Motorola MILESTONE XT720, A Milestone XT,Android 2.1

chezzzuk
post Aug 25 2010, 05:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 25 2010, 06:25 AM)
ISO set to 200 on the day use capture... the quality of picture is more better than auto ISO.. just to share....

Added on August 25, 2010, 2:29 pm
u should apply app2SD method on ur xt. tongue.gif

Added on August 25, 2010, 2:41 pmFor the last whole week I test everything on my xt...I'm not worry anymore... all stok and odex file I'll deleted...  change boot MOTO ( http://droidboots.com/downloads/boot-animations/ )...change keyboard stok to htc ( http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/index.php ) but sadly xt still don't have Rom 2 flash.. Motoroi xt 701open recovery cannot suite with this xt...

Added on August 25, 2010, 2:50 pmLast nite i play Asphalt on my hd lcd tv thru hdmi.. no lag but cannot support full screen.. full screen only for playback movie and photo.. huhu
Playing a game through HDMI on a big TV is fantastic!

How do you get this to work? Is there a hack for this. On my setup I can only see videos and picture by explicit setting it to HDMI. Unfortunately this option is not available in any other application except video player.
chezzzuk
post Aug 26 2010, 06:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Aug 25 2010, 09:41 AM)
wanted to ask the same question.. just bought a new TV recently, wanna try out the HDMI output.. biggrin.gif
Hey, khalpowers

Can you tell us how you managed to play games on the XT720 through HDMI to an TV?

That would be great

chezzzuk
chezzzuk
post Aug 26 2010, 07:25 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 26 2010, 10:38 AM)
Dude... its a bug maa... now u can.. now u don't...  hmm.gif
U can try also play2 with home button when u play movie on the screen.. if u lucky u the home screen can see on ur lcd.. then u control from ur phone in invisible... u need to familiar with ur button app... that's all...
Thanks for this. I did managed to get the phone to do that once by fluke and the phone screen stayed on the video controls but the HDMI was output to the phone screen. Since then I did not managed to get it do that again. I will play with the buttons until I find a combination that reproduces this "feature". I also remember playing a movie and trying to exit when that happened. I did manage to play youtube videos web-browse etc but the orientation was stuck in portrait so was a bit awkward.

This post has been edited by chezzzuk: Aug 26 2010, 07:26 PM
chezzzuk
post Aug 27 2010, 12:59 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 26 2010, 11:49 AM)
U try do some rotation with ur phone.... see ur pro launcher auto rotation setting.. my default pro launcher setting is portrait but on the phone set auto... then I can browse interneton landscape mode..
Thanks for the tip.

I am looking for a multimedia docking station for the XT720. They don't seem to be selling it in the UK.
Does anybody where I could purchase this online? Anyone has one for sale?
chezzzuk
post Aug 31 2010, 06:38 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Aug 31 2010, 10:21 AM)
http://www.intomobile.com/2010/08/30/droid...y-of-real-hdmi/
Wonder if it will ever support XT720...
HDMI on big screen, i want...
It looks like the Motoroi (seen some youtube videos showing this functionality) can be connected to the TV via the 3.5mm jack and you can display everything (replica of the LCD screen) not just video and pictures.

Has anyone tried this composite cable ? Does it work with the Xt720? If so, do you know what is the type of cable that is required.

This post has been edited by chezzzuk: Aug 31 2010, 06:38 PM
chezzzuk
post Sep 6 2010, 02:04 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Sep 4 2010, 09:05 AM)
Can this phone record in lower reso. i.e: VGA & QVGA? hows the recording quality for those?
this is not about maximum satisfaction bro.. its about the capability of a multi-function device to give a minimum required performance.

xt does not need to have a good hd recording just like an hd camcoder for us to be satisfied.. a performance on par with other hp is more than enough.. which this fella is not capable of at the moment..

i gotta say i agreed with sanosizo.. whats with those "720" boasts if the quality of that particular feature is pathetic.. just my 2 cents..  wink.gif

Added on September 4, 2010, 5:06 pm

they should rename our device to xt550 (downclocked).. lol  tongue.gif
Just came across this at GSMARENA.COM

"here is link:
http://rsddownload.motorola.com/download/S...HWp3_1FF.sbf.gz

this is official flash
in this version of software, cpu is @ 720MHz
and everything is much smoother than before...even HD video is greatly improved"

It seems that this is the official software update to get your XT720 to 720MHz with improvement to the HD video too!

