~4.2GHz), can POST successfully but stubborn do not want to boot in Windows XP.

5.) Tried adjusting RAM timings, CPU-NB, HTT and voltages, still cannot boot into windows XP..

Additional information, Prime95 stable :-
1.) 14 hours FSB@296x13.5, Default vcore after unlocking: 1.380
2.) 12 hours FSB@319x12.5, Default vcore after unlocking: 1.380

Now I am stuck, want some advice where to tweak somemore to cross the 4GHz mark.

Any sifus out there, can advise? or did I reach the limit of this CPU?
This maybe sounds weird to u but did u tried upping ur ram volt a bit? maybe up to 1.6v ker hmm.gif
I donno why but i find that in oc'ing AthlonII & PhenomII sometimes u need to up the ram volt a lil bit even tho ur not oc'ing the ram itself, its kinda like the ram is straving for volt hmm.gif
Try to use a mix of upping cpu volt & cpu-nb volt also, i also find u can shave a bit more volt from the cpu volt using it hmm.gif

BTW what's ur max oc on the chip so far? Bro kuntawakaw is using the same cpu as u maybe he can shed a light on ur predicament smile.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Oct 5 2010, 07:51 PM
cloudwan
post Oct 6 2010, 10:22 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 6 2010, 09:49 AM)
wah u guys so advance.. i don't have a chance to play around..
still using evo ar ah_khoo..
Be grateful of what u have bro, who knows later on u will be the 1st bulldozer user here whistling.gif whistling.gif laugh.gif smile.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 6 2010, 10:47 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(suhuann @ Oct 6 2010, 10:33 AM)
Thanks for replying bro.

Am using DDR2 1066MHz RAM, i have set it to 2.2V already.. not going to go any higher lol as the specs is 2.1V originally.. Am overclocking on an AM2+ motherboard..

highest OC is 3996MHz@1.380v that can load into Windows..
Higher than that cannot boot into windows but can POST normally/successfully. Heck I can even get to ~4.4GHz yesterday from BIOS but cannot boot into Windows XP. Feel like bashing the Windows already..

I tried upping the cpu volt & cpu-nb volts too.. it just stubborn don't want to boot into windows xp.. gah..

The main problem is cannot boot into Windows XP if my clockspeed is more than 4GHz.. I hope this is not one of the Windows XP limitation..  doh.gif

Any sifus, please advice  icon_question.gif
Oooooh didn't notice ur using AM2+ mobo doh.gif Please list out ur rig spec also ah smile.gif
What's ur ram multiplier? Have u tried using smaller ram dividers to ensure that ur rams not the culprit in holding back ur oc? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Oct 6 2010, 10:48 AM
cloudwan
post Oct 6 2010, 11:26 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(suhuann @ Oct 6 2010, 11:00 AM)
Specs for my secondary rig :-
1.) MSI 785GTM-E45
2.) AMD Sempron 140 (Unlock to AMD Athlon II X2 4400e), cooled by Cocage MST-140 (Max temp during Prime95 is 45C, Idle 29C)
3.) Corsair Dominator 2x1GB 1066MHz DDR2

Anything else need to know?

My current RAM multiplier 1:1.66 sometimes 1:1.33, I try to keep my RAM MHz close to the specs. HTT and CPU-NB multiplier at x6, sometimes x5 if I go higher clockspeed.

I tried tighter RAM timings, cannot also. Tried looser RAM timings, cannot also.

My current max OC that CAN boot into Windows XP and do Prime 95 is as below :-
1.) 14 hours FSB@296x13.5, Default vcore after unlocking: 1.380
2.) 12 hours FSB@319x12.5, Default vcore after unlocking: 1.380

Thank you so much..
Have tried running cpu-nb@IMC higher than 2000mhz? Maybe around 2.4ghz? Give ur vcore around 1.45v & cpu-nb core around 1.25v hmm.gif
If it still cannot then maybe its ur unlock core the culprit, it just cannot run that high, i face the same prob when i was using an unlocked 720BE hmm.gif

QUOTE(verdict @ Oct 6 2010, 11:00 AM)
Bang oltromen...feel free to update the result into databse ya...many thanks mate... wub.gif
Huhuhuhu, nothing to update yet bro, since raya been on O/C mode off.. cry.gif sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 6 2010, 04:49 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 6 2010, 01:02 PM)
nie yg x patut, bli chiv + x6 but runnin @ stock... kasi goreng itu hardware ma...  icon_idea.gif
Erkkkkk, hahahahaha noted laugh.gif , sorry bro these few weeks just really not in the mood to do some oc'ing.. notworthy.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 7 2010, 11:59 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 7 2010, 09:37 AM)
arghhh.... okie, looks like d eco is destined to die on me... i'll try my bestest then...  laugh.gif

