[WTB] Bowflex SelecTech dumbbells, looking for fitness equipment

TSdavinarul
post Jun 30 2010, 09:44 AM, updated 16y ago

Hi, does anyone have a set of Bowflex SelecTech dumbbells they are looking to sell, or know anyplace where I can get one? The Bowflex shop in Bangsar Shopping Centre has closed and I tried to enquire from the distributor without success.

I've seen a similar set in one of the fitness stores in Mid Valley but it's not quite the same as Bowflex.

Please reply or PM me. Thanks!

Davin
dzqwr
post Sep 28 2010, 09:27 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(davinarul @ Jun 30 2010, 09:44 AM)
Hi, does anyone have a set of Bowflex SelecTech dumbbells they are looking to sell, or know anyplace where I can get one? The Bowflex shop in Bangsar Shopping Centre has closed and I tried to enquire from the distributor without success.

I've seen a similar set in one of the fitness stores in Mid Valley but it's not quite the same as Bowflex.

Davin
hello,

have you found who sell this dumbbells? i'm looking for it too.
MSA
post Sep 28 2010, 10:54 AM

317 posts

If not mistaken their office is at Midvalley. Google it !
tenno
post Sep 29 2010, 02:32 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Wow.. must be expensive .. how much do they cost ?
moe81
post Sep 30 2010, 05:06 PM

265 posts

In the states u can get it on Amazon for USD300. for the 1090 model.
that converts to RM 936.

but i dun know how much it'll cost over here.
tenno
post Oct 1 2010, 10:26 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(moe81 @ Sep 30 2010, 05:06 PM)
In the states u can get it on Amazon for USD300. for the 1090 model.
that converts to RM 936.

but i dun know how much it'll cost over here.
Wow.. almost a grand for a dumbbell !!! & thts for one single dumbbell or a pair of dumbbells ?

Won't it be cheaper to get normal dumbbells & add weight plates later ? I know it replaces like 7-8 dumbbells, but how often do U use 8 dumbbells in a single workout ?

Just my opinion. If U have the money then just go for it la. Dumbbells are still just dumbbells...
dzqwr
post Oct 11 2010, 12:12 PM

75 posts

i already ask Ace Sporting & Fitness, they said no stock for bowflex SelectTech 221. but the price is very expensive. Around RM5000.
tenno
post Oct 11 2010, 03:23 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Oct 11 2010, 12:12 PM)
i already ask Ace Sporting & Fitness, they said no stock for bowflex SelectTech 221. but the price is very expensive. Around RM5000.
Hahah... U could get a multistation plus a weight bench for that price.... ridiculous doh.gif
dzqwr
post Oct 12 2010, 11:44 AM

75 posts

i found a great bargain! check http://www.mudah.my/Bowflex+Adjustable+Dumbell-7336631.htm
mikehuan
post Oct 12 2010, 05:30 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Oct 12 2010, 11:44 AM)
wow, amazing looking piece of gear!
tenno
post Oct 13 2010, 12:46 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Oct 12 2010, 11:44 AM)
Now.. this is indeed a bargain.. better grab quickly... rclxms.gif

This thing got fake one ah ?
dzqwr
post Oct 13 2010, 12:57 PM

75 posts

I called the seller but no stock. Need to wait a month. Dunno about fake one. Maybe need to bring your own scale to verify whether the weight indeed the correct one. Haha
tenno
post Oct 13 2010, 01:44 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Oct 13 2010, 12:57 PM)
I called the seller but no stock. Need to wait a month. Dunno about fake one. Maybe need to bring your own scale to verify whether the weight indeed the correct one. Haha
Like that ok la... if the PM announces bonus for civil servants this Friday then these Bowflex is gonna be 1st in my to buy list !!!
bakry
post Oct 13 2010, 06:05 PM

385 posts

Wow, thats one fancy looking dumbell....really fancy
janson_kaniaz
post Oct 13 2010, 07:36 PM

