Autofoam Review
SonnyCooL
Mar 5 2017, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Mar 5 2017, 12:41 AM) I heard they have now different formula of autofoam for two different types Is autofoam really that good ? how bout the pricing ? auto form is kind of good but watch out installer, which some of them don't even understand car water drain system and causing that car leaking .... my very close friend kena once, now can't even drive in rain ...... I heard second issue is Fire (not sure abt it)
lsm1991
Mar 5 2017, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Mar 5 2017, 01:46 AM) auto form is kind of good but watch out installer, which some of them don't even understand car water drain system and causing that car leaking .... my very close friend kena once, now can't even drive in rain ...... I heard second issue is Fire (not sure abt it)  nope wont burn, tried... sort of glows tho.. but not burn... leaking issue... yes, clogging issues? also a yes....
SonnyCooL
Mar 5 2017, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 5 2017, 07:48 PM) nope wont burn, tried... sort of glows tho.. but not burn... leaking issue... yes, clogging issues? also a yes.... If want to stripe off the car n respray, spot weld will be perfect ...... Like my old 1.8 wira, body still solid even after 15 year ....
wadihana
May 9 2017, 12:05 AM
Dear forumers,
Anybody know whether IceCube is still in business providing his brand of chassis foam?
Thank you.
Eternalgl0ry
May 9 2017, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Mar 5 2017, 01:46 AM) auto form is kind of good but watch out installer, which some of them don't even understand car water drain system and causing that car leaking .... my very close friend kena once, now can't even drive in rain ...... I heard second issue is Fire (not sure abt it)  Yeah this is what i heard from complains from some people. I heard the boss " desmond " and his disciple only sit there cit chat and do not really work on cheap cars. Pretty hash in my opinion I went the other day to see... All mostly teenagers doing the job... very inexperience and slow . I would go for them if only the experienced staffs know what to do...
Ginny88
May 9 2017, 03:55 PM
Autofoam is irreversible. If you don't like the results there is no cure. There are also plenty of ways badly applied autofoam can screw up your car. If you want to improve your car there are less drastic ways to do it.
jacky91
Apr 19 2018, 12:06 PM
Hey guys.. How many of u did the comfort package for autofoam? Is it really good?
jamespaul
Apr 19 2018, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 12:06 PM) Hey guys.. How many of u did the comfort package for autofoam? Is it really good? If you want to waste money and destroy your car in the long run, do it Autofoam is a waste of time and money.
jacky91
Apr 19 2018, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(jamespaul @ Apr 19 2018, 12:17 PM) If you want to waste money and destroy your car in the long run, do it Autofoam is a waste of time and money. Why say so? Have u done it?
jamespaul
Apr 19 2018, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 12:26 PM) Why say so? Have u done it? Foaming your chassis means, giving moisture an opportunity to be trapped by the foam. Trapped moisture means rust, rust means weaker chassis Without understanding actual car's design. Foaming cannot reduce noise and increase stiffness effectively. Also, foam is NOT even close to being as hard as steel. When you say comfort, I presume you want reduced noise, noise rarely travel through the chassis into cabin. Sound travels in a straight line and radiates from source. Foaming your chassis is like putting a finger few centimeters away from your ear, trying not to hear the radio.
jacky91
Apr 19 2018, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(jamespaul @ Apr 19 2018, 03:09 PM) Foaming your chassis means, giving moisture an opportunity to be trapped by the foam. Trapped moisture means rust, rust means weaker chassis Without understanding actual car's design. Foaming cannot reduce noise and increase stiffness effectively. Also, foam is NOT even close to being as hard as steel. When you say comfort, I presume you want reduced noise, noise rarely travel through the chassis into cabin. Sound travels in a straight line and radiates from source. Foaming your chassis is like putting a finger few centimeters away from your ear, trying not to hear the radio. i see i see.. i guess better just do normal sound proof?
speedy3210
Apr 19 2018, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 12:06 PM) Hey guys.. How many of u did the comfort package for autofoam? Is it really good? What model of car are you planning to foam?
jacky91
Apr 19 2018, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 19 2018, 03:49 PM) What model of car are you planning to foam? Myvi 2018
speedy3210
Apr 19 2018, 04:00 PM
If newer gen car then no need consider foaming la..... latest gen chassis all very rigid already. no need spend extra unnecessarily.
if iswara wira or other older generation with soft chassis, then maybe la
jamespaul
Apr 19 2018, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 03:50 PM) Myvi 2018  Wa! new car sir! Already unhappy with noise? What noise is bothering you?
jacky91
Apr 19 2018, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 19 2018, 04:00 PM) If newer gen car then no need consider foaming la..... latest gen chassis all very rigid already. no need spend extra unnecessarily. if iswara wira or other older generation with soft chassis, then maybe la thanks bro the advice! QUOTE(jamespaul @ Apr 19 2018, 04:52 PM) Wa! new car sir! Already unhappy with noise? What noise is bothering you? those wind sound and stuff ba haha.. anyway.. see how lo.. not sure wanna throw in money to do or not
SupermanLick
Apr 19 2018, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 03:50 PM) Myvi 2018  I see new myvi 2018 NVH very bad👉👌
SupermanLick
Apr 19 2018, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(jacky91 @ Apr 19 2018, 05:57 PM) thanks bro the advice! those wind sound and stuff ba haha.. anyway.. see how lo.. not sure wanna throw in money to do or not I m thinking about to make DIYsoundproofing 2.0 on wheel well Need financial support Throw so money to me. I can share for u This post has been edited by SupermanLick: Apr 19 2018, 09:52 PM
Drian
Apr 20 2018, 11:40 AM
Everyone has their own opinions but how many are accurate? http://www.mwsmotorsports.com/z32/foam/1999-01-1785.pdfThis is an SAE paper that talks about foaming the chassis and they have done measurement to measure the stiffness before and after and it does show that it improve stiffness. However this does not show if autofoam can increase stiffness as much as what is written in the paper as the density is unknown.
jamespaul
Apr 20 2018, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Drian @ Apr 20 2018, 11:40 AM) Everyone has their own opinions but how many are accurate? http://www.mwsmotorsports.com/z32/foam/1999-01-1785.pdfThis is an SAE paper that talks about foaming the chassis and they have done measurement to measure the stiffness before and after and it does show that it improve stiffness. However this does not show if autofoam can increase stiffness as much as what is written in the paper as the density is unknown. Just to add. The vehicle in question is unknown. There is an increment in Modal frequency but what does that mean to consumers? Structure being strengthen doesnt equate to a quieter car. A car manufacturer may have intentionally reduced strength for a specific section to reduce weight and to transpose noise. Until we can understand each and every car's intended design, foaming with the "one size fit all" method doesnt work. Referring to Autofoam, not to your opinion