TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 09:15 AM, updated 16y ago

Unique
1,717 posts

http://techcentral.my/news/story.aspx?file...241&sec=it_news

Specs :

24 June 2010 – Spice CSL has announced the Spice MI300, which is an Android phone with the following features.

# Qualcomm Chipset, 600 MHz processor

# 3G, Quadband

# 3.2" HVGA Capacitive touch

# 114.9 x 56.8 x 12.6mm

# ROM 512 MB / RAM 256 MB

# Push Email

# BT 2.0

# 5 Megapixel Camera

# WiFi

# G-sensor + E-compass + Proximity Sensor

# Android v1.6, upgradeable to v2.1

# GPS Navigator with Map King software

# Anti Theft security software

# CSL Fun Club

# BlueBerry Messenger

# BlueBerry Store

# Islamic features (Azan Alarm, Kiblat Compass, Al-Quran) ♠ JC

RRP : RM1099

How sharp will the display be, hopefully not dull and dim like all the china phones out there....smile.gif
Will be worth the money if price around RM500...smile.gif

What you guys think?

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 1 2010, 09:45 AM
LovesReborn
post Jul 1 2010, 09:23 AM

1,739 posts

honestly speaking, im waiting for this phone to release.
if the price is good, i might actually buy this.

bingozero
post Jul 1 2010, 09:33 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

If this handset can update to fuyo, I can consider about it tongue.gif
LovesReborn
post Jul 1 2010, 09:37 AM

1,739 posts

there are a few sources that states it can be updated to android 2.1...smile.gif
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 09:46 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Jul 1 2010, 09:23 AM)
honestly speaking, im waiting for this phone to release.
if the price is good, i might actually buy this.
Aiyo, RRP is RM1099, i think the price is a bit on the high side(maybe this price got something to do with royalty payment to Map King?), might wait 1 or 2 months for it to drop, what do you think?

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 1 2010, 09:47 AM
ashburn98
post Jul 1 2010, 09:51 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Unless it's dirt cheap (like RM500 cheap), unable/no support for 2.2 is a dealbreaker.

LovesReborn
post Jul 1 2010, 09:54 AM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 1 2010, 09:46 AM)
Aiyo, RRP is RM1099, i think the price is a bit on the high side(maybe this price got something to do with royalty payment to Map King?), might wait 1 or 2 months for it to drop, what do you think?
where did you get the quote of RM1099? i was wishing that it is well below rm600... if it really is rm1099, i might as well get a Nokia 5800(though it's not android). but that depends on how well it performs first. will need to have a hand-on session before passing any definite judgment.

This post has been edited by LovesReborn: Jul 1 2010, 09:55 AM
ashburn98
post Jul 1 2010, 10:06 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 1 2010, 09:15 AM)

RRP : RM1099

I rather sign up another Legend with Digi.
KTCY
post Jul 1 2010, 10:09 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Mapking hmm.gif
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 10:16 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:06 AM)
Yalor, CSL overated their phone price and it's only 3G not 3.5G....haiz

Added on July 1, 2010, 10:17 am
QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Jul 1 2010, 09:54 AM)
where did you get the quote of RM1099? i was wishing that it is well below rm600... if it really is rm1099, i might as well get a Nokia 5800(though it's not android). but that depends on how well it performs first. will need to have a hand-on session before passing any definite judgment.
from CSL HQ, maybe the dealer will sell it at RM599 or below...smile.gif

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 1 2010, 10:17 AM
LovesReborn
post Jul 1 2010, 10:25 AM

1,739 posts

did you ask him when can we have a look at the actual phone at concept store/retail store?
rm1099 android phone that MIGHT be able to upgrade to froyo aint that attractive...
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 11:36 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Jul 1 2010, 10:25 AM)
did you ask him when can we have a look at the actual phone at concept store/retail store?
rm1099 android phone that MIGHT be able to upgrade to froyo aint that attractive...
it's gonna be launch today.....
yktan9
post Jul 1 2010, 02:33 PM

29 posts

It's pretty good work from a malaysian phone company.
A decent sized phone, with decent specs coupled with licensed GPS map.

All these with a price below the competitors.

Worth to support.
ashburn98
post Jul 1 2010, 03:06 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(yktan9 @ Jul 1 2010, 02:33 PM)

Worth to support.
The general consensus is CSL imports those generic china phones and market them under CSL brand, thus having some AP warranty. There's enough queries in this part of forum on CSL so anyone interested can do a search on it.
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 03:52 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 1 2010, 03:06 PM)
The general consensus is CSL imports those generic china phones and market them under CSL brand, thus having some AP warranty. There's enough queries in this part of forum on CSL so anyone interested can do a search on it.
The question now is, is this model a rebranded model from china or r&d by csl themself?