sms'ed u ledi regardin d hypers...  icon_idea.gif
Erkkkk ni sapa yg retired nih... sweat.gif laugh.gif
Good luck bro.. thumbup.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 7 2010, 03:05 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ Oct 7 2010, 02:16 PM)
any one knoe why my friend pc hang after unlocking 2 cores hmm.gif
BTW
he use PII X2 555BE
Maybe the unlocked cores are unstable? Have u tried with different ECC values?
cloudwan
post Oct 13 2010, 01:04 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Oct 13 2010, 12:50 PM)
senior, i followed some of your settings, and bsoded.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

so this is my current settings, please advise me ya!
ram voltage 1.65v
other settings should be auto
That's a bit too high vcore for just a 3.4ghz oc.. hmm.gif
Ur mobo is the Pro version or the normal version eh?
Try lowering the vcore a bit and pump up a bit the cpu-nb volt like bro louislkw mentioned.. hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 13 2010, 03:10 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Oct 13 2010, 01:07 PM)
CPU NB voltage is VDDNB?
Set to 1.175v ok?

Added on October 13, 2010, 1:07 pm

Normal version. Lowering by 2 steps?
How about setting ur vcore at 1.37~1.38v & cpu-nb volt to 1.2v hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 13 2010, 05:07 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 13 2010, 03:58 PM)
cpu & cpu-nb llc are enabled or disabled?  hmm.gif

@ bro cloudwan:

where have u been lately bro? miss all ya spam ledi...  wub.gif
Huhuhu, been here and there, extremely bz nowadays beside that feeling paiseh ah looking at all of u guys SS when i don't have anything to show sweat.gif sad.gif
So i just keep quiet in d background while popping here and there lah..

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Oct 13 2010, 04:16 PM)
cpu llc very good id say.. compared to other mobo that dont have it

but for cpu-nb..abit tricky.. it can be better or worse.. kekeke

i wonder why alot of ppl using this mobo eh? m4a77td? is this because of the HW Q&A crap recommendation?
Bro, don't say like that, sometime i recommend that mobo also in HW Q&A, tho not for mainly oc use lah sweat.gif sweat.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Oct 13 2010, 05:07 PM
cloudwan
post Oct 13 2010, 09:27 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Oct 13 2010, 09:02 PM)
if u buy 1090t, u must pair it with a great mobo..so id say not worth it if u seek for performance..
if u seek for fun, and ure an AMD fanboy, it worth it.. great IMC clock it can do  wub.gif  wub.gif
kkekeke.. no offense bro..
that mobo ok actually for normal use..
i think very few of them actually using the HW they recommending.. sometimes wrong fact also.. that is why i called crap..kekeke
not all..but few..  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Huhuhu, very terasa i thought u were saying my recommendations crap's laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 14 2010, 11:55 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 14 2010, 10:45 AM)
it depends on ya ram freq, for me, i'd go for max my ram can go w/ comfortable volt. then from there u can roughly know what htt to run for ya 24/7 setup. u got a be chip there, so there's no problem at all runnin high clock + high imc + ram freq...  thumbup.gif
yeah, msi have limited choices on 8xx series especially on mid~highend part. but d 870a fusion power looks pretty yummy thou... 8+2 pwm + high quality mosfets...  drool.gif  but 4 pins +12v eps is...  doh.gif

yup, those who can afford premium boards should have no problem buyin a 1090 (& vice versa)  nod.gif

i want biostar too but d layout is a turn off for my x-fire + pcie sound card setup...  sad.gif
u need an infra red thermal gun...  smile.gif
MSI 870A Fusion does look yummy drool.gif but i heard the price is not that yummy tho sweat.gif
Have u seen any in SG bro? hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 15 2010, 04:16 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Oct 15 2010, 04:07 PM)
cant understand fully.. u want to change ur thuban to bulldozer eh?kekek
if want quick solution..just get a 1090t tho..
He must meant a thuban 1055T to a BE 1090T laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 15 2010, 04:42 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 15 2010, 04:29 PM)
ermmm... no bulldozer for me, leo platform would be my last amd platform. after this, it's time to save up for more important things like... erm... saving?  tongue.gif 
ur like a cacing in my stomach bro...  laugh.gif
Hahahaha me cacing kerawit & u cacing pita?? Huahuahua..
After this bro, we go play2 with Llano only bro, no money for bulldozer.. laugh.gif

cloudwan
post Oct 15 2010, 04:55 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 15 2010, 04:44 PM)
ok, here is my thought. although i'm relatively new in AMD. for MSI boards i tested so far for AMD, i'm not really happy with the memory clocking ability. perhaps the 800 series is not as good as MSI 790FX and i believe we (MSI Malaysia and me) all do agree with that. so far i haven't tested and ASUS/Gigabyte AMD mobos, too bad... no time. But for a side note, after testing loads of i5 based boards, Gigabyte H55M-USB3 stands out among all. hehe...

Master Khoo: if only you are here in Malaysia, i'll personally send the 1090T and MSI 870A Fuzion Power to your doorstep for testing!!
Sanko, no need for that, u can send it to me, then i send to him.. but then again donna lah if the mobo mysteriously changed to an rusty old MSI AM2 mobo when it reach to him whistling.gif whistling.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0603sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:48 AM