Working in Philippines

TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 03:31 PM, updated 16y ago

i get an offer work as customer service at makati philippine...
they offer me 1300 sgd plus 100 sgd air ticket allowance monthly...
they will provide d accommodation but sharing basis...
is it worth to work there???

This post has been edited by sfeisann: Jun 28 2010, 03:32 PM
faceless
post Jun 28 2010, 04:52 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Makati is the central business district of Phillipine. Standard of living there is comparable to KL. Personally for 1300sgd, I will not work so far away from home.
TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 04:53 PM

is it enough to cover the expenses there?
normally one meal cost how much?
cks2k2
post Jun 28 2010, 05:10 PM

1,966 posts

Not sure why they're willing to offer you SGD1300, when locals with degrees have starting salary of around SGD500-600 or so (IIRC, considered high for them).
Anyway, I'd pass. According to my ex-colleague in the Phillipines, you have to deal with:

1. Traffic jams. Not the 1 hour KL type, but few hours daily.
2. Crime.

TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 05:17 PM

they will provide transport but according from them, accommodation will be near the working place... normally walking distance...
so can cover d expenses according with the salary they provided?
Vengeance_Mad
post Jun 29 2010, 02:15 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

You can try if you're not homesick type of ppl.
At least something to put in your resume next time.
faceless
post Jun 29 2010, 03:31 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

As said prevously standard is comparable to KL. Some things cost more others less. If you want to live an austre life you can save but dont expect much. It is not Japan or other place people go to "jump aeroplance".
abbychan87
post Jun 29 2010, 03:54 PM

382 posts

not worth, unless u like philippine so much, then u can enjoy working there, if not, better think twice
Jinx-Z
post Jun 29 2010, 04:56 PM

116 posts

with 1.3k sgd, why dun u go to work at sg...nearer and the pay higher even without qualification

This post has been edited by Jinx-Z: Jun 29 2010, 04:56 PM
whack !
post Jul 2 2010, 06:06 PM

267 posts

I was in Makati for about 2 months for work assignment...is ur company Mansion88 or something located at PBCom Tower? coz there's alot of call center there and always see malaysia speaking hokkien in the lift...

Actually Makati is quite safe compared with kl but the cost of living there is quite high...one day usually cost me bout 30-40 for my meals...the traffic is bad but usually i walk back to hotel from office so no problem for me...

I think once ur at makati u won like it alot but slowly u'll get to like it...but ur pay seems abit low to go all d way to Makati
wlcling
post Jul 2 2010, 06:17 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

still young, can go try man... biggrin.gif philipines many call centres & positions available... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

but u have to get used to their culture... biggrin.gif
bysquashy
post Jul 2 2010, 08:55 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

I've worked in Makati for awhile albeit not in Call Center. The food in Makati is expensive. Normal meals in food court would cost about RM10.

The service industry is cheap there as they have plenty of cheap labor lying around. A facial would cost about RM40 and a full body massage for 1hr is about RM20 (without tips). Perfect for girls!

SGD1.3 is not worth it, my allowance when I was there is already USD1200 per month and I was put up in a hotel.
BabyMilo_85
post Jul 3 2010, 10:07 AM

46 posts

license bookie a lot in Philippine^^
SUSHidan
post Jul 3 2010, 10:54 AM

330 posts

Wow, now Msia have to go to Filipins for work. sad.gif
wlcling
post Jul 3 2010, 12:42 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Hidan @ Jul 3 2010, 10:54 AM)
Wow, now Msia have to go to Filipins for work. sad.gif
lol damn funny thumbup.gif
abc2005
post Jul 3 2010, 12:57 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

SG1300 is just too low to work overseas unless u are totally fresh and cannot find work locally.
Even a clerk in Sing can get more than that.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 3 2010, 01:37 PM

5,366 posts

but think of u have to go that far distance but merely work as CSO

isn't that u can still find plenty of these same jobs locally, which roughly have the same pay?
yngwie
post Jul 3 2010, 01:51 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 3 2010, 01:37 PM)
but think of u have to go that far distance but merely work as CSO

isn't that u can still find plenty of these same jobs locally, which roughly have the same pay?
exactly!
astro cso pay is more than 2k a month. plus the comfort of being at home.
tsr /tmr easily earn more than 3k! depending on performance.

QUOTE(sfeisann @ Jun 28 2010, 05:17 PM)
they will provide transport but according from them, accommodation will be near the working place... normally walking distance...
so can cover d expenses according with the salary they provided?
provided that you can made it without being worry of the surrounding sweat.gif
there is no place like...home!
hsi3nrhu
post Jul 3 2010, 03:56 PM

43 posts

tax will kill u
jhay143pee
post Jul 3 2010, 08:23 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(sfeisann @ Jun 28 2010, 03:31 PM)
i guess the offer is normal, working in makati will have you this rate, well how long is the contract. if its 1 - 3 months i think its good, but if for 1 year, heheh, you better think twice. heheh. by the way im a filipino. a lot of filipinos are here in KL having a good work, because opportunity in the phili is a lil bit bad, heheh,
freetoearn
post Jul 4 2010, 01:52 AM

Makati is one of the best cities in the Philippines. If you don't want to spend too much on food then cook and bring it to your office. If your accommodation is near your workplace then walk. It will be good exercise for you.
TSsfeisann
post Jul 4 2010, 06:06 PM

i had confirm with them n waiting for my air ticket now wo ...
anywhere thanks for d suggestions n advice ...
just treat it as a new experience for my life ...
good luck for me ^^
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 4 2010, 06:55 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Nice.
All da best and good luck!

whack !
post Jul 5 2010, 12:03 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jul 2 2010, 08:55 PM)
I've worked in Makati for awhile albeit not in Call Center. The food in Makati is expensive. Normal meals in food court would cost about RM10.