Added on July 1, 2010, 4:04 pmI maybe found their supplier.....smile.gif
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/29401605..._wholesale.html

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 1 2010, 04:04 PM
limjonyee
post Jul 1 2010, 04:57 PM

329 posts

wow... rm1099, better buy x10 mini lo... looks classier...
yktan9
post Jul 1 2010, 07:50 PM

29 posts

Wow good job!

Didn't think China would be selling OEM Android phones.
It's a platform for a very wide spectrum of phone manufacturers.
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2010, 07:53 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(yktan9 @ Jul 1 2010, 07:50 PM)
Wow good job!

Didn't think China would be selling OEM Android phones.
It's a platform for a very wide spectrum of phone manufacturers.
China is actually producing oem android phones loh......

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/29401605..._wholesale.html rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Ah hao
post Jul 2 2010, 01:18 AM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 1 2010, 07:53 PM)
China is actually producing oem android phones loh......

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/29401605..._wholesale.html rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...:en-US:official

its in Thailand too biggrin.gif

for 8990 baht (rm 900) nod.gif

but from tat link the pic it produce really .... china quality doh.gif

youtube searching WellcoM A88 Android will come out a lot video, the screen quality seems great wub.gif

design quite attractive to me, jus the camera sweat.gif

Added on July 2, 2010, 1:24 ambtw, white look great thumbup.gif

Added on July 2, 2010, 6:44 amUpdate : this phone is 5 MP but NO auto focus.

http://translate.google.com.my/translate?j...532&sl=th&tl=en

Added on July 2, 2010, 7:00 amhttp://www.hiapk.com/bbs/forum-164-1.html

HK user of this phone, at there call 首派 A60 smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ah hao: Jul 2 2010, 07:00 AM
post Jul 2 2010, 10:02 AM

CSL is known for its OEM handphone, thats why CSL blackberry can sell around RM300 ++ only. If the MI300 cost below than RM600, then it is still ok. Otherwise, there are so many choices of better brand of Android phone in the market to choose from. Just cross your finger.
SUShako
post Jul 2 2010, 10:26 AM

245 posts

I dunno about this. I never use CSL phones before.
LovesReborn
post Jul 2 2010, 03:31 PM

1,739 posts

the price is out at lowyat first page...
rm1099. as mentioned, I wont be getting this. might as well get a htc android.
jimmyay
post Jul 2 2010, 04:07 PM

228 posts

very expensive lah.. I used CSL before. If u pay peanut, u get monkey strategy.
siksa
post Jul 2 2010, 04:34 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Jul 2 2010, 03:31 PM)
the price is out at lowyat first page...
rm1099. as mentioned, I wont be getting this. might as well get a htc android.
spec and how much?
LovesReborn
post Jul 2 2010, 05:47 PM

1,739 posts

tattoo, magic or maybe wildfire(since its price in malaysia is not known yet) .

or x10 mini maybe...if i were to add on a bit more, milestone is in sight, and the difference is a couple of hundreds ringgit.

oh, 1 more, htc dream, it's old but is capable of rooting to eclaire(2.1) if not mistaken.

This post has been edited by LovesReborn: Jul 2 2010, 05:57 PM
scoop7
post Jul 3 2010, 04:49 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

RM1099, i rather go for HTC Wildfire
RieZky
post Jul 3 2010, 10:33 PM

219 posts

i heard this model using htc processor..n the price will be up to rm1399 soon..the rm1099 juz the promo price only..maybe tactic to increase sell
LovesReborn
post Jul 3 2010, 10:57 PM

1,739 posts

lol...rm1399...better get milestone or HTC magic...more "established" and forum support. smile.gif
ashburn98
post Jul 3 2010, 11:08 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 3 2010, 10:33 PM)
i heard this model using htc processor..n the price will be up to rm1399 soon..the rm1099 juz the promo price only..maybe tactic to increase sell
price up soon and uses 'htc' processor, yeah right. laugh.gif The price raise gave me a laugh.gif by itself.

Spec list already out AND PrinceCaspien searched out a link to those China wholesalers offering this phone.

CSL's brand name is as 'cheap' as the china product they sell. If they think by importing generic china Android based phones allows them to charge the same premium as HTC brand names and such, someone in CSL should be fired.

TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 3 2010, 11:12 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 3 2010, 10:33 PM)
i think htc produce phone and not processor right?

siaw one, chip plak phone somemore wanna increase price.......wanna make me laugh loh.....even at RM700, i will think twice if i wanna buy or not....smile.gif
mikecmy
post Jul 3 2010, 11:13 PM

734 posts

maybe i'll buy if the price is cheaper than tattoo, for testing purpose. think back again, it's really not worth it.
RieZky
post Jul 4 2010, 12:59 PM

219 posts

htc also taiwan..china also..juz bought factory from dopod..both of them are same..juz htc rename/rebadge a good brand product.haha

Added on July 4, 2010, 5:00 pmthe model name is CSL Spice..design totally like HTC Hero..free full mapkings..but the price 1k..not worth it for csl

This post has been edited by RieZky: Jul 4 2010, 05:00 PM
ashburn98
post Jul 5 2010, 12:14 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 4 2010, 12:59 PM)
htc also taiwan..china also..juz bought factory from dopod..both of them are same..juz htc rename/rebadge a good brand product.haha

Taiwan is not China. Try telling that to a Taiwanese.

The phones are not the same. You can say they are all made in China but that's all the similarities ends. Iphone2/3/4 are made in a factory in China and there are tons of China Iphone imitation. You might as well just say the same thing about Iphone as to HTC.

Instead of trying to bring down established brand names, give the good points of CSL and/or this android phone. Since it's out now, anyone wants/bother to do a review on this device?

hantumati
post Jul 8 2010, 03:30 PM

33 posts

any 1 can comment on the phone if support dual sim card standby or not.

how abt the phone book sync wif microsoft outlook contact book
more2teayap
post Jul 14 2010, 07:46 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

anybody had bought this phone? Mind giving a review???
CrimsonMilk
post Jul 15 2010, 01:55 PM

I heard from someone that this phone comes from the same factory as HTC, and its upgradeable to Android v2.1. I saw the phone in Low Yat plaza, the touch and feel is good. MapKing is certainly a candy for me.... i can dump away my garmin liao brows.gif

I will certainly choose this instead of Legend, now looking at which data plan to signup, I'm using Maxis. Any recommendations?
ashburn98
post Jul 15 2010, 02:28 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(CrimsonMilk @ Jul 15 2010, 01:55 PM)
I heard from someone that this phone comes from the same factory as HTC, and its upgradeable to Android v2.1. I saw the phone in Low Yat plaza, the touch and feel is good. MapKing is certainly a candy for me.... i can dump away my garmin liao  brows.gif

I will certainly choose this instead of Legend, now looking at which data plan to signup, I'm using Maxis. Any recommendations?
Source pls
Cannonfodder
post Jul 15 2010, 03:14 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 15 2010, 02:28 PM)
Source pls
Friend of a friend's friend whose uncle's cousin's sister knows the cab driver who drives the wife of the neighbor to the guy whose brother's classmate married the factory's security guard's wife's colleague's despatch rider.

Fact.
siksa
post Jul 15 2010, 03:54 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

is it out already here,in Malaysia?
TSPrinceCaspien
post Jul 15 2010, 10:33 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(CrimsonMilk @ Jul 15 2010, 01:55 PM)
I heard from someone that this phone comes from the same factory as HTC,
the salesperson tell you is it?

whoever tell you this must have no knowledge of what he/she is saying.......

this phone is oem in china and even you can buy this phone and put your name as a brand to sell here in malaysia.....
MYstombox
post Jul 16 2010, 05:41 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Testing this phone 3 days ago, sales person told me it's RM1090. The price put me off, but I did demo the phone anyway.

The screen wasn't very responsive, and it felt like a resistive screen even though it states capacitive screen.
I did not try the browser to test if there was multitouch.

It was a little sluggish; which may be what led me to think that the screen is resistive, but that is not a fair statement as the demo set was loaded with apps running and did not have ATK. And by loaded I mean, the sales guy had video app, music app, google maps and several games running on the demo set.

And for RM1090, unfortunately for CSL, there are better choices for consumers out there. If it was priced at around RM600 consumers who want an android may consider this.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Jul 16 2010, 05:44 AM
CrimsonMilk
post Jul 16 2010, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 4 2010, 12:59 PM)

Added on July 4, 2010, 5:00 pmthe model name is CSL Spice..design totally like HTC Hero..free full mapkings..but the price 1k..not worth it for csl
To be honest, as I said, I heard it from a friend who is working in a handphone distribution company. However, I checked out the processor part of it, it is running on the same processor as HTC Legend - Qualcomm MSM 7227 600 MHz processor. I found this from gsmarena and csl website.