6,955 posts

dunno man, i cant ask a rich man not to buy a mercedes if he has a money.
but a rm100 db can actually do the same trick.
i rather spend tat kind of money on gym fees tbh.
harris92
post Oct 13 2010, 07:51 PM

-
536 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 13 2010, 07:36 PM)
dunno man, i cant ask a rich man not to buy a mercedes if he has a money.
but a rm100 db can actually do the same trick.
i rather spend tat kind of money on gym fees tbh.
That's true in the sense that the functions are the same. But some people don't have the space to store all those weight plates, and there's also the slight hassle of dismantling the weights, and changing the weight plates whenever you wanna increase/decrease the weight.

But RM1000 for a dumbbell is just absurd in my opinion. Haha.
mikehuan
post Oct 13 2010, 08:49 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(harris92 @ Oct 13 2010, 07:51 PM)
That's true in the sense that the functions are the same. But some people don't have the space to store all those weight plates, and there's also the slight hassle of dismantling the weights, and changing the weight plates whenever you wanna increase/decrease the weight.

well, in defense, its SLIGHTLY more expensive compared to the normal db's according to the pricing given at the webbie, RM550 for 2 db's weighing 32.5kg's each. having those 2 db's + bench enough for the basic home gym so i think its quite worth it. plus, it really looks nice haha. Hmm i might consider getting it!

hope can cod though, if by delivery its gonna cost a bomb rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Oct 13 2010, 08:50 PM
harris92
post Oct 13 2010, 09:47 PM

-
536 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 13 2010, 08:49 PM)
well, in defense, its SLIGHTLY more expensive compared to the normal db's according to the pricing given at the webbie, RM550 for 2 db's weighing 32.5kg's each. having those 2 db's + bench enough for the basic home gym so i think its quite worth it. plus, it really looks nice haha. Hmm i might consider getting it!

hope can cod though, if by delivery its gonna cost a bomb  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Ahha, yeah. You have a point there. But I prefer having all the weight plates lying around, gives a real sense of a "complete" home gym. Well, that's just me. Haha!
tenno
post Oct 14 2010, 03:15 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(harris92 @ Oct 13 2010, 07:51 PM)

At a grand for a dumbbell, it's absurd. But if U can get the very same thing at RM550, thts a bargain.
maxximus
post Nov 13 2010, 12:51 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Oct 13 2010, 12:57 PM)
hi dzqwr, am looking to get the Bowflex 552 as well, it is almost a month liao, have u deal you seller?

I called the seller today, he told me the stock will be in in abt 2 weeks time.

dzqwr
post Nov 13 2010, 03:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(maxximus @ Nov 13 2010, 12:51 PM)
hi dzqwr, am looking to get the Bowflex 552 as well, it is almost a month liao, have u deal you seller?

I called the seller today, he told me the stock will be in in abt 2 weeks time.
he not yet call me. i maybe not buying it for now as i got rm60/month true fitness membership from a desperate member who transfer it to me.
maxximus
post Nov 14 2010, 01:36 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Nov 13 2010, 03:18 PM)
he not yet call me. i maybe not buying it for now as i got rm60/month true fitness membership from a desperate member who transfer it to me.
I will call him in two weeks time if he did not call me, hopefully it is good news. ok then, thanks

dzqwr
post Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(maxximus @ Nov 14 2010, 01:36 AM)
I will call him in two weeks time if he did not call me, hopefully it is good news.  ok then, thanks
so how? do u manage to buy from him? or he's just bluffing? the thing is so damn cheap.
maxximus
post Nov 29 2010, 12:23 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM)
so how? do u manage to buy from him? or he's just bluffing? the thing is so damn cheap.
I called him again last week, but he did not answer hmm.gif will try again this week, if no answer again, I guess no hope liao sad.gif
dzqwr
post Nov 29 2010, 12:28 PM

75 posts

i think he's not serious. the ads also has been pulled out.
maxximus
post Nov 29 2010, 12:37 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Nov 29 2010, 12:28 PM)
i think he's not serious. the ads also has been pulled out.
Ya, think so. I Call ACE at MV as well, the girl taken my number and said the PIC will call me, but already 1wk+ nobody call me.