The service industry is cheap there as they have plenty of cheap labor lying around. A facial would cost about RM40 and a full body massage for 1hr is about RM20 (without tips). Perfect for girls!

SGD1.3 is not worth it, my allowance when I was there is already USD1200 per month and I was put up in a hotel.
bysquashy, u work for a certain telecommunication vendor?

MoneyChaser
post Jul 5 2010, 12:23 PM

386 posts

Well i been Makati Philippines b4 , Indeed i would say the cost of living isn't that cheap for phillipines standards. FOOD is Really Expensive , for some reason . Average decent meal at a normal restaurant is around 200 to 300 Pesos. McDonald Meals are around 160 Pesos , Taxi Ride around Makati is ard 50 to 100p

Well Makati is the business district in manila , basically similar to Malaysia lotsa Call centers & IT Service Hubs , HSBC, Accenture, IBM, are all there , basically exploiting the cheap labor.

The Cyberjaya of Makati is called " Bonifacio Global City "

RM 1 = 13.50 Pesos.
RM75 = 1000 Pesos.

A local Graduate in IT in Philippines earns around 33,000 Pesos a month. 2 Room Apartment Rental in Makati - Bonifacio is around 40K to 60K pesos a month.
adam1190
post Aug 14 2015, 08:54 PM

Lowyat Regular
2,116 posts

[quote=sfeisann,Jun 28 2010, 03:31 PM]

[/quotes

So how was life in makati?
kawa_e
post Jan 26 2016, 08:17 PM

383 posts

Have a fren soon will go to Philipines to work. She said in Malaysia she can't get a decent job, with decent pay. Her saving isn't much due to some debts she has to repay monthly. She has worked as hr > purchaser > travel agent. She received an offer letter to work in a USA/Malaysia based company in Philipines recently as a human resource officer with basic usd900. The accommodation and food are covered by the company. As far as I am concerned she didn't really do a research well the pro and cons of working in another country. I did a bit of research through philfaqs.com (a good blog for those who wish to work in Philipines) and well the blogger did provide some useful info.
Usd900 may seem like a great amount when converted to myr however when it comes to using it in Philipines will it be as good?

This post has been edited by kawa_e: Jan 26 2016, 09:13 PM
yuen300
post Jan 26 2016, 09:07 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 26 2016, 09:17 PM)
Have a fren soon will go to Philipines to work. She said in Malaysia she can't get a decent job, with decent pay. Her saving isn't  much due to some debts she has to repay monthly. She has worked as hr > purchaser > travel agent. She received an offer letter to work in a USA/Malaysia based company in Philipines recently as a human resource officer with basic usd900. The accommodation and food is covered by the company. As far as I am concerned she didn't really research well the pro and cons of working in another country. I did a bit of research through philfaqs.com (a good blog for those who wishes to work in Philipines) and well the blogger did provide some useful info.
Usd900 may seem like a great amount when converted to myr however when it comes to using it in Philipines will it be as good?
I was also get a offer to there.
After a bit of negiotiation, the price did reach about 1000USD.
Then, asked them to calculate how much I will be taxed.
The amount I have left with is a bit less than I expected.
kawa_e
post Jan 26 2016, 09:15 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:07 PM)
I was also get a offer to there.
After a bit of negiotiation, the price did reach about 1000USD.
Then, asked them to calculate how much I will be taxed.
The amount I have left with is a bit less than I expected.
Yes the tax. How many percentage of deduction ? ohmy.gif
yuen300
post Jan 26 2016, 09:18 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 26 2016, 10:15 PM)
Yes the tax. How many percentage of deduction ?  ohmy.gif
I just know after including the bonus, deduct the accommodation, I managed left with rm1k to survive.
Not including my transport and food expense.

kawa_e
post Jan 26 2016, 09:49 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:18 PM)
I just know after including the bonus, deduct the accommodation, I managed left with rm1k to survive.
Not including my transport and food expense.
I think ur package is a lil diff from my friend since she has her accomodation and food covered. But still, with tax deduction,etc, i think it would be roughly the same.

For your case, after all the deduction rm1k is quite a small amount >< i mean u need to really watch out on ur daily spending. Honestly not that worth since you are going so far from your home.
Belphegor
post Jan 27 2016, 08:57 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Got someone offered me too. USD1000 to go there. But the USD1000 I need to pay for room and dinner. Transport & lunch is covered though. I do not think it is a wise move for me eventhough I am not a home sick person. Is not justifiable for me to go to PH for only USD1000. Not to mention the contract bond that they offer too. It's at least 2 years & 6 months probation.
hirano
post Jan 27 2016, 09:10 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 27 2016, 08:57 AM)
Got someone offered me too. USD1000 to go there. But the USD1000 I need to pay for room and dinner. Transport & lunch is covered though. I do not think it is a wise move for me eventhough I am not a home sick person. Is not justifiable for me to go to PH for only USD1000. Not to mention the contract bond that they offer too. It's at least 2 years & 6 months probation.
I have been on business trip in cubao, metro manila. Suffice to say I would dislike to be there again. 2 weeks there was enough, I dont think I could stand for 2 years. Traffic was hell even at 6am. Food and expenses after currency conversion is just like malaysia to me.

