I think Yakuza 0 is the best paced game of the entire Yakuza series. It's not too long, but it's certainly far from short either. There's still a shit ton to do in the game and thankfully, many of the subquests are actually presented with some quality. There's a lot less pointless subquests like in Yakuza 5.
There's almost no reason not to play this game now if you own a PS4. Seriously, it is very, very good.
Now... on to waste my life away at the mini-games without even starting the main quest lmao.
btw, I heard some people say Yakuza 0 is running on a higher resolution on the pro. I wonder if that's true?
Untrue.
I'm playing on the PS4 Pro, it's exactly identical to the OG PS4. There's no PS4 Pro patch to download either. The only difference here is that Yakuza 0 does load a smidgen faster on the PS4 Pro however.
QUOTE(deathninjax @ Jan 23 2017, 01:57 PM)
there's no more or less screen tearing when panning the camera. resolution wise I think its a bit sharper but it already looks good on the normal ps4.
No, don't bs please. There's zero difference in resolution, textures, shader quality, shadow maps, AF or AA between the Pro and OG PS4. They're the exact same game.
The final output resolution is different IF and ONLY IF the PS4 Pro is set to output to 4k to a 4k TV. Then the game is upscaled from 1080p to 4k, that's all. The game's internal resolution is still 1080p at 60fps.
This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 23 2017, 03:13 PM
Can't get enough of fighting in Y0. Just mixing up styles is sooooo good! Man and the heat actions lol, effin brutal stuff! Even more brutal than Y3 and Y4 IMO.
Eternally grateful that we have a chance to play the younger Majima, such a huge contrast from the Majima we've always encountered. Just finished Chapter 4 and I'm really hoping that finishing this game shed light on how Majima turned into the psycho (loveable one) that he is today. His fight moves are most definitely more fun than Kiryu's at this point in time. With that said I find both characters very enjoyable. The level of humor really surpasses the preceding installments!
Try being tortured in a hellhole for a year. That'd turn anyone's psyche haywire.
This was mildly explained near the end of chapter 3, or at least implied. It's also been profiled several times in Yakuza 2 and 3.
I understand that but the hellhole torture occurred before Yakuza 0. He's still fine as of now (I'm only at chapter 5 so please keep the spoilers to a minimal level). This doesn't explain how he's psycho while still capable of expressing empathy for other characters around him (as surmised based on incidents in Yakuza 4, or was it 5, I can't remember so well).
Err... yeah, you're at chapter 5 so, a little difficult to explain to you without spoilers (however minor it is). We'll talk about this again when you're around chapter 12 or so.
Out of nowhere, new and sealed copies of the 1st 4 Yakuza's came out. Well, mainly thanks to a retailer in Canada getting limited reprints of the game.
Now I'm just waiting for my Yakuza 2 to come to me.
Are you bringing in any?
I hope Sega announces Kiwami 2 this year though. Y2 deserves a remake for sure.
On a different note; Kiryu's face when he couldn't ride Luka from the Sega arcade center.
Don't be so happy first. Remake 2 with a good amount of budget, then we can talk about 3-5. Kiwami 1 was good, but not the best remake - understandable as the small team was split into 2 and the vast majority of the budget went into developing Y6's dragon engine.
Honestly, I don't think they should remake 4 and 5 though. 3 is still okay as the plot still has some links to the overall plot from Y1 and Y2. But 4 and 5? That was just tacked on. Akiyama and Saejima aside, everyone else was kind of bullshit written in, yes even Kiryu himself.
HOLY HELL. The price is too damn good to even be logical. I guess they really want to push sales for Yakuza on the western side.
And... if the ringgit isn't so shit, we'd be looking at a RM50 game lol.
QUOTE(wkn @ Aug 28 2017, 04:51 PM)
This is a reasonable price for a remaster of an old game unlike those other remasters like Kingdom Hearts with ridiculous high price.
We are also getting it cheaper compared to other regions like the US where the game costs 30 USD.
btw, Sega is running a survey asking users in western territories their interest level in the recently announced projects from Yakuza Studio. You can find the survey here: http://yakuza.sega.com/RGGStudioAnnouncementSurvey/
Let them know you want those games to be localized in English.
Played through the demo... Let's just say, I'm a little underwhelmed.
They short cut a lot of stuff in this game. Yes they only had a year to develop this (even less actually) so there's bound to be some things that are rushed.
Like Kiwami 1, a lot of things are just ported over from Y6 in K2. A good handful of the OST from Y6 are reused here which.. Well I don't think it's bad thing but it goes to show how time strapped the team are. It also means that a lot of the dialogue in this game (both main and side quest content) are left untouched, meaning they are not voiced as is text only. If my memory serves me right, there's a shit ton of Y2 stuff that was not voiced back on the PS2.
Then there's the cutscenes. Just like in YK1, the composition for most of the scenes are left untouched. Other than the major scenes, most other scenes also look dated. Poor lip sync, awkward animations, jarring character models. It's also apparent that not everything has been remade, there are still plenty of low res textures around.
Still though, the improvements over Y6 in the technical side is apparent. On the PS4 pro at least, gone are the nasty frame drops, they are kept to a minimum now. Screen tearing has also been significantly reduced. Load times are better too. The gameplay side, combat is finally interesting/fun again rather than the watered down bullshit in Y6. They reused plenty of heat actions from previous games, but honestly I don't care because Y6 had barely any of them. I'm glad to say YK2 brought a lot of them back, so here's hoping there are more to be discovered in the full game.
I'm sure I'll be disappointed to an extent but at the same time for the final release, but I'm a sucker for Yakuza games so I'm going to give it a blind eye regardless.
Some of you might have gotten lucky and downloaded the demo from US PSN, high chances are you got the full game instead of a demo. Demo from US PSN has now been taken down.