8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v3, FullHD Network Mediaplay, Sharing some of the information

AVFAN
post Dec 23 2010, 08:59 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Dec 23 2010, 06:51 PM)
May i know latest firmwares for my mini POHD is.............?

Been update once since few months ago........!
Go to setup, system, system info!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 23 2010, 11:57 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 1 2011, 10:32 AM

24,452 posts

looking forward to more info and reviews about this!
AVFAN
post Jan 3 2011, 01:02 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:56 PM)
quick question. how come i always get no display (tv show input incompatible signal) after i watch a movie? mean after finish movie, i press stop/return to go back main menu, but always no display. i have to on/off and ac.ryan then only get back display. wats wrong ah? i using the hdmi cable that bundled together with the player connect to tv. for the sound i use the red/white cable connect to my amp.
does it happen to every file you play?
always and only when you press stop?
or it happens during playback sometimes?

btw, why use the red/white audio connections and not the hdmi or rca digital audio? old amp?
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2011, 10:45 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Jan 12 2011, 12:31 AM)
Hmm all I read here is how bad and lousy the acryans are. Make me feel like I made the wrong decision to get one but seriously after I updated mine with the latest firmware I find that it is working just fine and I'm happy with it.
i feel the same way...
in reality, i am very satisfied, the firmware updates are very good.
yeah, it hangs sometimes if you press the remote too fast but haven't encountered anything really bad.
read somehwere the essential remote is not as good...

think some problems caused by wrong settings, maybe faulty ext hardware, some firmware...

and perhaps like toyota or shell or nestle, even #1 brands get a fair share of complaints!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 13 2011, 10:48 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 21 2011, 12:46 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(jyth_82 @ Jan 20 2011, 04:24 PM)
Setting in POHD mini - SPIDF = RAW -> no sound from the HT AVR!
Setting the next best setting in the POHD mini - SPDIF = PCM DUAL CHN -> the sound comes out is only stereo (of course!)

probably will not help if Panay HTiB does not suppot DTS from ext source...
tried using coaxial?
also, you're still using Firmware_PV73200_v7.3.5.r3582_Asian.
better upgrade to Firmware_PV73200_v7.3.5.r4824_Asian.

AVFAN
post Jan 31 2011, 11:04 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(wacko_joy @ Jan 31 2011, 10:57 AM)
Hi! I'm a new user. ^^

After the format the internal HDD. Can I choose the updates the firmware before install into the POHD or vice versa? Thanks.
I think these are two independent things, can either way.
The unit comes with the firmware at the time it is packed.
The firmware can be upgraded at anytime.
When you install the HDD, you need to format it while inside the unit before it will work properly.
AVFAN
post Jan 31 2011, 01:39 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(wacko_joy @ Jan 31 2011, 01:02 PM)
Format while inside? Coz when i ask the seller.. he say preferable format outside... then it will b troublesome to me coz i don't have those cables...

If confirm can format inside the POHD it will be great! Do I need to install any OS? Sorry noob here...
you're talking about pohd with built-in hdd and not the ext hdd, right?
if you format with pc before you put in, there may be trouble later - think somehwere in this thread, somebody mentioned that.
better you format when inside. you can do that via "systems" in menu.
no os required, only the firmware.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 31 2011, 01:40 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 24 2011, 12:55 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Sting Ray @ Feb 21 2011, 05:32 PM)
I have recently updated to fw 4824 and noticed that there is a new option "Screen Size" under the video set up.

any sife can explain what is this for and how to adjust this setting ?
i think this feature is just a display of what screen is detected, connected to.

Added on February 24, 2011, 12:56 pm
QUOTE(farsight @ Feb 19 2011, 05:02 PM)
I have the PlayonHD firmware version r3582. Should I update to r4824? Someone told me it is not stable yet. Thanks ya.
go update, it's good.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 24 2011, 12:56 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 6 2011, 01:31 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(dinco @ Mar 5 2011, 03:55 PM)
how to copy subtitle via new GUI 2.0. seems that the new GUI cannot read srt files...

really? that's bad!
QUOTE(uk19xx @ Mar 5 2011, 09:56 AM)
Anyone try out the New GUI 2.0 for our POHD?
Tempting to download it.

it is a beta version, already mentioned some teething problems.
i downloaded, ready to install but now, thinking maybe better to wait for next version.
QUOTE(yogibear @ Mar 4 2011, 10:26 AM)
Anyone has the copy problem?
I want to copy from USB drive to the harddisk of AC Ryan (not mini) - but always the sign that shows not allowed to copy.
So i can't copy files to the harddisk! sad.gif

any chance your ext usb drive is protected? tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 14 2011, 12:39 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(KyoLee @ Mar 13 2011, 10:30 PM)
wondering does HD mini or mini2 support 1080p movie more then 8gb above?

dun worry - yes and yes. a player that can't do that is not a real media player!