knwong
post Jan 27 2016, 09:54 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 27 2016, 09:10 AM)
I have been on business trip in cubao, metro manila. Suffice to say I would dislike to be there again. 2 weeks there was enough, I dont think I could stand for 2 years. Traffic was hell even at 6am. Food and expenses after currency conversion is just like malaysia to me.
Cubao is like a slump area. Better don't walk there on your own. Only go when you have local friend accompanying. If you are not vigilant you may get kidnap. Makati instead is an organise place with international hotels, mega shopping malls spreading all over. You can choose to live there without even have to venture out from there as the developer has design the place to be self sustaining where you can do shopping, watching movie, see doctor, send your children to school within your vicinity.

To work in Manila to me the salary must be significantly higher than what you are getting in Malaysia because as a foreigner, you are an Alien Resident which requires you to pay close to 35% of you salary as income tax.
shazam7
post Jan 27 2016, 11:21 AM

263 posts

Wonder why ppl consider the Phils when SG is a much better option.
1. Lots of companies hv their Asia Pac HQ in SG, so work is more hi value than the Phils which is call centre and low end support
2. Cultural fit with MY, similar language, food etc
3. Tax is lower.
4. Can take bus to hometown. No need take plane.
MCthegodfather
post Jan 27 2016, 06:12 PM

I agree with some points that have been highlighted here.

Tax - income tax depends on annual income but the tax rates are higher (i.e. 32% for earning 44k MYR in PH vs. 25% for earning 84k MYR in MY). There aren't so much tax reliefs (here in MY, we can declare insurance, books, medical expenses, etc.)
Traffic Jam - If Malaysians are complaining already with KL traffic jam, I don't know if you can deal with Metro Manila's (equivalent to Klang Valley) traffic jam.
Food/Accommodation - You can better food/accommodation in MY for the same price.

It would be an enriching experience working in a different country and if it will help your career progress, then why not move? Just do a lot of research before you jump the boat though. All the best.

Belphegor
post Jan 27 2016, 06:44 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Jan 27 2016, 11:21 AM)
1. Lots of companies hv their Asia Pac HQ in SG, so work is more hi value than the Phils which is call centre and low end support
3. Tax is lower.
Because not many SG companies want to take Malaysians as they have foreigner quota to maintain.
yuen300
post Jan 27 2016, 08:06 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Jan 27 2016, 12:21 PM)
3. Tax is lower.
Well, go where there is job is.
But in the end, I choose Sg.

kawa_e
post Jan 28 2016, 12:22 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 27 2016, 08:57 AM)
Was curious why all the sudden so many get offered a job lately in Phil with the same salary USD1000.
Judging from all the feedback, it seems that working in Phil for a mere USD1000 isnt a worth with tax deduction (>30%)

Belphegor
post Jan 28 2016, 12:25 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 28 2016, 12:22 PM)
Was curious why all the sudden so many get offered a job lately in Phil with the same salary USD1000.
Judging from all the feedback, it seems that working in Phil for a mere USD1000 isnt a worth with tax deduction (>30%)
Definitely not enough. I was careless for not counting in the tax deduction. Luckily I did not accept the offer. I guess for Malaysia it's at least to be USD1500 to consider the offer as the living cost isn't any lower than KL as well.

Can give it a try on SG companies if there's any before considering PH.
knwong
post Jan 28 2016, 01:30 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 28 2016, 12:22 PM)
Jobs in Phil are booming especially the call centres (they use the term BPO - business process outsourcing there). It has been a booming trend for the past few years already. The government there have studied before that with each call agent job created, it generates 3 additional support jobs in the country.

The country is no oil producer, so with low crude oil pricing now - the operating cost in Phil is cheaper now

Many expatriates are also attracted to go there with base 6mil - 12mil peso per annum + perks for accomodation, driver, schooling (for kids).
kawa_e
post Jan 28 2016, 02:01 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 28 2016, 12:25 PM)
Definitely not enough. I was careless for not counting in the tax deduction. Luckily I did not accept the offer. I guess for Malaysia it's at least to be USD1500 to consider the offer as the living cost isn't any lower than KL as well.

Can give it a try on SG companies if there's any before considering PH.
Thanks for the info.
Yeah. I just checked the tax deduction in Phil. Alien gets a flat rate deduction of 25% from their income.
What's left only around usd650. But I heard some company will bear the tax deduction. Is that true ?

Belphegor
post Jan 28 2016, 02:20 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 28 2016, 01:30 PM)
Jobs in Phil are booming especially the call centres (they use the term BPO - business process outsourcing there). It has been a booming trend for the past few years already. The government there have studied before that with each call agent job created, it generates 3 additional support jobs in the country.

