Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> about BES and BIS

views
     
TSclayton-chew
post Jun 26 2010, 01:44 PM, updated 9y ago

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 429

Joined: Sep 2008
I'm on unlimited data plan from Celcom.. what i'm lacking is the BIS/BES plan..

Everyone know that BIS is required to access Internet, receive emails, etc on blackberry..

What if I ask my dad to activate BES for me from his company, will I still need to pay any fee from telco?

This post has been edited by clayton-chew: Jun 26 2010, 01:44 PM
sleepwalker
post Jun 28 2010, 11:41 AM

Need sleep....
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 5,364

Joined: Jan 2003
From: the lack of sleep


QUOTE(clayton-chew @ Jun 26 2010, 01:44 PM)
I'm on unlimited data plan from Celcom.. what i'm lacking is the BIS/BES plan..

Everyone know that BIS is required to access Internet, receive emails, etc on blackberry..

What if I ask my dad to activate BES for me from his company, will I still need to pay any fee from telco?
*
BIS and BES connection services are provided by the Telco. You have to remember that the Telco is the provider of your BB's connection. The only difference is that if you activate BIS, then they point the service to RIM servers in Canada. If you activate BES services, which you still have to pay the telco, they will point the service to your own BES server.

In your case, you still have to apply BES through Celcom and inform them of the BES server IP that you want to point to. I can say that this is no point and you might as well go with BIS.

Furthermore, if you connect to your dad's company's BES, you'd be under the control of their IT policy too.
shahie
post Jun 28 2010, 12:36 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 382

Joined: Feb 2005
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 28 2010, 11:41 AM)
BIS and BES connection services are provided by the Telco. You have to remember that the Telco is the provider of your BB's connection. The only difference is that if you activate BIS, then they point the service to RIM servers in Canada. If you activate BES services, which you still have to pay the telco, they will point the service to your own BES server.

In your case, you still have to apply BES through Celcom and inform them of the BES server IP that you want to point to. I can say that this is no point and you might as well go with BIS.

Furthermore, if you connect to your dad's company's BES, you'd be under the control of their IT policy too.
*
http://www.port3101.org/port-3101-bes-admi...ked-logged.html

Regards



Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0556sec    1.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st May 2019 - 07:38 PM