RTS Starcraft 2 v4.0, Warning: Starcraft 2 release detected!!

Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 02:59 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(SyokVPN @ Jul 7 2010, 12:35 PM)
that means... nothing prevent them from using a fake name as well.
then it is a pointless changes.
Except that if it's like Wow, if you ever need to restore your account that got hacked.... good luck if you provided fake name/address/details....

They usually ask for proof of ownership and co before restoring

This will be how they will make people put their real info.

I am not really fond of the overall move really, it's an attack on privacy on Internet.

Raise issues with kids having their parents pay for their accounts too, you put which name in the profile?
Parents? They might not want their name to be linkable to their kids trolling on forums or behavior in the game
Kids? Kids are not legally responsible for anything they might do...
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 03:19 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 03:13 PM)
How are they gonna match one's account if one fakes every single entry (including address) during the registration?
If like wow, you can say byebye to your account if you can't prove you are the owner of the account when you need it restored

That's why giving real info is "worth" if for the customer, but I am just not a fan of doing so

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jul 7 2010, 03:19 PM
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 03:42 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 7 2010, 03:26 PM)
In that case how do you prove to them? Ask your boss to send them a company e-mail or send them a registered letter with company's heading and seal?  hmm.gif
No offence here but just trying to be specific, sorry if you feel offended

If you remember your fake name, fake address and fake company and give it to them when they ask for it does it work?
No offence really, what happened is that usually people provide fake stuff and forget them, especially in the case of secret question or crap like this.

You also need to remember that for Wow you usually have a credit card linked to the sub (even if you pay with time card I think, I always paid with CC but I remember you need to enter CC info before you can open account) and I doubt pretty much you have given bogus info to your bank right? ^^

I never had to contact Blizz support myself while playing Wow but some of my guildies had a lot of troubles to prove they were the original owner of the account after being hacked if the info they had inside the account was not 100% correct and valid.
I know at least one guy who couldnt get back his account at all since it was originally an account given to him by someone else and he didnt change some of the details. Byebye 3 years of wow gaming and multiple high level characters. Was a bit of the guy's fault really but still quite painful.

They might ask for pictures of the key cd receipt put together with an IC or something showing your name for example.
To prove that this cd belongs to this person in real life.

I think that if you have a perfect fake ID you can remember it might work, but then it does become an hassle for what is after all only a video game in my opinion.
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 05:09 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, the more I think of this RealID stuff, the less I like it.

People can go stupid or mental about video game, ESPECIALLY blizzard games like Wow or SC2.

I can totally expect some people to get beaten up (or worse...) in real life if they beat someone else, win some loot over someone else or whatever in a video game...
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 05:35 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I quit wow just before they put that realId so I do admit I do not know exactly how it works right now.

So you are saying that from the character name, people cannot link it to your realID (basically your real name)?

Like let's say my character name is Miluna, my realID name is Gormaz.

The guy see Miluna in the game, he can't find that the realId associated to Miluna is Gormaz by looking at the armory/forums or whatever?

I am sincerely asking here because it could make a big difference.

And what about in SC? Same? You use some "character" ID that people cannot link back to your RealID?

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jul 7 2010, 05:35 PM
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 06:07 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Well, let's not go into bickering anyway, let's way to see how it's implemented.

But it's definitely something that makes me uneasy....
Gormaz
post Jul 7 2010, 10:26 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Jul 7 2010, 10:17 PM)
No risk of privacy issues my ass.

Fantastic, keep up the good work Blizzard  doh.gif
never, ever, underestimate the power of Internet trolls.

That's exactly the kind of things I was worried about...

Having played Wow for more than 3 years, gone through my fair share of guild/loot drama, I can totally know how personal some people can be with a game like WoW (I would say MMO are the worst for the amount of "attachment" you end up having for your characters/account)

The RealID is removing a fair share of anonymity and protection for everyone without real advantage for the players.

I could almost take bets on when the first Wow-related-IRL murder will take place over a piece of virtual loot.
Gormaz
post Jul 24 2010, 09:20 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

600rm for a CE is really damn expensive.... blink.gif

With that much money you can easily by quite a few other games during sales...
Gormaz
post Jul 25 2010, 11:40 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I will go on mission to try to find a digital key somewhere since Blizz Store does not really work well for me.

I am downloading the game for now and see how it goes.
Gormaz
post Jul 26 2010, 09:25 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(AgitoBlues @ Jul 26 2010, 09:06 PM)
but Zen said he's already diving in.

Also, correction, its 10am tml, says so in the SEA blizzard site
People who have a retail version already can play I think

Personally I have the game installed and patched, I only need a key.
I can start the game, see the intro etc. I pre-downloaded it.

Digital copies are available on the 27th 1AM Malaysian time (so in few hours), I will grab one tomorrow morning I guess, let the people rush in.

I don't mind, I play SP only anyway.
Gormaz
post Jul 26 2010, 09:30 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(orangbulu @ Jul 26 2010, 09:28 PM)
I think its the 28th
No, just go to the Bnet website, login and try to buy a digital version of SC2, it will show the date they release it in SEA

3am Sidney time on the 27th, which is 2 hours before us, so 1am Msian time on the 27th.
Gormaz
post Jul 27 2010, 10:37 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Meh, it's weird, yesterday I could see the beginning of digital sale was supposed to be on the 27th 1am Msian time, now it shows on 28th 1am Msian time O_o

Apologies to whoever was saying he was seeing 28th, he was right, no idea why it was showing 27th for me (I was playing around with proxies a lot though...)

Oh well, will get one tomorrow, no hurries
Gormaz
post Jul 27 2010, 04:03 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(sixseven @ Jul 27 2010, 04:00 PM)
hmm...  Digital Sales start 07/28/2010 3:00 AM AEST? this means those using digital copy can only start installing tomorrow?
No, you can download, install and patch the game already.

Just you can only buy the key tomorrow at 1am to actually go further than the introduction of the game smile.gif

I am also planning on doing this and the game is all ready on my hard disk

0.0463sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:41 PM