The country is no oil producer, so with low crude oil pricing now - the operating cost in Phil is cheaper now
Many expatriates are also attracted to go there with base 6mil - 12mil peso per annum + perks for accomodation, driver, schooling (for kids).
6-12million? That's MYR500k - MYR1million in conversion. You sure ah? O___o
knwong
post Jan 28 2016, 02:29 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 28 2016, 02:20 PM)
Yes. You can search expatriate forum that discuss this. Always use USD for expatriate package. RM no value. Pls also deduct income tax for nett pay
Belphegor
post Jan 28 2016, 02:37 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 28 2016, 02:29 PM)
Yes. You can search expatriate forum that discuss this. Always use USD for expatriate package. RM no value. Pls also deduct income tax for nett pay
Wow, I am interested if there's such salary. But too bad I am in marketing related field. Even I able to converse in Mandarin, don't think can go that high. That's the salary for other field?
kawa_e
post Jan 28 2016, 02:53 PM

383 posts

Should be some professional skills that Phil country is looking for ?
All docs, nurses gone to overseas and their own country is lacking of these professionals ? Correct me if I am wrong.
MCthegodfather
post Jan 28 2016, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 28 2016, 02:53 PM)
Should be some professional skills that Phil country is looking for ?
All docs, nurses gone to overseas and their own country is lacking of these professionals ? Correct me if I am wrong.
There are lots of doctors and nurses in PH. There is an oversupply to the extent that some nurses do "volunteer work" in hospital to gain experience so that they can put in resume when applying abroad. Worst case was they even pay some hospitals just to get in. PH has 100M people so I assure you there is no shortage. Aggressive hiring are call centers. A lot of expats though for MNC also.
kawa_e
post Jan 28 2016, 07:02 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(MCthegodfather @ Jan 28 2016, 04:02 PM)
There are lots of doctors and nurses in PH. There is an oversupply to the extent that some nurses do "volunteer work" in hospital to gain experience so that they can put in resume when applying abroad. Worst case was they even pay some hospitals just to get in. PH has 100M people so I assure you there is no shortage. Aggressive hiring are call centers. A lot of expats though for MNC also.
I see so its the other way round. Thanks for the info
Hmm just got some details bk from my fren. The company offering her is indeed a call center company. Her offer letter didnt mention any taxation and she said she wont be taxed. She will get nett pay. Seems weird..

This post has been edited by kawa_e: Jan 28 2016, 07:07 PM
knwong
post Jan 28 2016, 07:07 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 28 2016, 07:02 PM)
I see so its the other way round. Thanks for the info
Hmm just got some details bk from my fren. The company offering her is indeed a call center company. Her offer letter didnt mention any taxation and she said she wont be taxed. She will get nett pay.
That's because the company pay for her tax most likely
kawa_e
post Jan 28 2016, 07:24 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 28 2016, 07:07 PM)
That's because the company pay for her tax most likely
Good to hear that if thats true for my fren case. With accommodation + meal + tax covered. hows the career advancement for malaysian expat there ? Is qualification matters ?
wodenus
post Jan 28 2016, 07:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

You will be sleeping with people half your salary.
wodenus
post Jan 28 2016, 07:42 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jan 28 2016, 02:20 PM)
Yea that's why it's worth it.. but 1300sgd for you to sleep with some foreigners who make half your salary.. is asking for it.
kawa_e
post Jan 29 2016, 10:43 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 28 2016, 07:42 PM)
Yea that's why it's worth it.. but 1300sgd for you to sleep with some foreigners who make half your salary.. is asking for it.
blink.gif huh ? where u heard about this ?

This post has been edited by kawa_e: Jan 29 2016, 11:38 AM
Alexis Sanchez
post Jan 29 2016, 12:27 PM

590 posts

Near to Sabah
knwong
post Jan 29 2016, 12:32 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jan 29 2016, 10:43 AM)
blink.gif huh ? where u heard about this ?
Most jobs that offer accomodation provided, you will be put into rented apartment. Some are serviced apartment. Otherwise you have to treat your stay in that apartment like 'hostel' style - shared responsibility to maintain them.
kawa_e
post Jan 31 2016, 02:25 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 29 2016, 12:32 PM)
Most jobs that offer accomodation provided, you will be put into rented apartment. Some are serviced apartment. Otherwise you have to treat your stay in that apartment like 'hostel' style - shared responsibility to maintain them.
Cant really ask for what right since its free.
By the way on the taxation. The alien willbe taxed annually or monthly ?
kawa_e
post Feb 7 2016, 02:50 PM

383 posts

Just got news from my friend. Being offered as HR officer with 950usd. With fixed allowance and travel allowance. Free accomodation and 2 days meals. 27 days annual leave. Seems so good !
azmi77
post Feb 7 2016, 02:53 PM

291 posts

Makati is the only well developed area in manila. Other that that area, its trash.
kawa_e
post Feb 7 2016, 04:10 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(azmi77 @ Feb 7 2016, 02:53 PM)
Makati is the only well developed area in manila. Other that that area, its trash.
Fren got a job in aquoz solutions which is a usa based company in makati.
cvlai78
post Mar 27 2017, 04:48 PM

My company in Makati (Manila Business area) is looking for a few Java Developers... if you or your friend is interested, kindly contacts me for more information:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4239052

Calvin Lai
email: cvlai2000@gmail.com

Thanks smile.gif
kiasunkiasi
post Oct 22 2017, 02:39 AM

597 posts

most likely these Makati-based companies that offering job are engaging in online gaming business

it's up to you whether you are ok to work for such industry or not, and if not mistaken, some of them do cover tax, accommodation, and some food allowance; i.e. your offer is almost nett
Armageddon
post May 27 2018, 11:41 AM