I have to respect PrinceCaspien's patience to scroll through >240 pages in Alibaba to find the same phone, I gave up on the 10th page:stars:

Nevertheless, I'm quite open to China or Taiwan made phones.... which established brand is not made in China? HTC is from Taiwan.. old news.

I'm looking for an Android 2.1, not simply an Android. Anyone knows any Android 2.1 that is below RM1000?
siksa
post Jul 20 2010, 12:00 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jul 3 2010, 04:49 PM)
RM1099, i rather go for HTC Wildfire
can get for rm1199,just rm100 difference,you are right.
RieZky
post Jul 20 2010, 12:56 PM

219 posts

they run mapking in front of me..this phone default using 1.6firmware..the design n cover look cheap..since wildfire launch different only rm100..better get wildfire..
KannaSai1
post Jul 20 2010, 04:17 PM

6,933 posts

QUOTE(yktan9 @ Jul 1 2010, 02:33 PM)

Worth to support.
it is a china phone in local branding.
i try buy a asus netbook under csl. keyboard spoilt after six mths. repair jz 3-4 hours at their factory ,shah alam. no parking for customer, all parking are occupied by their big n rich CEO and managers. but it spoilt again in 2 mths time.
and not all CSL accept repair for IT product.

I think i will not dare to try for their product anymore.
notworthy.gif

Added on July 20, 2010, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(CrimsonMilk @ Jul 16 2010, 11:01 AM)
To be honest, as I said, I heard it from a friend who is working in a handphone distribution company. However, I checked out the processor part of it, it is running on the same processor as HTC Legend -  Qualcomm MSM 7227 600 MHz processor. I found this from gsmarena and csl website.

I have to respect PrinceCaspien's patience to scroll through >240 pages in Alibaba to find the same phone, I gave up on the 10th page:stars:

Nevertheless, I'm quite open to China or Taiwan made phones.... which established brand is not made in China? HTC is from Taiwan.. old news.

I'm looking for an Android 2.1, not simply an Android. Anyone knows any Android 2.1 that is below RM1000?
try i-mobile? i heard it is quite good phone. dunno wat model.

or jz buy old magic. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by KannaSai1: Jul 20 2010, 04:24 PM
RieZky
post Jul 21 2010, 01:42 AM

219 posts

yeap i-mobile also release android phone.but small one..price i think less than rm600
ashburn98
post Jul 21 2010, 04:37 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

I don't really get CSL strategy on this product The marketing flaws aside, there's HTC Wildfire that is the competition in the RM1K bracket. Since Android is gaining so much momentum (I can just name Marketplace for example) I'm sure there's a lot who wants a bang-for-buck Android without putting to much upfront, both money and Maxis/Digi/Celcom tie downs.

IMHO, CSL could easily make this product sell extremely well.

Chyan
post Jul 24 2010, 01:18 AM

4,222 posts

Android is gaining lots of momentum now.
Kinda wanted to own one. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Chyan: Jul 24 2010, 01:18 AM
changchai
post Aug 9 2010, 05:32 PM

668 posts

Just read this model on Mobile World Mag ... i'm wondering what's the screen resolution with this model. Any idea ???
LovesReborn
post Aug 9 2010, 05:53 PM

1,739 posts

should be 320 * 480 TFT screen
changchai
post Aug 9 2010, 07:00 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Aug 9 2010, 05:53 PM)
should be 320 * 480 TFT screen
Thanks for the info ... i wonder if anyone tested the phone ?
LovesReborn
post Aug 10 2010, 09:30 AM

1,739 posts

honestly speaking, slim chance that someone owns the phone long enough to thoroughly test it. if i have the budget, i might as well go for wildfire which is around the same price.

if you are thinking of getting it, you should head to CSL center to have a hand on session with it. I did not have any hand on session with it,so im not really sure how it performs.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 10 2010, 10:57 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

i also rather get wildfire or tattoo... hmm.gif
changchai
post Aug 10 2010, 11:10 AM

668 posts

Thanks for all the information. Initially i was thinking of buying wildfire (but the low resolution is kinda making me think twice about it), but suddenly i read about CSL MI300 having a faster processor and a better resolution.

