NOKIA E72 v3, Firmware v54.005 released

ViRaViRa
post Aug 18 2010, 08:49 AM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Aug 17 2010, 05:14 PM)
can someone list out the detail comparison for BB9700 and E72?which 1 better?
I think for for function, E72 will be better.

Blackberry is good for email handling, chat, intergration. The rest like GPS, web browsing, apps etc is not satisfactory.

I was an ex E71 user. Now planning to sell off my Blackberry & get back to E72 sweat.gif
ViRaViRa
post Aug 18 2010, 08:54 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Aug 18 2010, 08:52 AM)
welcome home vira!
but btw, your bb casing damn chun, have the lamborghini feeling.. muahaha/.
Haha tongue.gif

BTW, any seller in garage sales, offering E72 Black Zitron for a good price? Any recommendation?
ViRaViRa
post Aug 18 2010, 12:25 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Aug 18 2010, 10:37 AM)
googled this up...

The BlackBerry Internet Service, or BIS, allows BlackBerry users to access the Internet and POP3/IMAP/Outlook Web Access email accounts without connecting through a BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES).[1] The service is usually provisioned through your mobile phone service provider, though Research In Motion (RIM) (BlackBerry's developer) actually runs the service.[2] This service uses RIM's proprietary push technology (in contrast with SyncML-based push technologies such as Funambol) to the BlackBerry devices over cellular carriers. BIS retrieves email from mail servers by polling a POP3 or IMAP server.
But the problem with that method is you will not receive your emails instantly. It takes a few minutes. I am having a same problem too with my company email.

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Aug 18 2010, 10:38 AM)
And you must pay certain amount every month in order to use the service
If you are using the method above, you only need to pay for BIS service. BES not required.
ViRaViRa
post Aug 18 2010, 03:45 PM

4,625 posts

E72 default theme seems to be a lot nicer to me. Maybe because I am bored of Blackberry laugh.gif
ViRaViRa
post Aug 18 2010, 09:14 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:51 PM)
You change from BB Bolt to E72?
Not yet lor, but I will be buying E72 soon. Just looking for a good offer from dealers in garage sales smile.gif

QUOTE(chittyserv @ Aug 18 2010, 04:48 PM)
3210 can do all that meh.. then E72 can do what extra?

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone2=2963 ????
Relax bro sweat.gif
ViRaViRa
post Oct 24 2010, 02:16 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Oct 18 2010, 01:24 PM)
Hello guys
Digi user here.
Unable to subscribe the RM 3 per month Window Live service by my phone
anyone face this problem ?
That feature is not supported in this phone bro. It is used for normal handphones which doesn't have proper email/chat system.
ViRaViRa
post Dec 19 2010, 10:26 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(dugung76 @ Dec 19 2010, 06:33 PM)
I'm not sure if this question has been asked yet, I hope you guys can help me.  I can't help but seeing some of the E72 keypad has Thai character on it.. is that ori?

Thanks in advance smile.gif
Nop, those with Thai character on keyboard are ap sets.

By the way, I just got myself a Nokia E72 (after such a long time wanting to buy it). I am very much happy, especially with the battery life. biggrin.gif
ViRaViRa
post Dec 23 2010, 09:35 PM

4,625 posts

I have tried both Nokia E72 and Blackberry Bold 2. I decided to go for E72. Reasons :
1) Functionality - has more features
2) Can connect to 'push' email, chat etc even with a WiFi connection.
3) Even if I subscribe to data plan, it is cheaper than BIS
4) Nokia E72 is about RM350 cheaper than Bold 2

I still like Blackberry for some reasons, as below :
1) stable
2) excellent messenger - with IM, Twitter, Facebook etc (E72 has too but chat disconnects often and Twitter/Facebook sucks to the max).
ViRaViRa
post Dec 24 2010, 12:45 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(krfan @ Dec 23 2010, 10:34 PM)
As for multitasking, personally, i do no like multitasking, fearing that i might forget to finish a task i was doing before. I have this habit of finishing one thing before i start the next thing...so this is prolly why i'm slow at doing things (like clearing my room takes me more than 1 month LOL). So i think the ram issue won't be a prob, hehe.

Anyways, anyone knows a decent price i should be paying for this phone? I want to buy an original set. Btw, original refers to avaxx or zitron right?
Yup, original refers to Zitron or Avaxx. Arista is also ori @ authorised dealer but I believe they don't distribute Nokia E72.

Price should be about RM1010 to RM1060 for ori set. White colour is about RM70 - RM100 more expensive.
ViRaViRa
post Dec 26 2010, 01:15 AM

4,625 posts

Any solution to the email notification problem? Damn, this phone is worse than nokia e71 when it comes to multiple email notification.
ViRaViRa
post Jan 13 2011, 02:07 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(mahz @ Jan 13 2011, 02:04 AM)
Hey guys, I recently sent my e72 to have its LCD replaced and when I got it back, its just like a brand new phone =).

Only thing is, the envelope icon (sms) keeps on flashing even though theres nothing in my inbox. Also how do I remove the annoying 'set up communicator' thing? Thanks.
What happened to your LCD? Dead pixel?
ViRaViRa
post Jan 23 2011, 11:31 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Jan 21 2011, 02:01 PM)
I bought from a forumner here. Zitron set, everything come nicely.
I haven't heard of any E73. But recently, there is a rumour saying E6-00 is coming out, a keyboard phone with VGA resolution screen. Looking forward to that though... rclxms.gif
Nokia E73 was out long time ago but it is only for selected region as it uses different band.
ViRaViRa
post Jan 26 2011, 02:32 AM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(0liver88 @ Jan 24 2011, 04:23 PM)
I see, so that means I no need to wait for E73. Probably will be getting this phone after CNY.  I don't like touch screen and I don't mind camera much, I like to use my phone to check mail and surf internet including social networking sites, is this a recommended phone for me? blush.gif
If email is EXTREMELY important for you, then I suggest you not to use this phone. Push email doesn't work well. The only option is to set it for every 5 minutes retrieval etc.

Others should be ok.
ViRaViRa
post Jan 26 2011, 12:31 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jan 26 2011, 08:34 AM)
Get the latest beta Nokia Email client, should be ok.

Anyway, if miss answering an email within 2 second of receiving it is going to kill you, you would have used a BlackBerry already.
Nokia Email client? Any idea on where do I get if from? Ovi store?
ViRaViRa
post Jun 29 2011, 01:38 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(altie @ Jun 29 2011, 12:10 AM)
Hi Johnny, *#7370# is only a soft reset. If you really want to hard reset (format everything back to factory settings), you'll need to press Green Call Key + * key + 3 key. Not too sure on the combo, but that's from my creaky memory in my head. Try Googling hard reset E72.

As for the root cause of why you're connecting to the net, I can only think that you may have received MMS? Or ur GPS could be trying to connect?
*#7780# should be the soft reset & *#7370# will be the hard reset if I am not mistaken.

I don't see a difference between *#7370# and *+3+call method when I tried sweat.gif

0.0216sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:38 AM