Has anyone try this new software?
Also how do you work out if this is compatible with your phone i.e. Korean, Asian or UK version?
How do you install this?
chezzzuk
post Sep 6 2010, 04:20 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 5 2010, 08:02 PM)
yup yup.. also done reflash my phone to Europe version..
it default processor is 720Mhz.. just check it using setcpu..
not like Starhub version, it default is 550Mhz using setcpu..
not yet overclock happy.gif

mean, its for real the processor is 720Mhz, but in Asia, they downclock it biggrin.gif

+plus..
it has some extra default applications.. Navigation apps & Media Share apps.. wow happy.gif
UK version is also downclock to 550mhz. Only new software seem to unlock it.
Can you let me know if you can still use universalandroot and overclock after upgrade? ?
Also what is the quadrant score after software upgrade.

Does it has the new jit compiler?

chezzzuk
post Sep 6 2010, 05:36 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 5 2010, 08:38 PM)
I download it from android developer site, not from the link u give..
http://and-developers.com/sbf:xt720

so mean.. UK version is with originally with 720mhz..
MilestoneOverclock142, UniversalAndroot & SetCPU work fine with this..

just test the phone use setcpu - not overclock - original speed 720mhz
short bench = 340ms - 390ms
long bench = 1069ms - 1094ms

for sure this one more fast la.. better than starhub version biggrin.gif
My UK xt720 has currently software version STR_U2_01.18.3 that is still clocked at 550 MHz. This new software is STR_U2_01.1E.0. Seem to have been released today!!!

Anyway is the 720p video recording better?
Also does the camera still takes blurry pictures? Have they fixed the focusing?
chezzzuk
post Sep 6 2010, 05:57 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Sep 6 2010, 09:22 AM)
then probably have to wait till the official froyo before we know if there's really a 256mb sitting there doing nothing..
heard it's fixed in kernel 2.6.32
I doubt there is 512mb as Motorola would have specified it in the specs even if it unused! Why wouldn't they? The would would be selling more xt720 if this was the case.
Also all the applications never reported more than 256mb - even on the X10 you can see that there is more than 256mb using the Quadrant benchmark.
chezzzuk
post Sep 7 2010, 05:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 5 2010, 10:42 PM)
oh really? sorry la don't knw about it..
u should tell us that ur is UK version one maa...

just try the camera & video.. for me.. ok la.. same as before (starhub version)..
I have asked Motorola Support if that software was for my UK handset and they say it is NOT designed for the UK (guess it is for Central Europe only!) and to NOT install it on my phone. So I expect another version of software being released for Western Europe in the near future. I will have wait till then to update my phone. grr....

This post has been edited by chezzzuk: Sep 7 2010, 05:22 PM
chezzzuk
post Sep 8 2010, 11:13 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(progenx @ Sep 8 2010, 02:25 PM)
no no i got the whole thing except the docking. i bought total 180sgd for myself. now i'm finding where to get the docking. seems not selling in store yet.
You can use any stand with a fridge magnet to get the docking software to detect a dock without having a dock!

Or just use the following applications:

Dock Service (this allow to set it to simulate docking when you plug in the usb cable)
Dock Simulator (switch to car or dock)

from the Android Market.

Cheers
chezzzuk
post Sep 10 2010, 10:21 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(steventsc @ Sep 10 2010, 02:06 PM)
I think no one knows for certain tts y nobody ans u. smile.gif I think most users would like to know this too!!!
You can use "SD Card Speed Test" application on your phone to figure out the current speed of your card.
I only got a "Class 4" card and it can write up to 6MB/s which a "Class 6".