156 posts

Anyone working in Makati now? Recently just came over. Any nice food place recommended?
cmah89
post May 27 2018, 03:52 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Armageddon @ May 27 2018, 11:41 AM)
Anyone working in Makati now? Recently just came over. Any nice food place recommended?
Me but I'm on project so sometimes away from Makati.

brownman90561495 another dude in Makati
brownman90561495
post May 27 2018, 08:00 PM

Sangkar Nikolai will touch your National Treasure!
963 posts

i would recommend a good number of places but let me drill it down for you:

Local food
1. Recipes - one of the best Filipino restaurants i've tried. not too all around as they do not offer much dessert.
2. Gerry's Grill - all about grilled food and booze. good recommendation if you're like having a long work week, you take your friends there on a Friday night before you start your weekend.
3. Bacolod Chicken Inasal - chicken inasal is their ace, but they also got other Filipino dishes there. and way more dessert choices (than Recipes)
4. Recovery Food - no branch located in Makati, but there's one in BGC, Taguig (adjacent city of Makati on its east side, just around 10-15 minute worth of normal traffic jam from Makati CBD). they have interesting variants of rice meals there, and you can actually significantly upsize your food serving.

Foreign food
1. Izakaya Kikufuji – Little Tokyo - i haven't eaten here but my gf keeps on bragging me about this place, and she has yet to treat me there.
2. Pho Hoa / My Thai - this is actually a merger. your go to place if you like Vietnamese food or Thai food (or better if both).
3. Hole in the Wall - never tried before, but read some rave reviews about the place (including one from a trusted friend). mostly western food, but also got a few asian food in their menu
4. North Park - if you like chinese food, then this should be on your list. honestly, their quality for me has dropped a bit, but i'd still recommend this.

Halal
PH is a mainly Roman Catholic country, so halal restaurants aren't really as common as non halals, but they shouldn't be hard to find in here. i don't have a personal list, but i quickly googled one for you:
https://www.tripadvisor.com.ph/Restaurants-...nila_Luzon.html
In this list, i was only able to try the food in Cafe Mediterranean. on my one time experience there (which was back in 2007 i think), i can remember i really enjoyed the food there.

actually there are a lot more to check out, and if you would like to check out places with strips of places to eat, here are some on the top of my head right now:
1. Greenbelt (1-5) - this place has a nice strip of mid to high end restaurants. i think the better ones are in Greenbelt 2 and 3.
2. SM (Mall of Asia) by the Bay - not in Makati, but in Pasay (adjacent city on its west side, around 20-30 minute worth of normal traffic jam from Makati CBD). got a wide choice of restaurants and bars by Manila Bay, including the famous buffet place called Vikings.
3. Burgos Circle (NOT STREET laugh.gif ) - this is in BGC, Taguig. this area has been growing to be the newer business district here in Metro Manila, so finding a place to eat or hang out or whatever in this area wouldn't be that hard

and of course, i wouldn't end this post without recommending Jollibee! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

anyhow, hope this helps! and by the way, if you are keen in meeting up, cmah89 and i can meet you up for makan or kopi or something. just let us know! smile.gif

chanmun
post May 27 2018, 08:49 PM

69 posts

hi guys, im in ph too. Working here about 1 months+
brownman90561495
post May 27 2018, 08:51 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(chanmun @ May 27 2018, 08:49 PM)
hi guys, im in ph too. Working here about 1 months+
Where are you here in ph? Lets meet up!
chanmun
post May 27 2018, 08:57 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ May 27 2018, 08:51 PM)
Where are you here in ph? Lets meet up!
im in makati here. Staying in oriental garden condo. how abt u
chanmun
post May 27 2018, 09:05 PM

69 posts

Hi there, i have been working in makati here for 1 month plus. I wonder any Malaysian working here too ? perhaps in the same industry i guess biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
jack2
post May 27 2018, 10:02 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(chanmun @ May 27 2018, 09:05 PM)
Hi there, i have been working in makati here for 1 month plus. I wonder any Malaysian working here too ? perhaps in the same industry i guess  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
wow.. Makati seems to be nice.
brownman90561495
post May 27 2018, 10:11 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(chanmun @ May 27 2018, 08:57 PM)
Sorry to be too forward awhile ago. I meant lets set up a date for a meet up (i cant tonight) smile.gif

Im actually a local here. Im from las pinas city (some 20kms south of makati), working in taguig (next city from makati). How i ended up here in LYN is quite a story haha
kembayang
post May 28 2018, 09:57 AM

1,441 posts

I'm in consideration. But need some help here.

1.May i know what currency you are paid into your bank account?
2.How do you do the money transfer from PH to MY?
3.How are the charges for the transfer fee?
4.I am offered with 22 days annual leave without public holiday. Is it usual? Can you share yours?

cmah89
post May 28 2018, 10:10 AM

157 posts

my work n condo along V.A Rufino St
chanmun
post May 28 2018, 07:54 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ May 28 2018, 09:57 AM)
I'm in consideration. But need some help here.