AVFAN
post Mar 17 2011, 08:54 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Mar 17 2011, 07:40 PM)
sifus, what is the download speed u guys got when downloading torrent??
using utorrent but very very slow. am using unifi now
er... seems unifi is not better than streamyx. i think normal would be 20-30, good is 80-100, 140-150 is exceptional. then again, sometimes good speed last only so long, once more people in yr area uses it, gone...

it's not a good idea to discuss in the open downloading specific things since there is a copyright issue... but guess ok to talk about general downloading matters gua...??
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2011, 07:29 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Mar 21 2011, 12:51 PM)
these days saw lots of issues and problems arrise from the POHD.

it is not a cheap player though.

Acryan, please protect your reputation.
i have both the older pohd and the mini. been updating firmwares but not the gui2 beta.
so far, no serious issue be it mkv, mp4, rmvb or flac. had hundreds of hours of good fun, v satisfied.
the problems users face may not be arising from the player but a faulty hdd or a corrupted file.
gui2... i prefer to wait for official release.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 21 2011, 07:30 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 3 2011, 11:03 PM

24,452 posts

at my recommendation, my fren just bought a mini2.
he also bot a usb2.0 hdd. he said there were usb3.0 ones but were more expensive.
is there any diff between the two when played on the mini2 or pohd2?
or it's just faster file transfer speed at the pc with usb3.0?
AVFAN
post Apr 7 2011, 07:21 PM

24,452 posts

need a little help from boxbuilder or anyone...
i was checking out the mini2 w/gui2. it is certainly quite different from the the old gui.
howver, i managed to get most of the functions right.

probably i missed but there is one thing i could not find in file manager:
where do i do file copy-transfer-delete within the mini2?
appreciate anyone guiding me the right steps. tq!

this mini2 of my fren - he's very happy, performing past his expectations with 720p files on his plasma hdready tv. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 8 2011, 11:07 AM
AVFAN
post Apr 12 2011, 06:01 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Apr 11 2011, 05:56 PM)
You go to file manager folder and press the 'edit' button on the remote, than u can do the copy, paste and delete.
i tried "menu+edit" as per instruction on the screen but couldn't get it. ok, will try "edit" again. tq!

one more thing... i will wait for the official gui2 firmware release for pohd/mini.
but do you recommend the latest firmware for the mini2? i already downloaded it but was wondering if i should do that for my fren's unit as i noticed it isn't the latest.
the acryan website seems to say there are only 2 minor changes in the latest version. any view? tq again!
AVFAN
post Apr 16 2011, 12:41 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Apr 15 2011, 08:25 AM)
One final question, is there any different between mini1 and mini2 in terms of power cable, remote,hdmi? If i get the mini2, can I just change the player only and reuse back all the wiring on my old mini1? Because I already arrange all the wiring nicely HUHUHU

Each set comes with all the accessories, so I would use the new power adaptor and remote (which is different); hdmi can use existing.
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2011, 09:24 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Apr 26 2011, 10:53 AM)
Now I realise 1 problem, don't know whether the POHD error or my LCD TV.
If I put HDMI connection from POHD to my TV there are some sound distortion. Sound mute in some internal.
AND if I put HDMI connection from POHD to Amplfier to TV there are no sound distortion at all.
Any idea?
I saw under the Audio setting it has some setting like pass through, Multichannel and etc. What is this setting?
i think it is the tv... is the tv new or 2-3 years old?

i encountered a problem of this sort with an older lcdtv. the problem does not occur with a newer tv or if pass thru an avr.

pohd-tv using hdmi should set to passthru. i don't think setting multi-channel or lpcm will help, but no harm trying!
AVFAN
post Apr 27 2011, 12:35 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Apr 27 2011, 09:34 AM)
toshiba zv series, less than 1 year lcd tv.
try the pass through setting, no help.
if the tv issue, why hdmi from amplifier to tv no issue at all?
really headache.

Added on April 27, 2011, 9:36 am
actually what are these setting for:
pass thru
lpcm
multi- channel
afaik, avr being avr has powerful software/hardware to smoothen and upgrade input signals.
maybe boxb can share some knowledge on this?

lpcm/multi is meant for old avr and other systems that do not have hdmi input but only rca digital audio.
AVFAN
post Apr 30 2011, 11:58 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Apr 30 2011, 09:37 AM)
Bcoz HD2 is the first player using RT1185. We complained also the unstable of HD2. That is why AC Ryan full force to settle the major issues of HD2. Don't worry, they will come back to HD1. But HD1 seems more stable right now.
makes sense. i'm only using the main features of the pohd and mini, so far r4824 has been stable, good.
i'll rather they take a bit more time to do a completely tested and verified f gui2 before release.
just dun forget us! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post May 3 2011, 11:01 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(abahwafi @ May 3 2011, 02:23 PM)
Guys,

Need advise here : AC RYAN HD 2 vs HiMEDIA HD600B.
Price for both about the same, but I think HiMEDIA has more features.

Pls help!
this is ac ryan thread!! biggrin.gif
unlikely anyone here will have both to advise you properly.
if no existing thread on that player, you surely can start one.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:42 PM