4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Motorola MILESTONE XT720, A Milestone XT,Android 2.1

kevin613
post Jul 30 2010, 09:24 AM

2,236 posts

feeling itchy... but wanna wait till there is a safe method to unroot it first... i dont wanna lose the warranty tongue.gif

also hope someone would come up with an app that would throttle the clock when needed..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Jul 30 2010, 09:33 AM
kevin613
post Jul 30 2010, 02:50 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 30 2010, 02:45 PM)
look like US version is the ONE......512Ram wub.gif
if it ever comes out, which i doubt so.. LOL.. i still think there is only 1 version..
kevin613
post Jul 30 2010, 03:19 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 30 2010, 03:10 PM)
u mean motorola lock the ram to 256mb outside USA? hmm.gif
no.. i meant there might just not be an XT720 with 512mb ram.. no one confirmed it's existance to date..
they would be stupid to lock it down to 256mb if it really had 512mb, and they would be stupid to introduce different ram size in different continent, and use the same model name..

kevin613
post Jul 30 2010, 06:23 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 30 2010, 05:44 PM)
forgot to add that the milestone overclock app has a custom speed and voltage settings.

so now im running the phone at 720mhz with 56v, seems stable so far.
I'm soooooooo tempted to root...... tongue.gif
kevin613
post Jul 31 2010, 10:00 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 31 2010, 03:24 PM)
Why even bother buying here with the high prices? Go to Singapore, its only SG570 with Free Docking station & Leather case.
And they confirm CPU speed is 720MHz

http://www.whymobile.com/productinfo.php?id=MOT-MSXT720

So SG570 is (570 x 2.3) = RM1311

Somemore original set. Any problems, Motorola Singapore take care of it, giving you original parts.
I'm really interested to see a screenshot from their set showing 720mhz and 512mb ram.. anyone wanna volunteer to buy from them? Haha..
kevin613
post Aug 2 2010, 02:21 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Aug 2 2010, 11:00 AM)
k850 oso pawn desire  laugh.gif but! can it pawn X10 tho?  brows.gif
no idea about the camera, but i hate the buttons on X10 and the build quaility feels plasticky...
touch button FTW..
kevin613
post Aug 3 2010, 05:15 PM

2,236 posts

anyone knows any steps to unroot for sure?
the FOTA update wont work on rooted phones rite? i'm still thinking whether to root or wait for froyo, then only root..
kevin613
post Aug 3 2010, 06:16 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 3 2010, 05:26 PM)
i root because i want the phone to run at its original intended speed, which is 800MHz smile.gif

just ordered a class 6 card. after this will test whether can get smooth hd recording or not.
thats what i intended to do too... not that it's slow @ 550mhz, but i just wanted more speed...
i have a class 6 microsd from my old tytn2, will try the hd recording to see if it works better..
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 08:08 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(simon8855 @ Aug 4 2010, 07:23 AM)
Hi there,

just wondering how many MB is a photo with 8 mega pixel taken by X720? One of my friend said is less than 2MB but from my experience by using SE W995 with 8MP, the photo is more than 3MB at least...
With the default camera app, i think it is indeed smaller than 2mb, if u use 3rd party app to control the jpg compression, then it will swell to 4~5mb per photo..
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 09:23 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 4 2010, 09:05 AM)
wooo.... that take alots of memory space using 3rd praty apps  shocking.gif
less jpeg compression = better quality lah...
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 10:25 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 4 2010, 10:09 AM)
default camera app set the image quality to normal thats why we get smaller image size. if i use 3rd party app and bump all the resolution & image quality to max, i will get 4mb file size.

there is this touch to focus feature in default camera app. do you guys manage to get this to work? i mean if we have 3 objects and we want to focus on the left most object, will the other 2 be a bit blurry?
not necessarily blur.. it depends on how far apart the 3 objects are from your lens.. if they are all on the same distance from lens, chances are all 3 will be the same whether they are clear or blur.. if lets say u have 3 objects with varying distance from your lens, and u focus 1 of them, then yes, the other 2 might be blur..
notice that i use the word might.. cause there are more factors that could affect the depth of field too, but i think lets not get too technical in android forums.. haha..
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 01:33 PM