1.May i know what currency you are paid into your bank account?
2.How do you do the money transfer from PH to MY?
3.How are the charges for the transfer fee?
4.I am offered with 22 days annual leave without public holiday. Is it usual? Can you share yours?
may i know what position u applied ?
kembayang
post May 28 2018, 07:56 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(chanmun @ May 28 2018, 07:54 PM)
may i know what position u applied ?
IT. Why?
chanmun
post May 28 2018, 08:00 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ May 28 2018, 07:56 PM)
IT. Why?
mine is 26 days A.L. how you found the job ? in jobstreet ?
kembayang
post May 28 2018, 08:00 PM

1,441 posts

How much is your monthly rental + utility bro?
chanmun
post May 28 2018, 08:01 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ May 28 2018, 08:00 PM)
How much is your monthly rental + utility bro?
It is provided by the company and meals too
kembayang
post May 28 2018, 08:02 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(chanmun @ May 28 2018, 08:00 PM)
mine is 26 days A.L. how you found the job ? in jobstreet ?
Nice, more than me. No Public holiday leaves?
They found me from dunno Jobstreet or Monster. I couldn't recall that.
Did you get your job from Jobstreet PH or MY?
chanmun
post May 28 2018, 08:03 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ May 28 2018, 08:02 PM)
Nice, more than me. No Public holiday leaves?
They found me from dunno Jobstreet or Monster. I couldn't recall that.
Did you get your job from Jobstreet PH or MY?
pm me to discuss about it
kembayang
post May 28 2018, 08:04 PM

1,441 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by kembayang: May 28 2018, 08:04 PM
Armageddon
post May 30 2018, 11:25 AM

156 posts

Bro, i'm working here too, for 3 weeks. Let PM me and arrange Malaysian gathering here in Makati!! Btw, i'm working in PBCom tower and staying at Nobel Plaza.
cmah89
post May 30 2018, 03:12 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Armageddon @ May 30 2018, 11:25 AM)
Bro, i'm working here too, for 3 weeks. Let PM me and arrange Malaysian gathering here in Makati!! Btw, i'm working in PBCom tower and staying at Nobel Plaza.
lol same working building.. hahahaha
Staying in Island Plaza, before this Villa in Bel-Air Village
Armageddon
post May 31 2018, 03:59 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ May 30 2018, 03:12 PM)
lol same working building.. hahahaha
Staying in Island Plaza, before this Villa in Bel-Air Village
which company your working? Maybe we're working in the same company tongue.gif
cmah89
post May 31 2018, 04:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Armageddon @ May 31 2018, 03:59 PM)
which company your working? Maybe we're working in the same company tongue.gif
middle section lift 23-36
Armageddon
post Jun 1 2018, 12:05 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(cmah89 @ May 31 2018, 04:06 PM)
middle section lift 23-36
i'm at the left section from main entrance, 3-22. LoL!!
peaceboy
post Jun 1 2018, 06:19 PM

Wow, I am in PBCom too. Haha. Third lift 37-53

How do you guys change your PHP to MYR.
edcyf
post Jun 11 2018, 12:47 AM

51 posts

In Makati

You can try these which suit our taste

1. Warung Indo
2. Garuda Restaurant
3. Bombay Restaurant
4. Banana Leaf
5. CCJF
6. Unitry
cmah89
post Jun 12 2018, 01:00 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Armageddon @ Jun 1 2018, 12:05 PM)
i'm at the left section from main entrance, 3-22. LoL!!
Haha... all different lift section

QUOTE(peaceboy @ Jun 1 2018, 06:19 PM)
Wow, I am in PBCom too. Haha. Third lift 37-53

How do you guys change your PHP to MYR.
I earn in USD

QUOTE(edcyf @ Jun 11 2018, 12:47 AM)
In Makati

You can try these which suit our taste

1. Warung Indo
2. Garuda Restaurant
3. Bombay Restaurant
4. Banana Leaf
5. CCJF
6. Unitry
cool...tq
hornyherb
post Jun 17 2018, 09:16 PM

hi, are you working in company name start with R。。。。
hirano
post Jul 5 2018, 08:31 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 27 2016, 09:10 AM)
After saying this last 2 years... I will be posted to Manila again for 2 months this year hahaha dem

Anybody know any low-mid range restaurants that can swipe AMEX card? Location makati.

This post has been edited by hirano: Jul 5 2018, 08:36 AM
peaceboy
post Jul 10 2018, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(hirano @ Jul 5 2018, 08:31 AM)
After saying this last 2 years... I will be posted to Manila again for 2 months this year hahaha dem

Anybody know any low-mid range restaurants that can swipe AMEX card? Location makati.
AMEX wasn't popular in Philippine. If you have time you can try Mendokoro Ramenba, their pork is good. Average Spend per person around 500 Peso (Expensive XD)
Note: peak hours will need to queue for 2 hours + for your food. smile.gif

peaceboy
post Jul 10 2018, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Jun 12 2018, 01:00 PM)
Haha... all different lift section
I earn in USD
cool...tq
O, so you get paid in USD ? Good for you, my company moved to php, they have to pay the additional 35% tax for us. XD
hirano
post Jul 10 2018, 08:07 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(peaceboy @ Jul 10 2018, 04:57 PM)
AMEX wasn't popular in Philippine. If you have time you can try Mendokoro Ramenba, their pork is good. Average Spend per person around 500 Peso (Expensive XD)
Note: peak hours will need to queue for 2 hours + for your food. smile.gif
Im a muslim. I dont need halal cert restaurant. Just pork-free is fine.
peaceboy
post Jul 11 2018, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(hirano @ Jul 10 2018, 08:07 PM)
Im a muslim. I dont need halal cert restaurant. Just pork-free is fine.
Wow, that must be hard for you to find food here. Most of the restaurant I tried doesnt accept Amex.

