US stock discussion v3, Double Bottom coming?

Hansel
post Nov 3 2010, 09:11 AM

9,361 posts

Guys, been reading these threads on US trading with interest, very informative, thank you.

Was thinking, since the withholding tax on dividend payout is so high for US counters, has anybody here considered Canadian stocks where the withholding tax is lower, and the counters are not so volatile ?

Secondly, if we hold the Canadian Dollar, it is certainly very much stronger and not as volatile as the USD, being a Commodity Currency.

Mod, if these ideas need to be put into a new thread, please alert.

Would appreciate the opinions of the folks here with regards to Canadian Stocks and the TSX.
Hansel
post Nov 3 2010, 12:24 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 3 2010, 12:18 PM)
Depends on your investment/trading plans, for me, I like volatility.
TSX has no volatility, low volume. Even Canadians invest in US for better returns.

I'm sticking with NYSE, world largest casinos.  tongue.gif
Dan, thank you. Sure, for trading, nothing like a high beta market, for eg the NYSE. But then, not even the NYSE can beat the RWS too, money on the spot, haha. Thank you, appreciated your opinions.
Hansel
post Nov 3 2010, 03:20 PM

9,361 posts

To each his/her own, my friends, specific objectives are in-place by different folks for punting or for growing money steadily, depending on asset allocation strategy, leading to selected instruments and sometimes on mood too.

Hansel
post Nov 4 2010, 03:43 PM

9,361 posts

Dividend-wise : Canadian companies, deduct 25%; US companies, deduct 30%. Say, Coke (US) or Canadian Oil Sands (Canada) gives out 10% dividend, minus-off above withholding taxes, can still get 7.5% or 7% respectively - to me, still good lar.

Many of them do monthly payouts too.

Then I go round learning how to fill-in the W9 Form (after getting my SSC NUmber), or how to become a Tax Resident of Canada and get my SIN Number, then I can further reduce this tax because of Tax Treaties with both Sgp and Malaysia.

In the process, I can further invest in the other instruments inside the USA and Canada which are only meant to be for US Citizens and Canadian Residents only.

So, no complaints lar.

Anyway, if I want to punt (longterm, which I have been doing), I just dump my money into C lar, no need to think so much. Back to The USA, no matter the Democrats or the Repubs sit at the state level or at Washington DC, they will want to resolve this financial mess too.

Just don't let C drop to near bailout stage, then things should be fine. But : if C drops to bailout stage, then let's hope the board of C is in great relationship with the Feds.

Otherwise, we will have another Lehman crisis in our hands, not only the shareholders will die, but also the structured notes holders of, eg Singapore and HK (sold to them by DBS Sgp and DBS HK), and the CDO, MBS and ABS holders will tether at the brink of collapse.

Certainly we don't need another C-like or LB-like entity to fall, it will pull everybody down (all counters too) together.

Anyway, if it's any consolation : DBS returned some money to the old folks in Sgp and HK who lost their money to the structured notes earlier. But not the other issuers, like UOB who sold the many series of the Pinnacle Notes, whereby some series fell too back in '98/'99.

Well, not much of an intraday trader myself, so don't really know much about which counter can punt or not in short term. I buy and I hold, generally. Have other things to do and other instruments to look after.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 4 2010, 03:46 PM
Hansel
post Nov 6 2010, 10:15 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(kelynn @ Nov 6 2010, 10:24 AM)
i am already on long side....now watch with eagle eyes,any sign of weakness i will just dump my stock!!!
I am in too (but in another market, not Bursa), somehow, I just don't want to do like what you are doing now, puts me in a lot of stress - needing to watch closely everyday and needing to anticipate a crash to be able to escape with big profits on time. shakehead.gif

Just an opinion, no offence to you, my friend.

Added on November 6, 2010, 10:21 am"for klic, 1 sign looks ok, Qtrly Revenue Growth (yoy)
but the rest of the signs, not my type, Qtrly Earnings Growth (yoy) & Forward P/E (fye Oct 3, 2011) 3.91
of coz everyone got their own analysis to pick stocks, I dun argue with tat. othwerwise we r all buffet & its boring, no speculators around"

Guys, for the above parameters, take an average of at least 3 analysts, then you can decide based on that reading. That's how I do it for speculation activities.

The very parameter that I always look at is the trading momentum. The higher it is, I know the liquidity and volatility is still around. The trend will then ride on this parameter and the direction. But that's just me.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 6 2010, 10:21 AM
Hansel
post Nov 7 2010, 09:47 AM

9,361 posts

[quote=kelynn,Nov 6 2010, 09:38 PM]
[quote=Hansel,Nov 6 2010, 10:15 AM]
I am in too (but in another market, not Bursa), somehow, I just don't want to do like what you are doing now, puts me in a lot of stress - needing to watch closely everyday and needing to anticipate a crash to be able to escape with big profits on time. shakehead.gif

Just an opinion, no offence to you, my friend.

Added on November 6, 2010, 10:21 am"for klic, 1 sign looks ok, Qtrly Revenue Growth (yoy)
but the rest of the signs, not my type, Qtrly Earnings Growth (yoy) & Forward P/E (fye Oct 3, 2011) 3.91
of coz everyone got their own analysis to pick stocks, I dun argue with tat. othwerwise we r all buffet & its boring, no speculators around"

Guys, for the above parameters, take an average of at least 3 analysts, then you can decide based on that reading. That's how I do it for speculation activities.

The very parameter that I always look at is the trading momentum. The higher it is, I know the liquidity and volatility is still around. The trend will then ride on this parameter and the direction. But that's just me.

[/quos
currently either u r long or stay in cash,but don go to short...burn ur pocket faster....this is my opinion smile.gif hope u doing well my friend smile.gif

[/quote]

Kelynn, yes, thank you and I am in-sync with what you have proposed, kinda happy too to know that someone here is of the same opinion, must have a bigger chance of being right then, lol.

Yes, I am long, and have not been buying anymore. Now focussing to go into another market, also for the long term too.
Hansel
post Nov 7 2010, 09:55 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 6 2010, 08:46 PM)
well then, u r in which market? any recommendation wat to buy & which r the other 3 analyst to use for ur parameter trading momentum direction?
In SGX and US Mkts (NYSE & Nasdaq).

Dependable Analysts in SGX : choose from here : http://www.remisiers.org/index.php?option=...&id=6&Itemid=16

Analysts in US Mkts : many of them, can easily come across their write-ups everywhere as we surf around, or as we go into the discount brokerages' sites.

Trading Momentum - don't need analysts, just pull-up Google Finance or Yahoo Finance for the country being observed, put in the stock code you are interested in, look at their charts and observe the vertical barcharts at the bottom of the graph. That's the trading momentum that I use.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 7 2010, 09:56 AM
Hansel
post Nov 7 2010, 12:12 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 7 2010, 12:39 PM)
there r forumers who r thin skin & highly sensitive, when asked to show how to put theory into practice  laugh.gif
care to share some example or screenshot for neutral viewing smile.gif
or how to use vertical barchart at bottom of graph for the following stocks atml, wms & dks?
I don't know why you are putting such remarks at the beginning of your posts, but, yes, you are right, some people are highly sensitive, especially when they are keen to help and people who are asking for opinions and at the same time, are putting remarks like what you are doing.

And then laugh it out : lol.

No, I think I will stop inputting here after seeing all these unnecessary posts. I am amazed with such behaviours, I would prefer to contribute in other threads rather than here.

End of input and debates from myself here ! cool2.gif

0.0464sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:23 AM