LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V22, For all those SagaIswara Enthusiast

cadmus
post Jan 12 2011, 02:45 PM

too long...
1,132 posts

Hi All,

I currently driving the proton saga Iswara 2007( orange color model).

3 weeks ago, i had some issue when i drove my car. It jerks terribly when it hits 3000rpm at 2nd gear. Since its near the time for me to do my periodic maintenance, i send for maintenance. During the check up, the mechanics found out that its time to change my spark plug as it's filled with carbons deposit. At the same time, i also change the cable for the spark plug and did some maintenance here and there.

Then the mechanic asked me, what petrol i'm using. I told him I'm using Ron95 with some adjustment to the timing. He told me that my car, according to the manual, it is suppose to run on Ron 97. And when i change to Ron 95, the maintenance cost over long period will be higher as the Ron95 will effects my car performance and conditions (i think he is talking about Ron 95 is not good for the engine etc..).

He suggested i changed back to Ron 97. I did do that but the petrol price recently jsut hike up again.

So, my question is that, 1)Does using ron 95 really that bad for the engine?

I'm not sure how to compare the cost wise for different grade of fuel but basicly, 2) is it true when he says the maintenance cost will be higher and its much more worthwhile to pay for the higher fuel cost for Ron97?

Appreciate your comments.
cadmus
post Jan 12 2011, 03:44 PM

too long...
1,132 posts

QUOTE(GuestX8 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:14 PM)

Hope this reference can answer your question. 

http://paultan.org/2009/05/14/can-proton-c...n95-grade-fuel/
THanks. I've read the website earlier when i changed to ron 95 last year. It just that since i got this problem and the comments from the mechanics, i wasn't so convinced with the article from paultan anymore for this matter.

That's why i'm wish to gather some advice/comments from anyone else here whether they had experienced this during their maintenance and can advice based on their experience.

cadmus
post Jan 13 2011, 11:07 AM

too long...
1,132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 12 2011, 05:35 PM)
can use ron95 laa.. ur mechanic sinkalan u... retard ur ignition timing a little bit more... change new sparkplugs... should be no problem... make sure ur engine din makan engine oil can adi...
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Jan 12 2011, 05:53 PM)
another sin ka lan forman  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
mine 91 saga out of tune carb and untouch timing since left production line and have must use ron 97 sticker at the fuel cap olso can run 95 and sommore 92 before but got little pinging if uphill and hot day la
QUOTE(GMS FearLess @ Jan 12 2011, 10:07 PM)
haha......use engine power to slowing the car.......that i calling engine retarder...... biggrin.gif

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:20 pm
im use ron95 no hal......bring 9 include me in the car up hill and the acceleration is good.......4G15 summore............
T_T sudah pump 3 times full tank for Ron 97. i guess i will change back.

Anyway, in that case, is the process below proper?
1)pump Full tank Ron95 when low fuel and the fuel light is blinking
2)Use the car for a few days.
3)Go for tuning the ignition timing.

On a side note, i was searching for the fuel consumption (KM/Litre) on Ron95 vs Ron97 for this iswara. Didn't manage to find yet. Any help on this?

Thanks a lot~!
cadmus
post Jan 13 2011, 11:45 AM

too long...
1,132 posts

QUOTE(yewwing @ Jan 13 2011, 11:32 AM)
wow u are using Ron 97 all these while  shocking.gif u are a rich kid aren't u...hahaha

yup use Ron95 for a while first and then only go for the tuning  nod.gif
T_T Nope. I was con into changing back to Ron97 about 3 to 4 weeks ago by my mechanic. lol

Ok ok. Guess that is good to change.

My fren told me to pump the petrol 2 times full tank before go for tuning. This is to really reduce the Ron97 quantity for tuning.

0.0433sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:06 AM