Maybe if someone has a "class 6 card" we can find out how much faster the XT720 can really write to the card.
chezzzuk
post Sep 13 2010, 07:47 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 26 2010, 10:38 AM)
Dude... its a bug maa... now u can.. now u don't...  hmm.gif
U can try also play2 with home button when u play movie on the screen.. if u lucky u the home screen can see on ur lcd.. then u control from ur phone in invisible... u need to familiar with ur button app... that's all...
I still cannot reproduce this "bug" for full HDMI . I tried to get a 3.5mm cable to RCA composite video but this did not work. It does work on the Korean Mororoi as the software support it.

I noticed that the Korean version have"TV-Out" option on the Android "Settings" menu above the "HDMI" option that lets you select NTSC or PAL.

Has anyone seen this "TV-Out" option on their phone?

This post has been edited by chezzzuk: Sep 13 2010, 07:56 PM
chezzzuk
post Sep 13 2010, 10:48 PM

22 posts

[quote=khalpowers,Sep 13 2010, 02:38 PM]
Dude..try this ,watching movie 1st thru hdmi then after finish make a call to ur phone..from that u can see the homescreen display on ur tv... tongue.gif

Thanks for the tip. Do I need to make the call while the the movie is still playing?

Also does this "feature" still work in the latest European software?
chezzzuk
post Sep 14 2010, 05:50 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(progenx @ Sep 13 2010, 09:04 PM)
I tried the tv output bug but still cannot. It throws my screen back to my hp after i call. Bro, is it i have to play the whole length of any video? Bro khalpowers, i really wanna view ur guide somewhere or maybe a video showing us on how you really do it. You will definitely get the biggest credits ever if this is made possible. My thanks to you.

Okay for the above person, did you adjust the overclocking before this problem occured? Seems like it..
Try this yesterday but did not work.

The steps were

1. Play video
2. Display on TV
3. Allow incoming calls checked
4. Make a incoming call to XT720
5. Phone rings
6. lock screen appear on XT720 screen and no signal on TV
7. Stop incoming call
8. Video now plays on the XT720 rather than TV

BTW my XT720 usually has lots of problem connecting to my Samsung LCd TV i.e.a lots of times it fails and the plays on my XT720 rather than the TV and I need to try again!

chezzzuk
post Sep 16 2010, 05:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 16 2010, 04:58 AM)
want to ask u...how to open the lens cover?
mine is closed....but sometime it opens as well...but dn't know what did i do to make it open
here's the pics...kinda blur...can't really capture it properly...dn;t know why

any sifu here pls help
Mine is always open but I found a way to close/open it by sticking a magnet close to the lens.
It seems that this is operated by an internal electric magnet.

chezzzuk
post Sep 16 2010, 06:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Sep 16 2010, 09:30 AM)
So the North is to close and South is to open?
Something like that - I don't dare play with this too much just in case my shutter get the "stuck" syndrome!
chezzzuk
post Sep 16 2010, 07:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 16 2010, 10:27 AM)
how to do that?...just stick a magnet near it only?
Yes, but do NOT use a strong magnet just in case it magnetise the shutter permanently!

This post has been edited by chezzzuk: Sep 16 2010, 11:21 PM
chezzzuk
post Sep 16 2010, 11:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(rhythmjhan @ Sep 16 2010, 11:20 AM)
hmm... mine never closes..and never opens...
May be you should a strong magnet in your case and unblock the shutter!
chezzzuk
post Sep 17 2010, 12:23 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(rhythmjhan @ Sep 16 2010, 03:29 PM)
what i meant was..my camera is working perfectly...its just that i don see it closing
The shutter does not seem to be activated all the time. Try to take a photo in a different condition i.e. bright sunlight or indoors, self portrait etc and you might see it closing/opening in some occasion.

0.0486sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:36 PM