7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Philippines

TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 03:31 PM, updated 16y ago

i get an offer work as customer service at makati philippine...
they offer me 1300 sgd plus 100 sgd air ticket allowance monthly...
they will provide d accommodation but sharing basis...
is it worth to work there???

This post has been edited by sfeisann: Jun 28 2010, 03:32 PM
faceless
post Jun 28 2010, 04:52 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Makati is the central business district of Phillipine. Standard of living there is comparable to KL. Personally for 1300sgd, I will not work so far away from home.
TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 04:53 PM

is it enough to cover the expenses there?
normally one meal cost how much?
cks2k2
post Jun 28 2010, 05:10 PM

1,966 posts

Not sure why they're willing to offer you SGD1300, when locals with degrees have starting salary of around SGD500-600 or so (IIRC, considered high for them).
Anyway, I'd pass. According to my ex-colleague in the Phillipines, you have to deal with:

1. Traffic jams. Not the 1 hour KL type, but few hours daily.
2. Crime.

TSsfeisann
post Jun 28 2010, 05:17 PM

they will provide transport but according from them, accommodation will be near the working place... normally walking distance...
so can cover d expenses according with the salary they provided?
Vengeance_Mad
post Jun 29 2010, 02:15 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

You can try if you're not homesick type of ppl.
At least something to put in your resume next time.
faceless
post Jun 29 2010, 03:31 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

As said prevously standard is comparable to KL. Some things cost more others less. If you want to live an austre life you can save but dont expect much. It is not Japan or other place people go to "jump aeroplance".
abbychan87
post Jun 29 2010, 03:54 PM

382 posts

not worth, unless u like philippine so much, then u can enjoy working there, if not, better think twice
Jinx-Z
post Jun 29 2010, 04:56 PM

116 posts

with 1.3k sgd, why dun u go to work at sg...nearer and the pay higher even without qualification

This post has been edited by Jinx-Z: Jun 29 2010, 04:56 PM
whack !
post Jul 2 2010, 06:06 PM

267 posts

I was in Makati for about 2 months for work assignment...is ur company Mansion88 or something located at PBCom Tower? coz there's alot of call center there and always see malaysia speaking hokkien in the lift...

Actually Makati is quite safe compared with kl but the cost of living there is quite high...one day usually cost me bout 30-40 for my meals...the traffic is bad but usually i walk back to hotel from office so no problem for me...

I think once ur at makati u won like it alot but slowly u'll get to like it...but ur pay seems abit low to go all d way to Makati
wlcling
post Jul 2 2010, 06:17 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

still young, can go try man... biggrin.gif philipines many call centres & positions available... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

but u have to get used to their culture... biggrin.gif
bysquashy
post Jul 2 2010, 08:55 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

I've worked in Makati for awhile albeit not in Call Center. The food in Makati is expensive. Normal meals in food court would cost about RM10.

The service industry is cheap there as they have plenty of cheap labor lying around. A facial would cost about RM40 and a full body massage for 1hr is about RM20 (without tips). Perfect for girls!

SGD1.3 is not worth it, my allowance when I was there is already USD1200 per month and I was put up in a hotel.
BabyMilo_85
post Jul 3 2010, 10:07 AM

46 posts

license bookie a lot in Philippine^^
SUSHidan
post Jul 3 2010, 10:54 AM

330 posts

Wow, now Msia have to go to Filipins for work. sad.gif
wlcling
post Jul 3 2010, 12:42 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Hidan @ Jul 3 2010, 10:54 AM)
Wow, now Msia have to go to Filipins for work. sad.gif
lol damn funny thumbup.gif
abc2005
post Jul 3 2010, 12:57 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

SG1300 is just too low to work overseas unless u are totally fresh and cannot find work locally.
Even a clerk in Sing can get more than that.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 3 2010, 01:37 PM

5,366 posts

but think of u have to go that far distance but merely work as CSO

isn't that u can still find plenty of these same jobs locally, which roughly have the same pay?
yngwie
post Jul 3 2010, 01:51 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 3 2010, 01:37 PM)
but think of u have to go that far distance but merely work as CSO

isn't that u can still find plenty of these same jobs locally, which roughly have the same pay?
exactly!
astro cso pay is more than 2k a month. plus the comfort of being at home.
tsr /tmr easily earn more than 3k! depending on performance.

QUOTE(sfeisann @ Jun 28 2010, 05:17 PM)
they will provide transport but according from them, accommodation will be near the working place... normally walking distance...
so can cover d expenses according with the salary they provided?
provided that you can made it without being worry of the surrounding sweat.gif
there is no place like...home!
hsi3nrhu
post Jul 3 2010, 03:56 PM

43 posts

tax will kill u
jhay143pee
post Jul 3 2010, 08:23 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(sfeisann @ Jun 28 2010, 03:31 PM)
i get an offer work as customer service at makati philippine...
they offer me 1300 sgd plus 100 sgd air ticket allowance monthly...
they will provide d accommodation but sharing basis...
is it worth to work there???
i guess the offer is normal, working in makati will have you this rate, well how long is the contract. if its 1 - 3 months i think its good, but if for 1 year, heheh, you better think twice. heheh. by the way im a filipino. a lot of filipinos are here in KL having a good work, because opportunity in the phili is a lil bit bad, heheh,

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3670sec    2.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:29 PM