You may go "The Pantree" if you are looking for not so expensive & taste Ok food. (Normally I eat thai food there, budget around 200+-)

Inside Greenbelt 5 Level 3, there is one Toast Box (Singapore) if you are looking for Malaysian Food

You can download "Eatigo" app here too, it shows nearest restaurant with discount if you book with the app.

hitlerable
post Jul 11 2018, 11:34 AM

68 posts

Totally not worth it with kind that amount.
Work at SG much better, more salary.
cmah89
post Jul 11 2018, 11:42 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(peaceboy @ Jul 10 2018, 05:01 PM)
O, so you get paid in USD ? Good for you, my company moved to php, they have to pay the additional 35% tax for us. XD
Let me know if you need USD, we can do exchange... hahaha
hirano
post Jul 17 2018, 07:54 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(peaceboy @ Jul 11 2018, 11:27 AM)
Wow, that must be hard for you to find food here. Most of the restaurant I tried doesnt accept Amex.

You may go "The Pantree" if you are looking for not so expensive & taste Ok food. (Normally I eat thai food there, budget around 200+-)

Inside Greenbelt 5 Level 3, there is one Toast Box (Singapore) if you are looking for Malaysian Food

You can download "Eatigo" app here too, it shows nearest restaurant with discount if you book with the app.
Company requires me to swipe Amex, what to do haha.
If everyday eat toastbox, paisehhh
LovelyPotato
post Aug 6 2018, 05:40 PM

647 posts

I am currently working in KL earning 7k and I was being offered 120k PHP for a role in Manila. I personally thinking it's way too low for me to move from KL to Philippines to have a 30% bump on Malaysia pay and planning to reject my offer (for a regional manager position).

Is there any experienced expat have any comments on this offer? I highly believed that I am getting low-balled by the company.

Edit: I rejected the offer and they came back to me offering me 3800 USD 200k PHP. Got low-balled so hard initially. Still the new offer after tax the amount will be roughly 11k myr, I think I'll search again.

This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Aug 7 2018, 10:21 AM
quartre88
post Aug 8 2018, 08:40 AM

251 posts

after working here for 9 months, i finally tendered.

grass arent greener always on the other side lel.

that aside, anyone can recommend mandarin billingual job here?
open to the online cas job too, already tired working as white collar office job
Win Win Inspiration
post Aug 8 2018, 08:25 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Aug 6 2018, 05:40 PM)
I am currently working in KL earning 7k and I was being offered 120k PHP for a role in Manila. I personally thinking it's way too low for me to move from KL to Philippines to have a 30% bump on Malaysia pay and planning to reject my offer (for a regional manager position).

Is there any experienced expat have any comments on this offer? I highly believed that I am getting low-balled by the company.

Edit: I rejected the offer and they came back to me offering me 3800 USD 200k PHP. Got low-balled so hard initially. Still the new offer after tax the amount will be roughly 11k myr, I think I'll search again.
Is that an Asian company in the telecommunication industry?
LovelyPotato
post Aug 8 2018, 09:35 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Aug 8 2018, 08:25 PM)
Is that an Asian company in the telecommunication industry?
Nope, it's one of a startup from Rocket Internet
ragk
post Aug 9 2018, 11:16 AM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Aug 6 2018, 05:40 PM)

How abt allowance or accommodation? I often travel to Makati, food & rent price over there aren't joke. Research and take that into consideration
LovelyPotato
post Aug 9 2018, 06:31 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Aug 9 2018, 11:16 AM)
How abt allowance or accommodation? I often travel to Makati, food & rent price over there aren't joke. Research and take that into consideration
Nope, nothing included, not even tax. 200k PHP for everything. Lol, I've already rejected the offer.
peaceboy
post Sep 10 2018, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Aug 9 2018, 06:31 PM)
Nope, nothing included, not even tax. 200k PHP for everything. Lol, I've already rejected the offer.
For your reference, in case you bump in another offer again smile.gif

A nice studio cost around 32k php per month.
wifi 2k
electricity 2k
water normally less than 300
telco, I am using prepaid and charge 99php per weeks for 2gb data. so one month around 400

Food is the big challenge, if you are cost saving, food delivery cost you around 200 per meal. so 200 * 2* 30 = 12k. A good one cost you around 500php per meal.

So minimum expenses, around 48.7k per months. (If you get people to share accommodation will significantly save 18k)

Occasionally you want to reward yourself, fine dinning/ movie / other activities = 10k budget per months

so wala, 60k gone.
If you fly back frequently, more to pay.

The rest will go to pay your commitment in MY. And you can expect to lose 2% during conversion.