2,236 posts

any feedback on battery life after overclocked?
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 01:50 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 4 2010, 01:36 PM)
Btw xt720 is superb gadget....no doubt. ..hehe

Added on August 4, 2010, 1:48 pmBattery life like b4. ...the best thing u can set how many time u want...anyway xt720 is boot locked ...so no need to flash the rom if want to unroot back...strhub rom still inside....but quite frust when see people flash to froyo 2.2....hehehe
guess i'll wait for the official froyo before trying to root again...
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 02:20 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 4 2010, 01:52 PM)
u can wait, but for how long? even milestone did not receive froyo yet, let alone the xt.
a month or 2 is still fine i guess... hopefully.. haha..
news says sometime in september for milestone, hopefully XT is not too far apart..
wonder when will they do a global launch for XT720? still couldnt find XT720 in US site, and when i click on User support for XT720 in moto SG site, it links to US server and says page not found...
kevin613
post Aug 4 2010, 06:52 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(simon8855 @ Aug 4 2010, 06:33 PM)
So do you mean by using 3rd party app, we will get a better quality of photo?

I am a newbie to andriod, just wondering for all andriod app, do we need to pay or is free? any website for andriod app?

Thanks...
yes.. and android market is there to serve you, for free...
kevin613
post Aug 5 2010, 09:15 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Aug 5 2010, 12:26 AM)
guys, yesterday night i charge my to full charge, plug out at 4am, then went to sleep, shockingly at about 8.30am, the phone was making noise of battery low.....i was like shock....then i notice the only setting different from normal is i nv off the data( normally i will off the data when not using it).....is data(HSDPA) really consumes battery that fast? 4.5hrs??anyone experiance it?
normally i can get at least 30~40hrs without Data on(HSDPA).

this weekend i will try ths again....to see whether really is the data eating u all my batt......
do you have anything that requires constant data connection running in the background?
large amount of data like downloading will kill the batt, and u will feel heat at the back of the phone.
wifi will kill the batt slower, and less heat... so use wifi whenever available biggrin.gif
my phone is connected to HSDPA 24/7 and it usually last me from 7am - 8pm before i need to charge it..
i would say usage is quite heavy (but not as heavy as downloading files) as i sync it to my office mail and my hotmail, and i do surf when i travel in train..
kevin613
post Aug 5 2010, 10:14 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 5 2010, 10:06 AM)
hey guys...

my xt720 now can mute the shutter sound on camera n video ....yehaaa rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
but u need to be a superuser...hehe
just want to share ...

go to adb shell...
su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
mv /system/media/audio/ui/camera_click.ogg /system/media/audio/ui/camera_click.ogg.old
mv /system/media/audio/ui/VideoRecord.ogg /system/media/audio/ui/VideoRecord.ogg.old
exit

done...so eazy ...huh!

ps no need the the rubbish app...xt720 cannot be mute by app or silent button.. brows.gif

haha... so you renamed the file to .old....
kevin613
post Aug 6 2010, 05:39 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Aug 6 2010, 03:41 PM)
At the moment xt still waiting for 2.2....
So better root ur xt.. hehe...
no rooting for me, unless moto confirm they wont release froyo for XT, or there's confirm way to unroot without reflashing the rom..
kevin613
post Aug 10 2010, 09:24 AM

2,236 posts

rooted, and running milestone overclock 1.2, setcpu and juice defender..
scale on demand between 250mhz ~ 1Ghz.. monitoring the battery usage now..
kevin613
post Aug 13 2010, 10:42 AM

2,236 posts

i've been running @ 1Ghz @ 69Vsel for the past week, no reboot or instability so far.. will be trying lower vsel slowly..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0593sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:00 PM