All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

SkYY
post Nov 21 2010, 06:23 PM

749 posts

all sifus help icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
after using my laptop for around 1 and a half year, my harddisk space started decreasing, like 2 weeks can decrease 10-20GB(i'm using a 160GB harddisk so it's kinda problematic for me), the only way to get back the lost space is by defragmenting it. cleaning history, temp files etc doesn't help so it's not that problem.

my question is:
1. is my harddisk broken or is it normal(my fren is having the same problem actually)?
2. if it's normal then is there any harddisk that won't become like that?
3. if it's not normal then is it claimable for RMA if it's still under warranty?

thanks! nod.gif nod.gif

(posted in hardware question and answer super noob thread there but nobody seems to know so i figure here would be better)
SkYY
post Nov 21 2010, 08:32 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 21 2010, 08:28 PM)
it really decreasing or just that the os reporting less space?
for ur info

in computer world

1,000 ~ 1,024 B
1MB = 1,000,000 B ~ 1,048,576 B
1GB = 1,000,000,000 ~ 1,073,741,824 B

160GB = 160,000,000,000/1,073,741,824 = 149.0116119384766

that's why we see only ~149GB after format the hdd etc..
i noe bout the differences in calculating units.
it's really decreasing. one day 20GB empty space. few days, 15GB. 1 week left 12GB. few days more, 8GB left. the most i did is download some text file..

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 21 2010, 08:49 PM)
You can also check the capacity of the hard disk to make sure it's really 160GB in place, such as no reporting smaller space than 160GB (160,xxx,xxx,xxx bytes)
You can also do Clean disk to clear up temporary files that might accumulating the hard disk, if you're using system restore for all your hard disk partition you might notice hard disk space is decrease at some margin due to schedule system restore point (so you can restore to the previously good one when you having system error, etc.) If you're using Windows XP, every single drive that formatted as NTFS will automatically monitored by system restore point so you might want to disable other drive except for your system drive (i.e. C drive, your drive that you install "Windows")
CCleaner, it might be useful to detect what temporary files actually accumulating your precious hard disk space as well.
If defragmenting can recover those lost space, you can download defraggler, and schedule it to defrag when you sleep, idle, etc. (Manual also can actually) so you don't have to be afraid of losing precious space again.

Hope this helps. hmm.gif
1. how to check capacity of harddisk? i always just see it at my computer.
2. yup i clean up everytime before i defrag(with ccleaner and window disk cleanup). system restore has been off for more than 1 year. using vista.
3. ya i recover all my space using defraggler. i defrag every 2 weeks. but that's the point, it bothers me to defrag and ccleaner every 2 weeks. defrag, get 20GB back. 2 weeks later, left 6GB(and decreasing), cepat cepat defrag get back 20GB. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

and shouldn't be malware problem unless something is wrong with my kaspersky and malware byte..

This post has been edited by SkYY: Nov 21 2010, 08:34 PM
SkYY
post Nov 22 2010, 08:53 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 22 2010, 03:32 PM)
1. Right click the drive and properties.
3. Does your Defraggler itself will actually do some Recycle Bin emptying as well?

If the space is decreasing for unknown reason, you might need something to monitor the space much frequent than each week or daily, perhaps some monitoring tool that allow you to watch the space real-time even you're doing some browsing, etc. that should help you identify what program actually create or dumping so much temporary or unnecessary files.
1. checked my HDD space, yes it's decreasing rclxub.gif just 2 days since i ask this question i just lost another 4 GB cry.gif
3. my recycle bin is always empty hmm.gif

any tool to introduce? that can monitor real time space nod.gif nod.gif
SkYY
post Nov 23 2010, 09:44 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 23 2010, 05:04 PM)
http://www.cnet.com/topic-software/hard-drive/monitor.html

Tried Si Meter, HDD Led, both provide real-time HDD activity monitoring, but not so detail about the space usage.
There's plenty of others if you have the time to try them all.
Most of them are free  icon_rolleyes.gif
dl-ed both and using now. ya not so much about space usage.. will try and c how it goes thanks for the introduction biggrin.gif

0.0158sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:50 AM