As for pricing wise, both are almost the same.

Branding wise - i think HTC is more convincing than CSL.

But does the low resolution in wildfire be an BIG effect for not able to use maximize the phone with so many available apps around ?

Anyway i haven't really have a feel and touch for the two phone. Perhaps should go test it out first.

P/S : Newbie here.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 10 2010, 11:29 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(changchai @ Aug 10 2010, 11:10 AM)
Thanks for all the information. Initially i was thinking of buying wildfire (but the low resolution is kinda making me think twice about it), but suddenly i read about CSL MI300 having a faster processor and a better resolution.

But does the low resolution in wildfire be an BIG effect for not able to use maximize the phone with so many available apps around ?

Anyway i haven't really have a feel and touch for the two phone. Perhaps should go test it out first.

actually high or low resolution depends on what u do with the phone and what u need from the phone... do a hands on trial and see which 1 u can get used to... hmm.gif
RieZky
post Aug 10 2010, 01:57 PM

219 posts

sure got issue with firmware official update..unless u can root it urself
pingy_ping
post Aug 10 2010, 09:46 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(changchai @ Aug 10 2010, 11:10 AM)

there are some apps that u cant use it on wildfire because of its resolution and the screen is quite blocky for me. i think get a magic that u can play with many kinds of roms after root is better. just my point of view
changchai
post Aug 11 2010, 08:02 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(pingy_ping @ Aug 10 2010, 09:46 PM)
there are some apps that u cant use it on wildfire because of its resolution and the screen is quite blocky for me. i think get a magic that u can play with many kinds of roms after root is better. just my point of view
Thanks for the suggestion ... as i'm on a tight budget this moment ... n wanting to get an android phone ... so currently i'm thinking either CSL MI300 or HTC Wildfire ... both at RM 1099 - 1199.

i never own a touch screen mobile before, so what do i look for when i'm testing the touch screen mobile ?

*yesterday my friend was using a HTC (one of the older mode - wife's phonel) mobile (he is an iphone user), n he told me the screen is very sensitive when he was talking on the phone (i think some button was activated when his ear touches the screen - cause got disconnected few times). Do you guys encounter this with the later models ?
MYstombox
post Aug 11 2010, 10:53 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Later models with proximity sensors do not have such an issue.
changchai
post Aug 11 2010, 11:53 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 11 2010, 10:53 AM)
Later models with proximity sensors do not have such an issue.
Thanks for the info thumbup.gif (was hoping they have a THANK button here)
CGLegacy
post Aug 11 2010, 02:27 PM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:06 AM)
well said!!! rm999 only for a Legendary HTC phone... thumbup.gif
Emperor Crusher
post Aug 28 2010, 04:36 AM

QUOTE(hantumati @ Jul 8 2010, 02:30 AM)
any 1 can comment on the phone if support dual sim card standby or not.

how abt the phone book sync wif microsoft outlook contact book
Hantumati, as a whole, Android phones/devices can sync with Outlook with many programs. www.syncdroid.net has a chart showing the software and what Outlook items it syncs with the Android (calendar, contacts, notes, tasks, email), whether it uses USB or Wireless, if it uses Google Services or not, prices (many free) and more.
cdanz
post Nov 1 2010, 11:51 AM

15 posts

Yesterday the csl store at the mines sales about rm899 for promotion... Maybe today i'm going to buy it... Try the phone yesterday... The touch screen is quite acceptable (altough i have iphone right now)... Just wanna try the local brand with android system.... Hehehe
mmusang
post Nov 13 2010, 06:32 PM

1,006 posts

at mobile show KLCC, CSL MI300 sell for 799 with alot of freebies..

Android 2.1
free map king.
extended 6 months warranty

This post has been edited by mmusang: Nov 13 2010, 06:33 PM
laukut
post Nov 19 2010, 07:29 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mmusang @ Nov 13 2010, 06:32 PM)
at mobile show KLCC, CSL MI300 sell for 799 with alot of freebies..

Android 2.1
free map king.
extended 6 months warranty
hi there, i m trader and i selling this model.

I can give you the price is more cheaper then handphone fair.

PM me if you are interesting...

phyz
post Nov 22 2010, 01:56 AM

334 posts

Is there anyone knows how to flash this model into android v2.2?

The camera didn't function anymore.how can i fix it?

This post has been edited by phyz: Nov 22 2010, 01:57 AM
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 08:05 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

DELETED!

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 12 2010, 10:12 PM

0.0370sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:55 AM