Well, I think it is not easy to get it in MY. Nearest shd be at SG lor.
dzqwr
post Dec 11 2010, 05:17 PM

75 posts

Today, the seller at Mudah.my sms me. He said the stock is available now. He quote me RM700 including rack.
maxximus
post Dec 12 2010, 12:42 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Dec 11 2010, 05:17 PM)
Today, the seller at Mudah.my sms me. He said the stock is available now. He quote me RM700 including rack.
is it the same seller? I try to call him few time, but can't get him.

will try to call him again tmr.

so, are u getting a set?

bata
post Dec 12 2010, 01:44 AM

3,726 posts

if got many request i can try bring in tongue.gif
dzqwr
post Dec 12 2010, 06:35 AM

75 posts

I already joined a gym. So I'm not buying.
bata
post Dec 12 2010, 12:56 PM

3,726 posts

for long term that probably a wiser choice wink.gif

Chow
maxximus
post Dec 12 2010, 05:40 PM

210 posts

meet up with seller today and got my Bowflex SelectTech 552 dumbbell, cool stuffs and great price.

dzqwr
post Dec 12 2010, 05:41 PM

75 posts

How about the mechanisme? Is it solid & robust?
maxximus
post Dec 12 2010, 05:53 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Dec 12 2010, 05:41 PM)
How about the mechanisme? Is it solid & robust?
Yes, it is solid and robust.

When back home, read the user guide, there is a step by step guide to test the proper functioning of the patented locking mechanism, and I tested mine, everything in order and functioning well.... biggrin.gif

I would advice those who interested to buy, shd check and test the proper functioning of the locking mechanism on the spot by following the guide.

Btw, it comes with the Bowflex exercise guide DVD + the P90X program CD.

This post has been edited by maxximus: Dec 12 2010, 05:54 PM
dzqwr
post Dec 12 2010, 06:01 PM

75 posts

Did you ask him why so cheap?
maxximus
post Dec 12 2010, 06:17 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Dec 12 2010, 06:01 PM)
Did you ask him why so cheap?
Yes, I did ask him rolleyes.gif
chilskater
post Jan 21 2011, 07:43 PM

1,124 posts

pictures bro...i might want to buy this la..u buy with the seat?
maxximus
post Jan 21 2011, 08:01 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 21 2011, 07:43 PM)
pictures bro...i might want to buy this la..u buy with the seat?
will take some pic & post it up. No. I didn't buy the stand. But, it do come with a based.

dzqwr
post Jan 21 2011, 08:06 PM

75 posts

So far, how's the mechanisme? Still smooth to change the weight?
chilskater
post Jan 25 2011, 01:45 PM

1,124 posts

i want to buy la..wat's the maximum weight??i cant access to my email now..so u r satisfied customer?

maxximus
post Jan 25 2011, 02:06 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(dzqwr @ Jan 21 2011, 08:06 PM)
So far, how's the mechanisme? Still smooth to change the weight?
so far so good biggrin.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 25 2011, 01:45 PM)
i want to buy la..wat's the maximum weight??i cant access to my email now..so u r satisfied customer?
I bought the SelecTech 552 model, weight range from 5lbs (2.27kg) to 52.5lbs (23.9kg) in 15 selection steps.

Yes, I like it very much, as it is easier for me to change the weight just by turning the adjustment knob.

