Using linux and programming tools, Can I be a good programmer with linux?

TSsunsuron
post Apr 17 2005, 12:31 AM, updated 21y ago

1,334 posts

Hello linux gurus & everyone. I am interested in linux but I have trouble migrating because it's been very long I have been using windows. I was told by one of my IT senior student claimed that I can be a good programmer if I am working in linux enviroment. How far this claimed true in real life?

One more question, why I should migrate using linux instead of remain using windows?

jlchannel
post Apr 17 2005, 12:42 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(sunsuron @ Apr 17 2005, 12:31 AM)
Hello linux gurus & everyone. I am interested in linux but I have trouble migrating because it's been very long I have been using windows. I was told by one of my IT senior student claimed that I can be a good programmer if I am working in linux enviroment. How far this claimed true in real life?

One more question, why I should migrate using linux instead of remain using windows?

I dun like programming but I like Free/Open Source.

It'a allow me free download source and compile.
It's fun to solve to compilation & installation problem.

APIITian
post Apr 17 2005, 11:31 AM

1,316 posts

There are plenty of development tools on Linux. Namely, gcc, gtk+, Mono, php, python, MySQL, and stuff. Don't rush while migrating from Win to Linux. Make a dual boot system on your hard drive. Once youget used to it, you can delete Windows on you rhard drive.

About being a good programmer, it has nothing to do with Linux. It's about how enthusiastic you are. Just constantly practicing it, preferably at college's syndicate room, library or lab.
debiankl
post Apr 17 2005, 01:47 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(sunsuron @ Apr 17 2005, 12:31 AM)

If you decided be a one of OSS software contributor/maintainer or developer of a OSS package. In a way, it does help to improve your programming skills. Of course practice make perfect and experience too.. so join or assist in any OSS software development or mainteance that need your programming skill.

Alternatively you could purchase this good book that give programmer undstanding of maching language and highlevel language by Randall Hyde series.

Write Great Code

It would be wise to know another OS platform like Linux without leaving Windows. There are many way to have a system in dual platform such such as dual boot, UserMode Linux, QEMU, Cywin, and VMware (commercial version) plus econmical.

This post has been edited by debiankl: Apr 18 2005, 09:12 AM
kons
post Apr 18 2005, 07:38 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

Instead of dual boot, I would suggest that having two different machines so that learning to develop on another platform won't affect the main development cycle on the main platform.

There are certain syntax that are supported in Windows but not in Linux.
Something that can be compiled in vc++ in windows, might not be able to be compiled in gcc.
Heck, even those can be compiled with javac, cannot be compiled with gcj.

Sigh. Or maybe I'm just dumb. biggrin.gif

Cheers!
hydrowire
post May 12 2005, 06:44 PM

53 posts

i think his IT senior student means that if he uses linux, he will be typing more instead of clicking to navigate around and to solve problem. This will some how indirectly give him the feel of programming, atleast abit.
tytons
post May 13 2005, 01:55 AM

2,823 posts

dun see how can linux make u a better programmer....if u practise alot n read alot i believe u can be a good programmer neglecting the OS ur on...

mind telling wat was the reason linux could help u be a better programmer?im kinda intrested to know as well

0.0157sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:43 PM