One more thing to notice, if your salary is fixed in PHP, php has depreciated 10% to MYR for the last 10 months i believe. So there is a risk of currency fluctuation too.
xbox360ps3
post Sep 10 2018, 11:14 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jul 17 2018, 07:54 AM)
Company requires me to swipe Amex, what to do haha.
If everyday eat toastbox, paisehhh
which part of makati? if you across buendia avenue, there are some halal restaurant. but they dont accept amex.

al batra
berjaya hotel
some restaurant along burgos road
pasha
hirano
post Sep 10 2018, 12:29 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(xbox360ps3 @ Sep 10 2018, 11:14 AM)
which part of makati? if you across buendia avenue, there are some halal restaurant. but they dont accept amex.

al batra
berjaya hotel
some restaurant along burgos road
pasha
In BGC Manila. In my 2nd month now here, basically i know places where to swipe Amex already lol
xbox360ps3
post Sep 10 2018, 10:12 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Sep 10 2018, 12:29 PM)
In BGC Manila. In my 2nd month now here, basically i know places where to swipe Amex already lol
since in you in bgc and if you havent figured out yet, can try persian grill on 2nd avenue and new bombay on 32nd street. those 2 halal restaurant can pay using credit card but amex not sure....

any other halal restaurant that you found in bgc, please let me know, beside the 2 that i mentioned and halal guys
hirano
post Sep 11 2018, 12:23 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(xbox360ps3 @ Sep 10 2018, 10:12 PM)
since in you in bgc and if you havent figured out yet, can try persian grill on 2nd avenue and new bombay on 32nd street. those 2 halal restaurant can pay using credit card but amex not sure....

any other halal restaurant that you found in bgc, please let me know, beside the 2 that i mentioned and halal guys
Hossain at High Street is halal one. Ok for amex. Bombay too.

I'm being flexi, if I go to other restaurants, I'll opt for their seafood instead.
Paul2808
post Sep 29 2018, 06:51 PM

Hi. Just got an offer that salary is about 6k to 7k myr excluded tax. So this is the amount that I will be paid according to the company. Accommodation provided, food allowance provided, and I have driver to bring to work place. Annual leave 30 days. Is it worth to work there ? I'm worry about life in Philippines after all I've never been far from my family
you90
post Sep 29 2018, 08:08 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(Paul2808 @ Sep 29 2018, 06:51 PM)
Hi. Just got an offer that salary is about 6k to 7k myr excluded tax. So this is the amount that I will be paid according to the company. Accommodation provided, food allowance provided, and I have driver to bring to work place. Annual leave 30 days. Is it worth to work there ? I'm worry about life in Philippines after all I've never been far from my family
which company? In what field?

I was approached also by a HR from a phillipine's online gaming company.
Paul2808
post Sep 29 2018, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 29 2018, 08:08 PM)

It's a bpo. Online marketing and customer support. Does it worth it ?
you90
post Sep 30 2018, 08:54 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(Paul2808 @ Sep 29 2018, 10:29 PM)
It's a bpo. Online marketing and customer support. Does it worth it ?
pretty much depend on how u see the worthiness.

what is ur main intention to relocate to Makati? as yourself this first.

BPO for an online gaming industry, most likely ha?
Paul2808
post Sep 30 2018, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 30 2018, 08:54 PM)
pretty much depend on how u see the worthiness.

what is ur main intention to relocate to Makati? as yourself this first.

BPO for an online gaming industry, most likely ha?
Well firstly of course is the salary they offered. Haha. Secondly to explore other country and thirdly to know more people from other countries.

The company seems offer great package. But I'm still thinking. How long have you been working there ?
cmah89
post Oct 1 2018, 02:27 PM

157 posts

Whats the company name first Letter?

QUOTE(you90 @ Sep 29 2018, 08:08 PM)

hahahahah

QUOTE(Paul2808 @ Sep 30 2018, 11:18 PM)
Well firstly of course is the salary they offered. Haha. Secondly to explore other country and thirdly to know more people from other countries.

The company seems offer great package. But I'm still thinking. How long have you been working there ?
I'm still here after 7 months, promoted 2 tier up
AvenueX
post Oct 1 2018, 02:41 PM

241 posts

Go for it man, think of it as a stepping stone to bigger things.
Paul2808
post Oct 1 2018, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Oct 1 2018, 02:41 PM)
Go for it man, think of it as a stepping stone to bigger things.
Seriously. If it is good and worth it then I would love to give it a try. Thanks:)
Paul2808
post Oct 1 2018, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Oct 1 2018, 02:27 PM)
Whats the company name first Letter?
hahahahah
I'm still here after 7 months, promoted 2 tier up
Nice. Did you earn a lot within this 7 months ? I mean apart from living expenses do you manage to save money ?
cmah89
post Oct 1 2018, 05:22 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Paul2808 @ Oct 1 2018, 04:21 PM)
Nice. Did you earn a lot within this 7 months ? I mean apart from living expenses do you manage to save money ?
of coz. lol
Paul2808
post Oct 2 2018, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Oct 1 2018, 05:22 PM)
of coz. lol
How's life working in bpo company ? Do you like it ?
cmah89
post Oct 2 2018, 10:48 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Paul2808 @ Oct 2 2018, 12:18 AM)
How's life working in bpo company ? Do you like it ?
well, to be frank. IDGAF about it and do my role since doesnt really involve in what they do as long i deliver my task/projects. hahahaha
jonrwg
post Nov 3 2018, 07:21 PM

1,353 posts

Hi peeps, any suggestions for apartment renting in Makati? My office is in circuit. smile.gif
cmah89
post Nov 13 2018, 02:58 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Nov 3 2018, 07:21 PM)
Hi peeps, any suggestions for apartment renting in Makati? My office is in circuit. smile.gif
Prices depends on location, if you're at makati circuit area how about mandaluyong. There is cheap
kylaaquino
post Mar 12 2020, 04:59 PM

Are you job hunting and looking for the best job.. Ambitious workers are always looking for a great career. Apply now | Jobaxy

0.0555sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:47 AM