This post has been edited by maxximus: Jan 25 2011, 02:13 PM
chilskater
post Jan 29 2011, 04:05 PM

1,124 posts

i jz wait for the seller to give shipping cost...or shud i order it online?
maxximus
post Jan 29 2011, 10:48 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 29 2011, 04:05 PM)
i jz wait for the seller to give shipping cost...or shud i order it online?
where do u plan to buy from?
chilskater
post Jan 30 2011, 07:52 PM

1,124 posts

im still waiting from the seller to quote me the shipping price to Sarawak..
rocket_jet
post Jan 30 2011, 08:21 PM

Videogame connosieur
712 posts

QUOTE(davinarul @ Jun 30 2010, 09:44 AM)

Davin
Try contact Ganesh. He is a personal friend to my boss who has quite a few Bowlflex products in his bungalow
012 2220780. If you can't get hold of him, pm me your mobile contact. Will get boss to get him to call you
mikehuan
post Jan 30 2011, 09:49 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(rocket_jet @ Jan 30 2011, 08:21 PM)
Try contact Ganesh. He is a personal friend to my boss who has quite a few Bowlflex products in his bungalow
012 2220780. If you can't get hold of him, pm me your mobile contact. Will get boss to get him to call you
bro, i would be mad pissed if someone posted my phone number in a public forum. try the pm function dude.
pha88
post Feb 6 2011, 11:56 PM

58 posts

will bring in soon..
cost around rm1000++ for Bowflex SelectTech 552..

chilskater
post Feb 18 2011, 11:08 PM

1,124 posts

rocket_jet:brand news bowflex?i wanted to buy from mudah but cost is too expensive...

pha88:the price is not that expensive if u buy minimum 50set or more...
judeng1981
post Mar 2 2011, 12:37 AM

15 posts

try here

http://www.adpost.com/my?db=my_health_beau...ster=1288011552
chilskater
post Mar 4 2011, 12:15 AM

1,124 posts

i ask the person but the shipping cost too much...
echoz
post Mar 12 2011, 12:21 PM

168 posts

Thanks judeng1981 for the tip. I've COD with the seller just now and it's a darn good deal. He still have 2 units left. Grab it now fellas!
chilskater
post Mar 25 2011, 11:00 PM

1,124 posts

gud for u!!!...now let's workout
SUSizdyharz
post Mar 28 2011, 02:48 AM

469 posts

Hows d dumbells? Isnt it a bit bulky? I dont think it convenient at all.
napcrisis
post Jul 8 2011, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 25 2011, 01:45 PM)
Hi there,

i am selling this product in singapore. If interested please email me at gymatblog@gmail.com!
gicanktrl
post Mar 25 2012, 12:57 PM

Anyone selling this product yet?
gnsumas
post Mar 25 2012, 11:50 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(gicanktrl @ Mar 25 2012, 12:57 PM)
Anyone selling this product yet?
Don't buy it.

For the price, you can get a gym membership.

The Bowflex's weight measurements are way off past the 20lb mark, you can't drop it, and there are a lot of reported cases of the plates falling off after a few months of use.

tl;dr it's a piece of shit, don't buy it.

If someone brings in the Powerblock, however, those are worth considering for a home gym
cyberminator
post May 10 2013, 01:00 PM

18 posts

I have it.
Planning to sell it .....
Wanting to get the GYM set
=)

This post has been edited by cyberminator: May 10 2013, 01:00 PM
NGV22
post Jan 17 2021, 04:34 AM

614 posts

anyone selling this product?
The_Rock
post Mar 5 2021, 11:08 AM

451 posts

If you good enough, anything also can become dumbbell
Tong Gas
Milo Tin x 2 filled with cement and metal bar
mobc1990
post Oct 1 2021, 09:49 PM

83 posts

I got myself a pair of 1090 bowflex dumbbell knockoff for around Rm1100.Tbh,I been using it for 3 month and it break 2-3 times,minor break and now I am more experience using it I think it is quite good…but if got space better buy real solid dumbbell.
Would rate the dumbbell 8/10,as it goes up to 39kg one side which is more then enough for a newb like me ☺️☺️

This post has been edited by mobc1990: Oct 4 2021, 03:54 PM

0.0295sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:50 PM